DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on September 18, 2025 and October 9, 2025 were filed after the mailing date of the Non-final Rejection on September 10, 2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This Final Rejection is in response to the Amendment dated January 12, 2026 filed in response to the Non-final Rejection dated September 10, 2025.
The claim objections in the Non-final Rejection are withdrawn in view of the claim amendments addressing the objections.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection in the Non-final Rejection is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments distinguishing the claims from the rejection. However, new grounds of rejection necessitated by the claim amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument on page 7 and 8 of the Amendment has been fully considered but is moot in view the new grounds of rejection presented below which was necessitated by the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 has been amended such that it is now unclear as to what “multiple groups” are being claimed in line 2. Examiner will interpret claim 5 as claiming “multiple groups of turntables” for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0344327 A1 by Mercer et al., hereinafter “Mercer”.
Regarding claim 1, Mercer discloses equipment for high-speed stable neck forming of cans (10 in Figs. 1-3; ¶[0109]), the equipment comprising (i) a loading station (The left-most star wheel with infeed conveyor in Figs. 1-3 is a loading station; ¶[0110]. See “Loading Station” annotation to Fig. 3 of Mercer reproduced below.), (ii) a stable transition station (The second and third left-most star wheels in Fig. 3 are a stable transition station. See “Stable Transition Station” annotation below.) and (iii) a neck forming station (The left most processing station 20 in Fig. 3 is a neck forming station; ¶[0110]. See “Neck Forming Station” annotation below.); wherein:
the loading station comprises a loading transfer turntable including several vacuum adsorption grooves uniformly distributed on a circumferential surface of the loading transfer turntable, the vacuum adsorption grooves having a circular arc shape and being configured to adsorb and position a can body of a can (The Loading Station as annotated below comprises a loading transfer turntable with vacuum adsorption grooves as claimed. See “Loading Transfer Turntable” annotation below);
the stable transition station is between the loading station and the neck forming station, and the loading station, the stable transition station and the neck forming station are sequentially connected (Fig. 3 as annotated below shows Mercer discloses the Stable Transition Station is located between the Loading Station and the Neck Forming Station and they are connected in the claimed sequence);
the stable transition station comprises a first stable turntable and a second stable turntable (see “First Stable Turntable” and “Second Stable Turntable” annotations below), each of which has a rotation shaft parallel to a rotation of the loading transfer turntable (Fig. 3 shows the rotation shafts of the Loading Transfer Turntable and First and Second Stable Turntables are parallel), the stable transition station being configured to transfer the can body to the neck forming station without performing a neck forming operation on the can body (the Second Stable Turntable of the Stable Transition Station transfers can body to the Neck Forming Station without performing a neck forming operation);
the first stable turntable has several vacuum adsorption grooves uniformly distributed on a circumferential surface of the first stable turntable, and the second stable turntable has several vacuum adsorption grooves uniformly distributed on a circumferential surface of the second stable turntable (Fig. 3 shows the First Stable Turntable and the Second Stable Turntable have vacuum adsorption grooves uniformly distributed about their circumferences);
the first stable turntable and the loading transfer turntable are configured to rotate such that one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the loading transfer turntable aligns with one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the first stable turntable to form a first calibration junction, and the can body enters the vacuum adsorption groove of the first stable turntable through the first calibration junction from the vacuum adsorption groove of the loading transfer turntable (A vacuum adsorption groove of the Loading Transfer Turntable aligns with one of the First Stable Turntable to form a junction which transfers a can from the Loading Transfer Turntable to the First Stable Turntable. See “First Calibration Junction” annotation below.);
