This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 1/1/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 23, 24 & 26-35 are pending and presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. PCT/CN2021/080059, filed on 3/10/2021.
Response to Amendment
Claims 3, 4, 10 & 29 have been cancelled. Claims 12-22 & 25 were previously cancelled.
Claims 1, 8, 23 & 24 have been amended.
Claims 33-35 have been added.
Rejections to claims 1, 8, 23 & 33 under 35 USC 112(b) have been introduced.
Rejections to claim 33 under 35 USC 103 and to claims 34 & 35 under 35 USC 102 have been introduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 1/1/2026, with respect to granting priority of 3/10/2021 to the current application have been fully considered and are persuasive. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 1/1/2026, with respect to objections to claims 1 & 8 related to missing parenthesis have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections of claims 1 & 8 related to missing parenthesis have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 1/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that amendments to claims 1, 8 and 23 correct for the definition of PDCCH. Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that the correct definition of PDCCH is a Physical Downlink Control Channel, and not a Physical Uplink Control Channel. Therefore, examiner maintains objection of these claims.
Applicant submits that claims 1-2, 5-9, 11, 23-24, 26-28 and 30-35 are patentable based on amendments to claims 1, 8 & 23 because Oh fails to disclose all of the limitations in these claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that a claimed invention may be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 when the invention is anticipated (or is “not novel”) over a disclosure that is available as prior art that teaches every element required by the claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation (see §MPEP 2131).
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Oh fails to anticipate, teach or suggest all of the features of amended claim 1 because Oh does not disclose that slot n and slot N+1 are grouped to a certain set and used for a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, nor does Oh disclose a parameter Y representing the number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that Fig 5 & [0066] of the current application specification defines the number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span to be the slots including the slot with the DCI scheduling and a number of future time slots for scheduling PDSCHs as indicated by k0, e.g. in the case of fig 5, Y=4 and thus k0 can take on a maximum value of 3 (note: examiner is interpreting the number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span to be Y where k0 can be between -1 and Y-1. See discussion in 112(b) rejection to claims 1, 8 & 23), indicating that a PDSCH could be scheduled 3 slots after the slot containing the DCI. [0170] of Oh discloses that, for scheduling of UL data on PUSCH, k0 represents an offset indicating that the PUSCH transmission occurs k0 slots after the slot in which the DCI scheduling the PUSCH is received. To someone having ordinary skill in the art, for the scheduling of PDSCH, k0 represents an offset indicating that the PDSCH transmission occurs k0 slots after the slot in which the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is received (consistent with that disclosed in the current application specification in [0050]). [0187] of Oh discloses that k0 is a predefined value configured via upper layer signaling as a non-negative integer (e.g. k0 takes on integer values between 0 and X). [0185] of Oh discloses that k0 can take on a negative integer including at least k0 = -1. Thus, Oh discloses that k0 can be an integer between -1 and X and k0 indicates that, if a DCI in a PDCCH sent during slot n schedules a PDSCH and indicates a k0 of X, then the PDSCH is sent on slot n+X. Thus, the receiving device must monitor Y = n+X – n +1 = X + 1 slots. Thus, Y = X +1 implies that X = Y-1 and thus k0 can be any integer between -1 and Y-1, where Y is the number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span. Thus, Oh discloses “wherein the k0 set contains all values between 1-Y and -1, and wherein Y is a number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, and the PDCCH time slot is a time slot used to carry the DCI”. Note examiner further demonstrates that when slots prior to the slot containing a DCI in a PDCCH are considered to be part of the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, then k0 can take on values between Y-2 and -1 (see discussion in 112(b) rejection to claims 1, 8 & 23).
Applicant argues that Oh does not disclose the use of a negative value of K0 even when the trigger condition that the puncture occurs in the PDCCH or PDSCH symbol transmission is not met. Examiner notes that claim 1 does not recite limitations requiring that use of a negative value of K0 be when the trigger condition that the puncture occurs in the PDCCH or PDSCH symbol transmission is not met. Thus, the argument is moot.
