DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The present Office action is responsive to the Remarks and Amendments filed on 09-10-2026. As directed, claims 1-23 have been canceled, and new claims 24-45 have been added. Thus, claims 23-45 are currently pending examination.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s cancellation of each of claims 1-23 has obviated each of the objection to the specification for claiming subject matter lacking antecedent basis in the originally filed specification, the claim objections of claims 1-23, and the rejections of claims 1-23 under 35 USC 112(b).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, see Remarks as filed page 7, that Dittman is different form the claimed invention because it does not present “specific solutions for aqueous solutions”, instead it uses “standard solutions”, whereas the claimed invention uses more viscous formulations comprising 30% or less organic solvent. Because of this, the claimed invention relies on a heater to be “closer the solution inlet or integrated therein”.
Examiner is not persuaded by these arguments. First, the claims require an aqueous solution higher than 1.4 cP. Dittman outlines use of such aqueous solutions (see paragraph 55, “1000 cP”). Further, the closeness of the heater is not defined relative to any other structure, but aside from that, the relied upon Dittman heater is described as integrated within or close to the solution inlet (see paragraph 104: “Heating means is provided in the liquid storage portion in the form of a coil heater 205 surrounding the capillary body 204”). Additionally, Dittman explicitly discloses heating of the aqueous solution in the temperature range claimed (see paragraph 108: “The coil heater 205 heats the liquid aerosol-forming substrate being conveyed along the capillary body, past the coil heater 205, to a predetermined temperature of about 45° C”). Further, Hejazi, cited and relied on in the previous Office action, is relied upon hereinbelow for the “less than 30% organic solvent” limitation. Thus, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Further, Applicant argues that Danek, used to remedy Dittman’s silence on the microdroplet size claimed, produces aerosol without using heat and therefore uses a different mechanism for producing aerosol, rendering it unusable in rejecting the claimed invention which requires heating to produce vapor.
However, Danek is relied upon for an electronic device (100) for producing an aerosol via inhalation (paragraph 154, lines 1-5; Fig. 1) and its use of a vibrating mesh to adjust a mass median aerodynamic diameter (MMAD) (paragraph 133, lines 13-15), to a range of 1-5 microns advantageously deposit in the small airways and alveoli (paragraph 146, lines 6-10). It is the overlap in use of vibrating mesh described in each of Dittman and Danek that renders obvious the particle size claimed. Thus, Danek is still considered reasonably pertinent to provide for the MMAD size claimed.
Claim Objections
Claims 24-35, 38-39, and 41-43 are objected to because of the following informalities:
At claim 24, line 1, it is suggested that in the phrase “the vaporization” that “the” be eliminated as the term has not been previously introduced.
At claim 24, in each of lines 4, 6, 8, and 10, it is suggested that the hyphen (-) be eliminated.
At claim 24, line 5, it is suggested that “compositions” be replaced with “composition” for clarity and consistency in the claim.
At claim 24, line 9, it is suggested that “being” be replaced with “is” for clarity.
At claim 24, line 15, it is suggested that “enters” be replaced with “is configured to enter” to avoid positive recitation of method steps in an apparatus claim.
At claim 24, line 16, it is suggested that “comprised between around” be replaced with “between around” for clarity.
At claim 25, line 1, it is suggested that “wherein” be added before “said solution inlet” for clarity.
At claim 25, line 1, it is suggested that “comprising” be replaced with “further comprises” for clarity.
At claim 25, line 2, it is suggested that “the diameter of the pores” be replaced with “a diameter of the one or several pores” for both clarity and consistency in the claim language.
At claim 25, line 3, it is suggested that “the progression of an aqueous composition” be replaced with “a progression of the aqueous composition” as the progression has not been previously introduced, and the aqueous solution has been previously introduced.
At claim 26, line 2, it is suggested that “further” be added before “comprises” for clarity.
At claim 26, lines 2-3, it is suggested that “at one of their extremity” be replaced with “at a first of their extremities” for clarity.
At claim 26, line 3, it is suggested that “at their opposite extremity” be replaced with “at a second of their extremities” for clarity.
At claim 27, line 1, it is suggested that “the internal diameter” be replaced with “an internal diameter” as the limitation has not yet been introduced.
At claim 27, lines 1-2, it is suggested that “the capillaries” be replaced with “the plurality of capillaries” for consistency of language in the claims.
At claim 27, lines 2-3, it is suggested that “from one extremity to the other one” be replaced with “from the first of their extremities to the second of their extremities” in accordance with an earlier suggestion.
At claim 28, line 1, it is suggested that “said capillaries” be replaced with “said plurality of capillaries” for consistency of language in the claims.
At claim 29, line 1, it is suggested that “the internal volume” be replaced with “an internal volume” as the limitation has not been previously introduced.
