Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 16-20 are presented for examination.
The amendments and affidavit filed on 05/27/2026 have been received and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s and affidavit have been noted. Applicant in his remarks argues that “Notably, the presently claimed composition demonstrates synergistic results in terms of skin rejuvenation, including procollagen production and YAP signaling. See, e.g., Table 4 and Table 5 in the application as filed. Moreover, the Declaration of Marian Guelakis under 37 C.F.R. 1.132 ("Declaration") is submitted herewith includes additional data that further demonstrates the compositions according to the presently claimed invention exhibit surprising and synergistic results. See, e.g., paragraphs 6-8. Notably, the data demonstrates "unexpected and synergistic enhanced epidermal turnover and dermal activation associated with skin rejuvenation... ", and a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have expected the synergism achieved. See, e.g., paragraphs 7-8. One skilled in the art could hardly conclude that there is anything predictable - and being able to achieve the synergistic improvement is truly an unexpected result”. It is the examiner’s position that the presented data in the declaration are not commensurate in scope with the claimed language. The data uses one concentration of ORG and one concentration of retinyl propionate. However, the claims are not drawn to only one concentration of each component. Furthermore, in table 1, the combination of ORG and RP appear to have an additive effect on increase in basal epidermal cell proliferation than a synergistic effect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6 and 16-20 are presented is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reller et al. (US 4,219,548 submitted by the applicant) in view of Riberio et al. (US 6,071,524) and further in view of Piazza et al. (US 5,238,965).
Regarding claim 1, Reller teaches a topical composition comprising monoolein in combination with a dermatologically acceptable carrier for the treatment of sunburn. See Example II. Reller does not teach the use of a retinoid, such as retinyl propionate. Ribier teaches a cosmetic dermatological composition comprising glyceryl monooleate or monoolein in combination with an anti-aging and anti-wrinkle agents retinol derivatives, such as, retinol propionate. See (column 3, lines 20-26, column 6, lines 65-67 and column 7, lines 1-11. Ribier makes clear that retinoids have been previously used in a cosmetic composition for treating aging and wrinkles
Regarding claim 2, Reller and Ribier do not teach the composition is a YAP/TAZ activator. However, the combination of the relied upon references, makes clear that oleoglycerol in combination with the claimed retinoid have been used in a cosmetic formulation. The mechanism of action of such components does not create a patentably distinct composition.
Regarding claim 4, the use of monoolein by Reller and Ribier reads the use of 2-oleoylglycerol, which is the same as 2-monoolein.
Regarding claim 5, Reller and Ribier do not teach the use of a phosphatidic acid. However, Piazza teaches to methods for regulating wrinkles in mammalian skin comprising topical application of a lysophosphatidic acid. See the abstract. The cyclic form of phosphatidic acid is also taught in the abstract. The use of retinoids is taught in column 14, lines 10-25.
Regarding claim 6, Reller and Ribier teach the cosmetic formulation for the treatment of conditions such as, sunburn, wrinkles and aging, which read on the conditions as claimed in claim 6.
Regarding claims 16-18, the relied upon references do not teach the concentrations of retinoids and the proportions of the cosmetic active agent to the retinoid. However, the determination of optimum proportions or amounts are considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary. Applicant's attention is drawn to In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), wherein the court stated that "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation".
Regarding claim 19, to leave a cosmetic composition on the skin is considered to be within the skill of artisan, based on the purpose of such cosmetic formulation.
Regarding claim 20, to rinse off a cosmetic formulation is considered to be within the skill of artisan based on the purpose of such cosmetic formulation.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617