DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed 9/8/2023 was received. Claims 16-18, 21, 22, 24-26, 29, and 30 were cancelled.
NOTE ON MATHEMATICAL FORMULAS AND NOTATION
The claims and prior art references use mathematical formulas and notation which are not available in a manner in which they could be accurately copied and reproduced here. Because of this, the present document represents the mathematical formulas and notation of the claims using standard typography and symbols, in as much as they could be copied. The reader should refer to the claims as filed and to the original prior art publications.
CLAIM OBJECTIONS
37 CFR 1.71(a) requires the claims to be to be in full, clear, concise, and exact terms.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears that the original formula has been inadvertently deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 13-15, 19, 20, and 23 objected to because of the following informalities: these claims recite a “method for transmitting HARQ-ACK” and yet no HARQ-ACK is transmitted by the claimed steps. Instead, independent claim 13 recites “A method … performed by a network device, comprising: … receiving, by a network device, … a HARQ-ACK from a user equipment.” These claims are a method for receiving a HARQ-ACK (not for transmitting HARQ-ACK information). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: it has the typo “umber” instead of “number.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: it was amended to depend on claim 13 but recites “the mapping type” and “the number L” which lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM REJECTIONS — 35 U.S.C. 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 7 states “the first duration Tproc,1 is determined by a following formula:” but then fails to recite the formula. Accordingly, the subject matter of claim 7 (i.e., the missing formula) is not particularly pointed out or distinctly claimed.
For examination purposes, claim 7 is treated as if the claimed formula was the following formula from the original claims:
Tproc,1 = (N1 + d1,1 + d2+f) (2048+144) · k2-u · Tc + Text
PRIOR ART
The following references are prior art:
1. Appl. No.: 17/420,634 (“Mondal”) is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) since it published as US 2022/0085939 A1, names another inventor (Bishwarup MONDAL), and was effectively filed Jan. 11, 2019 before Mar. 23, 2021 the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Mondal contains mathematical formulas and notation which are not able to be copied and reproduced here. Because of this, the present document represents the mathematical formulas and notation of Mondal using standard typography and symbols. The reader should refer to the original publication.
2. Appl. No. 18/260,849 (“Okano”) is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) since it published as US 2024/0056272 A1, names another inventor (Mayuko Okano), and was effectively filed Jan. 15, 2021 before Mar. 23, 2021 the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
3. 3GPP TS 38.214 version 16.4.0 Release 16 titled 5G; NR; Physical layer procedures for data is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) since it published in Jan 2021 before Mar. 23, 2021 the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The 9/8/2023 IDS also cited V17.6.0 (2023-06) of 3GPP TS 38.214.
5. 3GPP TS 38.331 version 15.2.1 titled 5G; NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) since it published in June 2018 before Mar. 23, 2021 the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION — CONTINGENT LIMITATIONS
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B.
Claim 1 recites the following contingent limitation: “in response to a number D of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols being greater than 3, sending, by a user equipment and after a first duration following an end time of a last OFDM symbol of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a HARQ-ACK to a network device, wherein the OFDM symbols are occupied in a time domain by a control resource set corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the first duration is related to the number D of the OFDM symbols occupied by the control resource set corresponding to the PDCCH in the time domain.” The Examiner finds that the claim only requires the step of “sending, by a user equipment… a HARQ-ACK” if the condition “in response to a number D of [OFDM] symbols being greater than 3” happens. However, this condition is not required to happen by the claim. Specifically, the phrase “in response to a number D of [OFDM] symbols being greater than 3” does not require that the number D actually is greater than 3. It may be 3 or less. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 does not require any limitations except “A method for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment (ACK) information” in as much as the preamble is limiting. Dependent claims 2-12 only further limit the contingent limitations of claim 1, and are therefore also contingent limitations.
Independent claim 13 recites similar contingent limitations and is interpreted in a similar manner. Dependent claims 14, 15, 19, 20, and 23 only further limit the contingent limitations of claim 13, and are therefore also contingent limitations.
CONTINGENT LIMITATION CLAIM REJECTIONS — 35 U.S.C. 102
35 U.S.C. 102 Conditions for patentability; novelty.
(a) NOVELTY; PRIOR ART.—A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—
(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
CLAIMS 1-15, 19, 20, & 23
Claims 1-15, 19, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP TS 38.214 version 16.4.0 because most of the limitations of these claims are contingent limitations that are not required to be performed in order to practice the claimed invention, as discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above.
With respect to claim 1, 3GPP TS 38.214 disclosed:
A method for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information (38.214 [p.12] In a given scheduled cell, the UE can receive a first PDSCH in slot i, with the corresponding HARQ-ACK assigned to be transmitted in slot j. [p.104] the PUCCH which carries the HARQ-ACK information).
The remaining limitations of claim 1 are not required to be performed in order for the claimed invention to be practiced because they are contingent limitations as discussed above.