Applicant argues that Oh does not disclose a k0 set that contains different values, let alone that the values are determined based on a number of multiple PDCCH time slots used to carry the DCI comprised in a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, as discussed above, [0187] of Oh discloses that k0 is a predefined value configured via upper layer signaling as a non-negative integer (e.g. k0 takes on integer values between 0 and X). [0185] of Oh discloses that k0 can take on a negative integer including at least k0 = -1. Thus, Oh discloses a k0 set that contains values between -1 and X. The discussion above further demonstrates that Oh discloses that X=Y-1 where Y is the number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span. Thus, Oh discloses a k0 set containing values between -1 and Y-1 where Y is the number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span.
Applicant argues that in fig 9 of Oh, slot n does not include any PDCCH, and thus OH discloses a case of a single PDCCH time slot and not multi-PDCCH time slots. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that fig 9 of Oh shows a the first symbol of slot n including PDCCH1 and slot n+1 including a PDCCH, thus representing multi-PDCCH time slots.
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains that Oh discloses “wherein the k0 set contains all values between 1-Y and -1, and wherein Y is a number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, and the PDCCH time slot is a time slot used to carry the DCI”, and thus examiner maintains rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102.
Regarding claims 8 & 23, applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on similar amendments and arguments as made for claim 1 above. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejection of claims 8 & 23 under 35 USC 102.
Regarding claims 2, 5-7, 9, 11, 24, 26-28 and 30-35, applicant submits that these claims are patentable based on amendments and arguments made for claims 1, 8 & 23 above, and due to their dependency on claims 1, 8 or 23. Examiner respectfully disagrees, and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejection of claims 2, 5-7, 9, 11, 24, 26-28 and 30-32, and introduces rejections to new claims 33-35, under 35 USC 102.
Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are (note: all figure and paragraph references below refer to the current application specification):
Figs 5, 6 & 8 show a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span that only consists of the 1st through 4th timeslots and does not include the time slot with PDSCH0. [0066] discloses that buffering relevant data for the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span starting from the 0th time slot. This is inconsistent as the 0th time slot is not shown in figs 5, 6 & 8 to be part of the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span.
Fig 5 & [0064]-[0066] discloses that Y represents the number of PDCCH time slots included in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span and a k0 set includes all or part of values between 1-Y and -1. Fig 5 shows there to be 4 slots in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span. This would mean that a k0 set would include all or part of values -3 to -1. This is unclear because, as defined in [0005], k0 represents an interval between a timeslot where the DCI in the multi-PDCCH monitoring span is located and a time slot where PDSCH scheduled by the DCI is located. Fig 5 shows that the 0th to 4th timeslots are where PDSCHs can be scheduled, but the 1-Y to -1 requirement for the k0 set would indicate that PDSCHs can be schedule in the 0th, -1st and -2nd timeslots, and the -1st and -2nd timeslots are not even shown in figure 5. It appears that the correct requirement for the values that the k0 set can take on are actually between Y-1 and -1. Note that this requirement of the values that the k0 set can take on being 1-Y to -1 appears in many other locations in the current application specification.
Examiner notes that if a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span is corrected to include slots prior to the PDCCH including the DCI scheduling PDSCHs (i.e. for k0 values less than 0), then this will affect the requirement for the range of values that k0 can take on. For instance, if fig 5 were modified to include the 0th timeslot in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, then there would be 5 slots in the multi-PDCCH monitoring span and the set of values that the k0 set could take on would be between 3 and -1, which means that k0 could be between Y-2 and -1, where Y is the number of slots in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span.
Further, Remarks filed 1/1/2026 (see page 10) implies that each slot of the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span must include a PDCCH, however figs 5, 6 & 8 show no PDCCH in the 3rd and 4th time slots of the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span. It is unclear whether a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span must include only slots that include a PDCCCH.
