Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-14, 16-17, 19-20, 24 and 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(2)) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Koskela et al. (US 2023/0096338).
Regarding claim 1, Koskela discloses a method for configuring a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (Koskela, paragraph [0015], non-serving cell is operated by a neighboring base station; paragraph [0020], TCI state; paragraph [0056], TCI state list included in configuration; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell), comprising:
obtaining TCI state configuration information, wherein the TCI state configuration information comprises cell type indication information and a serving cell index, the cell type indication information indicates a cell type corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information, and the cell type comprises a serving cell or a neighboring cell, wherein the cell type indication information is represented by a flag bit, there is a correspondence between a part of value in a plurality of values of the flag bit and the serving cell, and/or there is a correspondence between a part of values in the plurality of values and different neighboring cell physical cell identifiers (PCIs) (Koskela, Fig. 11A-11C, TCI state, serving cell index #0, serving cell index #1 (PCI1); Fig. 13, TCI state ID, serving cell ID; paragraph [0015], non-serving cell is operated by a neighboring base station; paragraph [0020], TCI state; paragraph [0056], TCI state list included in configuration; paragraph [0128], TCI state in Fig. 11B; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell);
determining a component carrier in which a serving cell corresponding to the serving cell index is located (Koskela, Fig. 11A-11C, BWP ID 1;paragraph [0019], UE configured to operate with a carrier BWP, only one BWP active on a given component carrier; paragraph [0126], carrier bandwidth of a currently serving cell “serving cell index #0”; paragraph [0141], information to identify a non-serving cell may be a PCI; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell); and
determining a cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information based on a value of the flag bit and/or a neighboring cell PCI corresponding to the component carrier (Koskela, Fig. 11A-11C, BWP ID 1, TCI state, serving cell index #0, serving cell index #1 (PCI1); Fig. 13, TCI state ID, serving cell ID; paragraph [0015], non-serving cell is operated by a neighboring base station; paragraph [0020], TCI state; paragraph [0056], TCI state list included in configuration; paragraph [0141], information to identify a non-serving cell may be a PCI; paragraph [0128], TCI state in Fig. 11B; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell).
Regarding claim 3, Koskela discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the TCI state configuration information further comprises at least one of a TCI state identification (ID) or a reference signal ID (Koskela, Fig. 11A, CSI-RS#; Fig. 13, TCI state ID, serving cell ID; paragraph [0126], CSI-RS#).
Regarding claim 4, Koskela discloses the method of claim 3, wherein determining the cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information based on the TCI state configuration information, comprises: determining the cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information based on the flag bit (Koskela, paragraph [0015], non-serving cell is operated by a neighboring base station; paragraph [0020], TCI state; paragraph [0056], TCI state list included in configuration; paragraph [0141], information to identify a non-serving cell may be a PCI; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell).
Regarding claim 5, Koskela discloses the method of claim 4, wherein determining the cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information based on the value of the flag bit, comprises: determining the cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information as a serving cell, wherein no flag bit exists in the TCI state configuration information; or determining the cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information as a neighboring cell, wherein the flag bit is configured for identifying the neighboring cell (Koskela, paragraph [0015], non-serving cell is operated by a neighboring base station; paragraph [0020], TCI state; paragraph [0056], TCI state list included in configuration; paragraph [0141], information to identify a non-serving cell may be a PCI; paragraph [0143], additional bit field may be added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell).
Regarding claim 7, Koskela discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising: determining the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information from a plurality of neighboring cells identified by the flag bit, wherein the flag bit identifies the plurality of neighboring cells with a plurality of flag bit values (Koskela, paragraph [0015], non-serving cell is operated by a neighboring base station; paragraph [0020], TCI state; paragraph [0056], TCI state list included in configuration; paragraph [0141], information to identify a non-serving cell may be a PCI; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell).
Regarding claim 8, Koskela discloses the method of claim 7, wherein determining the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information from the plurality of neighboring cells identified by the flag bit, comprises: determining a neighboring cell physical cell identifier (PCI) based on the serving cell index included in the TCI state configuration information; and determining a cell identified by the neighboring cell PCI as the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information (Koskela, Fig. 11A, CSI-RS#; Fig. 13, TCI state ID, serving cell ID; paragraph [0015], non-serving cell is operated by a neighboring base station; paragraph [0020], TCI state; paragraph [0056], TCI state list included in configuration; paragraph [0141], information to identify a non-serving cell may be a PCI; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell).