Claims 2-12, only further limit the contingent limitations of claim 1 and therefore also do not need to be performed in order for the claimed invention to be practiced.
Claim 13 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected by the same reasoning. The Examiner notes that in 38.214 the ACK is sent on the uplink, meaning it is received by the network.
Claims 14, 15, 19, 20, and 23 only further limit the contingent limitations of claim 13 and therefore also do not need to be performed in order for the claimed invention to be practiced.
The Examiner suggests amending the claims to require the condition for performing the contingent limitations (i.e., require that) such that they are no longer contingent.
CLAIM REJECTIONS — 35 U.S.C. 103
35 U.S.C. 103 Conditions for patentability; non-obvious subject matter.
made.
CLAIMS 1-5, 7-10, 13-15, 19, 20, 23, 27, & 28
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13-15, 19, 20, 23, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mondal in view of Okano and 3GPP TS 38.214.
Claim 1
With respect to claim 1, Mondal taught:
A method for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgment (ACK) information (Mondal [Abstract] Systems, apparatuses, methods, and computer-readable media are provided for a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system… to process a hybrid automatic repeat and request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) assessment information for inclusion in a subframe on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) following the UE processing time and the additional processing time… and transmit the HARQACK assessment information on the PUCCH to the base station),
comprising: in response to a number D of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, sending, by a user equipment and after a first duration following an end time of a last OFDM symbol of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a HARQ-ACK to a network device, wherein the OFDM symbols are occupied in a time domain by a control resource set corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the first duration is related to the number D of the OFDM symbols occupied by the control resource set corresponding to the PDCCH in the time domain (Mondal [0022] After reception of a PDSCH, for the UE to provide a valid HARQ/ACK message, the location of the first symbol of the PUCCH carrying the HARQ/ACK information should account for the PDSCH processing time at the UE. The processing time Tproc,1 should be less than the time from the end of the last symbol carrying the PDSCH to the first symbol of the PUCCH carrying the HARQ/ACK information. [0024] the processing time at the UE may be limited by the occurrence of the last additional demodulation reference signal (DMRS) of the PDSCH occurring later in time in the case when additional DMRS is semi-statically configured for the PDSCHs. More specifically, the processing time is increased by the difference in symbols between the end of the PDSCH ending first in time and the last DMRS of the PDSCH ending last in time. [0025] In Rel-15 NR, for the UE to provide a valid HARQ-ACK message, the first uplink PUCCH symbol carrying the HARQ-ACK information as defined by the HARQ-ACK timing K1, should start no earlier than at symbol L, which is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting after Tproc,1 = (N1 + d1,1)(2048+144)·K2-u·Tc after the end of the last symbol of the PDSCH carrying the transport block (TB) being acknowledged, then the UE provides a valid HARQ-ACK message. The variables K1, Li, Ni, d1.1, μ, K, Tc are defined as follows. [0029] For UE processing capability 1: If the PDSCH is mapping type B… [0032] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 2, then d1,1=3+d, where dis the number of overlapping symbol; of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH. [0033] For UE processing capability 2: If the PDSCH is mapping type B or… [0035] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 4, then d1 1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH, or… [0037] if the scheduling PDCCH was in a 3-symbol CORESET and the CORESET and the PDSCH had the same starting symbol, then d1,1=3, [0038] otherwise d1,1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH. [0169] The PDCCH carries information about the transport format and resource allocations related to the PDSCH channel, among other things. It may also inform the UEs 401 about the transport format, resource allocation, and HARQ information related to the uplink shared channel.).
As discussed above, Mondal taught the limitations of claim 1, including “a number D of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, … wherein the OFDM symbols are occupied in a time domain by a control resource set corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH),” except that Mondal did not explicitly teach the number of OFDM symbols of the CORESET “being greater than 3.”
With respect to 1 claim, Okano taught:
a number of OFDM symbols of a CORESET being greater than 3 (Okano [0090] The number of symbols of CO RESET that can be monitored may be defined depending on the SCS. For example, in an example illustrated in FIG. 10, in a case where the downlink SCS is 120 kHz, the terminal 20 can monitor one to three symbols of CORESET. In a case where the downlink SCS is 480 kHz, the terminal 20 can monitor one to four symbols of CORESET. In a case where the downlink SCS is 960 kHz, the terminal 20 can monitor one to five symbols of CORESET.).
