DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Applicant’s claim amendments and arguments in the reply filed on 10 November 2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 1-10 and newly added claim 11 are under consideration in the instant office action. Applicant’s claim amendments and arguments did not overcome the rejections set forth in the previous office action under 35 USC 103 for reasons set forth in the previous office action and herein below.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous office actions are hereby withdrawn as are those rejections and/or objections expressly stated to be withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and newly added claim 11 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mayer et al. (US 2007/0286897) in view of Sabine Schuster (PhD Thesis, 1-139, 2019) and as evidenced by Wise et al. (US 2020/0016157).
Applicants’ claims
Applicants claim a method of treating a disease comprising administering liposome encapsulated 2-deamino-2-pyrrolino-daunorubicin (LiPyDau) to a patient in need thereof. Dependent claims thereof recite other features. Claim 10 recites pharmaceutical composition comprising liposome-encapsulated 2-deamino-2-pyrrolino-daunorubicin and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Note: The evidentiary reference Wise et al. is incorporated in the rejection to prove that various types of cancers such as breast, lung, etc., cancers are therapy and drug resistance and they over express P-glycoprotein. Wise et al. teach that one problem is that many times, after what appears to be a successful chemotherapy, the cancer recurs and is again detected in the patient. Such chemotherapy failures may have several causes. One major cause is that a family of proteins that remove the chemotherapeutic drugs from subpopulations of the cancerous cells is overly produced (i.e., “over-expressed”) in these cells. These proteins are members of a class of membrane bound transporter proteins, called ABC transporters that act like cellular vacuum cleaners. They are aptly called multidrug resistance proteins or MDR pumps. The over-expression of one specific member of these MDR pumps, a protein called P-glycoprotein, seems to be especially important for cancers that become resistant to chemotherapeutics. Other proteins that are closely related to the P-glycoprotein, are also thought to be involved in other chemotherapy failures (paragraph 0058). P-Glycoprotein normally functions as a biochemical transporter that is able to bind a great variety of toxic chemicals inside of the living cell and, using a chemical power source called ATP, pushes the toxin through the cell membrane. This action effectively removes the toxin from the cells. The pump is therefore an essential component in important tissue boundaries like the blood-brain and blood-testis barriers. It is also helpful for the detoxification of important tissues and organs like breast, ovaries and kidneys. While this normally very important function of P-glycoprotein keeps cellular toxins at a low concentration in our cells and tissues, it is thought to be one of the root causes for cancer chemotherapy failures. For example, if a subset of cancer cells produces enough of this protein to cause the effective concentration of cancer chemotherapeutic(s) inside the cancerous cells to fall below the threshold(s) for clinical efficacy, then members of this subset of cancerous cells will survive the therapy. Once multiplying, this subset of cancerous cells will form a recurrent or relapsed cancer that consists of or contains cells that are resistant to chemotherapeutic drugs (Paragraph 0059). Because toxin pumps like the P-glycoprotein have evolved to export a wide variety of cellular toxins from the body's cells, they do not exhibit specificity towards a particular chemical compound or toxin and are capable of removing a wide variety of different toxins, drugs and chemotherapeutic compounds from the inside of the cell. Because of this latter property, when P-glycoprotein or one of its close relatives are the cause of chemotherapy failure, the recurrent cancer becomes resistant to many of the chemotherapeutics available, not just the one(s) used during original therapy. These recurrent cancers are now “multidrug resistant.” (paragraph 0060). Drug resistant cancers that can be treated or prevented by the methods of the present invention include, but are not limited to human sarcomas and carcinomas, e.g., fibrosarcoma, myxosarcoma, liposarcoma, chondrosarcoma, osteogenic sarcoma, chordoma, angiosarcoma, endotheliosarcoma, lymphangiosarcoma, lymphangioendotheliosarcoma, synovioma, mesothelioma, Ewing's tumor, leiomyosarcoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, colon carcinoma, colorectal cancer, anal carcinoma, esophageal cancer, gastric cancer, hepatocellular cancer, bladder cancer, endometrial Cancer, pancreatic cancer, breast cancer, ovarian cancer, prostate cancer, stomach cancer, atrial myxomas, squamous cell carcinoma, basal cell carcinoma, adenocarcinoma, sweat gland carcinoma, sebaceous gland carcinoma, thyroid and parathyroid neoplasms, papillary carcinoma, papillary adenocarcinomas, cystadenocarcinoma, medullary carcinoma, bronchogenic carcinoma, renal cell carcinoma, hepatoma, bile duct carcinoma, choriocarcinoma, seminoma, embryonal carcinoma, Wilms' tumor, cervical cancer, testicular tumor, lung carcinoma, small cell lung carcinoma, non-small-cell lung cancer, bladder carcinoma, epithelial carcinoma, glioma, pituitary neoplasms, astrocytoma, medulloblastoma, craniopharyngioma, ependymoma, pinealoma, hemangioblastoma, acoustic neuroma, schwannomas, oligodendroglioma, meningioma, spinal cord tumors, melanoma, neuroblastoma, pheochromocytoma, Types 1-3 endocrine neoplasia, retinoblastoma; leukemias, e.g., acute lymphocytic leukemia and acute myelocytic leukemia (myeloblastic, promyelocytic, myelomonocytic, monocytic and erythroleukemia); chronic leukemia (chronic myelocytic (granulocytic) leukemia and chronic lymphocytic leukemia); and polycythemia vera, lymphoma (Hodgkin's disease and non-Hodgkin's disease), multiple myeloma, Waldenstrobm's macroglobulinemia, and heavy chain disease. Other examples of leukemias include acute and/or chronic leukemias, e.g., lymphocytic leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the p388 (murine) cell line), large granular lymphocytic leukemia, and lymphoblastic leukemia; T-cell leukemias, e.g., T-cell leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the CEM, Jurkat, and HSB-2 (acute), YAC-1 (murine) cell lines), T-lymphocytic leukemia, and T-lymphoblastic leukemia; B cell leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the SB (acute) cell line), and B-lymphocytic leukemia; mixed cell leukemias, e.g., B and T cell leukemia and B and T lymphocytic leukemia; myeloid leukemias, e.g., granulocytic leukemia, myelocytic leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the HL-60 (promyelocyte) cell line), and myelogenous leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the K562(chronic) cell line); neutrophilic leukemia; eosinophilic leukemia; monocytic leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the THP-1(acute) cell line); myelomonocytic leukemia; Naegeli-type myeloid leukemia; and nonlymphocytic leukemia (see paragraph 0116). Examples of chemotherapeutic and/or anti-cancer agents include agents such as paclitaxel, doxorubicin, vincristine, vinblastine, vindesine, vinorelbin, taxotere (DOCETAXEL), topotecan, camptothecin, irinotecan hydrochloride (CAMPTOSAR), etoposide, mitoxantrone, daunorubicin, idarubicin, teniposide, amsacrine, epirubicin, merbarone, piroxantrone hydrochloride, 5-fluorouracil, methotrexate, 6-mercaptopurine, 6-thioguanine, fludarabine phosphate, cytarabine (ARA-C), trimetrexate, gemcitabine, acivicin, alanosine, pyrazofurin, N-Phosphoracetyl-L-Asparate (PALA), pentostatin, 5-azacitidine, 5-Aza-2′-deoxycytidine, adenosine arabinoside (ARA-A), cladribine, ftorafur, UFT (combination of uracil and ftorafur), 5-fluoro-2′-deoxyuridine, 5-fluorouridine, 5′-deoxy-5-fluorouridine, hydroxyurea, dihydrolenchlorambucil, tiazofurin, cisplatin, carboplatin, oxaliplatin, mitomycin C, BCNU (Carmustine), melphalan, thiotepa, busulfan, chlorambucil, plicamycin, dacarbazine, ifosfamide phosphate, cyclophosphamide, nitrogen, mustard, uracil mustard, pipobroman, 4-ipomeanol, dihydrolenperone, spiromustine, geldanamycin, cytochalasins, depsipeptide, Lupron, ketoconazole, tamoxifen, goserelin (Zoledax), flutamide, 4′-cyano-3-(4-fluorophenylsulphonyl)-2-hydroxy-2-methyl-3′-(trifluorometh-yl) propionanilide, Herceptin, anti-CD20 (Rituxan), interferon, alpha, interferon beta, interferon gamma, interleukin 2, interleukin 4, interleukin 12, tumor necrosis factors, and radiation (paragraph 0112).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Mayer et al. teach compositions which comprise an anthracycline agent, and a cytidine analog are encapsulated in liposomal carriers. The preferred anthracycline agent is selected from the group of daunorubicin, doxorubicin, and idarubicin, while the preferred cytidine analog is selected from the group of cytarabine, gemcitabine, or 5-azacytidine. The combination of the anthracycline agent and cytidine analog encapsulated in said liposomal carriers are useful in achieving a drug retention and a sustained drug release for each therapeutic agent (see abstract). A composition that comprises a delivery vehicle, said delivery vehicle comprising liposomes and/or lipid-containing particulate vehicles of a size dependent on the route of administration and having associated therewith at least one anthracycline agent and one cytidine analog, said anthracycline agent is daunorubicin, doxorubicin or idarubicin; and said cytidine analog is cytarabine, gemcitabine or 5-azacytidine; wherein said anthracyline agent and cytidine analog are in a mole ratio that exhibits a nonantagonistic cytotoxic or cytostatic effect, and are associated with the delivery vehicle to maintain a non-antagonistic ratio in the blood on administration (see claim 1). For example, in one preferred embodiment of the invention, the combination of agents is intended for anticancer therapy. In a frequent embodiment, the combination of agents is intended for leukemia or lymphoma therapy. Appropriate choices will then be made of the cells to be tested and the nature of the test. In particular, tumor cell lines are suitable subjects and measurement of cell death or cell stasis is an appropriate end point. As will further be discussed below, in the context of attempting to find suitable non-antagonistic combinations for other indications, other target cells and criteria other than cytotoxicity or cell stasis could be employed (paragraph 0059) Liposomes for use in this invention may be prepared to contain a phosphatidylcholine lipid, such as distearylphosphatidylcholine. Liposomes of the invention may also contain a sterol, such as cholesterol. Liposomes may also contain therapeutic lipids, which examples include ether lipids, phosphatidic acid, phosphonates, ceramide and ceramide analogs, sphingosine and sphingosine analogs and serine-containing lipids (paragraph 0067). Liposomes may also be prepared with surface stabilizing hydrophilic polymer-lipid conjugates such as polyethylene glycol-DSPE, to enhance circulation longevity. The incorporation of negatively charged lipids such as phosphatidylglycerol (PG) and phosphatidylinositol (PI) may also be added to liposome formulations to increase the circulation longevity of the carrier. These lipids may be employed to replace hydrophilic polymer-lipid conjugates as surface stabilizing agents. Preferred embodiments of this invention may make use of liposomes containing phosphatidylglycerol (PG) or phosphatidylinositol (PI) to prevent aggregation thereby increasing the blood residence time of the carrier (paragraph 0068). For determinations involving antitumor agents, cell lines may be obtained from