At claim 29, line 2, it is suggested that “allowing to contain and drain” be replaced with “configured to allow containment and draining of” for clarity.
At claim 30, line 2, it is suggested that “comprising” be replaced with “further comprises” for clarity.
At claim 31, line 1, it is suggested that “the” be added before “at least one vibrating mesh” for clarity.
At claim 31, line 2, it is suggested that “further” be added before “comprises” for clarity.
At claim 31, lines 2-3, it is suggested that “the pore size of the first layer” be replaced with “a pore size of a first layer” as neither the specific layer nor the specific pore size have been previously introduced.
At claim 31, line 3, it is suggested that “the liquid pathway” be replaced with “a liquid pathway” as the limitation has not been previously introduced.
At claim 31, line 4, it is suggested that “the pore size of the last layer” be replaced with “a pore size of a last layer” as neither the specific layer nor the specific pore size have been previously introduced.
At claim 32, line 1, it is suggested that “further” be added before “denotes” for clarity.
At claim 33, line 1, it is suggested that “further” be added before “denotes” for clarity.
At claim 34, line 2, it is suggested that “said” be added before “volatizing element” for clarity.
At claim 35, line 1, it is suggested that “wherein” be added before “said aerosol chamber” for clarity.
At claim 38, line 2, it is suggested that “the temperature” be replaced with “a temperature” as the only other temperature that has been recited is with respect to the aqueous solution in claim 24.
At claim 38, line 3, it is suggested that “the frequency and amplitude” be replaced with “a frequency and an amplitude” as the limitations have not been previously introduced.
At claim 39, line 1, it is suggested that “wherein” be added before “said volatizing element” for clarity.
At claim 39, line 1, it is suggested that “further” be added before “comprising” for clarity.
At claim 41, line 1, it is suggested that “the modulation step” be replaced with “a modulation step” as the term has not been previously introduced.
At claim 41, line 2, it is suggested that “the temperature” be replaced with “a temperature” as the temperature of the pre-heating chamber has not been previously introduced, only the temperature of the aqueous composition.
At claim 41, lines 2-3, it is suggested that “the frequency, amplitude and phase difference” be replaced with “a frequency, an amplitude, and a phase difference” as none of the terms have been previously introduced.
At claim 41, line 3, it is suggested that “the vibrating mesh” be replaced with “a vibrating mesh” as the term has not been previously introduced.
At claim 42, line 1, it is suggested that “claims” be replaced with “claim” for clarity.
At claim 43, line 1, it is suggested that “the ratio” be replaced with “a ratio of” as the term has not been previously introduced.
At claim 43, line 2, it is suggested that “comprised” be eliminated for clarity.
At claim 43, in each of lines 3 and 5, it is suggested that “(1)” be eliminated for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A/the “volatilizing element” in claim 1, which is interpreted relative to the instant specification at paragraphs 28 and 45 to include at least one mesh, and/or a vibrating mesh.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 25, 29, and 40-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 25, the phrase “can flow” in line 2 renders the claim indefinite. Under its plain meaning, “can” may refer to the possibility that the limitation is present. As such, it is unclear whether or not the limitations that follow the term “can” are positively recited limitations that the claim requires, or if the limitations are optional.
For the purposes of examination, “can flow” will be interpreted as “is configured to flow”, and Applicant may overcome the rejection by adopting this language.
Regarding claim 29, the phrase “the suitable temperature” at line 3 renders the claim indefinite both because it lacks antecedent basis, and because the claim does not provide a requisite amount of information to determine what a “suitable” temperature would be for the porous material to be held at. Paragraph 25 of the instant specification refers to a suitable temperature range for the liquid composition, but paragraph 27 which details the analogous suitable temperature for the porous material does not define a temperature range that is suitable for the porous material itself.
For the purposes of examination, the limitation will be deemed to be met by virtue of the prior art device being configured for delivery of a liquid composition at a suitable temperature for inhalation. Applicant may overcome the rejection by eliminating the limitation, or else clarifying what a suitable temperature or temperature range is considered to be defined in the claim.
Regarding claim 40, line 2 recites “a device according to claim 1” which renders the claims indefinite. Claim 1 has been canceled, thus there is no device of claim 1 in the current claim set.
For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as dependent from claim 24. Applicant may overcome the rejection by adopting this limitation.
Claims 41-45 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 40.
Regarding claim 41, the phrase “when applicable” in line 4 renders the claim indefinite. Neither the claim nor the instant specification inform the ordinarily skilled artisan when it would necessarily be applicable to modulate the temperature, frequency, amplitude, or phase difference. Thus, the claim contains subject matter where the metes and bounds cannot be readily discerned. In other words, the claim does not define when it would be appropriate to modulate these parameters, why or in response to what these parameters would be modulated, nor does the claim clarify, based on the “when applicable” language, if this is a required step in the method. For instance, if it the stance were taken that it was never applicable to modulate the parameters, then would the modulation step be required?
