DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the communication filed on 6/25/26. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not found persuasive. Claims 1-6 are pending and remain rejected in view of the prior art. This Action is FINAL.
Claims Analysis
Claim 1 recites a battery comprising an electrode having a core and a mixture layer formed over the core. The mixture layer includes a first layer, a second layer and a third layer wherein each of the first layer, the second layer and the third layer includes a binder. A content of binder in the second layer is lower than or equal to a content of the binder in the first layer. Therefore, claim 1 encompasses an embodiment wherein the first layer and the second layer of the mixture layer are not structurally distinguished from each other (content of binder is equal).
Furthermore, “over” the core is broader than “directly on” the core”. Specifically, “over’ is interpreted as “above”. For example, a plane flies “over” (above) my house is not the same as a plane flies “on” my house.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moriyama et al., JP 2012-028006 A.
Moriyama teaches an electrode plate for a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery having an electrode mixture layer (mixture layer) containing a binder and an electrode active material on a current collector (core). The electrode mixture layer is divided into an inner region (first layer/second layer) and an end region (third layer), and the weight ratio of the binder based on the active material is larger in the end region (third layer) than in the inner region (first layer/second layer) [0014]. The inner region may contain the binder in an amount of 1 part by weight [0049] and the end region may contain the binder in an amount of 2 parts by weight [0050]. See the Figures of Moriyama wherein the end region 3 is formed along a longitudinal direction of the electrode, at respective end portions in a width direction.
The boundary region between the inner region and the end region is 0.5 mm or more and 10 mm or less from the end of the electrode plate [0015]. In the end region 3, the width A is 0.5 mm to 10 mm [0022]. Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Examiner notes the claims have been given the broadest reasonable interpretation. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the present claims, when Figure 1 is rotated 90°, one end layer 3 may be considered the “core”, layer 2 may be considered “a first layer and a second layer” and another end layer 3 may be considered “a third layer”.
*
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al., US 2015/0380739 A1.
Watanabe teaches a negative electrode for a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a belt-shaped negative electrode collector 32 (core) and a negative electrode mixture layer 50 (mixture layer) disposed on the negative electrode collector [0020]. See Figure 2, 3A and 3B of Watanabe.
In the negative electrode mixture layer 50, the content of the binding materials in the mixture is preferably the highest in the vicinity (for example, 30% or less of the thickness of the negative electrode mixture layer from the interface) of the interface with the negative electrode collector 32. In such a structure, the binding materials are concentrated near the interface between the negative electrode mixture layer 50 and the negative electrode collector 32 to enhance the binding property and inhibit peeling. More specifically, when the negative electrode mixture layer (a) 52 is divided into two equal parts at the center in the thickness direction, the negative electrode mixture layer (c) 56 is one half on the negative electrode collector side of the negative electrode mixture layer (a) 52, and the negative electrode mixture layer (d) 58 is the other half on the negative electrode mixture layer (b) 54 side of the negative electrode mixture layer (a) 52, where the content C (% by mass) of the binding materials relative to the mass of the negative active material in the negative electrode mixture layer (c) 56 and the content D (% by mass) of the binding materials relative to the mass of the negative active material in the negative electrode mixture layer (d) 58 preferably satisfy a relationship: C>D>B. The ratio C/D is preferably higher than 1.0 and 50 or less and more preferably 2 or more and 20 or less [0025].
The total amount of the first binding material 61 and the second binding material 62 in the negative electrode mixture layer 50 is preferably 0.45% by mass to 2.0% by mass based on the total amount of the mixture (solid content) of the negative electrode mixture layer 50. An amount of less than 0.45% by mass may deteriorate the current collecting properties due to insufficient binding strength. An amount of higher than 2.0% by mass may decrease the flexibility of the mixture layer and may inhibit the diffusion of lithium ions by the excess binding materials, which may cause deterioration of the characteristics [0030].
The content of the first binding material 61 is 0.4% to 1.9% by mass based on the total amount of the negative active material in the resulting negative electrode mixture layer 50 [0038]. The first negative electrode mixture layer formed in the first drying step preferably has a dried thickness of 0.5 to 5 μm [0039]. The content of the second binding material 62 is 0.02% to 1.5% by mass based on the total amount of the negative active material in the resulting negative electrode mixture layer 50 [0040]. The negative electrode mixture layer 50 has a thickness of, for example, 20 to 200 μm [0021].
The content A (% by mass) of the binding materials 60 relative to the mass of the negative active material in the negative electrode mixture layer (a) 52 and the content B (% by mass) of the binding materials 60 relative to the mass of the negative active material in the negative electrode mixture layer (b) 54 satisfy a relationship: 0.04≦B/(A+B)<0.5. The ratio B/(A+B) is preferably 0.06 or more and 0.3 or less [0023].
The content of binder 62 in layer 54 (third layer) is greater than a content of binder 62 in layer 58 (second layer) and/or a content of binder 62 in layer 56 (first layer). In addition, layer 52 may be considered both the first and second layer of the claimed invention. Thus, the claims are anticipated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
All 35 USC 112 rejections of record are withdrawn. The claims have been amended accordingly. Examiner notes at least claim 1 does not require the content of binder in the second layer be different than the content of binder in the first layer.
Regarding Moriyama, Examiner notes the claims have been given the broadest reasonable interpretation. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the present claims, when Figure 1 of Moriyama is rotated 90°, one end layer 3 may be considered the “core”, layer 2 may be considered “a first layer and a second layer” and another end layer 3 may be considered “a third layer”. Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Applicant points to at least Figure 3 of the present specification. However, at least claim 1 is broader than the embodiment shown in Figure 3. Examiner notes Moriyama does not appear to teach the embodiment shown in Figure 3 of the present specification.
Regarding Watanabe, the reference clearly teaches the content of binder 62 in layer 54 (third layer) is greater than a content of binder 62 in layer 58 (second layer) and/or a content of binder 62 in layer 56 (first layer). In addition, layer 52 may be considered both the first and second layer of the claimed invention. The electrode has a current collector 32 (core). Furthermore, “over” the core is broader than “directly on” the core”. Specifically, “over’ is interpreted as “above”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mitsuhashi (CN102576875B) teaches an electrode plate comprises a current collector plate and an active substance layer formed on top of the current collector plate. The active substance layer contains a binder (135) comprising multiple binders (135e, 135f) having different glass transition points (abstract).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY M DOVE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725