Drawings
Based on the discussion above regarding figs 5, 6 & 8, correction to these drawings may be required to show a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span including the 0th slot.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8 & 23 objected to because of the following informalities: These claims recite “a multi-slot Physical Uplink Channel (PDCCH) monitoring span”. The specification of the current application only mentions of a multi-slot Physical Downlink Control Channel, which is the correct definition for the acronym PDCCH. Examiner is interpreting this as a typographical error and for the purpose of this review will be interpreting these claims as “a multi-slot Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8, 23 & 33 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8 & 23 recite the limitation “wherein the k0 set contains all values between 1-Y and -1, and wherein Y is a number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, and the PDCCH time slot is a time slot used to carry the DCI”. Fig 5 & [0064]-[0066] in the current application specification discloses that Y represents the number of PDCCH time slots included in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span and a k0 set includes all or part of values between 1-Y and -1. Fig 5 in the current application specification shows there to be 4 slots in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span. This would mean that a k0 set would include all or part of values -3 to -1. This is unclear because, as defined in [0005] in the current application specification, k0 represents an interval between a timeslot where the DCI in the multi-PDCCH monitoring span is located and a time slot where PDSCH scheduled by the DCI is located. Fig 5 in the current application specification shows that the 0th to 4th timeslots are where PDSCHs can be scheduled, but the 1-Y to -1 requirement for the k0 set would indicate that PDSCHs can be schedule in the 0th, -1st and -2nd timeslots, and the -1st and -2nd timeslots are not even shown in figure 5 in the current application specification. It appears that the correct requirement for the values that the k0 set can take on are actually between Y-1 and -1. Examiner notes that if a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span is corrected to include slots prior to the PDCCH including the DCI scheduling PDSCHs (i.e. for k0 values less than 0), then this will affect the requirement for the range of values that k0 can take on. For instance, if fig 5 of the current application specification were modified to include the 0th timeslot in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, then there would be 5 slots in the multi-PDCCH monitoring span and the set of values that the k0 set could take on would be between 3 and -1, which means that k0 could be between Y-2 and -1, where Y is the number of slots in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this limitation as “wherein the k0 set contains all values between Y-2 and -1, and wherein Y is a number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, and the PDCCH time slot is a time slot used to carry the DCI”.
Claim 33 recites “further comprising: buffering data for the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span from the stating PDCCH time slot in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Figs 5, 6 & 8 of the current application specification show a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span that only consists of the 1st through 4th timeslots and does not include the time slot with PDSCH0. [0066] of the current application specification discloses that buffering relevant data for the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span starting from the 0th time slot. This is inconsistent as the 0th time slot is not shown in figs 5, 6 & 8 of the current application specification to be part of the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span. It is unclear whether a “starting PDCCH time slot” is the 0th or 1st time slot in fig 5, 6 & 8 of the current application specification. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting a “starting PDCCH time slot” to be the “a first timeslot of the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span”, where a monitoring span includes slots that may contain PDSCHs that are scheduled before the slot containing the DCI (i.e. for the K0 less than 0 scenario).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, 23, 24, 26-28, 30-32, 34 & 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US 20220095371)(herein after “Oh”).
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses a method for configuring downlink scheduling information, performed by a network side device ([0024] discloses a method of communication by a base station in a wireless communication system including channel access procedures.), comprising:
setting a k0 set of Downlink Control Information (DCI) in a multi-slot Physical Uplink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring span to contain at least one negative integer in the k0 set, wherein the k0 set comprises at least one k0 (Fig 9 & [0183] disclose a PDCCH monitoring span of at least a slot n and slot n+1 where a DCI in slot n+1 may indicate that the DCI is scheduling a PDSCH1 in slot n. [0184]-[0185] discloses that the indication may be performed by a BS by configuring or predefining negative values for k0, including at least k0 = -1, to be included in the k0 values for time domain resource allocation information of a DCI (i.e. to be included in a k0 set).), and the k0 is an interval between a time slot where the DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span is located and a time slot where PDSCH scheduled by the DCI is located ([0168]-[0170] discloses that k0 represents a slot offset for transmission of the PUSCH relative to the slot in which a DCI was received on a PDCCH (i.e. PDSCH transmitted in slot i+k0 when PDCCH with DCI is received in slot i).), and wherein the at least one k0 comprises the at least one negative integer ([0189] discloses that k0 may take on at least the value k0,1=-1.),
wherein the k0 set contains all values between 1-Y and -1, and wherein Y is a number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, and the PDCCH time slot is a time slot used to carry the DCI ([0170] of Oh discloses that, for scheduling of UL data on PUSCH, k0 represents an offset indicating that the PUSCH transmission occurs k0 slots after the slot in which the DCI scheduling the PUSCH is received. To someone having ordinary skill in the art, for the scheduling of PDSCH, k0 represents an offset indicating that the PDSCH transmission occurs k0 slots after the slot in which the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is received (consistent with that disclosed in the current application specification in [0050]). [0187] of Oh discloses that k0 is a predefined value configured via upper layer signaling as a non-negative integer (e.g. k0 takes on integer values between 0 and X). [0185] of Oh discloses that k0 can take on a negative integer including at least k0 = -1. Thus, Oh discloses that a k0 set can take on integer values between -1 and X and k0 indicates that, if a DCI in a PDCCH sent during slot n schedules a PDSCH and indicates a k0 of X, then the PDSCH is sent on slot n+X. Thus, the receiving device must monitor Y = n+X – (n-1) +1 = X + 2 slots. Thus, Y = X + 2 implies that X = Y-2 and thus k0 can be a set of any integers between -1 and Y-2, where Y is the number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span.).
Regarding claim 2, Oh discloses wherein setting the k0 set of the DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span comprises: sending a high-level signaling comprising the k0 set of the DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span ([0185] discloses the predefining of the k0 values of a DCI for time domain resource allocation may be configured through an upper layer signaling.).
Regarding claim 5, Oh discloses further comprising: selecting one k0 from the k0 set as a k0 corresponding to one of the DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, wherein the k0 selected is a negative integer ([0183]-[0189] disclose a UE receiving a DCI in slot n+1 and determining scheduling information about PDSCHs that may be scheduled in slot n, slot n+1 or a later slot. As an example, consider the scenario where a UE determines scheduling of PDSCHs across slots n, n+1 and n+2, based on a DCI sent on slot n+1. [0189] discloses a UE receiving (i.e. a base station selecting to transmit), from one DCI on slot n+1 within the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, a k0 value of k0,1=-1 from a k0 set.).
Regarding claim 6, Oh discloses wherein an absolute value of the k0 selected is less than or equal to an interval between a starting PDCCH time slot in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span and a PDCCH time slot where the DCI is located ([0183]-[0189] disclose that a UE receiving a DCI in slot n+1 and determining scheduling information about PDSCHs that may be scheduled in slot n, slot n+1 or a later slot. As an example, consider the scenario where a UE determines scheduling of PDSCHs across slots n, n+1 and n+2, based on a DCI sent on slot n+1. [0189] discloses a UE receiving (i.e. a base station selecting to transmit), from one DCI on slot n+1 within the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, a k0 value of k0,1=-1. The absolute value of the selected k0 in this case is 1, which is less than or equal to the interval between a starting PDCCH in slot n, within a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span of n to n+2, and PDCCH slot n+1 where the DCI is located, the interval in this case also being 1.).
Regarding claim 7, Oh discloses further comprising: sending the DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, wherein the DCI comprises the k0 corresponding to the DCI ([0189] discloses a UE receiving (i.e. a base station sending) a DCI in slot n+1, within a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span of at least slots n and n+1, wherein the DCI comprises a k0 value of k0,1=-1 corresponding to the DCI.).