the first stable turntable and the second turntable are configured to rotate such that the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the first stable turntable aligns with one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the second stable turntable to form a second calibration junction, and the can body enters the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the second stable turntable through the second calibration junction from the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the first stable turntable (A vacuum adsorption groove of the First Stable Turntable aligns with one of the Second Stable Turntable to form a junction which transfers a can from the First Stable Turntable to the Second Stable Turntable. See “Second Calibration Junction” annotation below.); and
the neck forming station differs from the stable transition station by including a spindle assembly that performs the neck forming operation of the can body (Neck Forming Station 20 in Fig. 3 includes a spindle assembly as illustrated by the perspective view of Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 3, Mercer anticipates the equipment for high-speed neck forming according to claim 1 as explained above. Mercer further discloses wherein:
the neck forming station further comprises a transfer assembly (see “Transfer Assembly” annotation to Fig. 3 of Mercer reproduced below);
the spindle assembly comprises a forming spindle turntable (see “Forming Spindle Turntable” annotation to Fig. 1 of Mercer reproduced below);
the transfer assembly comprises a forming transfer turntable (see “Forming Transfer Turntable” annotation to Fig. 3 below);
a rotation shaft of the forming spindle turntable and a rotation shaft of the forming transfer turntable are parallel to the rotation shaft of second stable turntable (Figs. 1 and 2 show the rotation shaft of the Forming Spindle Turntable and the rotation shaft of the Forming Transfer Turntable are parallel to the rotation shaft of the Second Stable Turntable);
several positioning slots are evenly distributed on a circumferential surface of the forming spindle turntable, and the positioning slots are in a circular arc shape and are configured to position the can body (the Forming Spindle Turntable as annotated below is shown with several positioning slots as claimed);
several vacuum adsorption grooves are arranged on a circumferential surface of the forming transfer turntable (see “Adsorption Grooves” annotation to Fig. 3 below);
the second stable turntable and the forming spindle turntable are configured to rotate such that the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the second stable turntable aligns with one of the positioning slots on the forming spindle turntable to form a first transfer position (see “First Transfer Position” annotation to Fig. 1 below), and the can body enters the one of the positioning slots of the forming spindle turntable through the first transfer position from the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of second stable turntable (can bodies are transferred from the vacuum adsorption grooves of the Second Stable Turntable to the positioning slots of the Forming Spindle Turntable as can be appreciated by the annotation to Fig. 1 below); and
the forming spindle turntable and the forming transfer turntable are configured to rotate such that the one of the positioning slots on the forming spindle turntable and one of the vacuum adsorption grooves on the forming transfer turntable form a second transfer position (see “Second Transfer Position” annotation to Fig. 3 below), and the can body enters the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the forming transfer turntable through the second transfer position from the one of the positioning slots of the forming spindle turntable (can bodies are transferred to the vacuum adsorption grooves of the Forming Transfer Turntable from the positioning slots of the Forming Spindle Turntable at the Second Transfer Position as annotated below).
Regarding claim 4, Mercer anticipates the equipment for high-speed neck forming according to claim 3 as explained above. Mercer further discloses:
the spindle assembly further comprises multiple sets of mold components and multiple sets of push plate components (Fig. 27 show the spindle assembly has multiple sets of mold components and multiple sets of push plate components. See “Mold Components” and “Push Plate Components” annotations to Fig. 27 of Mercer reproduced below.); and
the mold components and the push plate components are arranged one by one in correspondence, and the mold components and push plate components are arranged on both sides of the can body along a height direction of the can body (the Mold Components and the Push Plate Components are arranged on either side of the can body).
Regarding claim 6, Mercer anticipates the equipment for high-speed neck forming according to claim 3 as explained above. Mercer further discloses a structure of the second stable turntable is the same as a structure of the forming transfer turntable. Figs. 1 and 3 as annotated above show numerous structures of the Second Stable Turntable are the same as those of the Forming Transfer Turntable.
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2013/0062161 A1 by Coates, hereinafter “Coates”, as evidenced by Mercer.
