DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, species Ia, claims 1, 2, and 4 in the reply filed on 5/7/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eng et al. (WO 2021/040622 A1, hereinafter Eng, cited by applicant) in view of Wan et al. ("Diversities of stoichiometry and electrical conductivity in sodium sulfides," Journal of Materials Chemistry A, Vol. 7, pp 16472-16478, 6/17/19, hereinafter Wan).
Re Claim 1. Eng teaches a cathode (pure S-PAN cathode, P19/L15-31) for a sodium/sulfur (NaS) battery, the cathode comprising polysodium-sulfide polyacrylonitrile (NaxS-PAN, 2=x) (P19/L15-31).
Eng fails to specifically teach that x ≥ 3.
The research of Wan encompasses stoichiometry and electrical conductivity in sodium sulfides. Wan teaches Na3S, x=3 (P16475).
In view of Wan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Eng to employ Na3S, since Wan teaches the advantage of using it, which is for higher capacity (P16477).
Re Claim 2. The combination teaches wherein the cathode comprises no other additives other than polyacrylonitrile, sulfur, and sodium (Eng, P19/L15-31).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eng in view of Wan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahn et al. (KR 10-1656406 B1, hereinafter Ahn, cited by applicant).
The combination teaches wherein the cathode has a structure in which sulfur and sodium are bonded with polyacrylonitrile (Eng, P19/L15-31), but fails to specifically teaches that polyacrylonitrile is web-shaped.
The invention of Ahn encompasses electrode and battery. Ahn teaches that teaches that polyacrylonitrile is web-shaped (P3 & 5).
In view of Ahn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Eng in view of Wan to have polyacrylonitrile a web-shaped, since using a well-known shape of polyacrylonitrile is within purview of one skill in the art.
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
5/21/2026