Regarding claim 8, Oh discloses a method for determining downlink scheduling information, performed by user equipment ([0183] discloses a method for a UE determining PDSCH scheduling information.), comprising:
determining a k0 set of Control Information (DCI} in a multi-slot Physical Uplink Shared Channel PDCCH} monitoring span ([0185] discloses a UE determining, based on upper signaling, k0 values for time domain resource allocation of a DCI. [0189] discloses that the DCI may be in slot n=1 of a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span from slot n to slot n+1.), wherein the k0 set comprises at least one k0 ([0189] discloses the k0 set comprises at least a k0 value of k0,1=-1.), and the k0 is an interval between a time slot where the DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span is located and a time slot where PDSCH scheduled by the DCI is located ([0168]-[0170] discloses that k0 represents a slot offset for transmission of the PUSCH relative to the slot in which a DCI was received on a PDCCH (i.e. PDSCH transmitted in slot i+k0 when PDCCH with DCI is received in slot i).), and wherein the at least one k0 comprises at least one negative integer ([0189] discloses that k0 may take on at least the value k0,1=-1.),
wherein the k0 set contains all values between 1-Y and -1, and wherein Y is a number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, and the PDCCH time slot is a time slot used to carry the DCI ([0170] of Oh discloses that, for scheduling of UL data on PUSCH, k0 represents an offset indicating that the PUSCH transmission occurs k0 slots after the slot in which the DCI scheduling the PUSCH is received. To someone having ordinary skill in the art, for the scheduling of PDSCH, k0 represents an offset indicating that the PDSCH transmission occurs k0 slots after the slot in which the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is received (consistent with that disclosed in the current application specification in [0050]). [0187] of Oh discloses that k0 is a predefined value configured via upper layer signaling as a non-negative integer (e.g. k0 takes on integer values between 0 and X). [0185] of Oh discloses that k0 can take on a negative integer including at least k0 = -1. Thus, Oh discloses that a k0 set can take on integer values between -1 and X and k0 indicates that, if a DCI in a PDCCH sent during slot n schedules a PDSCH and indicates a k0 of X, then the PDSCH is sent on slot n+X. Thus, the receiving device must monitor Y = n+X – (n-1) +1 = X + 2 slots. Thus, Y = X +2 implies that X = Y-2 and thus k0 can be a set of any integers between -1 and Y-2, where Y is the number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span.).
Regarding claim 9, Oh discloses wherein determining the k0 set of the DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span comprises: receiving a high-level signaling comprising the k0 set of the DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span ([0185] discloses the that a UE may determine predefined k0 values of a DCI for time domain resource allocation through an upper layer signaling.).
Regarding claim 11, Oh discloses wherein an absolute value of the k0 is less than or equal to an interval between a starting PDCCH time slot in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span and a PDCCH time slot where the DCI is located ([0183]-[0189] disclose a UE receiving a DCI in slot n+1 and determining scheduling information about PDSCHs that may be scheduled in slot n, slot n+1 or a later slot. As an example, consider the scenario where a UE determines scheduling of PDSCHs across slots n, n+1 and n+2, based on a DCI sent on slot n+1. [0189] discloses a UE receiving (i.e. a base station selecting to transmit), from one DCI on slot n+1 within the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, a k0 value of k0,1=-1. The absolute value of the selected k0 in this case is 1, which is less than or equal to the interval between a starting PDCCH in slot n, within a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span of n to n+2, and PDCCH slot n+1 where the DCI is located, the interval in this case also being 1.).
Regarding claim 23, Oh discloses a network side device, comprising: a processor ([0034] discloses a BS may include a processor.); and
a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor ([0045] discloses that computer program instructions stored in computer-executable or computer-readable memory may be executed by the processor in the BS.);
wherein the processor is configured to set a k0 set of Control Information (DCI) in a multi-slot Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PDCCH) monitoring span to contain at least one negative integer in the k0 set, wherein the k0 set comprises at least one k0 (Fig 9 & [0183] disclose a PDCCH monitoring span of at least a slot n and slot n+1 where a DCI in slot n+1 may indicate that the DCI is scheduling a PDSCH1 in slot n. [0184]-[0185] discloses that the indication may be performed by a BS by configuring or predefining negative values for k0, including at least k0=-1, to be included in the k0 values for time domain resource allocation information of a DCI (i.e. to be included in a k0 set).), and the k0 is an interval between a time slot where the DCI in the multi- slot PDCCH monitoring span is located and a time slot where PDSCH scheduled by the DCI is located ([0168]-[0170] discloses that k0 represents a slot offset for transmission of the PUSCH relative to the slot in which a DCI was received on a PDCCH (i.e. PDSCH transmitted in slot i+k0 when PDCCH with DCI is received in slot i).), and wherein the at least one k0 comprises the at least one negative integer ([0189] discloses that k0 may take on at least the value k0,1=-1.),