For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that “when applicable” does not appear in the claim. Applicant may overcome the rejection by eliminating this language from the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24, 26, 29, 32-33, 35, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittman (US 2023/0080902) in view of Danek (US 2020/0230329) further in view of Hejazi (US 2021/0084970).
Regarding claim 24, a device (“aerosol-generating device”) adapted for the vaporization of an aqueous composition having a viscosity higher than 1.4 cP at 20°C (paragraph 55, lines 7-10; paragraph 91, lines 1-2; Fig. 2), the device comprising:
- a housing (101) having a storage compartment (201) adapted for the storage of an aqueous composition (“liquid aerosol-forming substrate”) (paragraph 92, lines 1-4; paragraph 93, lines 1-7; Fig. 2),
- a volatilizing element (300) adapted to volatilize the aqueous composition (“liquid aerosol-forming substrate”) into microdroplets (paragraph 95, lines 1-3; Fig. 2),
- an aerosol chamber (125), arranged downstream of the volatilizing element (300) (paragraph 94, lines 11-14; paragraph 109, lines 1-15; Figs. 2-3), wherein said aerosol chamber (125) comprises, or being connected to, a mouth port (124) (paragraph 106, lines 1-3; Fig. 2),
- at least one pre-heating chamber (204) downstream of said storage compartment (201) and in fluid communication with said storage compartment (201) by means of at least one solution inlet (paragraph 104, lines 1-12, the solution inlet falls at the transition between the liquid storage portion and into the elongate capillary body; Fig. 3, note heater 205 wrapping the capillary body 204), said at least one pre-heating chamber (204) comprising or being in direct contact with one or more heating devices (205) and being arranged upstream of said volatilizing element (300) (paragraph 104, lines 1-12; Fig. 3), wherein the one or more heating devices (205) is positioned closer the solution inlet or is integrated within the solution inlet so that the aqueous composition enters the at least one pre- heating chamber (204) at a temperature comprised between around 30°C and around 90°C (paragraph 104, lines 1-12; Fig. 3, note heater 205 wrapping the capillary body 204; paragraph 108, lines 1-4, note that 45 degrees Celsius is within the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03).
While Dittmann notes the use of vibrating mesh to create droplets of a desired size (paragraph 23, lines 1-6 and paragraph 42, lines 1-6), Dittmann fails to explicitly disclose operation of the device that results in said microdroplets having a mean diameter equal or lower than 4 micrometers, nor that the aqueous solution is less than 30% organic solvent.
However, Danek teaches an electronic device (100) for producing an aerosol via inhalation (paragraph 154, lines 1-5; Fig. 1) and use of a vibrating mesh to adjust a mass median aerodynamic diameter (MMAD) (paragraph 133, lines 13-15), and further indicates that particles with an MMAD of 1-5 microns advantageously deposit in the small airways and alveoli (paragraph 146, lines 6-10).
Danek’s range of 1-5 microns for the MMAD overlaps with the claimed range of 4 micrometers or lower. In the case where the range disclosed or taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Dittmann to include the capability and settings for producing a MMAD of between 1 and 5 microns (which overlaps the claimed range), as taught by Danek, in order to target microdroplet delivery after inhalation into the small airways and alveoli.
Dittmann further discloses said aqueous composition including between 1 and 10% of a substance having a biological effect under inhaling conditions (paragraph 55, lines 1-11, see 2-10% nicotine and the viscosity ranges, and note MPEP 2131.03 I-II as above for overlapping ranges/examples within the claimed range), but modified Dittman fails to explicitly disclose that the aqueous solution is expressly less than 30% organic solvent.
However, Hejazi teaches an aqueous solution for vaporization wherein the aqueous solution contains less than 30% organic solvent as a known liquid composition for use in a vaporizing device for providing both an active substance and flavorant to the user (paragraph 53, see 80% or more water/90-93% water, and up to 10% PG, up to 10% flavorant, and up to 1% nicotine, where the nicotine, PG, and flavorant solvents would make up no more than 21% of the composition at the highest end of their ranges, thus providing less than 30% organic solvent; see also paragraph 38: “ inhalable substances may be in the form of an aerosol (i.e., a suspension of fine solid particles or liquid droplets in a gas”, thus the precursor is understood to be vaporizable and delivered via droplets).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided an aqueous composition containing less than 30% organic solvent, as taught by Hejazi, as a known liquid composition for use in a vaporizing device for providing an inhalable composition in the form of droplets, where the composition provides both an active substance and flavorant to the user.
