DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim (s) 1 -5, 7 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A (cited by Applicant) in view of Hirano et al. US 4,272,114 A . Regarding claim s 1 and 3 , Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A discloses a n impact absorbing structure (collision energy absorbing structure 10 in paragraph [0012] ) of an automobile (in paragraph [0001] as shown in Figure 6) , comprising: a first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) composed of a metallic material (steel in paragraph [0020]) ; and a second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) joined to an outer surface or an inner surface of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) , and extending in an axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) , wherein: a shape of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is a cylindrical shape; a length (L2 as shown in Figure 1) of the second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) ; a length (L1 as shown in Figure 2) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) ; when a distance between end portions of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) and the second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as D, a maximum curvature radius (half of D1 as shown in Figure 1) of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in a cross section perpendicular to the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as R, and a sheet thickness (T1 as shown in Figure 1) of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as t . However, Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A does not show a joint line, extending along a direction different from a circumferential direction of the first member, of the first member and the second member is present ; a length of the second member in the axial direction of the first member is a length of 15 to 75% of a length in the axial direction of the first member ; D < 0.40Rt is satisfied (claim 1 ); and wherein an area of a region divided by the joint line in the second member is 60% or less of a total area of the regions (claim 3) ; and wherein the joint line extends along the axial direction of the first member (claim 7). Hirano et al. US 4,272,114 A teaches a first embodiment of the impact absorbing device according to the present invention, the device comprises a hollow polyhedral body (1) in the form of a frustum of a hollow quadrangular pyramid which has its vertex at (9); this hollow polyhedral body (1) is obtained by forming a single plate into the hollow polyhedral shape and welding the mating edges of the plate; the joint line (2 as shown in Figure 1 ) is located at approximately the longitudinal centerline of one of the side walls of the polyhedral body (1). Regarding claim 1, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the impact absorbing structure of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A with the length of the second member in the axial direction of the first member of is a length of 15 to 75% of a length in the axial direction of the first member and D <0.40Rt is satisfied , where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device . In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Regarding claims 1 and 7, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first and second members of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A with a joint line in the axial direction, as taught by Hirano et al. US 4,272,114 A , with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a boundary line between a joint region and non-joint region. Regarding claim 3, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the impact absorbing structure of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A , as modified, with an area of a region divided by the joint line is 60% of less of a total area of the regions , where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device . In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Regarding claim 2 , Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A discloses t he impact absorbing structure (collision energy absorbing structure 10 in paragraph [0012]) of the automobile (in paragraph [0001] as shown in Figure 6) according to claim 1, wherein a shape of the second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is a cylindrical shape. Regarding claim 4 , Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A discloses a n impact absorbing structure (collision energy absorbing structure 10 in paragraph [0012]) of an automobile (in paragraph [0001] as shown in Figure 6) , comprising: a first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) composed of a metallic material (steel in paragraph [0020]) ; and a second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) joined to an outer surface or an inner surface of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) , and extending in an axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) , wherein: a shape of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1 ; and “polygonal cross-sectional shape” in paragraph [0016] ) ; a length of the second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) ; a length in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) ; when a distance between end portions of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) and the second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as D, a width of a flat surface portion of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as W p , and a sheet thickness (T1 as shown in Figure 1) of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as t . However, Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A does not show a shape of the first member is a square tube shape ; a length of the second member in the axial direction of the first member is a length of 15 to 75% of a length in the axial direction of the first member; D < 1.11 Wpt is satisfied ; and a joint line, extending along a direction different from a circumferential direction of the first member, of the first member and the second member is present. Hirano et al. US 4,272,114 A teaches a first embodiment of the impact absorbing device according to the present invention, the device comprises a hollow polyhedral body (1) in the form of a frustum of a hollow quadrangular pyramid which has its vertex at (9); this hollow polyhedral body (1) is obtained by forming a single plate into the hollow polyhedral shape and welding the mating edges of the plate; the joint line (2 as shown in Figure 1 ) is located at approximately the longitudinal centerline of one of the side walls of the polyhedral body (1). Regarding claim 4, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the shape of first member of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A a s a square tube , with a reasonable expectation of success a s a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed firs member was significant . In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). Regarding