DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Luxembourg on 4/1/2021 and United Kingdom on 4/1/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the LU102724 and GB2104786.5 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27, 28, 32, 33, 36, 37, 39, 40, 41 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 27, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 27 recites the broad recitation “a hall sensor”, and the claim also recites “preferably an omnipolar hall sensor” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 28, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 28 recites the broad recitation “The kitchen appliance of claim 24, wherein the body comprises a motor unit”, and the claim also recites “preferably wherein the attachment comprises a food processing tool” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 28 recites the limitation “a motor” in line 3. It is unclear whether “a motor” of line 3 is the same or different as “a motor” as recited in line 1 of the claim. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the base" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 32, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 32 recites the broad recitation “a substantially triangular shape, or rounded triangular shape”, and the claim also recites “preferably a substantially equilateral triangular shape” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Claim 33 is also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of its dependency on claim 32.
Claim 32 recites the limitation, “an attachment” in line 2. It is unclear whether “an attachment” of claim 32 is the same or different as “one or more attachments” as recited in claim 24, upon which claim 32 depends. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention. Claim 33 is also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of its dependency on claim 32.
Regarding claim 33, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 33 recites the broad recitation “ach sensor being provided adjacent a distinct side of the triangular engagement region”, and the claim also recites “preferably at, or near, the midpoint of each side” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 33 recites the limitation, “an attachment” in line 3. It is unclear whether “an attachment” of claim 33 is the same or different as “an attachment” as recited in claim 32 and/or “one or more attachments” as recited in claim 24, upon which claim 33 depends. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Regarding claim 36, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 36 recites the broad recitation “a substantially triangular shape, or rounded triangular shape”, and the claim also recites “preferably a substantially equilateral triangular shape” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 37, A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 37 recites the broad recitation “a biased member arranged to bias the magnet away from the sensor of the appliance body if the accessory is not engaged with the attachment”, and the claim also recites “preferably wherein the magnet is engaged with the rod and/or wherein the rod is provided on a rail” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 39 recites the limitation, “a magnet” in line 2. It is unclear whether “a magnet” of claim 39 is the same or different as “a magnet” as recited in claim 38, upon which claim 39 depends. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim 40 recites the limitation, “an attachment” in line 1. It is unclear whether “an attachment” of claim 40 is the same or different as “one or more attachments” as recited in claim 24, upon which claim 40 depends. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention. Claims 41 and 42 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 40.
Claim 40 recites the limitation, “at least one detectable element” in line 2. It is unclear whether “at least one detectable element” of claim 40 is the same or different as “a detectable element” as recited in claim 24, upon which claim 40 depends. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention. Claims 41 and 42 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 40.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the base" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 41 and 42 are also rejected under 35 USC 112(b) by virtue of their dependency on claim 40.
Claim 41 recites the limitation, “a sensor” in line 4. It is unclear whether “a sensor” of claim 41 is the same or different as “at least one sensor” as recited in claim 24, upon which claim 41 depends. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim 42 recites the limitation "the adaptor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 42 recites the limitation, “an attachment” in line 2. It is unclear whether “an attachment” of claim 42 is the same or different as “an attachment” of claim 40 or “one or more attachments” as recited in claim 24, upon which claim 42 depends. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim 42 recites the limitation, “a body” in line 2. It is unclear whether “a body” of claim 42 is the same or different as “a body” as recited in claim 24, upon which claim 42 depends. As such the claim is indefinite for failing to distinctly claim the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-35, 38 and 40-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baek et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0322884).
Regarding claim 24, Baek et al. discloses a kitchen appliance (title) comprising a body (reference #30) to which one or more attachments may be fitted (reference #10), the body comprising at least one sensor configured to distinguish between at least three conditions relating to a detectable element associated with an attachment (reference #39; [0099]-[0100]; [0117] (3 conditions: (1) container mounted; (2) container not mounted; (3) type of container)) (it is noted that the limitation uses the term “configured” which only requires the sensor be capable of distinguishing between conditions, and therefore does not require the structural limitation of the detectable element), and a controller configured to identify a parameter relating to the attachment in dependence upon the sensed condition ([0118]; [0198]; [0208]).