wherein the k0 set contains all values between 1-Y and -1, and wherein Y is a number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, and the PDCCH time slot is a time slot used to carry the DCI ([0170] of Oh discloses that, for scheduling of UL data on PUSCH, k0 represents an offset indicating that the PUSCH transmission occurs k0 slots after the slot in which the DCI scheduling the PUSCH is received. To someone having ordinary skill in the art, for the scheduling of PDSCH, k0 represents an offset indicating that the PDSCH transmission occurs k0 slots after the slot in which the DCI scheduling the PDSCH is received (consistent with that disclosed in the current application specification in [0050]). [0187] of Oh discloses that k0 is a predefined value configured via upper layer signaling as a non-negative integer (e.g. k0 takes on integer values between 0 and X). [0185] of Oh discloses that k0 can take on a negative integer including at least k0 = -1. Thus, Oh discloses that a k0 set can take on integer values between -1 and X and k0 indicates that, if a DCI in a PDCCH sent during slot n schedules a PDSCH and indicates a k0 of X, then the PDSCH is sent on slot n+X. Thus, the receiving device must monitor Y = n+X – (n-1) +1 = X + 2 slots. Thus, Y = X +2 implies that X = Y-2 and thus k0 can be a set of any integers between -1 and Y-2, where Y is the number of multiple PDCCH time slots comprised in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span.).
Regarding claim 24, Oh discloses a user equipment, comprising: a processor ([0038] discloses a UE may include a processor.); and
a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor ([0045] discloses that computer program instructions stored in computer-executable or computer-readable memory may be executed by the processor in the UE.);
wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions in the memory to implement steps of the method for determining downlink scheduling information according to any of claim 8 (Fig 13 & [0045] discloses that computer program instructions stored in computer-executable or computer-readable memory may be executed by the processor to implement the blocks of fig 13 which define the method for a UE determining downlink scheduling information according to claim 8.).
Regarding 26, Oh discloses further comprising: determining a k0 corresponding to each DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span ([0183]-[0189] disclose a UE receiving a DCI in slot n+1 and determining scheduling information about PDSCHs that may be scheduled in slot n, slot n+1 or a later slot. As an example, consider the scenario where a UE determines scheduling of PDSCHs across slots n, n+1 and n+2, based on a DCI sent on slot n+1. [0189] discloses a UE determining a k0 corresponding to each DCI in a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span from slot n to slot n+2 by receiving, from the DCI on slot n+1 within the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, a k0 value of k0,1=-1. Since there is only one DCI in this example, the UE determined a k0 corresponding to each DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span from slot n to slot n+2).
Regarding claim 27, Oh discloses further comprising: determining a time-frequency resource for PDSCH scheduled by each DCI based on the k0 corresponding to each DCI ([0051] discloses that a base station may transmit a DCI in a slot n indicating a UE to receive a PDSCH in slot n. [0122] discloses that a k value may be included in the DCI to determine the slot for which the PDSCH is transmitted (e.g. slot n-k), for each DCI. [0118] discloses that the PDSCH is transmitted in a frequency domain and that position of the PDSCH may be determined by the DCI. Fig 5 & [0097] illustrates the time-frequency radio resource domain for transmitting a PDSCH.).
Regarding claim 28, Oh discloses wherein the processor is further configured to send a high-level signaling comprising the k0 set of the DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span ([0185] discloses the predefining of the k0 values of a DCI for time domain resource allocation may be configured through an upper layer signaling.).
Regarding claim 30, Oh discloses wherein the processor is further configured to select one k0 from the k0 set as a k0 corresponding to one of the DCI in the multi- slot PDCCH monitoring span, wherein the k0 selected is a negative integer ([0183]-[0189] disclose a UE receiving a DCI in slot n+1 and determining scheduling information about PDSCHs that may be scheduled in slot n, slot n+1 or a later slot. As an example, consider the scenario where a UE determines scheduling of PDSCHs across slots n, n+1 and n+2, based on a DCI sent on slot n+1. [0189] discloses a UE receiving (i.e. a base station selecting to transmit), from one DCI on slot n+1 within the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, a k0 value of k0,1=-1 from a k0 set.).
