DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 2, 2025 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-final Rejection on August 28, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This Final Rejection is in response to the Amendment dated December 29, 2025 filed in response to the Non-final Rejection dated August 27, 2025.
Cancelation of claim 1 is acknowledged.
The claim objections in the Non-final Rejection are withdrawn in view of the claim amendments addressing the objections.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection in the Non-final Rejection is maintained as explained below.
Response to Arguments
In the fourth paragraph of page 5 of the Amendment, Applicant first argues the combination of references fails to disclose or suggest that the rotation shaft of the loading transfer turntable is parallel to the rotation shaft of the feeding turntable. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 4 of Coates (U.S. Patent App. Pub. No. US 2015/0336750 A1) discloses the rotation shaft of loading transfer turntable combiner turret 30 in Fig. 4 is parallel to the rotation shaft of feeding transfer turntable second infeed turrets 28 and 29 by illustrating the axis of rotation of turret 30’s rotation shaft is parallel with the axis of rotation of turrets 28 and 29’s rotation shafts. See “Axis of Rotation” annotation to Fig. 4 of Coates below. Therefore, Examiner does not find the argument persuasive.
In the same fourth paragraph, Applicant then argues the combination of references fail to disclose the loading transfer turntable is a star wheel with adsorption grooves distributed on its circumferential surface. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0011] discloses “It is conventional for current decorator turrets at infeed to hold cans in turret pockets by means of vacuum”. Examiner finds a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand this statement to disclose all of the infeed “turrets” shown in Fig. 4 of Coates are pocket-vacuum turrets, which is another way of describing the claimed “star wheels”, such that infeed turret 30 is also a “star wheel”. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand Coates’ description of “vacuum pockets” as another way of describing the claimed “vacuum adsorption grooves”. And Fig. 4 of Coates illustrates the cans are being held around the circumference of turret 30. Therefore, Examiner does not find the argument persuasive.
In the same fourth paragraph, Applicant next argues the combination of references fail to disclose “when the feeding transfer turntable and the loading transfer turntable rotate to feed, two corresponding vacuum adsorption grooves on both parties are joint to form a circular junction”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand Fig. 4 of Coates illustrates the semicircular vacuum pockets on the outer circumference of turrets 28 and 29 are positioned to register with the semicircular vacuum pockets on the outer circumference of turret 30 to form a circular joint therebetween which makes the illustrated transfer of cans between the turrets. Therefore, Examiner does not find the argument persuasive.
In the same fourth paragraph, Applicant argues the combination of references fails to disclose “the can body enters the vacuum adsorption groove of loading transfer turntable through the junction from the vacuum adsorption groove of the feeding transfer turntable”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand Fig. 4 of Coates illustrates the cans are transferred from turrets 28 and 29 to turret 30 where the outer circumference of turrets 28 and 29 are positioned adjacent the outer circumference of turret 30 to bring into registration the vacuum pocket “adsorption grooves” of the turrets which transfers cans from the vacuum pocket “adsorption grooves” of turrets 28 and 29 to the vacuum pocket “adsorption grooves” of turret 30.
At the top of page 6, Applicant argues Coates does not disclose or suggest the recited circular junction. Examiner respectfully disagrees the interpretation is overly broad. Fig. 4 of Coates illustrates circular cans being held in vacuum pockets on the outer circumference of turrets 28 and 29 which are being transferred to the vacuum pockets on the outer circumference of turret 30 such that a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand a “circular junction” is being made between vacuum pockets of turrets 28 and 29 and the vacuum pockets of turret 30 when a can is transferred between them. Therefore Examiner does not find the argument persuasive.
Applicant’s argument starting in the bottom half of page 6 relating to Mercer overcoming the deficiencies of Coates is moot in view of Examiner’s disagreement Coates is deficient.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2015/0336750 A1 by Coates et al., hereinafter “Coates”, in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0344327 A1 by Mercer et al., hereinafter “Mercer”.