Regarding claim 1, Coates discloses equipment for high-speed stable neck forming of cans (Fig. 5 shows an infeed system with a container processing machine; ¶[0044]), the equipment comprising (i) a loading station (turrets T5, T4 and T3 in Fig. 5 are a loading station; ¶[0045]), (ii) a stable transition station (turrets T2 and T1 in Fig. 5 are a stable transition station) and (iii) a neck forming station (the “Process Turret” in Fig. 5 is a neck forming station performing a necking process as disclosed in ¶[0002]); wherein:
the loading station comprises a loading transfer turntable including several vacuum adsorption grooves uniformly distributed on a circumferential surface of the loading transfer turntable (turret T3 in Fig. 5 is a loading transfer turntable including vacuum adsorption grooves as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, 4a and 4b; ¶[0039] and [0006]), the vacuum adsorption grooves having a circular arc shape and being configured to adsorb and position a can body of a can (turret 20 in Fig. 1 has circular arc shape pockets 21 configured to adsorb and position a can body of a can);
the stable transition station (turrets T2 and T1 in Fig. 5) is between the loading station (turrets T5, T4 and T3) and the neck forming station (Process Turret in Fig. 5), and the loading station, the stable transition station and the neck forming station are sequentially connected (turrets T5, T4, T3, T2 and T1 in Fig. 5 connected in sequence);
the stable transition station comprises a first stable turntable (turret T2 in Fig. 5 is a first stable turntable) and a second stable turntable (turret T1 in Fig. 5 is a second stable turntable), each of which has a rotation shaft parallel to a rotation of the loading transfer turntable (turrets T5-T1 are shown rotating about shafts which are parallel to each other), the stable transition station being configured to transfer the can body to the neck forming station without performing a neck forming operation on the can body (turrets T2 and T1 are configured to transfer can bodies to the Process Turret neck forming station without performing a neck forming operation on the can bodies);
the first stable turntable has several vacuum adsorption grooves uniformly distributed on a circumferential surface of the first stable turntable (first stable turntable turret T2 in Fig. 5 is disclosed as having the structure of transfer turret 30 shown in Fig. 4a with pockets 31 around the circumference; ¶[0043]), and the second stable turntable has several vacuum adsorption grooves uniformly distributed on a circumferential surface of the second stable turntable (second stable turntable turret T1 in Fig. 5 is disclosed as having the structure of transfer turret 30 shown in Fig. 4a with pockets 31 around the circumference; ¶[0043]);
the first stable turntable and the loading transfer turntable are configured to rotate such that one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the loading transfer turntable aligns with one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the first stable turntable to form a first calibration junction (first stable turntable turret T2 in Fig. 5 is configured to align its vacuum pockets with those of loading transfer turntable turret T3 to form a first calibration junction therebetween such as is illustrated in Fig. 4a and 4b), and the can body enters the vacuum adsorption groove of the first stable turntable through the first calibration junction from the vacuum adsorption groove of the loading transfer turntable (can bodies are transferred from turret T3 to turret T2 in Fig. 5 by way of aligned vacuum pockets creating a junction therebetween);
the first stable turntable and the second turntable are configured to rotate such that the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the first stable turntable aligns with one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the second stable turntable to form a second calibration junction (first stable turntable turret T2 in Fig. 5 is configured to align its vacuum pockets with those of second stable turntable turret T1 to form a second calibration junction therebetween such as is illustrated in Fig. 4a and 4b), and the can body enters the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the second stable turntable through the second calibration junction from the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the first stable turntable (can bodies are transferred from turret T2 to turret T1 in Fig. 5 by way of aligned vacuum pockets creating a junction therebetween); and
the neck forming station differs from the stable transition station by including a spindle assembly that performs the neck forming operation of the can body (a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the Process Turret shown in Fig. 5 is a neck forming station which includes a spindle assembly as evidenced by Mercer which shows a neck forming station in Fig. 27 that includes a spindle assembly).
Regarding claim 2, Coates anticipates the equipment for high-speed neck forming according to claim 1 as explained above. Coates further discloses
the loading station further comprises a loading turntable (turret T4 in Fig. 5 is a loading turntable), whose rotation shaft is parallel to the rotation shaft of the loading transfer turntable (Fig. 5 shows turrets T4 and T3 rotating on shafts parallel to one another);
several vacuum adsorption grooves are uniformly distributed on a circumferential surface of the loading turntable (turret T4 in Fig. 5 has vacuum adsorption grooves on its circumferential surface as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, 4a and 4b; ¶[0039] and [0006]; and
the loading turntable and the loading transfer turntable are configured to rotate such that one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the loading turntable aligns with the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the loading transfer turntable to form a circular junction (loading turntable turret T4 in Fig. 5 is configured to align its vacuum pockets with those of loading transfer turntable turret T3 to form a circular junction therebetween such as is illustrated in Fig. 4a and 4b), and the can body enters the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the loading transfer turntable through the circular junction from the one of the vacuum adsorption grooves of the loading turntable (can bodies are transferred from turret T4 to turret T3 in Fig. 5 by way of aligned vacuum pockets creating a circular junction therebetween).
Regarding claim 5, Coates anticipates the equipment for high-speed neck forming according to claim 1 as explained above. Coates further discloses the stable transition station is equipped with multiple groups of turntables connected to each other (turntable turrets T4 and T3 may reasonably be interpreted as a first “group of turntables” and turntable turrets T2 and T1 may be interpreted as a second “group of turntables”), and each group of stable transition station forms two calibration junctions (the first “group of turntables” would have calibration junctions between turrets T4 and T5 and between turrets T3 and T2 while the second “group of turntables” would have calibration junctions between T2 and T3 and between T1 and the processing turret turntable).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725