Regarding claim 31, Oh discloses wherein an absolute value of thek0 selected is less than or equal to an interval between a starting PDCCH time slot in the multi- slot PDCCH monitoring span and a PDCCH time slot where the DCI is located ([0183]-[0189] disclose that a UE receiving a DCI in slot n+1 and determining scheduling information about PDSCHs that may be scheduled in slot n, slot n+1 or a later slot. As an example, consider the scenario where a UE determines scheduling of PDSCHs across slots n, n+1 and n+2, based on a DCI sent on slot n+1. [0189] discloses a UE receiving (i.e. a base station selecting to transmit), from one DCI on slot n+1 within the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, a k0 value of k0,1=-1. The absolute value of the selected k0 in this case is 1, which is less than or equal to the interval between a starting PDCCH in slot n, within a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span of n to n+2, and PDCCH slot n+1 where the DCI is located, the interval in this case also being 1.).
Regarding claim 32, Oh discloses wherein the processor is further configured to send the DCI in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, wherein the DCI comprises the k0 corresponding to the DCI ([0189] discloses a UE receiving (i.e. a base station sending) a DCI in slot n+1, within a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span of at least slots n and n+1, wherein the DCI comprises a k0 value of k0,1=-1 corresponding to the DCI.).
Regarding claim 34, Oh discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions stored thereon, which when executed by a processor, cause the method for configuring downlink scheduling information according to claim 1 to be implemented ([0045] discloses computer-readable memory storing computer program instructions that may be loaded onto a computer (i.e. s non-transitory computer-readable storage medium), which can be executed via a processor to implement the flowchart illustrations describing the inventions discloses (i.e. including the method for configuring downlink scheduling information according to claim 1). Fig 2 and [0073] & [0079] disclose that the memory may be part of storage 230 in a base station (i.e. network element).).
Regarding claim 35, Oh discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having executable instructions stored thereon, which when executed by a processor, cause the method for determining downlink scheduling information according to claim 8 to be implemented ([0045] discloses computer-readable memory storing computer program instructions that may be loaded onto a computer (i.e. s non-transitory computer-readable storage medium), which can be executed via a processor to implement the flowchart illustrations describing the inventions discloses (i.e. including the method for configuring downlink scheduling information according to claim 8). Fig 3 and [0083] & [0087] disclose that the memory may be part of storage 320 in a UE.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US 20220095371)(herein after “Oh”) in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0089489)(herein after “Li”).
Regarding claim 33, Oh discloses the method for determining downlink scheduling information according to claim 11.
Oh fails to disclose further comprising: buffering data for the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span from the starting PDCCH time slot in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span.
However, Li teaches further comprising: buffering data for the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span from the starting PDCCH time slot in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span (Fig 3 & [0109] discloses PDSCH data may be scheduled in an earlier symbol of a TTI when control region 305 of third TTI 330 includes a negative K0 value, and that in this scenario the UE can buffer OFDM symbols from the earlier TTI (i.e. 2nd TTI 325). In this scenario, The UE buffers data 310 in 2nd TTI 325, that represents a starting PDCCH time slot of a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span including 2nd TTI 325 and 3rd TTI 330.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the claimed invention to have the method for determining downlink scheduling information according to claim 11, as disclosed by Oh, further comprising: buffering data for the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span from the starting PDCCH time slot in the multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span, as taught by Li. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for determining downlink scheduling information by a UE, wherein the UE receives a PDCCH with a DCI and a configuration of a negative k0, indicating a multi-slot PDCCH monitoring span including the slot containing the DCI in a PDCCH and k0 earlier slots, and wherein the UE buffer data starting with the slot k0 slots earlier that the slot containing the DCI in a PDCCH, so that for applications like Ultra-Reliable Low-Latency Communications (URLLC) a base station can start sending PDSCH data in a slot as soon as available and send a DCI to the UE in a later slot indicting that the PDSCH data was sent in an earlier slot, in order to reduce latency.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419