DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 7 and 13, the claims recite the limitation “at least one of SAC, CAC and FAC exists in the storage unit” render the claims indefinite because these claims fail to define the meaning of SAC, CAC and FAC. For the purpose of examination Examiner interprets the limitation according specification paragraphs 64-65 as follow “at least one of System Accumulated Current (SAC), Ceiling Accumulated Current (CAC) and Floor Accumulated Current (FAC) exists in the storage unit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 8-12,14 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US Publication 20120330475 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a battery management system comprising:
a cloud server device collecting first battery information, measured by a battery management device, disposed on a mobile vehicle [0006: a circuit monitoring module that is installed on a vehicle or a device that is provided with a battery to collect electrical properties of the secondary battery][0008: The cloud server management module receives, processes, and stores the real time electrical properties that are transmitted from the user end management module, as well as compares the real time electrical properties with defaults] [0013-0014];
the cloud server device storing the first battery information and controlling for a resulting information to be created from second battery information matching a determination condition in accordance with a service command of a pre-registered battery management service if the cloud server device determines that there exists the second battery information matching the determination condition; and the cloud server device transmitting the resulting information to a terminal device that outputs the resulting information [0007: The cloud server management module matches, compares and analyzes the received electrical properties with the battery data stored in a database and converts the results of comparison and analysis into a general status message or a real time early warning message. The general status message is transmitted at a fixed time to the user end management module, allowing the user to be aware of the most updated electrical properties through the user end management module. On the other hand, the real time early warning message is transmitted in real time to the user end management module where the user can get the real time warning to response and cope with the situation accordingly] [0006-0014].
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses a cloud server device comprising: a collection unit collecting first battery information from a battery management device disposed on a mobile vehicle; a storage unit storing the first battery information; a control unit controlling for a resulting information to be created from second battery information matching a determination condition in accordance with a service command of a pre-registered battery management service if the control unit determines that there exists the second battery information matching the determination condition; and an output unit outputting the resulting information [0006-0014].
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the cloud server device according to claim 2, wherein the control unit comprises: a framework module extracting the determination condition and the service command from the pre-registered battery management service; a detector module determining whether the second battery information matching the determination condition exists among the first battery information stored in the storage unit; and a service module executing the service command and creating the resulting information from the second battery information matching the determination condition when the service module receives the second battery information matching the determination condition [0006-0014].
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the cloud server device according to claim 3, wherein if the detector module determines that the second battery information matches the determination condition, the detector module requests the framework module to extract the second battery information matching the determination condition [0006-0014].
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the cloud server device according to claim 3, wherein if the detector module determines that there exists the second battery information matching the determination condition, the framework module controls for the service command to be executed by extracting the second battery information matching the determination condition and transmitting the second battery information to the service module [0006-0014].
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the cloud server device according to claim 3, wherein if the resulting information is created in the service module, the framework module controls for the resulting information to be transmitted to the battery management device [0006-0014].
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the cloud server device according to claim 2, wherein: the pre-registered battery management service is an algorithm configured to estimate a state of a battery; the determination condition is required battery information for the algorithm to be executed; and the service command is a machine language, command code, or learning model using artificial intelligence techniques configured to create the resulting information from the second battery information based on the algorithm [0006-0014].
Regarding claim 8, this claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1 or claim 2.
Regarding claims 9-12, these claims are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 3-6 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Publication 20120330475 A1) and Khoo et al (US Publication 20130110296 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the cloud server device according to claim 3, wherein if the pre-registered battery management service is provided to estimate a charging state as the resulting information [0006-0014]. However, Chen does not explicitly disclose the detector module determines whether battery information of at least one of SAC, CAC and FAC exists in the storage unit within a preset time interval based on a current time. Khoo discloses the detector module determines whether battery information of at least one of System Accumulated Current (SAC), Ceiling Accumulated Current (CAC) and Floor Accumulated Current (FAC) exists in the storage unit [0011: the charging parameters may include at least one of the following: a cable rating; a duty cycle for a charging current; a length of time for charging an electric vehicle; a threshold level for aggregate electrical consumption; a threshold level for instantaneous electrical consumption; a maximum allowable charge rate; a microgrid rating; a plug rating; a price of electricity; a protection fuse rating; a quantity of electricity stored within a microgrid; a specific time for completing charging an electric vehicle][0021][0023-0027][0103].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen and Khoo together because they both directed to remotely control the charge of mobile vehicle. Khoo’s disclosing of the detector module determines whether battery information of fully charge exists in the storage unit within a preset time interval based on a current time would allow Chen to increase method’s efficiency by allowing the user to know the status of fully charge is within the preset interval.
Regarding claim 13, this claim is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Conclusion
/PHIL K NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176