Regarding claim 26, Dittman in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Dittman further discloses wherein the at least one pre-heating chamber (204) comprises a plurality of capillaries fluidly connected to the solution inlet at one of their extremity and fluidly connected to the volatizing element (300) at their opposite extremity (paragraph 48: “The capillary material may comprise fine bore tubes”; paragraph 104, lines 1-6; Fig. 3, note that 204 extends from the liquid solution portion 201 to the volatizing element 300).
Regarding claim 29, Dittman in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Dittman further discloses wherein the internal volume of the at least one pre-heating chamber (204) comprises a porous material allowing to contain and drain the aqueous composition, the porous material being maintained at the suitable temperature (paragraph 49: “The capillary material may have any suitable capillarity and porosity so as to be used with different liquid physical properties”; paragraph 104, lines 1-12; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 32, Dittmann in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Dittmann further discloses wherein said volatilizing element (300) denotes or comprises one or more vibrating mesh (see 301+302 and passageways 303 forming the mesh) adapted to vibrate at frequencies comprised between around 500KHz and around 1500 KHz (paragraph 42, lines 1-4, see the range of 100-500 kHz which overlaps with 500 kHz, and thus anticipates the range, see MPEP 2131.03 I-II).
Regarding claim 33, Dittmann in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Dittmann further discloses wherein said volatilizing element (300) comprises at least one vibrating mesh (see 301+302 and passageways 303 forming the mesh) (paragraph 10, lines 1-8; paragraph 11, lines 1-9; paragraph 97, lines 1-6 for passages within 301; paragraph 100, lines 1-10; Fig. 3).
Currently, Dittmann, either alone or as modified, fails to disclose wherein the one or more vibrating mesh include a non-flat porous material adapted to present an increase contact surface with said liquid composition and/or a multilayer porous material.
However, Hejazi teaches a device (100) for aerosol delivery (paragraph 41, lines 1-4; Fig. 1), with a volatilization assembly (215) including a mesh plate (219) (paragraph 68, lines 1-4; Fig. 3), wherein the mesh plate (219) may include a non-flat porous material adapted to present an increased contact surface with said aqeous composition (paragraph 71, lines 10-17; Figs. 4C-D; note that because the device includes the curved/domed, i.e. non-flat, porous membrane, the functional limitations regarding the liquid composition and surface/contact area are deemed to be met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibrating mesh of the modified Dittmann device to include a non-flat porous material adapted to present an increase contact surface with said aqeous composition, as taught by Hejazi, as a known configuration of a mesh membrane that is an alternative to a flat membrane (paragraph 69, lines 18-22 of Hejazi).
Regarding claim 35, Dittman in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Dittmann further discloses wherein said aerosol chamber (125), further comprising, or being connected to, an air inlet (122) adapted to combine the microdroplets with external air under inhalation via the mouth port (124) (paragraph 94, lines 5-14; paragraph 106, lines 1-2; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 37, Dittman in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Dittman further discloses a means for collecting residues, such means comprising one or several of a porous material (303), a capillary assembly (204), and at least one vibrating mesh (301+302+303) (porous material: paragraph 97, lines 1-5; capillary: paragraph 105, lines 1-8; vibrating mesh: paragraph 10, lines 1-8; paragraph 11, lines 1-9; paragraph 97, lines 1-6 for passages within 301; paragraph 100, lines 1-10; note that because each structure is present, it is understood to be capable of collecting residues as the claim only requires one or several of the list to achieve the function).
Regarding claim 38, Dittman in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
In the relied upon embodiment, Dittmann fails to disclose a command input adapted for modulating the temperature of the pre-heating chamber.
However, in a separate embodiment, Dittmann teaches a command input (“button”) adapted for modulating the temperature of the device (paragraph 115, lines 1-2; Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Dittmann’s first embodiment with a command input adapted for modulating the temperature of the preheating chamber via its heater, as taught by Dittmann’s second embodiment, in order to enable a user to modulate the temperature of the heater in the preheating chamber via pressing of a button.
Regarding claim 39, Dittmann in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Dittman as modified fails to disclose wherein said volatilizing element comprises more than one vibrating mesh, wherein at least some of adjacent vibrating meshes vibrate with a controlled phase difference.
However, Hejazi teaches a device (400) for aerosol delivery (paragraph 78, lines 1-8; Fig. 6A), with a volatilization assembly (415A-B) including more than one vibrating mesh (219) (paragraph 79, lines 1-8; Fig. 6A), and wherein the adjacent vibrating meshes vibrate with a controlled phase difference (paragraph 79, lines 16-22; paragraph 80, lines 8-12, see different frequencies and different times).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Dittmann to include additional vibrating meshes capable of vibrating with controlled phase differences, as taught by Hejazi, in order to provide increased surface area for aerosolization of the liquid substrate.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittman (US 2023/0080902) in view of Danek (US 2020/0230329) further in view of Hejazi (US 2021/0084970), as applied to claim 24 above, in still further view of Jang (US 2023/0030615).
