DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application, filed on 11 September, 2023, is a 371 of PCT/US2022/022368 filed 29 March, 2022 which claims domestic benefit to US provisional application no. 63/168,225, filed on 30, March,2021 and US provisional application no. 63/305,587, filed on 01, February 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 July, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of Application, Amendments, and/or Claims
The response filed on 30 July, 2026 has been entered in full. The response is an amendment to a Non-Final Rejection to the claim set filed on 16 April, 2026. In the amendment claims 1, 2, 5, 30, 46, and 49 are amended, claims 3, 6, 11, 22, 27-29, 32, 38, 50, 53, and 55 are previously presented, and claims 4, 7-10, 12-21, 23-26, 31, 33-37, 40-45, 48, and 52 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11, 22, 27-30, 32, 38, 39, 46, 47, 49-51, and 53-55 are pending and are the subject of this office action.
Status of Application, Amendments, and/or Claims
In the office action of 04/16/2026,
Claims 5, 30, and 49 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite, the amendment of the claims have overcome these rejections and the rejections are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 2, and 30 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Qin et al. as evidenced by Brandsma et al. The rejection has been withdrawn due to persuasive arguments but a new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C 103 has been made.
Claims 3, 6, 22, 27-29, 32, 38, 39, 50, 51, and 53-55 were rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 over Qin et al. in view of Deuse et al. and Zhu and Kaufman. A modified rejection under Qin et al. in view of Koenderman, Deuse et al. and Zhu and Kaufman has been made in response to the new 103 rejection of claim 1.
Claim 5 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Qin et al. in view of Fu and Kenney. A modified rejection under Qin et al. in view of Koenderman, Deuse et al., Zhu and Kaufman, and Fu and Kenney has been made in response to the new 103 rejection of claim 1.
Claim 11 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Qin et al. in view of Maryamchik et al. A modified rejection under Qin et al. in view of Koenderman, Deuse et al., Zhu and Kaufman, and Maryamchik et al. has been made in response to the new 103 rejection of claim 1.
Claim 46, 47, and 49 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Qin et al. in view of Krusal et al and Jing et al. A modified rejection under Qin et al. in view of Koenderman, Deuse et al., Zhu and Kaufman, Kruskal, and Jing has been made in response to the new 103 rejection of claim 1.
The double patenting rejections of claims 1-3, 6, 11, 22, 27, 28, 29, 30, 32, 38, and 39 over copending Application No. 17/768,217 is maintained in modified form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 22, 27-30, 32, 38, 39, 50, 51, and 53 - 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin et al. (2004) Differential Gene Expression Modulated by the Cytoplasmic Domain of FcγRIa (CD64) α-Chain Journal of Immunology 173 6211-6219 (hereafter Qin) in view of Koenderman (2019) Inside-Out Control of Fc-Receptors Frontiers in Immunology (10), Deuse et al (2019) Hypoimmunogenic derivatives of induced pluripotent stem cells evade immune rejection in fully immunocompetent allogeneic recipients Nature Biotechnology (37) 252-258 (of record 02/24/2026) (hereafter Deuse) and Zhu and Kaufman (2019) Engineered human pluripotent stem cell -derived natural killer cells: the next frontier for cancer immunotherapy Journal of Chinese Medical Association (1) 4-11 (of record 02/24/2026) (hereafter Zhu and Kaufman).
In regards to claim 1, Qin teaches a modified cell, wherein the modified cell expresses a FcγRI protein truncated by removal of its cytoplasmic domain (pg.6211 col 2, lines 26-30). The truncated protein directly downregulates the production of M-CSF, MIC-1, LSP1, and NFκB when stimulated with anti-FcγRI mAb (pg.6215, col 1, lines 2-7/ pg.6218, col 1, lines 8-10), and further Qin demonstrated that the truncation of the cytoplasmic domain did not alter association of the γ-chain (pg.6214, col 1, lines 6-9). Though not explicitly stated Qin anticipates the cell being less susceptible to antibody dependent cellular cytotoxicity (ADCC) and having reduced intracellular signaling as evidenced by Brandsma which states the cytoplasmic domain of FcγRI contains serine residues necessary for full signaling of the γ chain, phagocytosis, and could be important for effector function (pg.77, col 1, lines 35-46/ pg.77, col 2, lines 1-3).
In regards to claim 2 Qin teaches the truncated Fc receptor being a CD64 protein with a truncated cytoplasmic domain (pg.6211 col 2, lines 26-30).
