DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 were subject to restriction requirement mailed on 02/12/2026.
Applicant filed a response, and elected Group I, claims 1-3, and withdrew claim 4, without traverse on 03/12/2026.
Claims 1-4 are pending, and claim 4 is withdrawn.
Claims 1-3 are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3 in the reply filed on 03/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 4 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/12/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, lines 1-2, it is suggested to amend
“MoXa (in the formula, X is a Group 14 element, a Group 15 element, or a Group 16 element, and a is 0.5, 1, or 2)” to
“MoXa, in the general formula, X is a Group 14 element, a Group 15 element, or a Group 16 element, and a is 0.5, 1, or 2”,
to ensure proper antecedent basis and be clear that the limitation within the parenthesis is not optional.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bozheyev et al., Properties of copper and molybdenum sulfide powders produced by self-propagating high-temperature synthesis, Advanced Materials Research, 2013 (Bozheyev), in view of Wright et al., Controlling the surface hydroxyl concentration by thermal treatment of layered double hydroxides, Inorganic Chem., 2017 (Wright).
Regarding claims 1-3, Bozheyev teaches molybdenum sulfide (i.e., MoS2) nanopowders was prepared by self-propagating high-temperature synthesis in argon; the average particle size of molybdenum disulfide was about 80 nm (Bozheyev, Abstract).
Bozheyev further teaches molybdenum disulfide is used for the production of non-aqueous lithium batteries, catalytic hydrodesulfurization material and anti-wear products (Bozheyev, page 1, 3rd paragraph of Introduction).
Bozheyev does not require adding functional groups to surface of the molybdenum disulfide.
Further regarding claim 1, Bozheyev does not explicitly disclose having number of functional groups per unit area on the surface of the molybdenum disulfide of 100 per nm2 or less.
With respect to the difference, Wright teaches controlling surface hydroxyl concentration by thermal treatment (Wright, Title, Abstract). Wright specifically teaches the hydroxyl number refers to the concentration of surface hydroxyls, given as the number of OH groups per square nanometer (OH nm-2); as the treatment temperature is increased, the degree of surface hydroxylation falls following an exponential decay pattern (Wright, page 6, left column, 2nd paragraph); material treated at 300˚C has a hydroxyl number of 3.7 OH nm-2 (Wright, page 6, Table 2).
As Wright expressly teaches, these materials (i.e., treated at elevated temperature and with reduced number of OH groups per square nanometer) can be used for air and moisture sensitive organometallic complexes (Wright, page 7848, Conclustion).
Wright is analogous art as Wright is drawn to controlling surface hydroxyl concentration by thermal treatment.
In light of the motivation of controlling surface hydroxyl concentration by thermal treatment, as taught by Wright, it therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use thermal treatment to reduce the surface hydroxyl concentration on the molybdenum disulfide of Bozheyev, and produce a molybdenum disulfide with a hydroxyl number of 3.7 OH nm-2, in order for the molybdenum disulfide to be used for air and moisture sensitive applications.
Conclusion
/KELING ZHANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1732