Regarding claim 25, Dittmann in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Modified Dittman fails to disclose said solution inlet comprising one or several pores through which the aqueous composition can flow by capillarity, the diameter of the pores being calibrated to allow the progression of an aqueous composition by capillarity having a viscosity equal to or lower than 1.4 cP.
However, Jang teaches a solution inlet comprising one or several pores through which the aqueous composition can flow by capillarity, the diameter of the pores being calibrated to allow the progression of an aqueous composition by capillarity having a viscosity equal to or lower than 1.4 cP (paragraph 78, lines 1-10; note paragraph 87: “since the aerosol-forming substrate 311 is a viscous liquid”, it is understood that the pores would reasonably allow for progression of the aqueous solution by capillarity, given that 311 is said to be viscous, and a viscosity lower than 1.4 cP is regarded as a thin/easily flowing lqiuid; Fig. 6, see spaces between porous member 330).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the solution inlet of Dittman to further include one or several pores through which the aqueous composition can flow by capillarity, the diameter of the pores being calibrated to allow the progression of an aqueous composition by capillarity having a viscosity equal to or lower than 1.4 cP, as taught by Jang, as a known method of moving the aqueous solution in a vaporizer device between a liquid reservoir and a porous member for delivery to a vibrating element.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittman (US 2023/0080902) in view of Danek (US 2020/0230329) further in view of Hejazi (US 2021/0084970), as applied to claim 26 above, in still further view of Rostami (US 2017/0258140).
Regarding claim 27, Dittmann in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 26, as discussed above.
Dittman fails to disclose wherein the internal diameter of the capillaries decreases by a value comprised between 10% and 50% from one extremity to the other one.
However, Rostami teaches a capillary tube (734) in a vaporizer device (60) (paragraph 234, lines 1-4; paragraph 235, lines 1-8; Figs. 8 and 13), wherein the internal diameter of the capillary tube (734) decreases from one extremity to the other one in order to create sufficiently high shear forces to break up course droplets, and facilitate conversion of pre-vapor formulation into small particles for inhalation (paragraph 279, lines 1-8; Fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary sill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the internal diameter of the capillaries of Dittman such that it decreases from one extremity to the other one, as taught by Rostami, in order to create sufficiently high shear forces to break up course droplets, and facilitate conversion of pre-vapor formulation into small particles for inhalation.
While further modified Dittman does not explicitly disclose that the internal diameter decreases from between 10% to 50% along its length, the Courts have held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the present case, Rostami provides the ordinarily skilled artisan with a motivated reason for reducing the internal diameter of a capillary tube within a vaporizer device. It is considered to be a matter of routine experimentation to have found the workable ranges for the decrease in the internal diameter, using Rostami’s teaching as a starting point.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the internal diameter of the capillaries of Dittman by a value comprised between 10% and 50%, given that Rostami teaches the ordinarily skilled artisan that reduction in such a diameter advantageously imparts sufficiently high shear forces to break up course droplets, and facilitate conversion of pre-vapor formulation into small particles for inhalation, since it has been held that it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges of the limitations in an instant claim, when a prior art disclosure contains the general conditions thereof (see MPEP 2144.05 II A: In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)).
Regarding claim 28, Dittmann in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 26, as discussed above.
Dittman fails to disclose wherein said capillaries have a non-straight shape.
However, Rostami teaches a capillary tube (734) in a vaporizer device (60) (paragraph 234, lines 1-4; paragraph 235, lines 1-8; Figs. 8 and 13), wherein said capillary tube (734) has a non-straight shape in order to conserve space within the device (paragraph 243, lines 1-4; Fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the capillaries of Dittman to be non-straight in shape, as taught by Rostami, in order to conserve space within the device.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittman (US 2023/0080902) in view of Danek (US 2020/0230329) further in view of Hejazi (US 2021/0084970), as applied to claim 26 above, in still further view of Rubsamen (US 5,724,957).
Regarding claim 30, Dittmann in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Dittmann further discloses wherein said volatilizing element (300) comprises at least one vibrating mesh (see 301+302 and passageways 303 forming the mesh) comprising one or several flat porous membranes (paragraph 10, lines 1-8; paragraph 11, lines 1-9; paragraph 97, lines 1-6 for passages within 301; paragraph 100, lines 1-10; Fig. 3), combined with at least one piezoelectric actuator (302) (paragraph 99, lines 1-6; Fig. 3).