Regarding claim 2, Coates discloses a kind of equipment for high-speed neck forming of cans through multi-channel feeding (Fig. 4 discloses multi-channel feeding equipment which may be used with high-speed necking forming equipment; ¶[0038]. ¶[0009] references an infeed system for a can body die necker as a comparable system.), comprising a can entry station (conveyors 24 and 26, separator turrets 25 and 27, second infeed turrets 28 and 29, and combiner turret 30 in Fig. 4; ¶[0036] and [0037]);
the can entry station comprises at least two sets of can entry channels (can entry channel conveyors 24 and 26 in Fig. 4) and a loading transfer turntable (loading transfer turntable combiner turret 30 in Fig. 4);
each set of can entry channel comprises a feeding turntable (feeding turntable separator turrets 25 and 27 in Fig. 4) and a feeding transfer turntable (feeding transfer turntable second infeed turrets 28 and 29 in Fig. 4); the feeding turntable corresponds to a loading channel setting (separator turret 25 corresponds to conveyor 24 and separator turret 27 corresponds to conveyor 26 in Fig. 4), and the number of loading channels is the same as the number of can entry channels; the loading channel is used to transport cans to the feeding turntable (there are two loading and entry channels which transport cans to combiner turret 30 in Fig. 4);
the feeding turntable is a star wheel (separator turrets 25 and 27 are pocketed rotating wheels as disclosed in ¶[0006] and [0011] and are referenced as being comparable to a “star-wheel” as mentioned in ¶[0013]), on circumferential surface of which several vacuum adsorption grooves are distributed, and the vacuum adsorption groove is in an arc shape, which is used for adsorption and positioning can body (¶[0011] discloses the turrets hold cans in pockets on its outside diameter by means of vacuum suction);
the feeding transfer turntable is located at the rear of feeding turntable (second infeed turrets 28 and 29 are located downstream from separator turrets 25 and 27 in Fig. 4), and the rotation shaft of feeding transfer turntable is parallel to the rotation shaft of feeding turntable (Fig. 4 shows rotation of the turret shafts are parallel); the feeding transfer turntable is a star wheel, on circumferential surface of which several vacuum adsorption grooves are distributed (second infeed turrets 28 and 29 in Fig. 4 are disclosed as having the same structure as explained above in reference to separator turrets 25 and 27); when the feeding turntable and the feeding transfer turntable rotate to feed, two corresponding vacuum adsorption grooves on both parties are joint to form a circular junction; the can body enters the vacuum adsorption groove of feeding transfer turntable through the junction from the vacuum adsorption groove of feeding turntable (Fig. 4 shows turrets 25 and 27 rotating to feed turrets 28 and 29 where cans are transferred in a joint made up of a pocket from each respective turret);
the loading transfer turntable is located at the rear of each feeding transfer turntable, and the feeding transfer turntable of each can entry channel feeds alternately to the loading transfer turntable (combiner turret 30 in Fig. 4 is downstream from turrets 28 and 29 and turrets 28 and 29 alternately feed turret 30); and
the rotation shaft of loading transfer turntable is parallel to the rotation shaft of the feeding turntable (Fig. 4 shows the rotation shaft of turret 30 is parallel with the rotation shaft of turrets 28 and 29);
the loading transfer turntable is a star wheel, on circumferential surface of which several vacuum adsorption grooves are distributed (turret 30 in Fig. 4 are disclosed as having the same structure as separator turrets 25 and 27 as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above);
when the feeding transfer turntable and the loading transfer turntable rotate to feed, two corresponding vacuum adsorption grooves on both parties are joint to form a circular junction (vacuum pockets of turrets 28 and 29 register with vacuum pockets of turret 30 to create a jointed pocket therebetween);
the can body enters the vacuum adsorption groove of loading transfer turntable through the junction from the vacuum adsorption groove of feeding transfer turntable (Fig. 4 shows pockets of turret 30 jointing with pockets of turrets 28 and 29 to transfer cans from turrets 28 and 29 to turret 30).