In addition, Okano taught:
When terminal devices operate in frequencies higher than FR2 52.6GHz, a larger subcarrier spacing (SCS) is used compared to FR2 (e.g., 480kHz or 960 kHz), and accordingly the symbol length becomes shorter, and accordingly the CORESET includes more than 3 symbols, such as 4 or 5 symbols (Okano [0002] in NR, using a high frequency band such as 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz, or 24.25 GHz to 71 GHz has been discussed. [0009] However, there is a possibility that a terminal, which conforms to the conventional definition in which a frequency band is assumed to be up to 52.6 GHz, cannot appropriately perform monitoring in the high frequency band higher than 52.6. [0010] The present invention has been made in view of the above, it is an object of the present invention to provide a technique that enables a terminal to perform monitoring of a control channel in the high frequency band in a wireless communication system. [0040] OFDM may be used as a wireless access method. In the frequency domain, with respect to the subcarrier spacing (SCS), at least 15 kHz, 30 kHz, 120 kHz, and 240 kHz may be supported. In an embodiment of the present invention, larger SCSs are supported. [0050] In FIG. 3, for the sake of convenience, the frequency band of 52.6 GHz to 71 GHz is described as FR2x. In addition, in an embodiment of the present invention, the frequency band of 24.25 GHz to 71 GHz may be used as an extended FR2. [0051] In addition, in an embodiment of the present invention, a wider SCS than conventional SCSs is used in accordance with the expansion of the frequency band as described above. For example, an SCS of 480 kHz or greater than 480 kHz may be used as an SCS of SSB and PDCCH/PDSCH. [0064] As described above, in an operation in the high frequency band that is equal to or greater than 52.6 GHz, an SCS, which is larger than that in FR1/FR2 (e.g., 480 kHz, 960 kHz), is assumed to be used, and, accordingly, the symbol length is assumed to become shorter. [0090] In a case where the downlink SCS is 480 kHz, the terminal 20 can monitor one to four symbols of CORESET. In a case where the downlink SCS is 960 kHz, the terminal 20 can monitor one to five symbols of CORESET. [0095] As described above, by increasing the number of symbols of CORESET, the terminal 20 can appropriately monitor PDCCH even in a case where the symbol length becomes shorter as the SCS increases.)
3GPP TS 38.214 taught many of the limitations of claim 1 as Mondal does since 38.214 is the basis for Mondal’s technique and it is also presented as evidence of the level of ordinary skill in the art. For instance, 38.214 taught section 5.3 UE PDSCH processing procedure time (refer to the original document for mathematical symbols and notations not able to be copied here) [p.104-105] If the first uplink symbol of the PUCCH which carries the HARQ-ACK information, as defined by the assigned HARQACK timing K1 and the PUCCH resource to be used and including the effect of the timing advance, starts no earlier than at symbol L1, where L1 is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting after ,1 1 1,1 2 ( )(2048 144) 2 proc C ext T = N + d + d + ⋅κ −μ ⋅T +T after the end of the last symbol of the PDSCH carrying the TB being acknowledged, then the UE shall provide a valid HARQ-ACK message. - N1 is based on μ of table 5.3-1 and table 5.3-2 for UE processing capability 1 and 2 respectively, where μ corresponds to the one of (μPDCCH, μPDSCH, μUL) resulting with the largest Tproc,1, where the μPDCCH corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH scheduling the PDSCH, the μPDSCH corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the scheduled PDSCH, and μUL corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the uplink channel with which the HARQ-ACK is to be transmitted, and κ is defined in clause 4.1 of [4, TS 38.211]. - For operation with shared spectrum channel access, ext T is calculated according to [4, TS 38.211], otherwise ext T=0.- If the PDSCH DM-RS position for the additional DM-RS in Table 7.4.1.1.2-3 in clause 7.4.1.1.2 of [4, TS 38.211] is = 12 then N1,0=14 in Table 5.3-1, otherwise N1,0=13. - If the UE is configured with multiple active component carriers, the first uplink symbol which carries the HARQ-ACK information further includes the effect of timing difference between the component carriers as given in [11, TS 38.133]. - For the PDSCH mapping type A as given in clause 7.4.1.1 of [4, TS 38.211]: if the last symbol of PDSCH is on the i-th symbol of the slot where i < 7, then d1,1 = 7 - i, otherwise d1,1 = 0 - If a PUCCH of a larger priority index would overlap with PUCCH/PUSCH of a smaller priority index, d2 for the PUCCH of a larger priority is set as reported by the UE; otherwise d2 = 0. - For UE processing capability 1: If the PDSCH is mapping type B as given in clause 7.4.1.1 of [4, TS 38.211], and - if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is L ≥ 7, then d1,1 = 0, - if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is L ≥ 4 and L ≤ 6, then d1,1 = 7- L. - if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is L = 3 then d1,1 = 3 + min (d,1), where d is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH. - if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 2, then d1,1 = 3+d, where d is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH. - For UE processing capability 2: If the PDSCH is mapping type B as given in clause 7.4.1.1 of [4, TS 38.211], - if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is L ≥ 7, then d1,1 = 0, - if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is L ≥ 3 and L ≤ 6, then d1,1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH, - if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 2, - if the scheduling PDCCH was in a 3-symbol CORESET and the CORESET and the PDSCH had the same starting symbol, then d1,1 = 3, - otherwise d1,1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH. - For UE processing capability 2 with scheduling limitation when μPDSCH = 1, if the scheduled RB allocation exceeds 136 RBs, the UE defaults to capability 1 processing time. The UE may skip decoding a number of PDSCHs with last symbol within 10 symbols before the start of a PDSCH that is scheduled to follow Capability 2, if any of those PDSCHs are scheduled with more than 136 RBs with 30kHz SCS and following Capability 1 processing time. - For a UE that supports capability 2 on a given cell, the processing time according to UE processing capability 2 is applied if the high layer parameter processingType2Enabled in PDSCH-ServingCellConfig is configured for the cell and set to 'enable'. - If this PUCCH resource is overlapping with another PUCCH or PUSCH resource, then HARQ-ACK is multiplexed following the procedure in clause 9.2.5 of [6, TS 38.213], otherwise the HARQ-ACK message is transmitted on PUCCH. Otherwise the UE may not provide a valid HARQ-ACK corresponding to the scheduled PDSCH. The value of Tproc,1 is used both in the case of normal and extended cyclic prefix. For a PDSCH that consists of two PDSCH transmission occasions in time domain in one slot, d1,1 is calculated based on the first PDSCH transmission occasion in the slot, and as described above.
