DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Applicant’s response and amendments to the claims filed April 20, 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 5, 11, 27, 41, and 46 were amended. Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92 are pending.
Restriction/Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of the following species in the response filed April 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Species 1: an oligonucleotide sequence of 5'-CTCCAACATCAAGGAAGATGGCATTTCTAG-3' (SEQ ID NO: 106);
Species 2: a cationic domain of between 4 and 12 residues;
Species 3: at least 50% cationic amino acids and at least 40% arginine and/or histidine residues;
Species 4: a cationic domain sequence of RBRRBR (SEQ ID NO: 4) or BRBR (SEQ ID NO: 7);
Species 5: a hydrophobic domain sequence of FQILY (SEQ ID NO: 21);
Species 6: a peptide having two cationic domains and one hydrophobic domain;
Species 7: the term "comprises";
Species 8: a hydrophobic core domain comprising the sequence of FQILY (SEQ ID NO: 21);
Species 9: a peptide sequence comprising the sequence of RBRRBRFQILYBRBR (SEQ ID NO: 35);
Species 10: the peptide is bonded to the rest of the conjugate through its C-terminus and the peptide is acylated at its N-terminus;
Species 11: a conjugate comprising the structure of [peptide]-[linker]-[oligonucleotide], wherein the oligonucleotide is bonded to the linker at its 3' terminus;
Species 12 and 14: a linker formula corresponding to the structure
;
Species 13: a linker is a glutamic acid;
Species 15: a conjugate comprising the sequence of 5'-CTCCAACATCAAGGAAGATGGCATTTCTAG-3' (SEQ ID NO: 106), having a 3'-terminus covalently linked via a glutamic acid residue to C-terminus of peptide Ac-RBRRBRFQIL YBRBR, wherein free -COOH, if any, in the glutamic acid residue is replaced with -CONH2;
Species 16: a morpholino, wherein all morpholino internucleoside linkages are -P(O)(NMe2)O-, and the oligonucleotide comprises the following group at its 5' terminus:
;
Species 17: an administration frequency that is weekly to quarterly and a dose of 10 mg/kg.
During the course of examination, additional species of administration frequency and dosage were uncovered. There is no search burden to examine the species of administration frequency and dosage. The election requirement set forth for a single administration frequency and a single dose (“Species 17”) is withdrawn, accordingly. All pending claims (i.e., claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92) encompass the elected species and are under consideration hereinafter, accordingly.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application Nos. 63/160,705 and/or 63/194,039 fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Specifically, Application No. 63/160,705 does not disclose the range “1 mg/kg to 60 mg/kg” recited in instant claim 1. The first disclosure of the recited range is in Application No. 63/194,039. Neither of Application Nos. 63/160,705 and 63/194,039 disclose SEQ ID NOs: 107-111, and 113-116 recited in instant claim 2. The first disclosure of SEQ ID NOs: 107-111, and 113-116 is in Application No. PCT/US2022/020061.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92, therefore, have an effective filing date of May 27, 2021, and claim 2 has an effective filing date of March 11, 2022.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Specifically, the sequences “Ac-RBRRBRFQILYBRBR” and “RBRRBRFQILYBRBR-NH2” recited throughout the specification (e.g., pg. 7, line 18, and pg. 8, line 14), and in claim 52 are not identified by a sequence identifier. In addition, the sequences on pg. 43, lines 8-9, and 26-27, pg. 51, lines 16-17, Table 7, and Table 10, and are not identified by a sequence identifier.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (“www.isoelectric.org”). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
The use of terms which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application, e.g., “Maxwell,” “ClarioStar,” and “HyperLadder” (pg. 46). The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms. Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 does not end in a period. MPEP 608.01(m) states, “Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 10-11, 23, 30, 52, 81, 89, and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10-11 recite the term “preferably.” The term "preferably” renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 23 recites “wherein the peptide is bonded to the rest of the conjugate through its N-terminus, the C-terminus of the peptide is -NH2, the peptide is bonded to the rest of the conjugate through its C-terminus, the peptide is acylated at its N-terminus.” The claim recites a list without any language, e.g., “and,” “or,” or “and/or,” to establish whether the conjugate requires one, two, three, or all four, or a particular combination of the structures recited in the claim. The scope of conjugate structures encompassed by the claim is unclear, accordingly.