standard cell line repositories (NCI or ATCC for example), from academic institutions or other organizations including commercial sources. Preferred cell lines would include one or more selected from cell lines identified by the Developmental Therapeutics Program of the NCI/NIH. The tumor cell line screen used by this program currently identifies 60 different tumor cell lines representing leukemia, melanoma, and cancers of the lung, colon, brain, ovary, breast, prostate and kidney. The required non-antagonistic effect over a desired concentration range need be shown only on a single cell type; however, it is preferred that at least two cell lines exhibit this effect, more preferably three cell lines, more preferably five cell lines, and more preferably 10 cell lines. The cell lines may be established tumor cell lines or primary cultures obtained from patient samples. The cell lines may be from any species but the preferred source will be mammalian and in particular human. The cell lines may be genetically altered by selection under various laboratory conditions, and/or by the addition or deletion of exogenous genetic material. Cell lines may be transfected by any gene-transfer technique, including but not limited to, viral or plasmid-based transfection methods. The modifications may include the transfer of cDNA encoding the expression of a specific protein or peptide, a regulatory element such as a promoter or enhancer sequence or antisense DNA or RNA. Genetically engineered tissue culture cell lines may include lines with and without tumor suppressor genes, that is, genes such as p53, pTEN and p16; and lines created through the use of dominant negative methods, gene insertion methods and other selection methods. Preferred tissue culture cell lines that may be used to quantify cell viability, e.g., to test antitumor agents, include, but are not limited to, P388, L1210, HL-60, MOLT-4, KBM-3, WeHi-3, H460, MCF-7, SF-268, HT29, HCT-116, LS180, B16-F10, A549, Capan-1, CAOV-3, IGROV1, PC-3, MX-1 and MDA-MB-231 (paragraph 0060). In one embodiment, liposome compositions in accordance with this invention are preferably used to treat cancer. Delivery of encapsulated drugs to a tumor site is achieved by administration of liposomes of the invention. Preferably liposomes have a diameter of less than 300 nm. Most preferably liposomes have a diameter of less than 200 nm. Tumor vasculature is generally leakier than normal vasculature due to fenestrations or gaps in the endothelia. This allows delivery vehicles of 200 nm or less in diameter to penetrate the discontinuous endothelial cell layer and underlying basement membrane surrounding the vessels supplying blood to a tumor. Selective accumulation of the delivery vehicles into tumor sites following extravasation leads to enhanced anticancer drug delivery and therapeutic effectiveness (paragraph 0069).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
Mayer et al. do not specifically teach 2-deamino-2-pyrrolino-daunorubicin as the active agent. This deficiency is cured by the teachings of Sabine Schuster.
Sabine Schuster teaches synthesis of 2-pyrrolino-Dau (pyDau) SST conjugate using the best carrier-linker combination to deliver the highly potent daunorubicin analog pyDau to SSTR expressing cancer cells and evaluation of the antitumor activity (see page 30). Next to Dau, also 2-pyrrolino-Dau has been conjugated to the best linker-targeting peptide moiety. The obtained IC50 value of pyDau conjugate 71 was for both cancer cell lines in the low nanomolar range which evidences the high potency of this Dau derivative. Although the synthesis of the pyDau conjugates is more challenging than the preparation of comparable Dau conjugates, the strong anticancer activity of pyDau-containing somatostatin conjugate (71) illustrates the high potential of pyDau-based DDS for targeted cancer therapy (page 85). To further improve the antitumor activity, the highly potent anticancer drug 2-pyrrolino- daunorubicin was used instead of Dau affording conjugate pyDau=Aoa-LRRY-RC-121 which possesses a strong in vitro anticancer activity with an IC50 value in the nanomolar range. This somatostatin conjugate represents a highly promising candidate for targeted cancer therapy (see pages 116-117).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rational and Motivation
(MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Mayer et al. by utilizing or substituting the daunorubicin with 2-deamino-2-pyrrolino-daunorubicin because Sabine Schuster teaches synthesis of 2-pyrrolino-Dau (pyDau) SST conjugate using the best carrier-linker combination to deliver the highly potent daunorubicin analog pyDau to SSTR expressing cancer cells and evaluation of the antitumor activity (see page 30). Next to Dau, also 2-pyrrolino-Dau has been conjugated to the best linker-targeting peptide moiety. The obtained IC50 value of pyDau conjugate 71 was for both cancer cell lines in the low nanomolar range which evidences the high potency of this Dau derivative. Although the synthesis of the pyDau conjugates is more challenging than the preparation of comparable Dau conjugates, the strong anticancer activity of pyDau-containing somatostatin conjugate (71) illustrates the high potential of pyDau-based DDS for targeted cancer therapy (page 85). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Sabine Schuster teaches that to further improve the antitumor activity, the highly potent anticancer drug 2-pyrrolino- daunorubicin was used instead of Dau affording conjugate pyDau=Aoa-LRRY-RC-121 which possesses a strong in vitro anticancer activity with an IC50 value in the nanomolar range. This somatostatin conjugate represents a highly promising candidate for targeted cancer therapy (see pages 116-117). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Mayer et al. and Sabine Schuster because both references teach treatments of cancer using daunorubicin and derivatives. With regard to the limitations of claims 4-8 the types of cancers such as breast, lung, etc., cancers that are taught by Mayer et al. are indeed therapy and drug resistance and they over express P-glycoprotein as evidenced by the teachings of Wise et al. Wise et al. teach that one problem is that many times, after what appears to be a successful chemotherapy, the cancer recurs and is again detected in the patient. Such chemotherapy failures may have several causes. One major cause is that a family of proteins that remove the chemotherapeutic drugs from subpopulations of the cancerous cells is overly produced (i.e., “over-expressed”) in these cells. These proteins are members of a class of membrane bound transporter proteins, called ABC transporters that act like cellular vacuum cleaners. They are aptly called multidrug resistance proteins or MDR pumps. The over-expression of one specific member of these MDR pumps, a protein called P-glycoprotein, seems to be especially important for cancers that become resistant to chemotherapeutics. Other proteins that are closely related to the P-glycoprotein, are also thought to be involved in other chemotherapy failures (paragraph 0058). P-Glycoprotein normally functions as a biochemical transporter that is able to bind a great variety of toxic chemicals inside of the living cell and, using a chemical power source called ATP, pushes the toxin through the cell membrane. This action effectively removes the toxin from the cells. The pump is therefore an essential component in important tissue boundaries like the blood-brain and blood-testis barriers. It is also helpful for the detoxification of important tissues and organs like breast, ovaries and kidneys. While this normally very important function of P-glycoprotein keeps cellular toxins at a low concentration in our cells and tissues, it is thought to be one of the root causes for cancer chemotherapy failures. For example, if a subset of cancer cells produces enough of this protein to cause the effective concentration of cancer chemotherapeutic(s) inside the cancerous cells to fall below the threshold(s) for clinical efficacy, then members of this subset of cancerous cells will survive the therapy. Once multiplying, this subset of cancerous cells will form a recurrent or relapsed cancer that consists of or contains cells that are resistant to chemotherapeutic drugs (Paragraph 0059). Because toxin pumps like the P-glycoprotein have evolved to export a wide variety of cellular toxins from the body's cells, they do not exhibit specificity towards a particular chemical compound or toxin and are capable of removing a wide variety of different toxins, drugs and chemotherapeutic compounds from the inside of the cell. Because of this latter property, when P-glycoprotein or one of its close relatives are the cause of chemotherapy failure, the recurrent cancer becomes resistant to many of the chemotherapeutics available, not just the one(s) used during original therapy. These recurrent cancers are now “multidrug resistant.” (paragraph 0060). Drug resistant cancers that can be treated or prevented by the methods of the present invention include, but are not limited to human sarcomas and carcinomas, e.g., fibrosarcoma, myxosarcoma, liposarcoma, chondrosarcoma, osteogenic sarcoma, chordoma, angiosarcoma, endotheliosarcoma, lymphangiosarcoma, lymphangioendotheliosarcoma, synovioma, mesothelioma, Ewing's tumor, leiomyosarcoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, colon carcinoma, colorectal cancer, anal carcinoma, esophageal cancer, gastric cancer, hepatocellular cancer, bladder cancer, endometrial Cancer, pancreatic cancer, breast cancer, ovarian cancer, prostate cancer, stomach cancer, atrial myxomas, squamous cell carcinoma, basal cell carcinoma, adenocarcinoma, sweat gland carcinoma, sebaceous gland carcinoma, thyroid and parathyroid neoplasms, papillary carcinoma, papillary adenocarcinomas, cystadenocarcinoma, medullary carcinoma, bronchogenic carcinoma, renal cell carcinoma, hepatoma, bile duct carcinoma, choriocarcinoma, seminoma, embryonal carcinoma, Wilms' tumor, cervical cancer, testicular tumor, lung carcinoma, small cell lung carcinoma, non-small-cell lung cancer, bladder carcinoma, epithelial carcinoma, glioma, pituitary neoplasms, astrocytoma, medulloblastoma, craniopharyngioma, ependymoma, pinealoma, hemangioblastoma, acoustic neuroma, schwannomas, oligodendroglioma, meningioma, spinal cord tumors, melanoma, neuroblastoma, pheochromocytoma, Types 1-3 endocrine neoplasia, retinoblastoma; leukemias, e.g., acute lymphocytic leukemia and acute myelocytic leukemia (myeloblastic, promyelocytic, myelomonocytic, monocytic and erythroleukemia); chronic leukemia (chronic myelocytic (granulocytic) leukemia and chronic lymphocytic leukemia); and polycythemia vera, lymphoma (Hodgkin's disease and non-Hodgkin's disease), multiple myeloma, Waldenstrobm's macroglobulinemia, and heavy chain disease. Other examples of leukemias include acute and/or chronic leukemias, e.g., lymphocytic leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the p388 (murine) cell line), large granular lymphocytic leukemia, and lymphoblastic leukemia; T-cell leukemias, e.g., T-cell leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the CEM, Jurkat, and HSB-2 (acute), YAC-1 (murine) cell lines), T-lymphocytic leukemia, and T-lymphoblastic leukemia; B cell leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the SB (acute) cell line), and B-lymphocytic leukemia; mixed cell leukemias, e.g., B and T cell leukemia and B and T lymphocytic leukemia; myeloid leukemias, e.g., granulocytic leukemia, myelocytic leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the HL-60 (promyelocyte) cell line), and myelogenous leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the K562(chronic) cell line); neutrophilic leukemia; eosinophilic leukemia; monocytic leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the THP-1(acute) cell line); myelomonocytic leukemia; Naegeli-type myeloid leukemia; and nonlymphocytic leukemia (see paragraph 0116). Examples