The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Mondal’s technique for a UE to process a hybrid automatic repeat and request acknowledgement using “a number D of orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols, … wherein the OFDM symbols are occupied in a time domain by a control resource set corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)” to implement Okano’s technique of using a CORESET having the number of OFDM symbols “being greater than 3” to achieve the claimed invention. The motivation to do so would be to improve the bandwidth capability of the UE/terminal by increasing its frequency capability over FR2, which, as explained in Okano (see additional discussion of Okano just above), requires the use of increased subcarrier spacing along with more than 3 symbols for the CORESET.
Furthermore, as stated by the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398: “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentability.” Here, the design and market for wireless devices is moving to higher and higher frequencies in order to provide increased bandwidth for data-using that is growing and growing (e.g., ultra HD video streaming, wearable devices, etc.). The Examiner notes that "A person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR, 550 U.S. at 421. "[I]n many cases a person of ordinary skill will be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle." Id. at 420, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. Office personnel may also take into account "the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418. Here, the prior art of Mondal taught claim 1 except that Mondal did not explicitly teach the number of OFDM symbols of the CORESET “being greater than 3.” That is taught by Okano as discussed above. Mondal’s technique already involves configuring HARQ-ACKs based on various parameters including the number of OFDM symbols occupied in a time domain by the CORESET. When using higher frequencies above FR2, more symbols are needed for the CORESET as explained in Okano. The Examiner finds that a person of ordinary skill in the art possesses sufficient skill and capability to adapt and integrate Okano’s teachings to work with Mondal’s teachings, thereby achieving the claimed invention, given that this technical skill and capability would be needed to implement the 3GPP Technical Specification 38.214, a wireless industry standard, in the first place. That is, TS 38.213 serves as evidence of the level of skill in the art.
Claim 2
With respect to claim 2, Mondal in view of Okano and 3GPP TS 38.214 taught:
The method for transmitting HARQ-ACK according to claim 1 (see rejection above).
With respect to claim 2, Mondal taught:
wherein the first duration Tproc,1 is determined by a following formula: Tproc,1 = (N1 + d1,1 + d2)(2048+144) · k2-u · Tc + Text, wherein n1 and d2 are respectively integers, k, u, Tc, and Text are respectively real numbers; and wherein d1,1 is an integer related to the number D of the OFDM symbols occupied by the control resource set corresponding to the PDCCH in the time domain, and is also related to at least one of following parameters: a mapping type of the PDSCH; a number L of OFDM symbols occupied by the PDSCH in the time domain; a number d of overlapped OFDM symbols of the PDCCH and the PDSCH; or a processing capability of the user equipment (Mondal taught [0025] In Rel-15 NR, for the UE to provide a valid HARQ-ACK message, the first uplink PUCCH symbol carrying the HARQ-ACK information as defined by the HARQ-ACK timing K1, should start no earlier than at symbol L, which is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting after Tproc.1=CN1+d1_1)(2048+144)·K2-μ·Tc after the end of the last symbol of the PDSCH carrying the transport block (TB) being acknowledged, then the UE provides a valid HARQ-ACK message. The variables K1, Li, Ni, d1.1, μ, K, Tc are defined as follows. [0026] N1 is based onμ of table 5.3-1 and table 5.3-2 for UE processing capability 1 and 2 respectively, where μ corresponds to the one of (μpnccH, μpnscH, μuL) resulting with the largest T proc.u where the μPnccH corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH scheduling the PDSCH, the μPnscH corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the scheduled PDSCH, and μuL corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the uplink channel with which the HARQ-ACK is to be transmitted, and xis the ratio between Ts and Tc is a basic time unit for NR, and Ts a basic time unit for LTE. [0027] If the UE is configured with multiple active component carriers, the first uplink symbol which carries the HARQ-ACK information further includes the effect of timing difference between the component carriers. [0028] For the PDSCH mapping type A: if the last symbol of PDSCH is on the i-th symbol of the slot where i<7, then d1.1=7-i, otherwise d1.1=0 [0029] For UE processing capability 1: If the PDSCH is mapping type B as given in subclause 7.4.1.1 of [4, TS 38.211], and [0030] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 7, then d1.1=0, [0031] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 4, then d1.1=3 [0032] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 2, then d1 1=3+d, where dis the number of overlapping symbol; of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH. [0033] For UE processing capability 2: If the PDSCH is mapping type B, or [0034] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 7, then d1.1=0, or [0035] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 4, then d1 1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH, or [0036] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 2, [0037] if the scheduling PDCCH was in a 3-symbol CORESET and the CORESET and the PDSCH had the same starting symbol, then d1.1=3, [0038] otherwise d1 1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH.)
