DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The Amendment filed February 19th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 8-13 are pending. Claims 1 and 10-11 have been amended and claims 3 and 6-7 have been canceled by the Applicant.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of fixed contacts” of claims 1 and 10, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because:
Claim 1, line 15, “a” before at least one of the plurality of movable contacts should be deleted.
Claims 10-11, phrase, “low runner” is a relative and depends on the circuit breaker’s orientation and the observer’s perspective.
Claim 10, line 20, word, “downward” is relative and therefore renders scope of claim unclear and will depends on orientation and the observer’s perspective.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 10-13 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-7 and 13-14 of copending Application No. 18286308 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to a circuit breaker comprising arc extinguishing devices, with differences between the two sets of claims being only minor variations in recited scope that are not seen to involve an inventive step when the abilities of persons of ordinary skill are taken into full consideration.
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al, CN 112017881 [Liu] in view of Hamada et al, US 20130284702 [Hamada] and further in view of Park, KR 19980054537.
Regarding claim 1, Hamada discloses (figs.1-9) an arc extinguishing unit (11), comprising:
side plates (12a, 12b) spaced apart from each other and disposed to face each other;
a plurality of grids (13) disposed between the side plates (12a, 12b), spaced apart from each other, and coupled to the side plates (12a, 12b), respectively; and
a grid cover (12c) disposed on the plurality of grids (13) to cover the plurality of grids (13),
where each grid (13) of the plurality of grids (13) comprises a grid leg (13b) extending from both ends in a width direction towards a region where an arc is generated so that an induced magnetic field (17a) can be formed by the arc (16a), and
where the grid leg (13b) comprises:
a first grid leg (13b) extending from a first end of a respective grid (13) of the plurality of grids
(13) in the width direction; and
a second grid leg (13b) from a second end of the respective grid (13), opposite the first end, where the first grid leg (13b) and the second grid leg (13b) are equal in width.
Hamada fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of fixed contacts and a plurality of movable contacts spaced apart, and
wherein the grid leg is made to surround a protruding contact extending from at least one of the plurality of movable contacts in a first direction, and
wherein the first grid leg and the second grid leg each have a width greater than a length of an air gap, which is a distance between the first grid leg or the second grid leg and the protruding contact.
Liu discloses (figs.2-11) a circuit breaker where a plurality of fixed contacts (24) [para.0044] and a plurality of movable contacts (43) are spaced apart,
where a grid leg (of plate 51) is made to surround a protruding contact (23) extending from at least one of the plurality of movable contacts (43) in in a first direction relative.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fixed and movable contact assemblies of Hamada with the replacement of the fixed and movable contact assemblies of Liu, thereby providing an improved circuit breaker with resiliently mounted multiply arcing contacts constructed to draw the arcs away from the main current-carrying contacts in order to protect the main current-carrying from burning during contacts separation.
Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first grid leg and the second grid leg each have a width greater than a length of an air gap, which is a distance between the first grid leg or the second grid leg and the protruding contact.
Park shows (fig.1) an arc extinguishing chamber (1) where a first grid leg and a second grid leg have a width greater than a length of an air gap, which is a distance between the first grid leg or the second grid leg.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the grid of Hamada with the teaching of the grid of Park, thereby providing a configuration that improves the extinguishing efficiency by inducing the division of the arc by dually separating the arc on both sides around the movable contactor.
Regarding claim 2, Hamada further discloses where the grid leg (13b) extends adjacent to an end of a respective one of the side plates (12a, 12b).
Regarding claim 4, Park further discloses where a sum of lengths of a first grid leg and a second grid leg in the width direction is equal to or greater than half of a width of a respective grid of the plurality of grids (2).
Regarding claim 5, Hamada further discloses where the first grid leg (13b) and the second grid leg (13b) comprise a first portion adjoining a main body (13a) of the respective grid (13) and a second portion extending from the first portion, and where the first portion of the first grid leg (13b) and the first portion of the second grid leg (13b) are equal in length in the width direction to each other, and the second portion of the first grid leg (13b) and the second portion of the second grid leg (13b) are equal in length in the width direction to each other [see fig.7].
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu and Hamada and further in view of Park.
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses (figs.2-11) an air circuit breaker, comprising:
a plurality of fixed contacts (24) [para.0040];
a plurality of movable contacts (43) moved in a direction toward or away from the plurality of fixed contacts (24);
a low runner (6) disposed extending in a first direction from the plurality of fixed contacts (24),
a protruding contact (42) disposed extending in a first direction from at least one of the plurality of movable contacts (43), energized when in contact with the low runner (6), and spaced apart from the low runner (6) when the plurality of movable contacts (43) is tripped; and
an arc extinguishing unit (5) positioned adjacent to the plurality of fixed contacts (24) and the plurality of movable contacts (43), and configured to extinguish an arc generated when the plurality of fixed contacts (24) and the plurality of movable contacts (43) are spaced apart,
where the arc extinguishing unit (5) comprises:
side plates spaced apart from each other and disposed to face each other
a plurality of grids (51) disposed between the side plates, spaced apart from each other, and coupled to the side plates, respectively; and
a grid cover disposed on the plurality of grids (51) to cover the plurality of grids (51); and the plurality of fixed contacts (24) [para.0044] and the plurality of movable contacts (43) are spaced apart.
Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein each grid of the plurality of grids comprises a grid leg extending downward from both ends in a width direction towards a region where an arc is generated so that an induced magnetic field can be formed by the arc, and
wherein the grid leg comprises:
a first grid leg extending from one end of a respective grid of the plurality of grids in the width direction; and
a second grid leg extending opposite the first grid leg,
wherein the first grid leg and the second grid leg are equal in width.
Hamada discloses (figs.1-9) an arc extinguishing unit (11), comprising:
where each grid of a plurality of grids (13) comprises a grid leg (13b) extending downward from both ends in a width direction towards a region where an arc (16a) is generated so that an induced magnetic field (17a) can be formed by the arc (16a), and
where the grid leg (13b) comprises:
a first grid leg (13b) extending from one end of a respective grid (13) of the plurality of grids (13) in the width direction; and
a second grid leg (13b) extending opposite the first grid leg (13b), where the first grid leg (13b) and the second grid leg (13b) are equal in width.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the grids of Liu with the teaching of the grids of Hamada, thereby providing magnetic flux generated between the pairs of grid leg portions configuring the arc extinguishing device in a direction perpendicular to the arc generated, during contact separation.
Liu and Hamada fail to disclose wherein the first grid leg and the second grid leg have a width greater than a length of an air gap, which is a distance between the first grid leg or the second grid leg and the protruding contact.
Park shows (fig.1) an arc extinguishing chamber (1) where each of a first grid leg and a second grid leg have a width greater than a length of an air gap, which is a distance between the first grid leg or the second grid leg.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the grid of Liu, with the teaching of the grid of Park, thereby providing a configuration that improves the extinguishing efficiency by inducing the division of the arc by dually separating the arc on both sides around the movable contactor.
Regarding claim 11, Liu, Hamada and Park further comprising:
a fixed contact terminal (Liu, 2) having the plurality of fixed contacts (24) disposed at a lower end thereof and extending in the first direction,
where a first end of the low runner (6) is coupled to the fixed contact terminal (2), and a second end of the low runner (6) is spaced apart from the fixed contact terminal (2).
Regarding claim 12, Liu, Hamada and Park further disclose where the grid leg (of 51) extends to surround the protruding contact (Liu, 42) from both sides.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833