The multi-channel feeding equipment disclosed by Coates is described as being used with can body decoration equipment. Therefore, Coates does not expressly disclose a multi-channel feeding equipment feeding multiple sets of neck forming stations.
Mercer teaches an infeed assembly (100 in Fig. 3; ¶[0110]) for a necker machine (10 in Figs. 1-3; ¶[0109] and [0110]) having a plurality of neck forming stations (20 and 20’ in Fig. 1). Fig. 5 shows infeed assembly 100 with a single can entry channel and a single feeding starwheel 220 feeding transfer starwheel 222. See paragraph [0120].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Mercer’s plurality of neck forming stations for Coates’ can body decorator to provide a necker machine with multi-channel feeding. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized replacing Coates’ can body decorator with Mercer’s necker machine would achieve the predictable result of Coates’ infeed system feeding a plurality of neck forming stations.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art reference combination of Coates in view of Mercer renders the equipment for high-speed neck forming according to claim 2 unpatentable as explained above. Mercer further teaches each neck forming station (20 and 20’ in Fig. 1) comprises a spindle assembly (see “Spindle Assembly” annotation to Fig. 3 of Mercer reproduced below) and a transfer assembly (see “Transfer Assembly” annotation below); the spindle assembly comprises a forming spindle turntable (turntable turret 22 in Figs. 1-3; ¶[0112]), and the transfer assembly comprises a forming transfer turntable (each Transfer assembly has a transfer turn table as shown in Fig. 11; ¶[0170]);
the rotation shafts of forming spindle turntable and forming transfer turntable are parallel to the rotation shaft of loading transfer turntable (the respective rotation shafts are parallel as shown in Fig. 3);
the forming spindle turntable and the forming transfer turntable are both star wheels (the Spindle Assembly turn table is a star wheel as shown in Fig. 27 and the Transfer assembly turn table is a star wheel as shown in Fig. 11); several positioning slots are evenly distributed on circumferential surface of forming spindle turntable, and the positioning slots are in a circular arc shape, used for positioning can body of can; several vacuum adsorption grooves are arranged on circular surface of forming transfer turntable (both turn tables have vacuum pockets arranged on their outer circular surfaces; ¶[0170] and [0209] through [0213]);
when the loading transfer turntable and the forming spindle turntable rotate to receive material, the vacuum adsorption groove on the former and the positioning slot on the latter are joint to form a transfer position, and the can body enters the positioning slot of forming spindle turntable through the transfer position from the vacuum adsorption groove of loading transfer turntable (vacuum pockets 34 of the Transfer Assembly star wheel register with the vacuum pockets of the Spindle Assembly star wheel pockets to create a jointed pocket therebetween);
when the forming spindle turntable and the forming transfer turntable rotate to receive material, the positioning slot on the former and the vacuum adsorption groove on the latter are joint to form a transfer position, and the can body enters the vacuum adsorption groove of forming transfer turntable through the transfer position from the positioning slot of forming spindle turntable (when a vacuum pocket of the turn table of the Transfer Assembly enters into registration with a vacuum pocket of the turn table of the Spindle Assembly a can is transferred from the Transfer Assembly to the Spindle Assembly).
Regarding claim 4, the prior art reference combination of Coates in view of Mercer renders the equipment for high-speed neck forming according to claim 3 unpatentable as explained above. Mercer further teaches the spindle assembly of neck forming station further comprises multiple sets of mold components and multiple sets of push plate components (Fig. 27 shows each neck forming station 20 has an inboard turret assembly 100 with multiple molding die assemblies 1060 and an outboard turret assembly 1200 with multiple push plate ram block components 1250; ¶[0209] through [0221]);
the mold components and the pusher plate components are arranged one by one in correspondence, and the two are arranged on both sides of can body along a height direction of can body (die assemblies 1060 and ram blocks 1250 are arranged on either side of starwheel mounting 902 in Fig. 27 in the height direction of the can body).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725