DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to the amendment of 12/24/2025. All changes made to the claims have been entered. Accordingly, Claims 5-9 are currently pending in the application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the amended subject matter of “reception circuitry configured to receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including a downlink control information (DCI) format; and transmission circuitry configured to transmit a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) using a PUCCH resource indicated by the DCI format, wherein: the transmission circuitry is configured to determine a number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH based on whether or not a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter is provided, in a case that the first RRC parameter is provided, the number of the repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH is determined based on the first RRC parameter, and in a case that the first RRC parameter is not provided, the number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH is determined based on a second RRC parameter” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 9 (dependent claims also being rejected since they are dependent upon rejected claims set forth) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recites the amended subject matter of “the transmission circuitry is configured to determine a number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH based on whether or not a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter is provided, in a case that the first RRC parameter is provided, the number of the repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH is determined based on the first RRC parameter, and in a case that the first RRC parameter is not provided, the number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH is determined based on a second RRC parameter”. However such subject matter do not seem to be disclosed in the Specification and/or Drawings. Examiner suggests clarifying such subject matter or specifically pointing out such subject matter in the Specification and/or Drawings. Similar rationale is applied to independent claims 7 and 9 reciting similar subject matter. It should further be noted that Applicant indicates that support for the amendment be found in [0045], [0087], [0109], and [0116] of the Specification (remarks page 4). However such paragraphs do not seem to disclose the above stated subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2020/0029335).
Regarding claim 5, 9, Yang discloses a terminal apparatus (a user equipment for wireless communication may include memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to determine, based at least in part on a downlink control information message associated with indicating a physical uplink control channel resource configuration, [0007] and figure 2) comprising:
reception circuitry ([0040]-[0047] and figure 2) configured to receive a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including a downlink control information (DCI) format (The base station may transmit control information/data on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource may be indicated using a downlink control information (DCI) message. For example, a UE may receive a DCI from a BS, and may determine time resources, frequency resources, code domain resources, and/or the like for a PUCCH transmission based at least in part on the DCI and UE 120 may determine a resource indicator value based at least in part on the DCI message. For example, the DCI message may include a PRI field, [0058] and [0079] and [0086] and [0084]); and
transmission circuitry ([0040]-[0047] and figure 2) configured to transmit a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) using a PUCCH resource indicated by the DCI format (a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource may be indicated using a downlink control information (DCI) message. For example, a UE may receive a DCI from a BS, and may determine time resources, frequency resources, code domain resources, and/or the like for a PUCCH transmission based at least in part on the DCI and UE 120 may determine a resource indicator value based at least in part on the DCI message. For example, the DCI message may include a PRI field, [0058] and [0079] and [0086] and [0084]); wherein
the transmission circuitry is configured to determine a number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH based on whether or not a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter is provided (For example, a UE may receive a DCI from a BS, and may determine time resources, frequency resources, code domain resources, and/or the like for a PUCCH transmission based at least in part on the DCI. Additionally…the UE may receive another message associated with configuring a PUCCH repetition parameter. For example, the UE may receive a radio resource control (RRC) message associated with indicating a quantity of repetitions of the PUCCH transmission that the UE is to transmit to ensure that, for a set of channel conditions, a reliability criterion is satisfied, a latency criterion is satisfied, and/or the like and UE 120 may determine a table identifying PUCCH resource parameters, PUCCH repetition parameters, and physical uplink control channel resource indicator (PRI) parameters based at least in part on RRC signaling, [0079] and [0084] and figure 7A),
in a case that the first RRC parameter is provided, the number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH is determined based on the first RRC parameter, and
in a case that the first RRC parameter is not provided, the number of repetitions for the transmission of the PUCCH is determined based on a second RRC parameter (Additionally…the UE may receive another message associated with configuring a PUCCH repetition parameter. For example, the UE may receive a radio resource control (RRC) message associated with indicating a quantity of repetitions of the PUCCH transmission (Examiner correlating to a first RRC parameter or a second RRC parameter) that the UE is to transmit to ensure that, for a set of channel conditions, a reliability criterion is satisfied, a latency criterion is satisfied, and/or the like and UE 120 may determine a table identifying PUCCH resource parameters, PUCCH repetition parameters, and physical uplink control channel resource indicator (PRI) parameters based at least in part on RRC signaling, [0079] and [0084] and figure 7A).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses a base station apparatus (a base station for wireless communication may include memory and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory. The memory and the one or more processors may be configured to transmit a downlink control information message associated with indicating a physical uplink control channel resource configuration identifying a physical uplink control channel repetition parameter, [0009]) and figure 2) comprising:
transmission circuitry ([0040]-[0047] and figure 2) configured to transmit a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) including a downlink control information (DCI) format (The base station may transmit control information/data on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) and a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource may be indicated using a downlink control information (DCI) message. For example, a UE may receive a DCI from a BS, and may determine time resources, frequency resources, code domain resources, and/or the like for a PUCCH transmission based at least in part on the DCI and UE 120 may determine a resource indicator value based at least in part on the DCI message. For example, the DCI message may include a PRI field, [0058] and [0079] and [0086] and [0084]); and
reception circuitry ([0040]-[0047] and figure 2) configured to receive a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) using a PUCCH resource indicated by the DCI format, (a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource may be indicated using a downlink control information (DCI) message. For example, a UE may receive a DCI from a BS, and may determine time resources, frequency resources, code domain resources, and/or the like for a PUCCH transmission based at least in part on the DCI and UE 120 may determine a resource indicator value based at least in part on the DCI message. For example, the DCI message may include a PRI field, [0058] and [0079] and [0086] and [0084]) wherein
the reception circuitry is configured to determine a number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH based on whether or not a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter is provided (For example, a UE may receive a DCI from a BS, and may determine time resources, frequency resources, code domain resources, and/or the like for a PUCCH transmission based at least in part on the DCI. Additionally…the UE may receive another message associated with configuring a PUCCH repetition parameter. For example, the UE may receive a radio resource control (RRC) message associated with indicating a quantity of repetitions of the PUCCH transmission that the UE is to transmit to ensure that, for a set of channel conditions, a reliability criterion is satisfied, a latency criterion is satisfied, and/or the like and UE 120 may determine a table identifying PUCCH resource parameters, PUCCH repetition parameters, and physical uplink control channel resource indicator (PRI) parameters based at least in part on RRC signaling, [0079] and [0084] and figure 7A),
in a case that the first RRC parameter is provided, the number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH is determined based on the first RRC parameter, and
in a case that the first RRC parameter is not provided, the number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH is determined based on a second RRC parameter (Additionally…the UE may receive another message associated with configuring a PUCCH repetition parameter. For example, the UE may receive a radio resource control (RRC) message associated with indicating a quantity of repetitions of the PUCCH transmission (Examiner correlating to a first RRC parameter or a second RRC parameter) that the UE is to transmit to ensure that, for a set of channel conditions, a reliability criterion is satisfied, a latency criterion is satisfied, and/or the like and UE 120 may determine a table identifying PUCCH resource parameters, PUCCH repetition parameters, and physical uplink control channel resource indicator (PRI) parameters based at least in part on RRC signaling, [0079] and [0084] and figure 7A).
Regarding claim 6, 8, Yang discloses wherein the first RRC parameter is provided for the PUCCH resource, and the second RRC parameter is provided for a PUCCH format corresponding to the PUCCH (the UE may receive an indication message associated with switching a PUCCH format, and may determine a quantity of repetitions for a PUCCH when switching the PUCCH format, [0079]-[0080] and [0083]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that Yang fails to disclose the amended subject matter of “determine a number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH based on whether or not a first radio resource control (RRC) parameter is provided, in a case that the first RRC parameter is provided, the number of repetitions for transmission of the PUCCH is determined based on the first RRC parameter, and in a case that the first RRC parameter is not provided, the number of repetitions for the transmission of the PUCCH is determined based on a second RRC parameter” (remarks page 5-6). Examiner however respectfully disagrees as Yang discloses “a UE may receive a DCI from a BS, and may determine time resources, frequency resources, code domain resources, and/or the like for a PUCCH transmission based at least in part on the DCI. Additionally…the UE may receive another message associated with configuring a PUCCH repetition parameter. For example, the UE may receive a radio resource control (RRC) message associated with indicating a quantity of repetitions of the PUCCH transmission that the UE is to transmit to ensure that, for a set of channel conditions, a reliability criterion is satisfied, a latency criterion is satisfied, and/or the like and UE 120 may determine a table identifying PUCCH resource parameters, PUCCH repetition parameters, and physical uplink control channel resource indicator (PRI) parameters based at least in part on RRC signaling” ([0079] and [0084] and figure 7A). In other words, Examiner correlates receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message associated with indicating a quantity of repetitions of the PUCCH transmission to RRC repetition parameters as different values of repetitions indicated via RRC may correspond to a first or second RRC parameter. Thus Examiner believes Yang to disclose the amended subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YI et al. (US 10966162) disclosing a method for transmitting, by a user equipment (UE), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) signal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: configuring a first number of repetitions for a first PUCCH format, wherein the first PUCCH format is PUCCH format 1; configuring a second number of repetitions for a second PUCCH format and repetition number may be scheduled via one of RRC, or DCI (col19 lines 1-50 and col12 lines 60-65)
Chatterjee (US 12219567) disclosing receive a radio resource control (RRC) message from a base station comprising a first repetition parameter indicating a first number of repetitions of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission …and a second repetition parameter indicating a second number of repetitions of a PUCCH transmission carrying HARQ-ACK feedback…(col17 lines 25-45).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGUYEN H NGO/Examiner, Art Unit 2473