of chemotherapeutic and/or anti-cancer agents include agents such as paclitaxel, doxorubicin, vincristine, vinblastine, vindesine, vinorelbin, taxotere (DOCETAXEL), topotecan, camptothecin, irinotecan hydrochloride (CAMPTOSAR), etoposide, mitoxantrone, daunorubicin, idarubicin, teniposide, amsacrine, epirubicin, merbarone, piroxantrone hydrochloride, 5-fluorouracil, methotrexate, 6-mercaptopurine, 6-thioguanine, fludarabine phosphate, cytarabine (ARA-C), trimetrexate, gemcitabine, acivicin, alanosine, pyrazofurin, N-Phosphoracetyl-L-Asparate (PALA), pentostatin, 5-azacitidine, 5-Aza-2′-deoxycytidine, adenosine arabinoside (ARA-A), cladribine, ftorafur, UFT (combination of uracil and ftorafur), 5-fluoro-2′-deoxyuridine, 5-fluorouridine, 5′-deoxy-5-fluorouridine, hydroxyurea, dihydrolenchlorambucil, tiazofurin, cisplatin, carboplatin, oxaliplatin, mitomycin C, BCNU (Carmustine), melphalan, thiotepa, busulfan, chlorambucil, plicamycin, dacarbazine, ifosfamide phosphate, cyclophosphamide, nitrogen, mustard, uracil mustard, pipobroman, 4-ipomeanol, dihydrolenperone, spiromustine, geldanamycin, cytochalasins, depsipeptide, Lupron, ketoconazole, tamoxifen, goserelin (Zoledax), flutamide, 4′-cyano-3-(4-fluorophenylsulphonyl)-2-hydroxy-2-methyl-3′-(trifluorometh-yl) propionanilide, Herceptin, anti-CD20 (Rituxan), interferon, alpha, interferon beta, interferon gamma, interleukin 2, interleukin 4, interleukin 12, tumor necrosis factors, and radiation (paragraph 0112). With regard to the limitation “e to induce a synergistic effect on the cancer cells” the examiner interpreted the recitation as a functional limitation and since the combination teachings of Mayer et al. in view of Sabine Schuster and as evidenced by Wise et al. met the recited structure, the functional limitation would necessarily be met. "[I]nherency may supply a missing claim limitation in an obviousness analysis." PAR, 773 F.3d at 1194-1195 ; see also Endo Pharms. Sols., Inc. v. Custopharm Inc., 894 F.3d 1374 , 1381 , 127 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1409 (Fed. Cir. 2018) ("An inherent characteristic of a formulation can be part of the prior art in an obviousness analysis even if the inherent characteristic was unrecognized or unappreciated by a skilled artisan."). It is long settled that in the context of obviousness, the "mere recitation of a newly discovered function or property, inherently possessed by things in the prior art, does not distinguish a claim drawn to those things from the prior art." In re Oelrich, 666 F.2d 578 , 581 (C.C.P.A. 1981). The Supreme Court explained long ago that "[i]t is not invention to perceive that the product which others had discovered had qualities they failed to detect." Gen. Elec. Co. v. Jewel Incandescent Lamp Co., 326 U.S. 242 , 249 , 66 S. Ct. 81 , 90 L. Ed. 43 , 1946 Dec. Comm'r Pat. 611 (1945).
We too have previously explained that "an obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by administering it to a patient and claiming the resulting serum concentrations," because "[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation—no matter how obvious—to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property." Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344 , 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2012). In In re Kao, we found that the claimed controlled-release oxymorphone formulation was obvious because an inherent pharmacokinetic property of oxymorphone that was present in controlled-release oxymorphone "add[ed] nothing of patentable consequence." In re Huai-Hung Kao, 639 F.3d 1057 , 1070 , 98 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1799 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In In re Kubin, we found an inherent property obvious, explaining that "[e]ven if no prior art of record explicitly discusses the [limitation], the . . . application itself instructs that [the limitation] is not an additional requirement imposed by the claims on the [claimed protein], but rather a property necessarily present in [the claimed protein]." In re Kubin, 561 F.3d 1351 , 1357 , 90 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2009). Our predecessor court similarly concluded that it "is not the law" that "a structure suggested by the prior art, and, hence, potentially in the possession of the public, is patentable . . . because it also possesses an [i]nherent, but hitherto unknown, function which [the patentees] claim to have discovered." In re [*1191] Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019 , 1023 (C.C.P.A. 1979).
Inherency, however, is a "high standard," that is "carefully circumscribed in the context of obviousness." PAR, 773 F.3d at 1195 . Inherency "may not be established by probabilities or possibilities," and "[t]he mere fact that a certain thing may result from a given set of circumstances is not sufficient." Oelrich, 666 F.2d at 581 (emphasis added) (quoting Hansgirg v. Kemmer, 102 F.2d 212 , 214 , 26 C.C.P.A. 937 , 1939 Dec. Comm'r Pat. 327 (C.C.P.A. 1939); see also In re Rijckaert, 9 F.3d 1531 , 1533-1534 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Rather, inherency renders a claimed limitation obvious only if the limitation is "necessarily present," or is "the natural result of the combination of elements explicitly disclosed by the prior art." PAR, 773 F.3d at 119511 -96; see also Alcon Research, Ltd. v. Apotex Inc., 687 F.3d 1362 , 1369 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (relying on inherency where the claims recited "a property that is necessarily present" in the prior art). "If . . . the disclosure is sufficient to show that the natural result flowing from the operation as taught would result in the performance of the questioned function, it seems to be well settled that the disclosure should be regarded as sufficient" to render the function inherent. Oelrich, 666 F.2d at 581 (quoting Hansgirg v. Kemmer, 102 F.2d 212 , 214 , 26 C.C.P.A. 937 , 1939 Dec. Comm'r Pat. 327 (C.C.P.A. 1939)).
