DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 8 (first listing of claim 8) been renumbered claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bruckner et al. (US 2015/0061176).
Regarding claim 1, Bruckner et al. discloses in Figs 1-4, an electrode ([0100]-[0106]) for a secondary battery ([0078], [0079]), the electrode ([0100]-[0106] comprising: a dry electrode film ([0100], [0104], [0105]) comprising an active material having an average particle diameter of 0.05 to 3 microns ([0102], “P2, Phostech Lithium Inc, D50 = 0.5 – 1 micron per brochure), an electrically conductive material ([0101]), and a fibrillated binder ([0067], [0072], [0103]); and a current collector ([0053]-[0056], [0076]) on which the dry electrode film is stacked ([0100], [0104], [0105]).
Regarding claim 2, Bruckner et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the fibrillated binder comprises polytetrafluoroethylene ([0067], [0072], [0103]).
Regarding claim 6, Bruckner et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses an average particle diameter of the active material is 0.05 to 2 microns ([0102], “P2, Phostech Lithium Inc, D50 = 0.5 – 1 micron per brochure).
Regarding claim 7, Bruckner et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the dry electrode film comprises fibers fibrillated in multiple directions (depicted in Figs 1-2, [0034]-[0042]) via pulverizing / milling ([0085]). Further, regarding limitations recited in claim 7, which are directed to method of making said dry electrode (e.g. “by the production of the dry dough for the electrode by the primary fibrillation of the fibrillable binder, pulverization by grinding of the dry dough for the electrode, and secondary fibrillation of the fibrillable binder during the forming of the dry electrode film by pressurizing the powder”) it is noted that said limitations are not given patentable weight in the product claims. Even though a product-by-process is defined by the process steps by which the product is made, determination of patentability is based on the product itself and does not depend on its method of production. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As the court stated in Thorpe, 777 F.2d at 697, 227 USPQ at 966 (The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. In re Pilkington, 411 F.2d 1345, 1348, 162 USPQ 145, 147 (CCPA 1969). If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same or obvious as the product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process.). See MPEP 2113 and 2114. Therefore, since the dry electrode as recited in claim 7 is the same as the dry electrode disclosed by Bruckner et al., as set forth above, the claim is unpatentable even though the dry electrode of Bruckner et al. was made by a different process. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruckner et al. (US 2015/0061176) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ichinose et al. (US 2006/0269842).
Regarding claims 3-5, Bruckner et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the fibrillated binder further comprises acrylic-modified polytetrafluoroethylene, wherein the fibrillated binder comprises polytetrafluoroethylene and the acrylic-modified polytetrafluoroethylene in a weight ratio of 1:9 to 9:1, and the acrylic-modified polytetrafluoroethylene is formed by mixing polytetrafluoroethylene and an acrylic polymer in a weight ratio of 7:3 to 3:7.
Ichinose et al. discloses in Figs 1-7, a secondary battery (Abstract) including an electrode binder comprising PTFE + acrylic polymer mixed at 1:1 weight ratio ([0160]). This configuration enhances the adhesion / cohesion and structural integrity of the electrode, enhancing overall battery performance ([0160]).
Ichinose et al. and Bruckner et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, electrode binders.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the PTFE + acrylic polymer disclosed by Ichinose et al. into the binder of Bruckner et al. to enhance the adhesion / cohesion and structural integrity of the electrode, enhancing overall battery performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yang (US 2020/0280089) discloses in Figs 1-2, a secondary battery (ref 1) including an electrode binder including PTFE and acrylic polymer for flexibility ([0040]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725