Claims 30 and 92 recite the term “e.g.” The term "e.g." renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 52 recites “and optionally wherein the linker is of the following structure:
.”
Based on the specification, the structure above corresponds to a glutamic acid residue linker, wherein free -COOH is replaced with -CONH2 (pg. 7, lines 18-20). Options (c), (e), and (f) set forth conjugate structures wherein the oligonucleotide is linked “via a gamma-aminobutyric acid residue” or “via a beta-alanine residue.” It is not clear how or if the “optional” phrase applies to options (c), (e), and (f), because the structure would appear to replace the linker structures recited therein, with a distinct linker structure. It is not clear whether the “optional” phrase is intended to replace the linker structures in options (c), (e), and (f), or if, in these cases, the conjugates may have two distinct linkers, or whether the “optional” phrase even applies to options (c), (e), and (f). The scope of conjugate structures encompassed by the claim is unclear, accordingly.
Claim 81 recites the phrase “such as.” The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 89 recites the phrase “for example.” The phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Interpretation
In accordance with Applicant’s elections, the claims are interpreted hereinafter as a method of treating a subject having Duchenne muscular dystrophy (hereinafter, “DMD”), the method comprising administering 1mg/kg to 60 mg/kg of a conjugate comprising the structure “[peptide]-[linker]-[oligonucleotide],”
wherein the oligonucleotide is a morpholino oligonucleotide comprising the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 106, wherein all morpholino internucleoside linkages are -P(O)(NMe2)O-, wherein the oligonucleotide comprises structure A at its 5’ terminus,
[structure A]
wherein the 3’ terminus of the oligonucleotide is covalently linked to structure B, wherein based on the specification, structure B corresponds to a glutamic acid residue linker, wherein free -COOH is replaced with -CONH2 (pg. 7, lines 18-20).
[structure B]
and wherein structure B is linked to the C-terminus of peptide Ac-RBRRBRFQILYBRBR.
Rendering obvious the elected species of the invention will render obvious each of claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, and 77, which are generic to the elected species.
Notice to Joint Inventors
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Wood (013) in view of Wakayama
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wood (Wood et al., US 2024/0299563 A1, effectively filed 12 February 2021) in view of Wakayama (Wakayama et al., US 9,988,629 B2, published 5 June 2018).
The applied reference, Wood (013), has a common inventor with the instant application (i.e., Caroline Godfrey and Ashling Holland). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
The citations that follow for Wood (013) are based on the priority document which provides the effective filing date of 12 February 2021, i.e., Wood (050357) (Wood et al., WO 2022/171972 A1, International Application No. PCT/GB2021/050357, filed 12 February 2021).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, and 89, Wood teaches a method of treating a subject having DMD the method comprising administering a conjugate shown in Fig. A below (“method of treatment of a patient or subject… Conjugates comprising peptides of the invention are suitable for the treatment of Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy (DMD),” pg. 42, line 10 to pg. 44, line 7). Wood teaches dosages within the instantly claimed ranges of claim 1 and claim 89 (“5mg/kg to 10mg/kg, 10mg/kg and 20mg/kg,” pg. 43, lines 20-24; “Experiments were performed in 10-12 week old female mdx mice… a single tail vein injection of 10mg/kg of P-PMO. One week post injection mice were sacrificed,” pg. 51, lines 11-14; “administered a single 30 mg/kg dose of peptide-PMO in 0.9% saline,” pg. 53, lines 5-6).
FIGURE A. Conjugate from “Example 3” (pg. 67-68).
As shown above, the conjugate of Wood comprises the structure “[peptide]-[linker]-[oligonucleotide],” wherein the oligonucleotide is a morpholino oligonucleotide comprising the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 106, wherein all morpholino internucleoside linkages are -P(O)(NMe2)O-, wherein the oligonucleotide comprises a substantially identical structure to structure A at its 5’ terminus as shown in Fig. B (“In the above conjugates, the oligonucleotides are morpholinos with all morpholino internucleoside linkages being -OP(O)(NMe2)O- and with a group of the following structure at the 5' terminus:…,” pg. 68), wherein the 3’ terminus of the oligonucleotide is covalently linked to structure B (“(E) is a glutamic acid residue, provided that -COOH, if present in the glutamic acid residue, is replaced by -CONH2,” pg. 68), and wherein structure B is linked to the C-terminus of peptide Ac-RBRRBRFQILYBRBR (pg. 67-68).