On appeal, Persion contends that the district court erred in applying the inherency doctrine in its obviousness analysis because Devane does not teach administering its hydrocodone-only formulation to patients with mild or moderate hepatic impairment. Thus, Persion asserts, "'the natural result flowing from the operation as taught' in Devane cannot be the claimed [pharmacokinetic] values for [hepatically impaired] patients." Appellant's Br. 37 (quoting Oelrich, 666 F.2d at 581 ); Reply Br. 19.
To the extent Persion contends that inherency can only satisfy a claim limitation when all other limitations are taught in a single reference, that position is contrary to our prior recognition that "inherency may supply a missing claim limitation in an obviousness analysis" where the limitation at issue is "the natural result of the combination of prior art elements." PAR, 773 F.3d at 1194-1195 (emphasis added, internal quotations omitted). Here, the district court specifically found that Devane, together with Jain, the state of the prior art at the time of invention, and the Vicodin and Lortab labels, taught the combination of elements that inherently result in the claimed pharmacokinetic parameters. The district court found that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to administer an unadjusted dose of the Devane formulation to hepatically impaired patients. There was also no dispute that the Devane formulation, which was identical to the Zohydro ER formulation described in the patents in suit, necessarily exhibited the claimed parameters under these conditions. Pernix, 323 F. Supp. 3d at 607 , 610 . In this context, the district court did not err by finding that the pharmacokinetic limitations of the asserted claims were inherent and added no patentable weight to the pharmacokinetic claims.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues embodiments of a method of treatment according to the present invention relate to administration of liposome encapsulated PyDau despite its very high toxicity. The toxicity of PyDau is evidenced by references cited in the International Search Report provided with the filing of the present US National Stage application of PCT/HU2022/050023: US6437105 and Mezo (Mező Gábor: Célzott tumorterápiára alkalmas konjugátumok tervezése és szintézise. Vegyészkonferencia, 20 June 2017, XP002803851). These references, in addition to Schuster, illustrate that the cytotoxic (cytostatic) concentration of PyDau is considerably lower than that of anthracyclines (e.g. doxorubicin and daunorubicin) currently used in therapy. This means that PyDau is toxic in low concentrations and no therapeutic window can be reasonably expected for this compound in treatment of cancer. This is evidenced by the in vitro data presented in e.g. US6437105, and the subject application. As presented in reproduced excerpts above, the Office reasoned simply that the defect of Mayer et al. to recite deamino-2-pyrrolino-daunorubicin as the active agent was cured by Schuster because Schuster delivers PyDau as an agent to treat cancer and both Mayer et al and Schuster deal with treating cancer. However, Applicant respectfully submits that the Office's reasoning is inadequate and indicative of a lack of motivation to combine. The Office should have avoided picking and choosing from any one reference only so much of it as will support a given position, to the exclusion of other parts necessary to the full appreciation of what such reference fairly suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art. "It is impermissible within the framework of section 103 to pick and choose from any one reference only so much of it as will support a given position, to the exclusion of other parts necessary to the full appreciation of what such reference fairly suggests to one of ordinary skill in the art." In re Wesslau, 353 F.2d 238, 241 (CCPA 1965); see also Bausch & Lomb, Inc. V. Barnes-Hind/Hydrocurve, Inc., 796 F.2d 443, 449-49 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (holding that the district court, by failing to consider a prior art reference in its entirety, ignored portions of the reference that led away from obviousness). Applicant further argues unexpectedly, liposome encapsulated pyDau treatment was curative in genetically engineered mouse model of triple-negative breast cancer (page 8, first paragraph and page 17, first paragraph). This was not seen with other anthracycline compounds.
