DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119
(a)-(d). Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for benefit to foreign applications JP2021-040825 filed 03/12/2021.
This application claims the benefit of priority to Patent Application PCT/JP2022/010983.
Acknowledgement is made of Applicants’ claim for benefit to prior filed to Patent Application
Number PCT/JP2022/010983, filed on 03/11/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed 09/11/2023, 07/08/2024, 05/05/2025, and 07/14/2025 has been considered by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-13 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takayuki et al. (JP-2012126677 Document BD of the IDS filed 9/11/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Takayuki et al. teach a viral infection inhibitor (page 2, problem to be solved). Takayuki et al. teach a compound comprising a sulfonic acid sodium salt and an organic acid (page 21, paragraph 0093).
Regarding claim 2, Takayuki et al. teach the copolymer is provided with excellent water resistance by being crosslinked, and the solubility of the crosslinked product is 1 or less (page 9, paragraph 34), which covers a range of low solubilities including 20 g/L or less.
Regarding claim 3, Takayuki et al. teach an influenza virus infection inhibitor includes a crosslinked body obtained by crosslinking a copolymer of a monomer having at least one substituent of a structural formula represented by general formulas and a monomer having a carboxy group with a trifunctional or more functional crosslinking agent (page 2, Claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Takayuki et al. teach the molecular weight is preferably from 5000 to 2 million (page 8, paragraph 0031), which is more than 3000.
Regarding claim 8, Takayuki et al. teach the compound having a salt of a sulfonic acid group has an aromatic ring (page 11, paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 9, Takayuki et al. teach the compound having a salt of a sulfonic acid group (page 17, paragraph 0080). Takayuki et al. teach the p-position of the benzene ring of the styrene-maleic acid copolymer is sulfonated, a surface modification (page 17, paragraph 0080).
Regarding claim 10, Takayuki et al. teach a compound which is an influenza virus infection-inhibiting coating material covering the surface of particles (page 3, paragraph 0001). Takayuki et al. teach the surface form of the coating film obtained by drying the influenza virus infection-inhibiting coating material (page 16, paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 11, Takayuki et al. teach a synthetic resin paint for delivery of the compound (page 18, paragraph 0083).
Regarding claim 12, Takayuki et al. teach the aerosol paint was a solvent-based synthetic resin paint containing an acrylic urethane resin, a plasticizer, and a pigment (page 18, paragraph 0083).
Regarding claim 13, Takayuki et al. teach a viral infection inhibitor (page 2, problem to be solved). Takayuki et al. teach a compound comprising a sulfonic acid sodium salt and an organic acid (page 21, paragraph 0093). Therefore, the compound is the base material for viral inhibition with various delivery methods taught.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takayuki et al. (JP-2012126677 Document BD of the IDS filed 9/11/2023), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Takayuki as evidenced by Farmer (Chem LibreTexts, 2019).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Takayuki et al. teach the organic acid can be a sulfonic acid group (page 3, claim 1), which are strong acids with a pKa at about -7 as evidenced by Farmer, which is well below 5.5 and 4.6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takayuki et al. (JP-2012126677 Document BD of the IDS filed 9/11/2023) as applied to claim 1 above.
Takayuki et al. teach a viral infection inhibitor (page 2, problem to be solved). Takayuki et al. teach a compound comprising a sulfonic acid sodium salt and an organic acid (page 21, paragraph 0093).
Regarding claim 7, Takayuki et al. teach a viral infection inhibitor. Takayuki et al. teach the size of the influenza virus infection inhibitor refers to a value measured by a particle size distribution meter (page 15, paragraph 0065). Takayuki et al. teach the influenza virus infection-inhibiting agent size could be 30 μm or less (page 15, paragraph 0065), which makes obvious a particle 2 to 25 μm. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to perform routine experimentation because Takayuki gave a range of less than 30 μm. to optimize the particle size which would be suitable for the coating application.
Conclusion
/C.L.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1638
/Anna Skibinsky/
Primary Examiner, AU 1635