claim 4, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the impact absorbing structure of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A with the length of the second member in the axial direction of the first member of is a length of 15 to 75% of a length in the axial direction of the first member and D <0.40Rt is satisfied , where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device . In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Regarding claim 4, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first and second members of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A with a joint line, as taught by Hirano et al. US 4,272,114 A , with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a boundary line between a joint region and non-joint region. Regarding claim 5 , Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A discloses t he impact absorbing structure (collision energy absorbing structure 10 in paragraph [0012]) of the automobile (in paragraph [0001] as shown in Figure 6) according to claim 4, wherein the second member ( second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is joined to the flat surface portion of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) . Regarding claim 10 , Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A discloses t he impact absorbing structure (collision energy absorbing structure 10 in paragraph [0012]) of the automobile (in paragraph [0001] as shown in Figure 6) according to claim 1, but does not show wherein a thickness ratio t/t' between the sheet thickness t of the first member ( a sheet thickness t' of the second member is 0.25 to 4.0 . Regarding claim 4, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the impact absorbing structure of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A with a thickness ratio t/t' between the sheet thickness t of the first member ( a sheet thickness t' of the second member is 0.25 to 4.0 , where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device . In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Regarding claim 11 , Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A discloses t he impact absorbing structure (collision energy absorbing structure 10 in paragraph [0012]) of the automobile (in paragraph [0001] as shown in Figure 6) according to claim 1 being used for a crash box, a side member, an extension of a subframe, or a reinforcement disposed in a hollow crushing member (in paragraph [0024]) . Regarding claim 12 , Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A discloses a n impact absorbing structure (collision energy absorbing structure 10 in paragraph [0012]) of an automobile (in paragraph [0001] as shown in Figure 6) , comprising: a first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) comprising a metallic material ( steel in paragraph [0020]) ; and a second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) joined to an outer surface or an inner surface of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) , and extending in an axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) , wherein: a shape of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is a cylindrical shape; a length (L2 as shown in Figure 1) of the second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) ; a length (L1 as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) ; when a distance between end portions of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) and the second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as D, a maximum curvature radius (half of D1 as shown in Figure 1) of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in a cross section perpendicular to the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as R, and a sheet thickness (T1 as shown in Figure 1) of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as t . However, Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A does not show a length of the second member in the axial direction of the first member is a length of 15 to 75% of a length in the axial direction of the first member; D < 0.40Rt is satisfied ; a joint line, extending along a direction different from a circumferential direction of the first member, of the first member and the second member is present. Hirano et al. US 4,272,114 A teaches a first embodiment of the impact absorbing device according to the present invention, the device comprises a hollow polyhedral body (1) in the form of a frustum of a hollow quadrangular pyramid which has its vertex at (9); this hollow polyhedral body (1) is obtained by forming a single plate into the hollow polyhedral shape and welding the mating edges of the plate; the joint line (2 as shown in Figure 1 ) is located at approximately the longitudinal centerline of one of the side walls of the polyhedral body (1). Regarding claim 12, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the impact absorbing structure of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A with the length of the second member in the axial direction of the first member of is a length of 15 to 75% of a length in the axial direction of the first member and D <0.40Rt is satisfied , where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device . In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Regarding claim 12 , i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first and second members of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A with a joint line in the axial direction, as taught by Hirano et al. US 4,272,114 A , with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a boundary line between a joint region and non-joint region. Regarding claim 13 , Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A discloses a n impact absorbing structure (collision energy absorbing structure 10 in paragraph [0012]) of an automobile (in paragraph [0001] as shown in Figure 6) , comprising: a first member comprising (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) a metallic material (steel in paragraph [0020]) ; and a second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) joined to an outer surface or an inner surface of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) , and extending in an axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) , wherein: a shape of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1 ; “polygonal cross-sectional shape” in paragraph [0016]) ; a length (L2 as shown in Figure 1) of the second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) ; a length (L1 as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) ; when a distance between end portions of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) and the second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as D, a width of a flat surface portion of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as Wp, and a sheet thickness (T1 as shown in Figure 1) of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as t . However, Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A does not show a shape