Regarding claim 25, Baek et al. discloses wherein the conditions comprise: the absence of a detectable element, and the presence of a detectable element having either a first or a second state (reference #39; [0099]-[0100]; [0117] (3 conditions: (1) container mounted; (2) container not mounted; (3) type/state of container)). It is noted that “the conditions” are not positive structural limitations of the claims, but rather an intended use of the at least one sensor (see claim 24 that recites “at least one sensor configured to distinguish between at least three conditions), and as such, any limitation that attempts to further limit the conditions is also not a positive structural limitation required to be disclosed by the apparatus claims. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115.
Regarding claim 26, as stated above in the rejection to claims 24 and 25, the detectable element is not positively recited structures of the claims, and therefore the limitations as recited in claim 26 which further limit the detectable element and the first or second states are not positive structural limitations that are part of the claim. However, in order to further prosecution, Baek et al. discloses wherein the detectable element comprises a magnet (reference #104), and the first and second states comprise each polarity of a magnetic field of the magnet respectively (figures 20 and 21, polarity of reference #104 detected).
Regarding claim 27, Baek et al. discloses wherein the sensor is a hall sensor, preferably an omnipolar hall sensor (reference #39; [0025]; [0103] (it is noted that the term “preferably” means this limitation is not required to be disclosed by the reference)).
Regarding claim 28, Baek et al. discloses wherein the body comprises a motor unit (figure 3, reference #50 and 51), optionally wherein the controller is configured to permit or prevent actuation of a motor of the base in dependence on the sensed condition of the detectable element ([0198] (it is noted that the term “optionally” means this limitation is not required to be disclosed by the reference)); preferably wherein the attachment comprises a food processing tool (figure 1, reference #10 and 14 (it is noted that the term “preferably” means this limitation is not required to be disclosed by the reference)).
Regarding claim 29, Baek et al. discloses wherein the parameter relating to the attachment comprises at least one of: the absence of an attachment, the identity of the attachment, a condition of the attachment, and a working parameter of the attachment ([0100]; [0103]; [0117]; [0175]; [0198]; [0208]).
Regarding claim 30, Baek et al. discloses wherein, in dependence upon the sensed condition, the sensor transmits a ternary code to the controller ([0118]; [0198]; [0208]).
Regarding claim 31, Baek et al. discloses wherein the body comprises a plurality of sensors, each configured to distinguish between at least three conditions relating to a detectable element associated with an attachment (figures 15, 17, 20, 21, reference #39; [0099]-[0100]; [0103]; [0117]-[0119]; [0175]; [0208]).
Regarding claim 32, Baek et al. discloses wherein the body is configured for engagement with an attachment in at least two orientations (figures 19-21, reference #103, 301 and 325; [0100]-[0103]), optionally wherein an engagement region of the body has a substantially triangular shape, or rounded triangular shape (it is noted that the term “optionally” means this limitation is not required to be disclosed by the reference), preferably a substantially equilateral triangular shape (it is noted that the term “preferably” means this limitation is not required to be disclosed by the reference).
Regarding claim 33, Baek et al. discloses wherein the body comprises two sensors, each configured to distinguish between at least three conditions relating to a detectable element associated with an attachment (figures 15, 17, 20, 21, reference #39; [0099]-[0100]; [0103]; [0117]-[0119]; [0175]; [0208]), each sensor being provided adjacent a distinct side of the triangular engagement region, preferably at, or near, the midpoint of each side (figure 9, reference #39).
Regarding claim 34, Baek et al. discloses wherein the sensor is provided adjacent an engagement region of the body, preferably adjacent an edge of the engagement region, optionally wherein the sensor is provided adjacent a sidewall of the engagement region (figure 9, reference #39).
Regarding claim 35, Baek et al. discloses an attachment for a kitchen appliance (reference #10 and 10’), the attachment having an engagement region for fitting to an appliance body in at least two orientations (reference #103), and comprising a magnet at or adjacent the engagement region configured to present one of a north pole or a south pole to a sensor of the appliance body (figures 6, 7, 8, 19, 20, 21, reference #104 (known that magnets have a north and south pole).
Regarding claim 38, Baek et al. discloses an adaptor for a kitchen appliance (reference #10 and 10’) (it is noted that no structure has been recited beyond the basic nomenclature “adaptor”), wherein the adaptor is configured to engage with an attachment (figures 5 and 6, reference #14 and 20) (it is noted that no structure has been recited beyond the basic nomenclature “attachment”) and a body of the kitchen appliance (figure 1-3, reference #30); and comprises at least one aperture configured to receive a magnet (figure 6, reference #104), optionally wherein the presence and polarity and/or absence of the magnet in the aperture forms a ternary code that identifies a parameter relating to the adaptor ([0100]; [0103]; [0117]; [0118]; [0175]; [0198]; [0208] (it is noted that the term “optionally” means this limitation is not required to be disclosed by the reference)).