The above assertions are not found persuasive because Applicant’s arguments fails because Applicant misapplies the toxicity data or teachings of the free (unencapsulated) PyDau to the claimed invention, which is expressly limited to liposome-encapsulated PyDau. The evidentiary references cited are pertains exclusively to the free compound which has no bearing on the liposomal formulation. A person of ordinary skill in the art reading the teachings of Mayer et al. would immediately recognize that liposomal encapsulation is a standard, proven strategy for anthracyclines that expands the therapeutic window precisely by mitigating the systemic toxicity of free drug. Mayer et al. teach liposomal formulations of daunorubicin (an anthracycline structurally related to PyDau) that achieve coordinated delivery, prolonged circulation, tumor accumulation via the EPR effect, and markedly improved survival in leukemia models compared with free drug cocktails-without proportional increases in toxicity. One of ordinary skill in the art therefore have every reason to expect that applying the same liposomal technology to the more potent PyDau analog would similarly widen its therapeutic index. An affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 must compare the claimed subject matter with the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Burckel, 592 F.2d 1175, 201 USPQ 67 (CCPA 1979). "A comparison of the claimed invention with the disclosure of each cited reference to determine the number of claim limitations in common with each reference, bearing in mind the relative importance of particular limitations, will usually yield the closest single prior art reference." In re Merchant, 575 F.2d 865, 868, 197 USPQ 785, 787 (CCPA 1978) (emphasis in original). Where the comparison is not identical with the reference disclosure, deviations therefrom should be explained, In re Finley, 174 F.2d 130, 81 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1949), and if not explained should be noted and evaluated, and if significant, explanation should be required. In re Armstrong, 280 F.2d 132, 126 USPQ 281 (CCPA 1960) (deviations from example were inconsequential). Applicants may compare the claimed invention with prior art that is more closely related to the invention than the prior art relied upon by the examiner. In re Holladay, 584 F.2d 384, 199 USPQ 516 (CCPA 1978). Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296 (CCPA 1980) (Claims were directed to a process for removing corrosion at "elevated temperatures" using a certain ion exchange resin (with the exception of claim 8 which recited a temperature in excess of 100°C). Appellant demonstrated unexpected results via comparative tests with the prior art ion exchange resin at 110°C and 130°C. The court affirmed the rejection of claims 1-7 and 9-10 because the term "elevated temperatures" encompassed temperatures as low as 60°C where the prior art ion exchange resin was known to perform well. The rejection of claim 8, directed to a temperature in excess of 100°C, was reversed.). See also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1329-31, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-85 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (data showing improved alloy strength with the addition of 2% rhenium did not evidence unexpected results for the entire claimed range of about 1-3% rhenium); In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 741, 218 USPQ 769, 777 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (Claims were directed to certain catalysts containing an alkali metal. Evidence presented to rebut an obviousness rejection compared catalysts containing sodium with the prior art. The court held this evidence insufficient to rebut the prima facie case because experiments limited to sodium were not commensurate in scope with the claims.). Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
It would indeed have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Mayer et al. by utilizing or substituting the daunorubicin with 2-deamino-2-pyrrolino-daunorubicin because Sabine Schuster teaches synthesis of 2-pyrrolino-Dau (pyDau) SST conjugate using the best carrier-linker combination to deliver the highly potent daunorubicin analog pyDau to SSTR expressing cancer cells and evaluation of the antitumor activity (see page 30). Next to Dau, also 2-pyrrolino-Dau has been conjugated to the best linker-targeting peptide moiety. The obtained IC50 value of pyDau conjugate 71 was for both cancer cell lines in the low nanomolar range which evidences the high potency of this Dau derivative. Although the synthesis of the pyDau conjugates is more challenging than the preparation of comparable Dau conjugates, the strong anticancer activity of pyDau-containing somatostatin conjugate (71) illustrates the high potential of pyDau-based DDS for targeted cancer therapy (page 85). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Sabine Schuster teaches that to further improve the antitumor activity, the highly potent anticancer drug 2-pyrrolino- daunorubicin was used instead of Dau affording conjugate pyDau=Aoa-LRRY-RC-121 which possesses a strong in vitro anticancer activity with an IC50 value in the nanomolar range. This somatostatin conjugate represents a highly promising candidate for targeted cancer therapy (see pages 116-117). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Mayer et al. and Sabine Schuster because both references teach treatments of cancer using daunorubicin and derivatives. With regard to the limitations of claims 4-8 the types of cancers such as breast, lung, etc., cancers that are taught by Mayer et al. are indeed therapy and drug resistance and they over express P-glycoprotein as evidenced by the teachings of Wise et al. Wise et al. teach that one problem is that many times, after what appears to be a successful chemotherapy, the cancer recurs and is again detected in the patient. Such chemotherapy failures may have several causes. One major cause is that a family of proteins that remove the chemotherapeutic drugs from subpopulations of the cancerous cells is overly produced (i.e., “over-expressed”) in these cells. These proteins are members of a class of membrane bound transporter proteins, called ABC transporters that act like cellular vacuum cleaners. They are aptly called multidrug resistance proteins or MDR pumps. The over-expression of one specific member of these MDR pumps, a protein called P-glycoprotein, seems to be especially important for cancers that become