of the first member is a square tube shape ; a length of the second member in the axial direction of the first member is a length of 15 to 75% of a length in the axial direction of the first member; D < 1.11Wpt is satisfied; and a joint line, extending along a direction different from a circumferential direction of the first member, of the first member and the second member is present. Hirano et al. US 4,272,114 A teaches a first embodiment of the impact absorbing device according to the present invention, the device comprises a hollow polyhedral body (1) in the form of a frustum of a hollow quadrangular pyramid which has its vertex at (9); this hollow polyhedral body (1) is obtained by forming a single plate into the hollow polyhedral shape and welding the mating edges of the plate; the joint line (2 as shown in Figure 1 ) is located at approximately the longitudinal centerline of one of the side walls of the polyhedral body (1). Regarding claim 4, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the shape of first member of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A as a square tube, with a reasonable expectation of success a s a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed firs member was significant . In reDailey , 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). Regarding claim 13, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the impact absorbing structure of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A with the length of the second member in the axial direction of the first member of is a length of 15 to 75% of a length in the axial direction of the first member and D <0.40Rt is satisfied , where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device . In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Regarding claim 13, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first and second members of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A with a joint line in the axial direction, as taught by Hirano et al. US 4,272,114 A , with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a boundary line between a joint region and non-joint region. Claim (s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A (cited by Applicant) in view of SU 984598 A . Regarding claims 1 and 8 , Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A, discloses a n impact absorbing structure (collision energy absorbing structure 10 in paragraph [0012]) of an automobile (in paragraph [0001] as shown in Figure 6) , comprising: a first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) composed of a metallic material (steel in paragraph [0020]) ; and a second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) joined to an outer surface or an inner surface of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) , and extending in an axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) , wherein: a shape of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is a cylindrical shape; a length (L2 as shown in Figure 1) of the second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) ; a length (L1 as shown in Figure 2) in the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) ; when a distance between end portions of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) and the second member (second cylindrical member 2 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in the axial direction of the first member first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as D, a maximum curvature radius (half of D1 as shown in Figure 1) of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) in a cross section perpendicular to the axial direction of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as R, and a sheet thickness (T1 as shown in Figure 1) of the first member (first cylindrical member 1 in paragraph [0012] as shown in Figure 1) is set as t . However, Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A does not show a length of the second member in the axial direction of the first member is a length of 15 to 75% of a length in the axial direction of the first member ; D < 0.40Rt is satisfied ; and a joint line, extending along a direction different from a circumferential direction of the first member, of the first member and the second member is present (claim 1); and wherein the joint line extends in a direction inclined to the axial direction of the first member (claim 8) . SU 984598 A teaches blank has a hollow cylinder profile with a joint line consisting of mutually perpendicular sections alternating along the cylinder generatrix and forming a tongue joint; blank is useful in extrusion or reduction processes, gives increased joint strength after deformation and improved component quality (in Abstract). Regarding claim 1, i t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the impact absorbing structure of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A with the length of the second member in the axial direction of the first member of is a length of 15 to 75% of a length in the axial direction of the first member and D <0.40Rt is satisfied , where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device . In Gardnerv.TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Regarding claim s 1 and 8, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first and second member s of Japanese reference JP 2001-241478 A w ith the joint line extends in a direction inclined to the axial direction , as taught by SU 984598 A , with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase joint strength after deformation and improved component quality. Allowable Subject Matter Claim s 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 6, wherein the second member is joined to a ridge line portion of the first member is not taught nor is fairly suggested by the prior art of record. Regarding claim 9, wherein another joint line extending along the circumferential direction of the first member is present is not taught nor is fairly suggested by the prior art of record. Prior Art The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Yasuyama et al. US 2014/0147693 A1 discloses the formed member (20) shown in FIG. 1(a) has first and second ridge portions (28, 28) which connect a surface (26) with other surfaces (27, 27), and third and fourth ridge portions ( 30 , 30 ) which connect surfaces (29, 29) with other surfaces (27, 27); the formed member (20) has a reinforcing member which is joined to at least one of the four ridge portions (28, 28, 30 , and 30 ); formed member (20) may by itself constitute a component of an automobile. Communication Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Lori Lyjak whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6658 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 8:00 AM-4:30 PM (EST) Monday-Friday . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Amy Weisberg can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5500 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Lori Lyjak/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612