Claim 3
With respect to claim 3, Mondal in view of Okano and 3GPP TS 38.214 taught:
The method for transmitting HARQ-ACK according to claim 1 (see rejection above).
With respect to claim 3, Mondal taught:
wherein the first duration Tproc,1 is determined by a following formula: Tproc,1 = (N1 + d1,1 + d2)(2048+144) · k2-u · Tc + Text wherein N1 and d2 are respectively integers, k u Tc and Text are respectively real numbers; and wherein d1,1 is an integer related to the number D of the OFDM symbols occupied by the control resource set corresponding to the PDCCH in the time domain, and is also related to a mapping type of the PDSCH and a number L of OFDM symbols occupied by the PDSCH in the time domain (Mondal taught [0025] In Rel-15 NR, for the UE to provide a valid HARQ-ACK message, the first uplink PUCCH symbol carrying the HARQ-ACK information as defined by the HARQ-ACK timing K1, should start no earlier than at symbol L, which is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting after Tproc.1=CN1+d1_1)(2048+144)·K2-μ·Tc after the end of the last symbol of the PDSCH carrying the transport block (TB) being acknowledged, then the UE provides a valid HARQ-ACK message. The variables K1, Li, Ni, d1.1, μ, K, Tc are defined as follows. [0026] N1 is based onμ of table 5.3-1 and table 5.3-2 for UE processing capability 1 and 2 respectively, where μ corresponds to the one of (μpnccH, μpnscH, μuL) resulting with the largest T proc.u where the μPnccH corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH scheduling the PDSCH, the μPnscH corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the scheduled PDSCH, and μuL corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the uplink channel with which the HARQ-ACK is to be transmitted, and xis the ratio between Ts and Tc Tc is a basic time unit for NR, and Ts a basic time unit for LTE. [0027] If the UE is configured with multiple active component carriers, the first uplink symbol which carries the HARQ-ACK information further includes the effect of timing difference between the component carriers. [0028] For the PDSCH mapping type A: if the last symbol of PDSCH is on the i-th symbol of the slot where i<7, then d1.1=7-i, otherwise d1.1=0 [0029] For UE processing capability 1: If the PDSCH is mapping type B as given in subclause 7.4.1.1 of [4, TS 38.211], and [0030] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 7, then d1.1=0, [0031] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 4, then d1.1=3 [0032] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 2, then d1 1=3+d, where dis the number of overlapping symbol; of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH. [0033] For UE processing capability 2: If the PDSCH is mapping type B, or [0034] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 7, then d1.1=0, or [0035] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 4, then d1 1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH, or [0036] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 2, [0037] if the scheduling PDCCH was in a 3-symbol CORESET and the CORESET and the PDSCH had the same starting symbol, then d1.1=3, [0038] otherwise d1 1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH.).
Claim 4
With respect to claim 4, Mondal in view of Okano and 3GPP TS 38.214 taught:
The method for transmitting HARQ-ACK according to claim 3 (see rejection above).
With respect to claim 4, 3GPP TS 38.214 taught:
wherein the mapping type of the PDSCH is type A, the number L of the OFDM symbols occupied by the PDSCH in the time domain is greater than or equal to an integer N, and d1,1 is 0, wherein N is greater than 0 and related to the number D; or, the mapping type of the PDSCH is type A, the number L of the OFDM symbols occupied by the PDSCH in the time domain is less than the integer N, d1,1 is an integer M, the integer M is greater than 0 and related to the number D, and N is greater than 0 and related to the number D (3GPP TS 38.214 taught [p.14] the PDSCH mapping type is set to Type A or Type B as defined in Clause 7.4.1.1.2 of [4, TS 38.211]. The UE shall consider the S and L combinations defined in table 5.1.2.1-1 satisfying 0 S + S + L ≤ 14 for normal cyclic. [p.14, Table 5.1.2.1-1: Valid S and L combinations] PDSCH mapping type, Normal cyclic prefix Extended, cyclic prefix, S L S+L S L S+L, Type A {0,1,2,3} (Note 1) {3,…,14} {3,…,14} {0,1,2,3} (Note 1) {3,…,12} {3,…,12}. [p.18 Table 5.1.2.1.1-2: Default PDSCH time domain resource allocation A for normal CP] see PDSCH mapping type: Type A, column L. [p.104, 5.3 UE PDSCH processing procedure time] If the first uplink symbol of the PUCCH which carries the HARQ-ACK information, as defined by the assigned HARQACK timing K1 and the PUCCH resource to be used and including the effect of the timing advance, starts no earlier than at symbol L1, where L1 is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting after ,1 1 1,1 2 ( )(2048 144) 2 proc C ext T = N + d + d + ⋅κ −μ ⋅T +T after the end of the last symbol of the PDSCH carrying the TB being acknowledged, then the UE shall provide a valid HARQ-ACK message… For the PDSCH mapping type A as given in clause 7.4.1.1 of [4, TS 38.211]: if the last symbol of PDSCH is on the i-th symbol of the slot where i < 7, then d1,1 = 7 - i, otherwise d1,1 = 0 ).