Regarding claim 40, Baek et al. discloses at attachment (reference #10 and 10’) comprising at least one detectable element configured for sensing by the at least one sensor of the base (reference #104).
Regarding claim 41, Baek et al. discloses wherein the attachment has an engagement region for fitting to an appliance body in at least two orientations (reference #103), and comprising a magnet at or adjacent the engagement region configured to present one of a north pole or a south pole to a sensor of the appliance body (figures 6, 7, 8, 19, 20, 21, reference #104 (known that magnets have a north and south pole).
Regarding claim 42, Baek et al. discloses further comprising wherein the adaptor is configured to engage with an attachment and a body of the kitchen appliance (reference #103 (adaptor) engages bottom of attachment (reference #10/10’) and body at reference #301); and comprises at least one aperture configured to receive a magnet (figure 6, reference #104), optionally wherein the presence and polarity and/or absence of the magnet in the aperture forms a ternary code that identifies a parameter relating to the adaptor ([0100]; [0103]; [0117]; [0118]; [0175]; [0198]; [0208] (it is noted that the term “optionally” means this limitation is not required to be disclosed by the reference)); and wherein the adaptor is engaged with the attachment and the body (see figures 6-8 and 19, reference #103 (adaptor) engages bottom of attachment (reference #10/10’) and body at reference #301); and wherein the detectable element comprises a magnet provided in the adaptor aperture (figure 6, reference #104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0282671); Wulf et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0069157) and Masip et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2002/0012288).
It is well known in the art that the engagement region can have a variety of shapes of configurations, including square, circular, triangular, polygonal, etc. (as evidenced by Dickson, Jr. et al. reference #107, or Wulf et al. reference #74, [0066], or Masip et al., figure 1, reference #11 and 17, [0018]). The change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the engagement region of Baek et al. to include a variety of engagement shapes, as taught by Dickson, Jr. et al, Wulf et al. and Masip et al. An ordinary skilled artisan at the time of the invention would have been motivated to do the foregoing in order to increase the fictional and positive engagement with the base body with minimal possibility of rotation as well as simplify the manufacturing process.
Claim(s) 37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baek et al. in view of Kovacic et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2009/0084274).
Regarding claim 37, Baek et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. The reference further discloses wherein the attachment is configured for engagement with an accessory (figures 1-5, reference #20). However, the reference does not explicitly disclose a biased member arranged to bias the magnet away from the sensor of the appliance body if the accessory is not engaged with the attachment, optionally wherein the biased member comprises a rod provided in a handle of the attachment; preferably wherein the magnet is engaged with the rod and/or wherein the rod is provided on a rail.
Kovacic et al. teaches another kitchen appliance (title). The reference teaches wherein the attachment is configured for engagement with an accessory (figure 2, reference #6), and further comprises a biased member arranged to bias the magnet away from the sensor of the appliance body if the accessory is not engaged with the attachment (figure 3, reference #9 and 14; [0030]; [0032]), optionally wherein the biased member comprises a rod provided in a handle of the attachment (figure 3, reference #9); preferably wherein the magnet is engaged with the rod and/or wherein the rod is provided on a rail (figure 3, reference #9, 10 and 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to provide the biased member and activation rod with first magnet of Kovacic et al. in the attachment of Baek et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach kitchen appliances. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a biased member and activation rod with first magnet because it enhances the safety of the reliability of the appliance by ensuring the appliance is properly assembled (Kovacio et al. [0030]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 39, Baek et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. However, the reference does not explicitly disclose wherein the aperture comprises a biased member.
Kovacic et al. teaches another kitchen appliance (title). The reference teaches wherein the aperture comprises a biased member arranged to bias a magnet in the aperture away from the body if the attachment is not engaged with the adaptor (figure 3, reference #9 and 14; [0030]; [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to provide the biased member with first magnet of Kovacic et al. in the adaptor of Baek et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach kitchen appliances. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a biased member with first magnet because it enhances the safety of the reliability of the appliance by ensuring the appliance is properly assembled (Kovacio et al. [0030]; [0032]).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774