5 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Specification The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Seo (US 2023/0041411) . Regarding claim 1 , Seo discloses a n electrode assembly comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, the first electrode the second electrode and the separator being wound in a winding direction about a winding axis to define a core and an outer circumference of the electrode assembly (see paragraph 53 which discloses two electrodes sandwiching a separator and teaches that this stack can be wound to form a jelly roll , see 10 in Fig. 4 which illustrates such a roll) , wherein the first electrode includes an active material portion coated with an active material layer and a first non-coated portion not coated with the active material layer along the winding direction (see paragraph 66 which discloses a collector that is partially coated with an active material layer and partially un-coated to form an electrode tab 11) , wherein the first non-coated portion (such as 1004b in Fig. 6) includes a plurality of impregnation slits (slits 1005b) extending along a circumferential direction of the electrode assembly (the slits are spaced apart from each other in the circumferential direction) , and wherein longitudinal extension lines of impregnation slits adjacent to each other along the circumferential direction do not overlap each other (longitudinal extension lines extend along the slit, such that the lines of adjacent slits are parallel with each other and do not overlap) . Regarding claim 2 , Seo further discloses each impregnation slit has a shape extending in a direction parallel to the circumferential direction (the slits 1005a have a dimension that extends in the direction parallel to the circumferential direction) . Claim(s) 1 , 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 12-14 and 32-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)( 1 ) as being anticipated by Hagiwara ( JP 2008218234A with references made to the machine translation ) . Regarding claim s 1 and 34-37 , Hagiwara discloses a n electrode assembly for a vehicle comprising a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, the first electrode the second electrode and the separator being wound in a winding direction about a winding axis to define a core and an outer circumference of the electrode assembly ( electrode plates 140 and 170 sandwich separator 190 and are rolled in a jelly roll formation, as depicted in Fig. 6 ) , wherein the first electrode includes an active material portion coated with an active material layer and a first non-coated portion not coated with the active material layer along the winding direction ( current collector portion 143 is uncoated and the portion of the current collector that is coated with active material 148, for example is coated ) , wherein the first non-coated portion ( 143 ) includes a plurality of impregnation slits ( holes 145H ) extending along a circumferential direction (see Fig. 6 which illustrates that the holes extend along the current collector 143 in the circumferential direction) of the electrode assembly, and wherein longitudinal extension lines of impregnation slits adjacent to each other along the circumferential direction do not overlap each other (longitudinal extension lines extend along the slit, such that the lines of adjacent slits are parallel with each other and do not overlap) . Regarding claim 2 , Hagiwara further discloses each impregnation slit has a shape extending in a direction parallel to the circumferential direction (the slits 145H have a dimension that extends in the direction parallel to the circumferential direction) . Regarding claim 4 , Hagiwara further discloses among the plurality of impregnation slits, the impregnation slits adjacent to each other along the circumferential direction are at different heights in a direction of the winding axis without being formed on a same line (see Fig. 3 which illustrates that slits 145H are staggered in the circumferential direction) . Regarding claim s 5 and 7 , Hagiwara further discloses the plurality of impregnation slits, the impregnation slits adjacent to each other along the circumferential direction are spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance along a direction parallel to the winding axis of the electrode assembl y (see Fig. 3 where slits 145H are spaced apart from each other equally) Regarding claim 9 , Hagiwara further discloses a length of each impregnation slit in the circumferential direction is constant (see Fig. 3 which illustrates constant length/width of each slit) . Regarding claim 12 , Hagiwara further discloses the plurality of impregnation slits are parallel to each other (see all slits in Fig. 3 which are parallel to each other) . Regarding claim 13 , Hagiwara further discloses among the plurality of impregnation slits, impregnation slits adjacent to each other along a radial direction of the electrode assembly at least partially overlap each other to provide an impregnation path to allow electrolyte to pass through along the radial direction (see Fig. 3 where the holes 145H overlap each other to provide a fluid path between the core portion of the jelly roll and the exterior). Regarding claim 14 , Hagiwara further discloses the impregnation path extends from the outer circumference of the electrode assembly to a predetermined depth along the radial direction (see Fig. 7 which illustrates a fluid bath between the exterior of the wound electrode assembly and the center of the electrode assembly) . Regarding claim 32 , Hagiwara further discloses the first non-coated portion is located at an upper portion of the electrode assembly (see Fig. 7 which illustrates an orientation of the electrode assembly where the slits 145H are positioned at the top of the electrode assembly) . Regarding claim 33 , Hagiwara further discloses the first electrode is a negative electrode (both electrodes have the slits 145H, see Fig. 3) . Allowable Subject Matter Claims 3, 6, 8, 10, 11 and 15-31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 3, 6, 8, 10 and 11, the closest prior art, Hagiwara, does not teach the slits in the claimed orientation of these claims and the prior art neither teaches nor suggests a reason to modify Hagiwara to arrive at the claimed limitations. Regarding claims 15-31, the closest prior art, Hagiwara, teaches slits in the uncoated region, as claimed, but is silent regarding the claimed cutting lines that separate fragments of the uncoated portion. The prior art neither teaches nor suggests a motivation to modify Hagiwara with such a feature. Relevant Prior Art JP2001102030A - Discloses a current collector plate (5) that is perforated to facilitate the injection of electrolyte, but does not teach the claimed slits in an uncovered portion of the first electrode. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MATTHEW J MERKLING whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9813 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Thursday 8am-6pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Basia Ridley can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-1453 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW J MERKLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725