The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the techniques of 3GPP TS 38.214 in Mondal’s User Equipment because Mondal [0040] specifically states that it’s systems operation under the 5G or NR system standards as provided by 3GPP technical specifications. Implementing a technical standard has predictable results, which is the point of standardizing technology.
Claim 5
With respect to claim 5, Mondal in view of Okano and 38.214 taught:
The method for transmitting HARQ-ACK according to claim 4, wherein the mapping type of the PDSCH is type A, the number L of the OFDM symbols occupied by the PDSCH in the time domain is less than the integer N, d1,1 is an integer M, the integer M is greater than 0 and related to the number D, and N is greater than 0 and related to the number D (see rejection above).
While Mondal in view of Okano and 38.214 did not explicitly teach claim 5, the teachings of the prior art do render obvious “N = 4 + D; M = 4 + D – L” as recited in claim 5. Mondal in view of Okano and 38.214 did not explicitly teach that d1,1 (which is the integer M) is equal to 4 plus D (a number greater than 3 and related to the number of PDCCH CORESET OFDM symbols) minus L (which is less than N and is the number of PDSCH symbols), where N equals 4 plus D. However, As discussed above, 38.214 taught [p.104] For the PDSCH mapping type A as given in clause 7.4.1.1 of [4, TS 38.211]: if the last symbol of PDSCH is on the i-th symbol of the slot where i < 7, then d1,1 = 7 - i, otherwise d1,1 = 0 - If a PUCCH of a larger priority index would overlap with PUCCH/PUSCH. If the number of OFDM CORESET symbols (D) is 4 as taught by Okano [0089]-[0091] and the last/ith symbol of the PDSCH slot is 6, which is a given option in 38.214 [p.104], then d1,1, which is M, is equal to 4 + 4 – 6 which is 2. Furthermore, L (which is 6 in this example) is less than N, and N equals 8, which is 4 + D (which is 4). Indeed, 6 is less than 8.
The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains that “N = 4 + D; M = 4 + D – L” because Okano disclosed that D can 4 and 3GPP TS 38.214 disclosed that L can be 6, thereby satisfying claim 5 by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results since each element merely performs the same function as it does separately and the results of the combination were predictable, as discussed above.
Claim 7
With respect to claim 7, Mondal in view of Okano and 3GPP TS 38.214 taught:
The method for transmitting HARQ-ACK according to claim 1 (see rejection above).
With respect to claim 7, Mondal taught:
wherein the first duration Tproc,1 is determined by a following formula: Tproc,1 = (N1 + d1,1 + d2+f)(2048+144) · k2-u · Tc + Text wherein N1, d1,1 and d2 are respectively integers, k, u, Tc and Text are respectively real numbers, f is a real number related to the number D of the OFDM symbols occupied by the control resource set corresponding to the PDCCH in the time domain; and is related to at least one of following parameters: a mapping type of the PDSCH; a number L of OFDM symbols occupied by the PDSCH in the time domain; a number d of overlapped symbols of the PDCCH and the PDSCH; or a processing capability of the user equipment ([0025] In Rel-15 NR, for the UE to provide a valid HARQ-ACK message, the first uplink PUCCH symbol carrying the HARQ-ACK information as defined by the HARQ-ACK timing K1, should start no earlier than at symbol L, which is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting after Tproc,1 = (N1 + d1,1)(2048+144)·K2-u·Tc after the end of the last symbol of the PDSCH carrying the transport block (TB) being acknowledged, then the UE provides a valid HARQ-ACK message. The variables K1, Li, Ni, d1.1, μ, K, Tc are defined as follows. [0029] For UE processing capability 1: If the PDSCH is mapping type B… [0032] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 2, then d1,1=3+d, where dis the number of overlapping symbol; of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH. [0033] For UE processing capability 2: If the PDSCH is mapping type B or… [0035] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 4, then d1 1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH, or… [0037] if the scheduling PDCCH was in a 3-symbol CORESET and the CORESET and the PDSCH had the same starting symbol, then d1,1=3, [0038] otherwise d1,1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH.).