In regards to claim 30 Qin teaches the modified cell comprising a truncated CD64 in a parental non-modified mouse macrophages (pg.6211 col 2, lines 26-30).
Qin fails to teach reducing ADCC or CDC and the reduction or elimination of ITAM signaling of claim 1, the modified cell being a pluripotent cell of claim 3, the modified cell being derived from a human hypo-immunogenic pluripotent (HIP) cell of claim 6, the modified cell being selected from the cells listed in claim 22, 28, and 39, and the modified cell being selected from the cells listed in claim 32. Qin also fails to teach the use of the modified cells are therapeutics to treat diseases of claims 27, 29, and 38. Further, Qin fails to teach the modified cell comprising a SIRPα engager protein of claim 50, where the SIRPα engager protein comprises an immunoglobulin superfamily domain, and antibody fab, or a single chain variable fragment of claim 51, the SIRPα engager protein being CD47 of claim 54, and the modified cell is an engineered NK cell of claim 55. Qin also fails to teach the modified cell comprising the B2M -/- and CITA -/- phenotype, a CD64t and a SIRPα-engager molecule of claim 53.
Koenderman, however in regards to claim 1 suggests one might want to inhibit Fc gamma receptor inside-out control for preservation of sufficient therapeutical concentration (pg.8, col 1, lines 18-20). Further Koenderman teaches that ITAM signaling is linked to Fc gamma receptor signaling in that it determines if the receptor is activating or inhibitory with reduces signaling leading to inhibition (pg.2, col 2, lines 26-39).
Koenderman fails to teach the modified cell being a pluripotent cell of claim 3, the modified cell being derived from a human hypo-immunogenic pluripotent (HIP) cell of claim 6, the modified cell being selected from the cells listed in claim 22, 28, and 39, and the modified cell being selected from the cells listed in claim 32. Koenderman also fails to teach the use of the modified cells are therapeutics to treat diseases of claims 27, 29, and 38. Further, Qin Koenderman to teach the modified cell comprising a SIRPα engager protein of claim 50, where the SIRPα engager protein comprises an immunoglobulin superfamily domain, and antibody fab, or a single chain variable fragment of claim 51, the SIRPα engager protein being CD47 of claim 54, and the modified cell is an engineered NK cell of claim 55. Koenderman also fails to teach the modified cell comprising the B2M -/- and CITA -/- phenotype, a CD64t and a SIRPα-engager molecule of claim 53.
Deuse, however in regards to claims 3 and 6 teaches the use of human inducible pluripotent stem cells which have been genetically modified to be a hypo-immunogenic cell which can evade immune rejection and suggest that hypoimmunogenic cell grafts can be engineered for universal transplantation (pg.253, col 1 line 57 – pg.255, col 2, line 38/ abstract).
In regards to claims 22, 28, 32, and 39 Deuse further teaches that the hypo-immunogenic iPSCs can be differentiated into edited endothelial cells or edited cardiomyocytes before in vivo use (pg.255, col 1, lines 4-6).
In regards to claims 27, 29, and 38 Qin suggest modified cells with altered FcRs have shown protection from some forms of autoimmunity and altered antibody response and highlights how these changes could be important in the biological effects or side effects of Ig based therapeutic (pg.6218, col 2, lines 15-22). Deuse further teaches the use of the hypoimmunogenic cells in vivo can evade immune rejection in immunocompetent allogeneic recipients highlighting their benefit as a therapeutic to treat diseases such as heart failure (pg.258, col 1, lines 4-8) and further teaches delivering the cell in vivo using a pharmaceutical composition comprising saline (methods, pg.2, section: “teratoma assays to study miPSC survival in vivo).
In regards to claim 50, 51, and 54 Deuse teaches that the hypoimmunogenic cells were edited to overexpress CD47 (an immunoglobulin superfamily domain SIRPα-engager protein) to interact with several cell surface receptors to inhibit phagocytosis (pg.252, col 2, lines 11-13) and further as an effective method to silence all innate immune response (pg.256, col 1, lines 3-4).
In regards to claim 53, Deuse teaches that the hypoimmunogenic iPSCs were edited to have B2M-/- phenotype the structural component of MHC class I, and the phenotype CIITA-/- which is the master regulator of MHC class II molecules.