Regarding claim 9, Koskela discloses the method of claim 8, wherein determining the neighboring cell PCI based on the serving cell index included in the TCI state configuration information, comprises: determining the neighboring cell PCI corresponding to the serving cell index included in the TCI state configuration information based on a correspondence between the serving cell index and the neighboring cell PCI (Koskela, Fig. 8; Fig. 11A, CSI-RS#; Fig. 13, TCI state ID, serving cell ID; paragraph [0015], non-serving cell is operated by a neighboring base station; paragraph [0020], TCI state; paragraph [0056], TCI state list included in configuration; paragraph [0141], information to identify a non-serving cell may be a PCI; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell).
Regarding claim 10, Koskela discloses the method of claim 8, wherein determining the neighboring cell PCI based on the serving cell index included in the TCI state configuration information, comprises: determining the neighboring cell PCI corresponding to the component carrier (Koskela, paragraph [0019], only one BWP active on a given component carrier; paragraph [0141], information to identify a non-serving cell may be a PCI; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell).
Regarding claim 11, Koskela discloses the method of claim 10, wherein up to one neighboring cell is configured on the component carrier, the neighboring cell PCI and at least one of the serving cell index or the component carrier are in a one-to-one correspondence (Koskela, Fig. 13, TCI state ID, serving cell ID; paragraph [0019], BWP active on a given component carrier).
Regarding claim 12, Koskela discloses the method of claim 10, wherein a plurality of neighboring cells are configured on the component carrier, the neighboring cell PCI and at least one of the serving cell index or the component carrier are in a one-to-many correspondence (Koskela, Fig. 13, TCI state ID, serving cell ID; paragraph [0019], BWP active on a given component carrier; paragraph [0158], cells configured as potential target cells).
Regarding claim 13, Koskela discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information is a neighboring cell identified by the flag bit Koskela, paragraph [0015], non-serving cell is operated by a neighboring base station; paragraph [0020], TCI state; paragraph [0056], TCI state list included in configuration; paragraph [0141], information to identify a non-serving cell may be a PCI; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell).
Claims 14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 1, 3, 7 and 11-12, respectively.
Claims 24 and 26 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 1. Koskela additionally discloses a processor; a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (Koskela, Figs. 1, 2, memory, processor, program).
Regarding claim 27, Koskela discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: in response to the value of the flag bit being a flag bit value for identifying a serving cell, determining the cell corresponding to the TCI state configured by the TCI state configuration information as the serving cell (Koskela, Fig. 11A-11C, BWP ID 1, TCI state, serving cell index #0, serving cell index #1 (PCI1); Fig. 13, TCI state ID, serving cell ID; paragraph [0015], non-serving cell is operated by a neighboring base station; paragraph [0020], TCI state; paragraph [0056], TCI state list included in configuration; paragraph [0128], TCI state in Fig. 11B; paragraph [0141], information to identify a non-serving cell may be a PCI; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell).
Regarding claim 28, Koskela discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: in response to the flag bit value for identifying the neighboring cell comprising a plurality of flag bit values, determining the neighboring cell corresponding to the TCI state as the neighboring cell (Koskela, Fig. 11A-11C, BWP ID 1, TCI state, serving cell index #0, serving cell index #1 (PCI1); Fig. 13, TCI state ID, serving cell ID; paragraph [0015], non-serving cell is operated by a neighboring base station; paragraph [0020], TCI state; paragraph [0056], TCI state list included in configuration; paragraph [0128], TCI state in Fig. 11B; paragraph [0141], information to identify a non-serving cell may be a PCI; paragraph [0143], additional bit field added to configuration to indicate that a neighbor/non-serving cell is configured; paragraph [0148], UE may be configured with a TCI state list information element including a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell, determine the non-serving cell configuration).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant reproduces paragraphs [0143] and [0148] of Koskela and then asserts that the claims are patentable because paragraph [0143] of Koskela does not disclose that the “additional field” has any correspondence with the PCI, while ignoring the disclosure in paragraph [0148], of a field for PCI or other indication that the TCI state list is for a non-serving cell. Additionally, Figs. 11B and 11C further disclose that the configuration includes a serving cell index field, which may further indicate a PCI using a plurality of [flag] bit values.
Applicant further asserts that the claims are patentable because Koskela allegedly does not disclose a correspondence between a serving cell index and component carrier, or between a neighboring cell PCI and a component carrier. However, this is incorrect. However, a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, would have understood that the word “cell” in the phrase “Serving cell” is typically interpreted to mean a carrier. This is further indicated by paragraph [0126] of Koskela, which discloses the “carrier bandwidth of a currently serving cell ‘serving cell index #0’.” This is also indicated by the disclosures in Figs. 11A, 11B, 11C and paragraph [0126] that the label “a1,” which illustrates a range of frequencies making up a carrier band in the figures, symbolizes the “carrier bandwidth of a currently serving cell ‘serving cell index #0’.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419