Claim 8
With respect to claim 8, Mondal in view of Okano and 3GPP TS 38.214 taught:
The method for transmitting HARQ-ACK according to claim 1 (see rejection above).
With respect to claim 8, Mondal taught:
wherein the first duration Tproc,1 is determined by a following formula:
Tproc,1 = (N1 + d1,1 + f)(2048+144) · k2-u · Tc + Text, wherein N1, d1,1 and d2 are respectively integers, k, u, Tc, and Text are respectively real numbers, f is a real number related to the number D of the OFDM symbols occupied by the control resource set corresponding to the PDCCH in the time domain; and is also related to a mapping type of the PDSCH and a number L of OFDM symbols occupied by the PDSCH in the time domain [0025] In Rel-15 NR, for the UE to provide a valid HARQ-ACK message, the first uplink PUCCH symbol carrying the HARQ-ACK information as defined by the HARQ-ACK timing K1, should start no earlier than at symbol L, which is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting after Tproc,1 = (N1 + d1,1)(2048+144)·K2-u·Tc after the end of the last symbol of the PDSCH carrying the transport block (TB) being acknowledged, then the UE provides a valid HARQ-ACK message. The variables K1, Li, Ni, d1.1, μ, K, Tc are defined as follows. [0029] For UE processing capability 1: If the PDSCH is mapping type B… [0032] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 2, then d1,1=3+d, where dis the number of overlapping symbol; of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH. [0033] For UE processing capability 2: If the PDSCH is mapping type B or… [0035] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 4, then d1 1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH, or… [0037] if the scheduling PDCCH was in a 3-symbol CORESET and the CORESET and the PDSCH had the same starting symbol, then d1,1=3, [0038] otherwise d1,1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH).
Claim 9
With respect to claim 9, Mondal in view of Okano and 38.214 taught:
The method for transmitting HARQ-ACK according to claim 8 (see rejection above).
With respect to claim 9, Mondal taught:
wherein the mapping type of the PDSCH is type A, the number L of the OFDM symbols occupied by the PDSCH in the time domain is greater than or equal to an integer N, and f is 0, and N is greater than 0 and related to the number D; or the mapping type of the PDSCH is type A, the number L of the OFDM symbols occupied by the PDSCH in the time domain is less than the integer N, f is an integer M; the integer M is an integer greater than 0 and related to the number D, and N is greater than 0 and related to the number D (Mondal [0025] In Rel-15 NR, for the UE to provide a valid HARQ-ACK message, the first uplink PUCCH symbol carrying the HARQ-ACK information as defined by the HARQ-ACK timing K1, should start no earlier than at symbol L, which is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting after Tproc,1 = (N1 + d1,1)(2048+144)·K2-u·Tc after the end of the last symbol of the PDSCH carrying the transport block (TB) being acknowledged, then the UE provides a valid HARQ-ACK message. The variables K1, Li, Ni, d1.1, μ, K, Tc are defined as follows. [0027] If the UE is configured with multiple active component carriers, the first uplink symbol which carries the HARQ-ACK information further includes the effect of timing difference between the component carriers. [0028] For the PDSCH mapping type A: if the last symbol of PDSCH is on the i-th symbol of the slot where i<7, then d1.1=7-i, otherwise d1.1=0 ).
Claim 10
With respect to claim 10, Mondal in view of Okano and 38.214 taught:
The method for transmitting HARQ-ACK according to claim 9 (see rejection above).
While Mondal in view of Okano and 38.214 did not explicitly teach claim 10, the teachings of the prior art do render obvious “N = 4 + D; M = 4 + D – L” as recited in claim 10. Mondal in view of Okano and 38.214 did not explicitly teach that d1,1 (which is the integer M) is equal to 4 plus D (a number greater than 3 and related to the number of PDCCH CORESET OFDM symbols) minus L (which is less than N and is the number of PDSCH symbols), where N equals 4 plus D. However, As discussed above, 38.214 taught [p.104] For the PDSCH mapping type A as given in clause 7.4.1.1 of [4, TS 38.211]: if the last symbol of PDSCH is on the i-th symbol of the slot where i < 7, then d1,1 = 7 - i, otherwise d1,1 = 0 - If a PUCCH of a larger priority index would overlap with PUCCH/PUSCH. If the number of OFDM CORESET symbols (D) is 4 as taught by Okano [0089]-[0091] and the last/ith symbol of the PDSCH slot is 6, which is a given option in 38.214 [p.104], then d1,1, which is M, is equal to 4 + 4 – 6 which is 2. Furthermore, L (which is 6 in this example) is less than N, and N equals 8, which is 4 + D (which is 4). Indeed, 6 is less than 8.