Deuse fails to teach the modified cell being a NK cell of claim 55. Zhu and Kaufman, however, teach that NK cells have shown benefit as an adoptive immunotherapy to treat a variety of both hematological malignancies and solid tumors (pg.5, Section 3). Further Zhu and Kaufman teach universal hypoimmunogenic iPSCs need HLA class I expression eliminated and teaches this is done by knocking out B2M to avoid T -cell mediated rejection and further employing CD47 to avoid NK cell mediated rejection (pg.8, Section 10). Zhu and Kaufman also suggest that NK cells derived from the universal hypoimmunogenic iPSCs would presumably be resistant to rejection by the recipient’s immune system and have longer in vivo persistence (pg.8, Section 10).
Thus, Qin discloses a modified cell wherein the CD64 is truncated of its cytoplasmic domain decreasing its intracellular signaling, Koenderman suggest blocking Fc receptor signaling and ITAM may be a viable means to reduce ADCC or CDC to ensure the maintenance of therapeutic concentration, and Deuse teaches the addition of a SIRPα engager protein wherein that engager protein is CD47 to develop hypoimmunogenic iPSCs and further wherein the cells are B2M-/- and CIITA-/- and can be differentiated into endothelial cells or cardiomyocytes for universal adoptive cell therapy with reduced risk of rejection. Zhu and Kaufman further suggest the use of hypoimmunogenic iPSCs derived universal adoptive NK cells with immune rejection resistance for the treatment of hematological malignancies or solid tumor cancers. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Qin and Deuse and motivated by Zhu and Kaufman and Koenderman with a reasonable expectation of success to develop a modified cell derived from an iPSC which has a truncated CD64, increased CD47 expression and is B2M-/- and CIITA-/- to develop a hypoimmunogenic which has increased resistance to immune rejection for a universal cell therapy.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman as applied to claim 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Fu and Kenney (WO2020/227510; of record 02/24/2026).
Qin, in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman teach a modified cell comprised of a truncated CD64 missing its cytoplasmic domain but fails to teach SEQ ID No 16 of claim 5. Fu and Kenney, however, teach the sequences of SEQ ID No 16 (SEQ ID No 133 of Fu and Kenney) and further teaches using this truncated CD64 allows the modified cell to bind to IgG but lacks the ability to interact with the γ chain necessary to trigger cellular activation (pg.32, lines 5-11).
Thus, Qin in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman disclose a modified cell comprising a truncated CD64 and, Fu and Kenny teach the specific sequence of truncated CD64 of the instant claims to bind IgG without triggering cellular activation. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Qin in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman with the teaching of Fu and Kenny with a reasonable expectation of success to develop a modified cell comprising a truncated CD64 of the sequence of SEQ ID No 16 to allow the cell to bind to IgG without triggering cellular activation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maryamchik et al. (2020) New directions in chimeric antigen receptor T cell [CAR-T] therapy and related flow cytometry Cytometry (98) 299-327 (hereafter Maryamchik).
Qin, in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman fail to teach the modified cells comprising a suicide gene of claim 11, however, Maryamchik teaches the use of suicide genes as an OFF switch in synthetic immunology as a means for better control on in vivo control of therapeutics as a safety mechanism (pg.302 col 2, lines 2-5).
Thus, Qin in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman disclose a modified cell wherein the CD64 is truncated of its cytoplasmic domain and decreases its intracellular signaling and is less susceptible to ADCC, and Maryamchik teaches the use of suicide genes as off switches as a means for enhanced safety and control of cellular therapeutics. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Qin in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman and Maryamchik with a reasonable expectation of success to develop a modified cell with decreased susceptibility to ADCC and reduced or eliminated intracellular signaling and a suicide gene for in vivo control of the modified cell for enhanced safety.
Claims 46, 47, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kruskal et al. (1992) Phagocytic Chimeric Receptors Require Both Transmembrane and Cytoplasmic Domains from the Mannose Receptor J. Exp. Med (176) 1673-1680 (hereafter Kruskal) and Jing et al. (1990) Role of the Human Transferrin Receptor Cytoplasmic Domain in Endocytosis: Localization of a Specific Signal Sequence for Internalization The Journal of Cell Biology (110) 283-294 (hereafter Jing).
Qin, in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman fail to teach the modified Fc Receptor of the modified cell being a chimera comprising a cytoplasmic domain that does not mediate an Fc receptor signaling pathway and promotes endocytosis. Further Qin fails to teach the Fc receptor chimera cytoplasmic domain being from a transferrin receptor and further TfR1 or TfR2.
Kruskal, however, teaches that replacing the transmembrane and/or cytoplasmic tail regions of a FcγRI receptor with the autologous parts of the macrophage mannose receptor (pg.1674, col 1, lines 38-42) you can improve the endocytosis of the receptor (Table 1).