FIGURE B. Claimed structure A (left) and Wood’s structure (right) (pg. 68).
As shown above, the 5’ terminus structure of Wood’s conjugate comprises an “H,” rather than an “Me” attached to “N.”
Wakayama teaches a substantially identical oligonucleotide to Wood, for the same purpose as Wood, wherein the nucleobase sequence and chemical structure (i.e., PMO) are the same as Wood’s oligonucleotide (col. 1, line 20-24; col. 28, lines 20-33; Table 6; “SEQ ID NO: 4, ctccaacatcaaggaagatggcatttctag,” Sequence Listing, col. 31). Wood teaches that the 5’ end may be any of chemical structures (1) to (3) below, wherein as shown in Fig. C below, “group (2)” comprises an “Me,” attached to the “N” (col. 21, lines 26-55).
FIGURE C. Claimed structure A (left) and Wakayama’s structure (right) (col. 21).
MPEP 2144.09(I) states that “A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).”
In the instant case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the 5’ terminus structure taught by Wood comprising an “H,” to arrive at the instantly claimed 5’ terminus structure comprising an “Me,” in view of Wakayama. The 5’ terminus structures of Wood and Wakayama are substantially identical in structure and have similar utilities, i.e., serving as 5’ terminal structures of substantially identical oligonucleotides used for the same purpose. As evidenced by Wakayama and/or Wood, the “Me”-comprising version was a known 5’ terminus structure, and means of preparing oligonucleotides comprising 5’ terminus structures was well within the purview of the skilled artisan. The skilled artisan would have been motivated to make the instantly claimed compound, which shares the same chemical structure, nucleobase sequence, conjugate groups, etc., as Wood and Wakayama, in an effort to prepare additional therapeutics for DMD, with the expectation that the compounds, by virtue of their substantially identical structure, will have similar properties.
Regarding claim 81, Wood teaches parenteral administration (pg. 43, lines 11-15).
Regarding claim 85, Wood teaches weekly administration (“Experiments were performed in 10-12 week old female mdx mice… a single tail vein injection of 10mg/kg of P-PMO. One week post injection mice were sacrificed,” pg. 51, lines 11-14; “administered a single 30 mg/kg dose of peptide-PMO… Day 7 at necropsy,” pg. 53, lines 5-9).
Regarding claim 92, Wood teaches the method is for use in treating a cardiac effect of DMD (“treatment designed for the relief of symptoms of DMD…,” pg. 20, line 41 to pg. 21, line 1; “emergence of respiratory failure and cardiac complications… affected tissues such as the heart,” pg. 1, lines 16-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 – Wood (108) in view of Wakayama
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wood (Wood et al., US 12,673,108 B2, effectively filed 12 February 2021) in view of Wakayama (Wakayama et al., US 9,988,629 B2, published 5 June 2018).
The applied reference, Wood (315), has a common inventor with the instant application (i.e., Caroline Godfrey and Ashling Holland). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
The applied reference, Wood (108), is the U.S. Patent granted from Application No. 19/054,315, which is a continuation of Application No. 18/277,013, which corresponds to Wood (013) above. The priority document which establishes the effective filing date of both references is Wood (050357) (Wood et al., WO 2022/171972 A1, International Application No. PCT/GB2021/050357, filed 12 February 2021).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92, the teachings of Wood as set forth in the priority document and Wakayama are described above in paragraphs 20-25 and applied hereinafter. The instant claims are obvious for the reasons described therein.
Double Patenting
U.S. Patent No. 12,673,108
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,673,108 in view of Wood (050357) (Wood et al., WO 2022/171972 A1, International Application No. PCT/GB2021/050357, filed 12 February 2021). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons that follow.
Patented claims 1-4 recite conjugates and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the conjugates, wherein the conjugates have the elected structure described in paragraph 17 above.