The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains that “N = 4 + D; M = 4 + D – L” because Okano disclosed that D can 4 and 3GPP TS 38.214 disclosed that L can be 6, thereby satisfying claim 5 by combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results since each element merely performs the same function as it does separately and the results of the combination were predictable, as discussed above.
Claim 13
Claim 13 recites limitations similar to claim 1 and is rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim 14
Claim 14 recites limitations similar to claim 2 and is rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim 15
Claim 15 recites limitations similar to claim 3 and is rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim 19
Claim 19 recites limitations similar to claim 7 (see claim interpretation of claim 7 above) and is rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim 20
Claim 20 recites limitations similar to claim 8 and is rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim 23
Claim 23 recites limitations similar to claim 11 and is rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim 27
Claim 27 recites limitations similar to claim 1 except that it additionally recites “a processor and a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program; and the processor is configured to execute the computer program to implement” operations similar to those recited in claim 1. The processor and memory as claimed are taught by Mondal [0004], [0006] and [0217]-[0218]. Claim 27 is rejected for these reasons along with the reasoning given above for claim 1.
Claim 28
Claim 28 recites limitations similar to claim 28 and is rejected by the same reasoning.
CLAIMS 6, 11 & 12
Claims 6, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mondal in view of Okano, 3GPP TS 38.214, and 3GPP TS 38.331.
Claim 6
With respect to claim 6, Mondal in view of Okano and 38.214 taught:
The method for transmitting HARQ-ACK according to claim 2 (see rejection above).
With respect to claim 6, Mondal taught:
wherein the mapping type of the PDSCH is type B, L is located in a set interval, the processing capability of the user equipment is a first capability, and a value of d1,1 is D + d; or the mapping type of the PDSCH is type B, L is located in a set interval, the processing capability of the user equipment is a second capability, and a value of d1,1 is D (Mondal [0025] In Rel-15 NR, for the UE to provide a valid HARQ-ACK message, the first uplink PUCCH symbol carrying the HARQ-ACK information as defined by the HARQ-ACK timing K1, should start no earlier than at symbol L, which is defined as the next uplink symbol with its CP starting after Tproc,1 = (N1 + d1,1)(2048+144)·K2-u·Tc after the end of the last symbol of the PDSCH carrying the transport block (TB) being acknowledged, then the UE provides a valid HARQ-ACK message. The variables K1, Li, Ni, d1.1, μ, K, Tc are defined as follows. [0026] N1 is based onμ of table 5.3-1 and table 5.3-2 for UE processing capability 1 and 2 respectively, where μ corresponds to the one of (μpnccH, μpnscH, μuL) resulting with the largest T proc.u where the μPnccH corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH scheduling the PDSCH, the μPnscH corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the scheduled PDSCH, and μuL corresponds to the subcarrier spacing of the uplink channel with which the HARQ-ACK is to be transmitted, and xis the ratio between Ts and Tc Tc is a basic time unit for NR, and Ts a basic time unit for LTE. [0027] If the UE is configured with multiple active component carriers, the first uplink symbol which carries the HARQ-ACK information further includes the effect of timing difference between the component carriers. [0029] For UE processing capability 1: If the PDSCH is mapping type B as given in subclause 7.4.1.1 of [4, TS 38.211], and [0030] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 7, then d1.1=0, [0031] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 4, then d1.1=3 [0032] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 2, then d1 1=3+d, where dis the number of overlapping symbol; of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH. [0033] For UE processing capability 2: If the PDSCH is mapping type B, or [0034] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 7, then d1.1=0, or [0035] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 4, then d1 1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH, or [0036] if the number of PDSCH symbols allocated is 2, [0037] if the scheduling PDCCH was in a 3-symbol CORESET and the CORESET and the PDSCH had the same starting symbol, then d1.1=3, [0038] otherwise d1 1 is the number of overlapping symbols of the scheduling PDCCH and the scheduled PDSCH. The Examiner notes that the term “set interval” is being given its plain meaning since it is not defined by the specification and is not a term of art).
With respect to claim 6, 3GPP TS 38.214 also taught:
L is located in a set interval (38.214 [p.14] When receiving PDSCH scheduled by DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 in PDCCH with CRC scrambled by C-RNTI, MCS-CRNTI, or CS-RNTI with NDI=1, if the UE is configured with pdsch-AggregationFactor in pdsch-config, the same symbol allocation is applied across the pdsch-AggregationFactor consecutive slots. When receiving PDSCH scheduled by DCI format 1_1 or 1_2 in PDCCH with CRC scrambled by CS-RNTI with NDI=0, or PDSCH scheduled without corresponding PDCCH transmission using sps-Config and activated by DCI format 1_1 or 1_2, the same symbol allocation is applied across the pdsch-AggregationFactor, in sps-Config if configured, or across the pdsch-AggregationFactor in pdsch-config otherwise, consecutive slots. The UE may expect that the TB is repeated within each symbol allocation among each of the pdsch-AggregationFactor consecutive slots and the PDSCH is limited to a single transmission layer).
The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the clai