Dittmann fails to disclose the mesh having pore size of around 4 um or lower.
However, Rubsamen teaches aerosolizing a drug via a mesh membrane wherein the pore size is between 0.25 to 2.5 microns to create droplets with a diameter between 0.5-5 microns (Col. 12, lines 47-51).
Rubsamen’s range of 0.25-2.5 microns for the pore size overlaps with the claimed range of 4 micrometers or lower. In the case where the range disclosed or taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Given that in the modified Dittman device, the MMAD is between 1 and 5 microns, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a pore size of 1 micron or lower from the range of 0.25-2.5 microns outlined by Rubsamen, in order to achieve the desired droplet size of the modified Dittman device.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittman (US 2023/0080902) in view of Danek (US 2020/0230329) further in view of Hejazi (US 2021/0084970), in still further view of Rubsamen (US 5,724,957), as applied to claim 30 above, in further view of Illidge (US 2022/0256926).
Regarding claim 31, Dittmann in view of Danek, Hejazi, and Rubsamen disclose the device according to claim 30, as discussed above.
Modified Dittman fails to disclose wherein at least one vibrating mesh comprises several layers of porous material having different pore sizes, wherein the pore size of the first layer, placed upstream of the liquid pathway of the several layers of porous material is larger than the pore size of the last layer, placed downstream of the several layers of porous material.
However, Illidge teaches a woven mesh structure for the flow of air (paragraph 153, lines 1-8; Fig. 21), wherein the mesh structure comprises several layers of porous material having different pore sizes, wherein the pore size of the first layer, placed upstream of the liquid pathway of the several layers of porous material is larger than the pore size of the last layer, placed downstream of the several layers of porous material in order to increase the depth of the mesh structure and provide for a laminar flow (paragraph 162, lines 1-8, see “non-uniform”; paragraph 164, lines 1-15, see different properties across the layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vibrating mesh of Dittman to include several layers of porous material having different pore sizes, wherein the pore size of the first layer, placed upstream of the liquid pathway of the several layers of porous material is larger than the pore size of the last layer, placed downstream of the several layers of porous material, as taught by Illidge, in order to increase the depth of the mesh structure and provide for a laminar flow.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittman (US 2023/0080902) in view of Danek (US 2020/0230329) further in view of Hejazi (US 2021/0084970), in still further view of Rubsamen (US 5,724,957), as applied to claim 30 above, in further view of Jain (US 2019/0274359).
Regarding claim 34, Dittmann in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Modified Dittman fails to disclose wherein said at least one pre-heating chamber and/or volatizing element is coated with a hydrophobic material or an antiadhesive or with silver.
However, Jain teaches a mesh that is coated with hydrophobic material in order to increase the impermeability of the mesh to liquid and pass sufficiently small droplets through the mesh (paragraph 54, lines 1-18; Figs. 3 and 5).
Given that Dittman’s volatizing element includes a vibratable mesh, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface of the mesh of Dittman to be coated with a hydrophobic material, as taught by Jain, in order to increase the impermeability of the mesh to liquid and pass sufficiently small droplets through the mesh for inhalation of the small droplets.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittman (US 2023/0080902) in view of Danek (US 2020/0230329) further in view of Hejazi (US 2021/0084970), in still further view of Rubsamen (US 5,724,957), as applied to claim 30 above, in further view of Paprocki (US 2016/0255879).
Regarding claim 36, Dittmann in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Modified Dittman fails to disclose wherein the aerosol chamber further comprises at least one aerosol heater
However, Paprocki teaches a smoking apparatus (1) (paragraph 51, lines 1-3; Fig. 1) that includes an aerosol heater (20’) disposed immediately adjacent a mouth port (3) with a lower heat capacity than other heating elements (additional heaters 20/20’ disposed throughout Fig. 3) so that it heats more quickly and to more quickly volatilize smokable material near the mouth port (3) to allow a user to inhale more quickly (paragraph 57, lines 5-12; Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of modified Dittman to include an additional heater with a low heat capacity at the aerosol chamber immediately adjacent the mouth port, as taught by Paprocki, in order to facilitate heating of the heater and the substrate more quickly, such that the volatilized material could more quickly be inhaled by the user.
Claims 40-42 and 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmann (US 2023/0080902) in view of Danek (US 2020/0230329) and Hejazi (US 2021/0084970), as applied to claim 24 above, in further view of Courbat (US 2017/0280771).
Regarding claim 40, it is noted that Dittman in view of Danek and Hejazi disclose the device according to claim 24, as discussed above.