The patented claims do not recite a method of treating DMD as recited in instant claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92. The teachings of Wood (050357) are described above and applied hereinafter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the patented conjugates and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the conjugates in a method of treating DMD as taught by Wood. It would have amounted to using a patented conjugate or pharmaceutical composition comprising the conjugate for its intended purpose, by known means to yield predictable results. The patented conjugate is substantially identical to the conjugate described by Wood, which is intended to be used in methods of treating DMD taught by Wood which meet the limitations of claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92 as described above. The skilled artisan, therefore, would have had a reasonable expectation of success, and would have been motivated to use the patented conjugates and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the conjugates in a method of treating DMD as taught by Wood.
Application No. 18/277,013
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of co-pending Application No. 18/277,013 in view of Wood (050357) (Wood et al., WO 2022/171972 A1, International Application No. PCT/GB2021/050357, filed 12 February 2021) and Wakayama (Wakayama et al., US 9,988,629 B2, published 5 June 2018). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons that follow. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the co-pending claims have not been patented.
Co-pending claim 11 recites a conjugate comprising an oligonucleotide identical to the instantly elected oligonucleotide sequence, wherein the conjugate is oligonucleotide is covalently bonded or linked via a linker to a peptide, wherein the peptide comprises at least one cationic domain comprising at least 4 amino acid residues and at least one hydrophobic domain comprising at least 3 amino acid residues, provided that the peptide comprises a total of 7-40 amino acid residues and no artificial residues… wherein at least 12 contiguous nucleobases are complementary to a target sequence in a human dystrophin gene.
The co-pending claims encompass, but do not specifically recite, a conjugate comprising each of the instantly claimed species used in the instantly claimed method. The co-pending claims also do not recite a method of treating DMD as recited in instant claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92. The teachings of Wood (050357) and Wakayama are described above and applied hereinafter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered the elected conjugate encompassed by the co-pending claims in a method of treating DMD as taught by Wood and Wakayama. It would have amounted to using a conjugate encompassed by the claims and having an identical structure to the prior art, for its intended purpose, by known means to yield predictable results. The elected conjugate is identical to the conjugate taught by Wood and Wakayama as described above, which is intended to be used in methods of treating DMD which meet the limitations of claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92 as described above. The skilled artisan, therefore, would have had a reasonable expectation of success, and would have been motivated to use the elected conjugate in a method of treating DMD as taught by the prior art.
Application No. 19/131,778
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 79-80 of co-pending Application No. 19/131,778 in view of Wood (050357) (Wood et al., WO 2022/171972 A1, International Application No. PCT/GB2021/050357, filed 12 February 2021) and Wakayama (Wakayama et al., US 9,988,629 B2, published 5 June 2018). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons that follow. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the co-pending claims have not been patented.
Co-pending claims 79-80 are drawn to methods of treating a subject having a genetic disorder, comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a conjugate of co-pending claim 21 or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, or a pharmaceutical composition comprising the conjugate…, wherein the conjugate of co-pending claim 21 encompasses a conjugate comprising a peptide of claim 1 covalently bonded to a therapeutic or diagnostic molecule, wherein the peptide is bonded at its N-terminus or C-terminus to the therapeutic or diagnostic molecule.
The co-pending claims encompass, but do not specifically recite, a conjugate comprising each of the instantly claimed species used in the instantly claimed method. See co-pending claims 15, 29, and 34, claim 45 encompassing SEQ ID NO: 287 of Table 2, and claim 75. The co-pending claims also do not recite a method of treating DMD as recited in instant claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92. The teachings of Wood (050357) and Wakayama are described above and applied hereinafter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the co-pending method of treating a genetic disorder encompassing the elected conjugate, to treat DMD using the elected conjugate as taught by Wood and Wakayama. It would have amounted to adapting a generic method of treatment using a generic conjugate, to a method of treating DMD using a conjugate encompassed by the claims and having an identical structure to the prior art, by known means to yield predictable results. The elected conjugate is identical to the conjugate taught by Wood and Wakayama as described above, which is intended to be used in methods of treating DMD which meet the limitations of claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10-11, 14, 16, 18-19, 23, 27, 30, 40-41, 46, 52, 77, 81, 85, 89, and 92 as described above. The skilled artisan, therefore, would have had a reasonable expectation of success, and would have been motivated to adapt the co-pending method to treat DMD using a conjugate taught by Wood and Wakayama which is encompassed by the co-pending claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/JENNA L PERSONS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Soren Harward/Primary Examiner, TC 1600