resistant to chemotherapeutics. Other proteins that are closely related to the P-glycoprotein, are also thought to be involved in other chemotherapy failures (paragraph 0058). P-Glycoprotein normally functions as a biochemical transporter that is able to bind a great variety of toxic chemicals inside of the living cell and, using a chemical power source called ATP, pushes the toxin through the cell membrane. This action effectively removes the toxin from the cells. The pump is therefore an essential component in important tissue boundaries like the blood-brain and blood-testis barriers. It is also helpful for the detoxification of important tissues and organs like breast, ovaries and kidneys. While this normally very important function of P-glycoprotein keeps cellular toxins at a low concentration in our cells and tissues, it is thought to be one of the root causes for cancer chemotherapy failures. For example, if a subset of cancer cells produces enough of this protein to cause the effective concentration of cancer chemotherapeutic(s) inside the cancerous cells to fall below the threshold(s) for clinical efficacy, then members of this subset of cancerous cells will survive the therapy. Once multiplying, this subset of cancerous cells will form a recurrent or relapsed cancer that consists of or contains cells that are resistant to chemotherapeutic drugs (Paragraph 0059). Because toxin pumps like the P-glycoprotein have evolved to export a wide variety of cellular toxins from the body's cells, they do not exhibit specificity towards a particular chemical compound or toxin and are capable of removing a wide variety of different toxins, drugs and chemotherapeutic compounds from the inside of the cell. Because of this latter property, when P-glycoprotein or one of its close relatives are the cause of chemotherapy failure, the recurrent cancer becomes resistant to many of the chemotherapeutics available, not just the one(s) used during original therapy. These recurrent cancers are now “multidrug resistant.” (paragraph 0060). Drug resistant cancers that can be treated or prevented by the methods of the present invention include, but are not limited to human sarcomas and carcinomas, e.g., fibrosarcoma, myxosarcoma, liposarcoma, chondrosarcoma, osteogenic sarcoma, chordoma, angiosarcoma, endotheliosarcoma, lymphangiosarcoma, lymphangioendotheliosarcoma, synovioma, mesothelioma, Ewing's tumor, leiomyosarcoma, rhabdomyosarcoma, colon carcinoma, colorectal cancer, anal carcinoma, esophageal cancer, gastric cancer, hepatocellular cancer, bladder cancer, endometrial Cancer, pancreatic cancer, breast cancer, ovarian cancer, prostate cancer, stomach cancer, atrial myxomas, squamous cell carcinoma, basal cell carcinoma, adenocarcinoma, sweat gland carcinoma, sebaceous gland carcinoma, thyroid and parathyroid neoplasms, papillary carcinoma, papillary adenocarcinomas, cystadenocarcinoma, medullary carcinoma, bronchogenic carcinoma, renal cell carcinoma, hepatoma, bile duct carcinoma, choriocarcinoma, seminoma, embryonal carcinoma, Wilms' tumor, cervical cancer, testicular tumor, lung carcinoma, small cell lung carcinoma, non-small-cell lung cancer, bladder carcinoma, epithelial carcinoma, glioma, pituitary neoplasms, astrocytoma, medulloblastoma, craniopharyngioma, ependymoma, pinealoma, hemangioblastoma, acoustic neuroma, schwannomas, oligodendroglioma, meningioma, spinal cord tumors, melanoma, neuroblastoma, pheochromocytoma, Types 1-3 endocrine neoplasia, retinoblastoma; leukemias, e.g., acute lymphocytic leukemia and acute myelocytic leukemia (myeloblastic, promyelocytic, myelomonocytic, monocytic and erythroleukemia); chronic leukemia (chronic myelocytic (granulocytic) leukemia and chronic lymphocytic leukemia); and polycythemia vera, lymphoma (Hodgkin's disease and non-Hodgkin's disease), multiple myeloma, Waldenstrobm's macroglobulinemia, and heavy chain disease. Other examples of leukemias include acute and/or chronic leukemias, e.g., lymphocytic leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the p388 (murine) cell line), large granular lymphocytic leukemia, and lymphoblastic leukemia; T-cell leukemias, e.g., T-cell leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the CEM, Jurkat, and HSB-2 (acute), YAC-1 (murine) cell lines), T-lymphocytic leukemia, and T-lymphoblastic leukemia; B cell leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the SB (acute) cell line), and B-lymphocytic leukemia; mixed cell leukemias, e.g., B and T cell leukemia and B and T lymphocytic leukemia; myeloid leukemias, e.g., granulocytic leukemia, myelocytic leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the HL-60 (promyelocyte) cell line), and myelogenous leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the K562(chronic) cell line); neutrophilic leukemia; eosinophilic leukemia; monocytic leukemia (e.g., as exemplified by the THP-1(acute) cell line); myelomonocytic leukemia; Naegeli-type myeloid leukemia; and nonlymphocytic leukemia (see paragraph 0116). Examples of chemotherapeutic and/or anti-cancer agents include agents such as paclitaxel, doxorubicin, vincristine, vinblastine, vindesine, vinorelbin, taxotere (DOCETAXEL), topotecan, camptothecin, irinotecan hydrochloride (CAMPTOSAR), etoposide, mitoxantrone, daunorubicin, idarubicin, teniposide, amsacrine, epirubicin, merbarone, piroxantrone hydrochloride, 5-fluorouracil, methotrexate, 6-mercaptopurine, 6-thioguanine, fludarabine phosphate, cytarabine (ARA-C), trimetrexate, gemcitabine, acivicin, alanosine, pyrazofurin, N-Phosphoracetyl-L-Asparate (PALA), pentostatin, 5-azacitidine, 5-Aza-2′-deoxycytidine, adenosine arabinoside (ARA-A), cladribine, ftorafur, UFT (combination of uracil and ftorafur), 5-fluoro-2′-deoxyuridine, 5-fluorouridine, 5′-deoxy-5-fluorouridine, hydroxyurea, dihydrolenchlorambucil, tiazofurin, cisplatin, carboplatin, oxaliplatin, mitomycin C, BCNU (Carmustine), melphalan, thiotepa, busulfan, chlorambucil, plicamycin, dacarbazine, ifosfamide phosphate, cyclophosphamide, nitrogen, mustard, uracil mustard, pipobroman, 4-ipomeanol, dihydrolenperone, spiromustine, geldanamycin, cytochalasins, depsipeptide, Lupron, ketoconazole, tamoxifen, goserelin (Zoledax), flutamide, 4′-cyano-3-(4-fluorophenylsulphonyl)-2-hydroxy-2-methyl-3′-(trifluorometh-yl) propionanilide, Herceptin, anti-CD20 (Rituxan), interferon, alpha, interferon beta, interferon gamma, interleukin 2, interleukin 4, interleukin 12, tumor necrosis factors, and radiation (paragraph 0112).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619