DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 05/06/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). As such, non-elected claims 7-14 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. KR 10-2021-0058714 A (as evidenced by its corresponding U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2022/0346379 A1) in view of Baum et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2010/0186631 A1.
Yun et al. discloses a superabsorbent polymer capable of continuously and safely exhibiting an improved bacterial growth inhibitory property and a deodorant property without deterioration in the physical properties of the superabsorbent polymer, such as water retention capacity, absorption under pressure, etc., as well as a preparation method for the superabsorbent polymer, see abstract.
Yun et al.’s independent claim 1 reads as followed: “A superabsorbent polymer comprising: a base polymer powder comprising a crosslinked polymer of water-soluble ethylene-based unsaturated monomers having acidic groups of which at least a part are neutralized, and a polymerizable antimicrobial monomer; and a surface crosslinked layer formed on the base polymer powder, in which the crosslinked polymer is additionally crosslinked by a surface crosslinking agent; wherein the polymerizable antimicrobial monomer comprises one or more of guanidine acrylate and salts thereof.”. Please note that said polymerizable antimicrobial monomer reads directly on Applicant’s limitation of dependent claim 4.
Yun et al. thus discloses Applicant’s claimed invention in all aspects except that there does not seem to be a direct disclosure to the further inclusion of additional deodorant compounds, such as a sulfur-containing amino acid and a metal iodide salt as set forth in applicant’s independent claim 1.
Baum et al. discloses compounds for preventing ghost odours in various compositions, such as composition having biocidal properties, see abstract. Baum et al. directly discloses that potassium iodide (KI) and methionine (a sulfur-containing amino acid) are individually known in the art to be effective odour control agents, see TABLE 2 and independent claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the disclosure of the secondary reference to Baum et al. as strong motivation to actually incorporate both potassium iodide (KI) and methionine (a sulfur-containing amino acid) as additional odour controlling agents into Yun et al.’s superabsorbent polymers which are taught to have both a bacterial growth inhibitory property and a deodorant property to further enhance the deodorant properties of Yun et al.’s superabsorbent polymers which is one of the Yun et al.’s desired outcomes for their invention.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. KR 10-2021-0058714 A (as evidenced by its corresponding U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2022/0346379 A1) in view of Baum et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2010/0186631 A1 and still further in view of JP 2005-312801 A.
Yun et al and Baum et al have been described above. Said combination further differ from applicant’s claimed invention in that there does not seem to be a direct teaching to the further inclusion of zirconium phosphate as an additional odour control agent.
JP 2005-312801 A discloses deodorant compositions wherein zirconium phosphate is disclosed to be a highly effective deodorant and is used in an amount from 0.1-25 parts of the composition, see paragraphs [0075]-[0076], [0098], and [0101]-[0102].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the disclosure of JP 2005-312801 A as strong motivation to actually incorporate zirconium phosphate as an additional deodorant into Yun et al.’s superabsorbent polymers to further improve the deodorant properties which is one of the Yun et al.’s desired outcomes for their invention.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. KR 10-2021-0058714 A (as evidenced by its corresponding U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2022/0346379 A1) in view of Baum et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2010/0186631 A1 and still further in view of either Ishizaki et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2007/0141338 A1 or Schroder et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: 2016/0206772 A1.
Yun et al and Baum et al have been described above. Said combination further differ from applicant’s claimed invention in that there does not seem to be a direct teaching to the further inclusion of tannins as additional odour control agents.
Ishizaki et al. and Schroder et al. individually disclose polymeric absorbing materials (e.g. those made from acrylic acid and its salts, superabsorbent polymers etc.) that can employ tannins or tannic acid as an odor control agent, see paragraph [0121] of Ishizaki et al. and paragraph [0484] of Schroder et al..
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the disclosure of either Ishizaki et al. and Schroder et al. as strong motivation to further include a tannin compound (e.g. tannic acid) into Yun et al.’s superabsorbent polymers to further improve their odour control which is one of the Yun et al.’s desired outcomes for their invention. It is not inventive to merely follow the direct disclosure of a prior-art reference.
Double Patenting
Claim s 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/842,571 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the pending claims are deemed to be a subset of the co-pending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/JOSEPH D ANTHONY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764