Further regarding claim 40, Dittmann further discloses a method of volatilizing a liquid composition into microdroplets (paragraph 10, lines 1-8; paragraph 11, lines 1-9; paragraph 109, lines 1-15), by means of a device according to claim 24 (see rejection of claim 24 above, employing Dittmann, Danek, and Hejazi for the device; further note paragraph 109, lines 1-15 of Dittmann for the method of using the analogous device), the liquid composition having a viscosity higher than 1.4 cP at 20° C (paragraph 55, lines 1-11, and note that MPEP 2131.03 I-II for anticipation of overlapping ranges/anticipation of ranges when a prior art example is within the claimed range, where several values in the Dittmann ranges are greater than 2 cP), the method comprising a heating step a) of pre-heating said liquid composition (paragraph 105, lines 1-8; Fig. 3), and a spreading step b) of volatilizing the pre-heated liquid composition into microdroplets having an average diameter (paragraph 109, lines 1-15; paragraph 42, lines 1-6).
Presently, Dittman fails to disclose wherein the microdroplets have a diameter/an average diameter lower than 4 micrometers, and wherein the heating step occurs at a temperature lower that its boiling point, so that no vapor is produced.
However, Danek teaches an electronic device (100) for producing an aerosol via inhalation (paragraph 154, lines 1-5; Fig. 1) and use of a vibrating mesh to adjust a mass median aerodynamic diameter (MMAD) (paragraph 133, lines 13-15), and further indicates that particles with an MMAD of 1-5 microns advantageously deposit in the small airways and alveoli (paragraph 146, lines 6-10).
Danek’s range of 1-5 microns for the MMAD overlaps with the claimed range of 4 micrometers or lower. In the case where the range disclosed or taught by the prior art overlaps the claimed range, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device and method of Dittmann to include the capability and settings for producing a MMAD of between 1 and 5 microns (which overlaps the claimed range), as taught by Danek, in order to target microdroplet delivery after inhalation into the small airways and alveoli.
Presently modified Dittman fails to disclose wherein the heating step occurs at a temperature lower that its boiling point, so that no vapor is produced.
However, Courbat teaches an aerosolized smoking device (paragraph 98, lines 1-2; Fig. 1), wherein the control system of the device is operable to heat a liquid aerosol-forming substrate via a heater at a temperature lower than its boiling point so that no vapor is produced (paragraph 27, lines 1-6 and 15-18; note that because the device is operable to heat the liquid below its boiling point, the functional limitations regarding the lack of vapor, which are resultant from the heating temperature as claimed, are deemed to be met).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system and device of modified Dittmann to include the capability of controlling the heating device to heat the liquid composition at a temperature lower than its boiling point so that no vapor is produced, as taught by Courbat, so that the liquid does not burn during heating thereof.
Regarding claim 41, Dittmann in view of Danek, Hejazi, and Courbat disclose the method according to claim 40, as discussed above.
In the relied upon embodiment, Dittmann fails to disclose the modulation step c) of modulating the temperature of the pre-heating chamber and/or one or more of the frequency, amplitude and phase difference of vibration of the vibrating mesh and/or the number of vibrating actuators when applicable.
However, in a separate embodiment, Dittmann teaches a modulation step c) of modulating the temperature of the device via a button acted on by a user, such that the heater is controlled by activation of the button (paragraph 115, lines 1-2; Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Dittmann’s first embodiment with a button adapted for modulating the temperature of the preheating chamber via its heater, as taught by Dittmann’s second embodiment, in order to enable a user to achieve the modulation step of modulating the temperature of the heater in the preheating chamber via pressing of a button.
Regarding claim 42, Dittmann in view of Danek, Hejazi, and Courbat disclose the method according to claim 40, as discussed above.
Dittmann further discloses said liquid composition having viscosity higher than 1.4 cP at 20° C., and including between 1 and 10% of a substance having a biological effect under inhaling conditions (paragraph 55, lines 1-11, see 2-10% nicotine and the viscosity ranges, and note MPEP 2131.03 I-II as above for overlapping ranges/examples within the claimed range).
Presently modified Dittmann fails to disclose wherein said liquid composition comprises more than 60% of water, and between 5 to 40% of a polyol, said liquid composition being substantially free of additional organic solvent.
