Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/08/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Machado et al. (U.S. 2007/0240997 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Machado et al. disclose in Figs. 1-3 an apparatus for characterizing an electrochemical cell, comprising: an analyzer (paragraphs [0031 & 0040] disclose an analyzer chamber for monitoring and controlling the feed of gases); the electrochemical cell placed within the analyzer (paragraphs [0032 & 0040] describe a cell or reactor chamber positioned inside the analyzer housing where gas reactions occur); a lid adapted for closing the analyzer, the lid comprising feed-throughs through the lid (paragraph [0025] describes the analyzer sealed with a cover having inlet and outlet conduits serving as feedthroughs); a current source (paragraph [0032] discloses electrical power supplied to the gas reaction chamber for initiating and maintaining electrochemical processes); and wires for connecting the current source via the feedthroughs with the electrochemical cell (paragraphs [0037 & 0040] disclose conductive lines extending through the lid feedthroughs to supply current to the internal electrodes); wherein the apparatus is adapted to measure during an operation of the electrochemical cell a change in a temperature within the electrochemical cell, or a change in a mass of the electrochemical cell, or analyzing an effluent gas, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0034 & 0040] disclose sensors monitoring temperature, mass change through effluent flow, and composition analysis of the evolved gas products; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the analyzer of Machado includes any analytical system capable of measuring temperature, mass, or gas changes associated with reactions in the enclosed cell.)
As to claim 13, Machado et al. disclose wherein the electrochemical cell comprises at least one current collector, an active material, an electrolyte, and a separator (paragraphs [0032–0034] disclose electrodes with current collectors, electrolyte layers, and separation membranes within the reaction chamber).
As to claim 14, Machado et al. disclose wherein the analyzer is selected from a thermogravimetric analyzer (see [0032 & 0040]), a differential scanning calorimeter, a differential thermal analyzer , or a simultaneous thermal analyzer (paragraphs [0032 & 0040] disclose an analyzer employing temperature and mass monitoring equivalent to thermogravimetric or differential thermal analysis systems).
As to claim 15, Machado et al. disclose wherein the electrochemical cell is configured for electrochemical reactions producing gaseous byproducts (paragraphs [0021 and 0027] disclose generation and measurement of hydrogen or hydride gases during reaction).
As to claim 16, Machado et al. disclose wherein the lid comprises sealing means preventing gas leakage (paragraphs [0031 & 0040] discloses a sealed cover with gas-tight feedthroughs ensuring no leakage from the analyzer).
As to claim 17, Machado et al. disclose wherein the analyzer further comprises an effluent outlet for gas analysis (paragraphs [0025–0028] disclose effluent gas outlets connected to gas analysis instruments).
As to claim 18, Machado et al. disclose wherein the effluent gas is directed to a gas analyzer or mass spectrometer (paragraphs [0027–0029 & 0040] disclose coupling of the effluent to a mass spectrometer or gas chromatograph for composition analysis).
As to claim 19, Machado et al. disclose wherein the temperature of the electrochemical cell is monitored by at least one thermocouple or thermal sensor (see examples 7-10 discloses temperature sensors within the reaction zone).
As to claim 20, Machado et al. disclose wherein the change in mass is determined by a balance or weighing system integrated with the analyzer (paragraphs [0027 & 0031] discloses a gravimetric system determining the amount of gas produced, corresponding to change in mass).
As to claim 21, Machado et al. disclose wherein the current source is programmable to apply various charge/discharge profiles (paragraph [0049-0051] discloses controlled electrical input profiles to drive reaction rates).
As to claim 22, Machado et al. disclose wherein the electrochemical cell includes a metal hydride electrode (paragraphs [0027-0031] discloses metal hydride material used in gas generation).
As to claim 23, Machado et al. disclose wherein the analyzer includes a controller configured to synchronize measurements of temperature, mass, and gas composition (paragraphs [0028–0030] disclose coordinated data collection and control system managing all sensors).
As to claim 24, Machado et al. disclose wherein the analyzer is configured to output data indicative of reaction kinetics or stability (paragraphs [0028–0031] disclose data recording and analysis of reaction behavior).
As to claim 25, Machado et al. disclose wherein the apparatus further comprises a cooling or heating element associated with the analyzer (paragraphs [0032 & 0041] discloses a temperature control system maintaining desired conditions).
As to claim 26, Machado et al. disclose wherein the feedthroughs include both electrical and fluid conduits (5)(see Fig. 1 and paragraph [0015] discloses electrical lines and gas conduits integrated through the cover feedthroughs).
As to claim 27, Machado et al. disclose wherein the electrochemical cell is configured for rechargeable battery characterization (paragraphs [0051-0052] disclose electrochemical reactions within a cell structure suitable for charge/discharge cycles).
As to claim 28, Machado et al. disclose wherein the analyzer further comprises a pressure sensor for detecting internal pressure changes (paragraphs [0015 & 0026] discloses monitoring gas pressure in the sealed reaction chamber).
As to claim 29, Machado et al. disclose wherein the analyzer is adapted to maintain an inert atmosphere during measurement (see Fig. 1 & paragraphs [0015 & 0023] discloses analyzer chamber purged with inert gas to control environment).
As to claim 30, Machado et al. disclose wherein the analyzer is connected to a computer system for data logging and control (see examples 7-10 and paragraph [0030] discloses communication interface with external computer for operation and data recording).
As to claim 31, Machado et al. disclose herein the analyzer comprises a calibration system for temperature and mass sensors (see examples 7-10 and paragraph [0029 & 0050-0052] discloses calibration routines and reference standards for ensuring accuracy of measurements).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2018/0074132 A1 to Day et al. disclose a method involves measuring thermal features associated with transitions of portions of electrolyte that is frozen and depleted over time during battery operation. The measured thermal features are compared to thermal features of a reference electrochemical device. State-of-health property is deduced from the comparison. The thermal features are measured by differential thermal analysis or differential scanning calorimetry when the temperature of the electrochemical device is varied.
U.S. 2013/0061661 A1 to Morel et al. disclose a method for testing a seal of a part that includes an electrolyte of an electrochemical cell, the method including: forming a closed cavity delimited by a first outer surface of the part including the electrolyte to be tested; contacting a second outer surface of the part, opposite the first surface, with a first fluid; circulating a second fluid, separate from the first fluid, through the closed cavity between an inlet and an outlet of this cavity; and analyzing the fluid extracted via the outlet of the cavity, to detect possible presence of the first fluid.
U.S. 10,944,126 B2 to Dutta disclose systems and methods for the generation of electric current and/or electric potential utilizing micro- or nano-channels and capillary flow, including fluidic or microfluidic batteries and electrochemical cells. The provided systems and methods use capillary force to promote fluid flow through micro- and nano-fluidic channels by evaporating fluid at one terminus of the channel, and the resulting fluid flow generates electric potential and or current. Advantageously, the described systems and methods remove the need for pressurized vessels or external pumps, increasing net energy generation and decreasing complexity and size of potential fluidic batteries.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
October 7, 2025
/HUY Q PHAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858