DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuda (JP 2017219159 A).
Re claim 1, Matsuda discloses a disc brake comprising: a friction pad (21a, 21b) that is provided at a position next to a disc rotor (5) in a disc axial direction and provided to be able to move in the disc axial direction; and a carrier (24, 25) that has an inner circumferential surface supporting the friction pad and formed along an outer circumferential edge of the disc rotor and a filter portion (20, 20c) provided on the inner circumferential surface in a manner of facing the outer circumferential edge of the disc rotor. (Fig. 2, 4, 14, 18)
Re claim 2, Matsuda discloses wherein the filter portion (20, 20c) is provided on a disc exit side of the carrier.
Re claim 3, Matsuda discloses wherein the filter portion (20, 20c) is constituted of a dust collection portion (47a, 41b) and an attachment plate (47b-47d, 74) for attaching the dust collection portion to a carrier main body of the carrier.
Re claim 4, Matsuda discloses wherein the attachment plate (47b-47d, 73) is provided with an attachment portion (45a) for attachment with respect to the carrier main body.
Re claim 5, Matsuda discloses wherein the attachment plate (47b-47d, 74) includes a position setting plate portion (43, 75, 76) which positionally sets the dust collection portion (47a) and is unlikely to be detached from the carrier main body, and a clip-type plate portion (74) which supports the dust collection portion and is able to be detached from the carrier main body.
Re claim 6, Matsuda discloses wherein the position setting plate portion (43) is provided in a direction of a disc center axis with respect to the dust collection portion (47a).
Re claim 7, Matsuda discloses wherein the clip-type plate portion (74) is provided next to the dust collection portion (41b) in a disc circumferential direction.
Re claim 8, Matsuda discloses wherein the attachment plate is provided with a hole (44a, 44b, 45).
Re claim 9, Matsuda discloses wherein the dust collection portion (47a, 41b) is provided on both sides a disc entrance side and a disc exit side of the carrier. (Fig. 2)
Re claim 10, Matsuda discloses wherein the filter portion (20c) is made up of an elastic body.
Re claim 11, Matsuda discloses wherein the carrier is provided with a hole (45) at a position of the filter portion.
Re claim 12, Matsuda discloses wherein the filter portion (20) is made up of a first filter portion and a second filter portion. (Fig. 8)
Re claim 13, Matsuda discloses wherein the first filter portion (20) is provided on a disc exit side of the carrier. (Fig. 2)
Re claim 14, Matsuda discloses wherein the filter portion (20, 20c) is continuously provided from a disc entrance side to a disc exit side of the carrier.
Re claim 15, Matsuda discloses a carrier (24) comprising: an inner circumferential surface that supports a friction pad and is formed along an outer circumferential edge of a disc rotor (5); and a filter portion (20, 20c) that is provided on the inner circumferential surface in a manner of facing the outer circumferential edge of the disc rotor. (Fig. 2)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bock teaches a similar disc brake.
/MELANIE TORRES WILLIAMS/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
MTW
December 12, 2025