However, Hejazi further teaches an aerosol precursor which includes a water-based liquid comprised of 80% or more water (paragraph 53, lines 3-6, note that the range of 80%+ lies within the claimed range of more than 60% water, and per MPEP 2131.03 I-II, the range is anticipated), 1% of a substance having a biological effect under inhaling conditions (paragraph 53, lines 19-20, see 1% nicotine, and note that 1% lies within the claimed range, and per MPEP 2131.03 I-II, the range is anticipated), and up to 10% of propylene glycol (paragraph 53, lines 9-14, where propylene glycol is a polyol, note that up to 10% overlaps the claimed range with sufficient specificity, and per MPEP 2131.03 I-II, the range is anticipated), said liquid composition being substantially free of additional organic solvent (note paragraph 53, lines 3-27, where the only additional possible additives are cyclodextrin, which is not an organic solvent, and flavorant which per paragraph 55, lines 2-3 may be pre-mixed ion the liquid, where flavorant itself is not considered an organic solvent, or may be separate from the e-liquid per paragraph 55, lines 4-6, and therefore not included in the formulation above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a liquid composition comprising more than 80% of water, 1% of a substance having a biological effect under inhaling conditions, and up to 10% of a polyol, said liquid composition being substantially free of additional organic solvent, as taught by Hejazi, as a known liquid compound for dispensing via a device for delivering microdroplets to a user for inhalation thereof.
Regarding claim 44, Dittmann in view of Danek, Hejazi, and Courbat disclose the method according to claim 42, as discussed above.
Presently modified Dittmann further discloses said liquid composition comprising one flavor (Hejazi: paragraph 55, lines 14-16).
Regarding claim 45, Dittmann in view of Danek, Hejazi, and Courbat disclose the method according to claim 42, as discussed above.
Presently modified Dittmann further discloses said substance being nicotine (Hejazi: paragraph 55, lines 19-20).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmann (US 2023/0080902) in view of Danek (US 2020/0230329), Hejazi (US 2021/0084970), and Courbat (US 2017/0280771), as applied to claim 42 above, and in further view of Watson (US 2013/0069530).
Regarding claim 43, Dittmann in view of Danek, Hejazi, and Courbat disclose the method according to claim 42, as discussed above.
Modified Dittmann discloses wherein the ratio polyol/water in said liquid composition is comprised between 10/90 and 20/80 (Hejazi: paragraph 55, lines 3-16, note exemplary ratios of 80% water and 10% PG and 90% water and 10% PG, where 10/90 is part of the claimed range and 10/80 lies within the claimed range, MPEP 2131.03), and wherein said composition is stored in a closed tank (200 of Dittmann) adapted to be engaged within the device (Dittmann: paragraph 93, lines 1-8 and paragraph 104, lines 1-8; Fig. 2).
Modified Dittmann fails to disclose wherein the tank is sterile.
However, Watson teaches gas cartridges for use in a device, wherein the cartridge can be provided as a sterile storage component (paragraph 45, lines 1-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device and method of modified Dittmann to provide the tank as a sterile storage component, as taught by Watson, in order to allow for the capability of the substance aerosolized and delivered to a user to be provided as a sterile substance as desired, and based on the field of use of the device.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmann (US 2023/0080902) in view of Danek (US 2020/0230329), Hejazi (US 2021/0084970), and Courbat (US 2017/0280771), as applied to claim 42 above, and in further view of Schaller (US 2022/0079211) and Watson (US 2013/0069530).
Regarding claim 43, Dittmann in view of Danek, Hejazi, and Courbat disclose the method according to claim 42, as discussed above.
Modified Dittmann discloses wherein the ratio polyol/water in said liquid composition is comprised between 10/90 and 20/80 (Hejazi: paragraph 55, lines 3-16, note exemplary ratios of 80% water and 10% PG and 90% water and 10% PG, where 10/90 is part of the claimed range and 10/80 lies within the claimed range, MPEP 2131.03), and wherein said composition is stored in a recipient (200 of Dittmann) usable to refill the device (Dittmann: paragraph 93, lines 1-8 and paragraph 104, lines 1-8; Fig. 2).
Modified Dittmann fails to disclose wherein the ratio of polyol/water is greater than 20/80, and that the recipient is non-sterile.
However, Schaller teaches a ratio of polyol/water of greater than 20/80, where the ratio can be manipulated in order to change the overall nicotine retention (see Table 5, and the ratio of water to PG+VG in Examples B and E, where the percentage of water remains at 60%, but where 29.2/60 is greater than 20/80; see nicotine retention of Table 5; paragraph 255, lines 1-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ratio of polyol/water to be greater than 20/80, as taught by Schaller, in order to manipulate the nicotine retention of the formulation as desired.
Further modified Dittmann fails to disclose wherein the recipient is non-sterile.
However, Watson teaches gas cartridges for use in a device, wherein the cartridge can be provided as a non-sterile storage component (paragraph 45, lines 1-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device and method of modified Dittmann to provide the tank as a non-sterile storage component, as taught by Watson, in order to allow for the capability of the substance aerosolized and delivered to a user to be provided as a non-sterile substance as desired, and based on the field of use of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Leadley (US 2026/0052605) is cited for its reduced internal diameter in capillary tubes as shown in Figures 4A-B.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAIGE KATHLEEN BUGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785