DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but please review the new grounds of rejection for the argued limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonzi 20170330240 in view of Kurita 20100088416.
As to claim 1, Fonzi discloses a radio wave generation device [142, 510] comprising:
a memory [522] configured to store instructions (see par. 0062); and
at least one processor [572] configured to execute the instructions to (see par. 0058):
transmit and receive packets by radio waves (see par. 0058);
in a case where at least one media access control (MAC) address included in sensor data acquired from a server [data store or engine] is a MAC address, whether a wireless terminal [146] has newly entered a floor subject to position determination (see par. 0021, 0029, 0031, 0046, 0051, 0063, 0076); and
when it is determined that the wireless terminal has newly entered the floor subject to position determination, perform association of a MAC address of a floor entry terminal with an internet protocol (IP) address, the floor entry terminal being the wireless terminal determined to have newly entered the floor subject to position determination [In response to a MAC address based ARP scan initiated by mobile computing device 146, the AP 203 can generate a list of devices connected to it along with their 15 MAC address, names, format, Internet Protocol (IP)] (see par. 0041-0042),
wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform the association by transmitting a packet requesting a response from the floor entry terminal (see par. 0042).
Fonzi’s description of sensor data acquired from a server is not clear. However, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art that data store or engine is a server (see par. 0031, 0063-0064); nevertheless, in an analogous art, Kurita discloses a server is a MAC address that is not present in an address resolution protocol (ARP) table (see par. 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to register the new MAC address into the server’s ARP table for the simple purpose to communicate with the user terminal normally.
As to claim 4, Fonzi discloses a radio wave generation device comprising: a memory configured to store instructions; and a processor configured to execute the instructions to:
transmit and receive packets by radio waves (see par. 0076);
acquire setting information from a customer information data store 112 [permission for the use of browsing information from commercial websites, and their permission to track the customer's behaviors in a store] (see par. 0021);
generate a position determination terminal table for a wireless terminal subject to position determination based on the setting information [history of a customer's position] (see par. 0021);
acquire sensor data from the server [history of a customer's position] (see par. 0021);
in a case where at least one media access control (MAC) address included in sensor data acquired from a server [data store or engine] is a MAC address (see par. 0041-0042), determine that a wireless terminal has newly entered a floor subject to position determination based on the sensor data (see par. 0046, 0051, 0076); and
when it is determined that the wireless terminal has newly entered the floor subject to position determination, perform association of MAC address of a floor entry terminal with an IP address, the floor entry terminal being the wireless terminal determined to have newly entered the floor subject to position determination, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform the association by transmitting a packet requesting a response from the floor entry terminal[In response to a MAC address based ARP scan initiated by mobile computing device 146, the AP 203 can generate a list of devices connected to it along with their 15 MAC address, names, format, Internet Protocol (IP)] (see par. 0041-0042), and
the processor is configured to execute the instructions to update the position determination terminal table so that the floor entry terminal for which the association has been performed becomes the wireless terminal subject to the position determination.
Fonzi’s description of sensor data acquired from a server is not clear. However, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art that data store or engine is a server (see par. 0031, 0063-0064); nevertheless, in an analogous art, Kurita discloses a server is a MAC address that is not present in an address resolution protocol (ARP) table (see par. 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to register the new MAC address into the server’s ARP table for the simple purpose to communicate with the user terminal normally.
As to claim 5, Fonzi discloses an address association method comprising:
transmitting and receiving packets by radio waves (see par. 0076);
determining whether or not a wireless terminal has newly entered a floor subject to position determination based on sensor data acquired from a server (see par. 0046, 0051, 0076); and
when it is determined that the wireless terminal has newly entered the floor subject to position determination, performing association of a MAC address of a floor entry terminal with an IP address, the floor entry terminal being the wireless terminal determined to have newly entered the floor subject to position determination [In response to a MAC address based ARP scan initiated by mobile computing device 146, the AP 203 can generate a list of devices connected to it along with their 15 MAC address, names, format, Internet Protocol (IP)] (see par. 0041-0042)., wherein a packet requesting a response from the floor entry terminal is transmitted when the association is performed (see par. 0042).
Fonzi’s description of sensor data acquired from a server is not clear. However, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art that data store or engine is a server (see par. 0031, 0063-0064); nevertheless, in an analogous art, Kurita discloses a server is a MAC address that is not present in an address resolution protocol (ARP) table (see par. 0053). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to register the new MAC address into the server’s ARP table for the simple purpose to communicate with the user terminal normally.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fonzi in view of Fonzi in view of Kurita and further in view of Edney 20040187030.
As to claim 2, Fonzi discloses the radio wave generation device according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to cast an ARP request packet requesting a response from the floor entry terminal (see par. 0041-0042). Fonzi fails to disclose unicast. In an analogous art, Edney discloses unicasting (see par. 0011). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine the teachings for the simple purpose of maintaining compatibility with existing standards.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the radio wave generation device according to claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to a transmission destination list in which each of a plurality of IP addresses in a subnetwork in which the radio wave generation device belongs is associated with the MAC address of the floor entry terminal, and unicast an ARP request packet requesting a response from the floor entry terminal in a sequence based on the transmission destination list, have not been found nor have been fairly suggested in the prior art search.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647