Kruskal fails to teach replacing the cytoplasmic tail of the Fc receptor with one of a transferrin, however, Jing teaches that the transferrin receptors cytoplasmic domain contains structural determinants that allow for the receptor to have high efficiency endocytosis (abstract).
Thus, Qin in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman discloses a modified cell wherein the CD64 is truncated of its cytoplasmic domain and decreases its intracellular signaling and is less susceptible to ADCC, Kruskal teaches the use of chimeric Fc receptors in which their cytoplasmic domain is replaced to increase endocytosis, and Jing teaches that transferrin receptor cytoplasmic domains contain determinants which allow for high efficiency endocytosis. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Qin in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman, Kruskal, and Jing with a reasonable expectation of success to create a modified cells containing a modified Fc Receptor wherein the cytoplasmic domain is replaced to increase endocytosis by the simple substitution of the macrophage mannose receptor domains with transferrin domains for high efficiency endocytosis.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6, 11, 22, 27, 28, 29, 30, 32, 38, and 39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-6, 9, 20, 24-27, 29, 31, 35, 36, 43, 46-50 of copending Application No. 17/768,217 (claim set 01/19/2026) (reference application) in view of Qin as evidenced by Brandsma.
Claim 1 of the reference application recites a modified cell wherein said modified cell have an elevated level of CD64 is less susceptible to ADCC or CDC and wherein the cell does not comprise sufficient intracellular motifs which encompasses claims 1 and 2 of the instant application.
Claim 4, 5, and 6 of the reference application recites the modified cell is derived from a HIP cell, a human hypo-immunogenic pluripotent ABO blood group O rhesus Factor negative (HIPO-) cell, or an iPSC respectively. These claims encompass claims 3 and 6 of the instant application.
Claim 9 of the reference application recites the modified cell comprising a suicide gene activated by a trigger to signal cell death this encompasses claim 11 of the instant application.
Claim 20 of the reference application recites the modified cell is a CAR-T cell this encompasses an embodiment of instant claim 22.
Claims 24 -26 recite a method of using the modified cell to treat a disease wherein the modified cell is selected from the group consisting of CAR-T cell, an endothelial cell, a dopaminergic neuron, a pancreatic islet cell, a cardiomyocyte, a retinal pigment endothelium cell and a thyroid cell, and the disease is selected from the group consisting of Type I Diabetes, a cardiac disease, a neurological disease, a cancer, an ocular disease, a vascular disease, and a thyroid disease. These claims encompass the instant claims 27-29
Claim 27 of the reference application recites a method of generating the modified cells comprising increasing the expression of CD64 in said parental non-modified cell, this significantly encompasses the instant claim 30.
Claim 29 of the reference application recites the modified cell generated from the method of claim 27 is derived from a HIP or HIPO- cell and Claim 31 of the reference application recites the modified cell is derived from an iPSC or ESC. These claims significantly encompass the instant claim 32.
Claims 35 and 36 of the instant application recite the modified cell in a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and further wherein the modified cell is a CAR-T cell. These claims encompass claims 38 and 39 of the instant application.
The reference application fails to teach the truncated CD64 of instant claims 2 and 30, however Qin in view of Koenderman, Deuse and Zhu and Kaufman teach a cell comprised of a CD64 truncated to remove its cytoplasmic domain shows reduced intracellular activity and is less susceptible ADCC as outlined above in the rejection of claim 1.
Thus, the reference application significantly encompasses the invention of the instant application, and Qin teaches the use of a truncated CD64 to disrupt intracellular signaling and reduce susceptibility to ADCC. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in possession of the invention of the reference application would have found it obvious to incorporate the teachings of Qin with a reasonable expectation of success to develop the invention of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/30/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5, 6, 11, 22, 27-30, 32, 38, 39, 46, 47, 49-51, and 53-55 stating “Qin does not literally or inherently disclose making the cells less susceptible to ADCC or CDC” has been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made with Qin in view of Koenderman, Deuse, and Zhu and Kaufman.
In response to applicants argument that “Fu has nothing to do with instant invention” (Remarks 07/30/2026, pg.9, line 24), it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both arts pertain to a sequence which can be used to modify cells for therapeutic purposes, while not exactly aligning with the current invention the reference is within the same field and it pertinent to the particular problem.
In response to applicants argument that “Jing is completely unrelated to Qin and Kruskal” (Remarks 07/30/2026, pg.11, line 14), the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
/D.A.A/Examiner, Art Unit 1647 /JOANNE HAMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1647