DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/05/2024 was filed after the filing date of the claimed application on 09/13/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Paragraph [0014] of the specification of the claimed application discloses the substrate [10] to also be classified as the first semiconductor layer. (also see Para. [0071]). Claim 8 includes the limitations of “a second electrode disposed on a surface of a substrate, the surface being located on a side opposite to a side on which the first semiconductor layer is disposed”. Taking into account the specification disclosing the substrate and the first semiconductor layer to be the same element, claim 8 is therefore attempting to limit the second electrode to be disposed on a surface of the substrate (first semiconductor layer) on a side of the substrate that is opposite to the substrate (first semiconductor layer). The specification does not disclose other layers of the claimed application to be interpreted as the first semiconductor layer other than the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3,4,6,7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hirose et al. (hereinafter Hirose) (US 20200373739 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hirose discloses in Fig. 25,
A photonic crystal surface-emitting laser [1C] (Para. [0172]) comprising:
a light emitting region [region shown by space 14a] (Para. [0175]) from which light is emitted in a direction crossing an in-plane direction (Para. [0175]); and
a current blocking region [regions outside of 14 Fig. 25] (Para. [0175]) in which current is less likely to flow than in the light emitting region [14a] (Paras. [0175,1076]), the current blocking region being adjacent to the light emitting region in the in-plane direction [see Fig. 25],
wherein the light emitting region and the current blocking region each include a photonic crystal layer [15] (Para. [0086]),
the photonic crystal layer [15] has a first region [15a] (Para. [0086]) and second regions [15b] (Para. [0086]) periodically arranged in the in-plane direction in the first region (Para. [0086]),
a refractive index of each of the second regions [15b] is different from a refractive index of the first region [15a] (Para. [0086]),
the light emitting region includes a first semiconductor layer [10] having a first conductivity type [n-type] (Para. [0178]), an active layer [12] (Para. [0173]) having an optical gain (Para. [0088]), and a second semiconductor layer [13] (Para. [0178]) having a second conductivity type [p-type] (Para. [0178]), and
the first semiconductor layer [10], the active layer [12], and the second semiconductor layer [13] are sequentially stacked on top of one another in an emission direction of the light [Z-direction Fig. 25] (Para. [0172]).
Regarding claim 3, Hirose discloses in Fig. 25,
wherein the current blocking region [regions outside of 14 Fig. 25] (Para. [0175]) includes a sixth semiconductor layer [region of 13 subjected to ion implantation] (Para. [0179]), and
the sixth semiconductor layer is insulated (Para. [0179]).
Regarding claim 4, Hirose discloses in Fig. 25,
wherein the active layer [12] is included in the light emitting region [region shown by space 14a] and the current blocking region [regions outside of 14 Fig. 25] (Para. [0176]).
Regarding claim 6, Hirose discloses in Fig. 25,
wherein the current blocking region [regions outside of 14 Fig. 25] (Para. [0175]) surrounds a whole periphery of the light emitting region [region shown by space 14a Fig. 25] (Para. [0175]) in the in-plane direction.
Regarding claim 7, Hirose discloses in Fig. 25,
wherein the light emitting region includes an eighth semiconductor layer [14] (Para. [0174]) stacked on the second semiconductor layer [13] (Para. [0174]) and having the second conductivity type (Para. [0178]) and
at least a portion of the current blocking region [regions outside of 14 Fig. 25] is exposed from the eighth semiconductor layer [14] (Para. [0174]).
Regarding claim 10, Hirose discloses in Fig. 25,
A method for manufacturing a photonic crystal surface-emitting laser [1C] (Para. [0172]), the method comprising:
forming a light emitting region [region shown by space 14a] (Para. [0175]) from which light is emitted in a direction crossing an in-plane direction (Para. [0175]); and
forming a current blocking region [regions outside of 14 Fig. 25] (Para. [0175]) in which current is less likely to flow than in the light emitting region (Paras. [0175,1076]), the current blocking region being adjacent to the light emitting region in the in-plane direction [see Fig. 25],
wherein the forming the light emitting region and the forming the current blocking region each include providing a photonic crystal layer [15] (Para. [0086]),
the photonic crystal layer [15] has a first region [15a] (Para. [0086]) and second regions[15b] (Para. [0086]) periodically arranged in the in-plane direction in the first region (Para. [0086]),
a refractive index of each of the second regions [15b] is different from a refractive index of the first region [15a] (Para. [0086]), and
the forming the light emitting region includes sequentially stacking a first semiconductor layer [10] (Para. [0172]) having a first conductivity type [n-type] (Para. [0178]), an active layer [12] (Para. [0173]) having an optical gain (Para. [0088]), and a second semiconductor layer [13] (Para. [0178]) having a second conductivity type [p-type] (Para. [0178]) on top of one another (Para. [0172]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Mihashi (EP 0527547 A2).
Regarding claim 2, Hirose discloses in Fig. 25,
wherein the current blocking region [regions outside of 14 Fig. 25] includes the first semiconductor layer [10], a third semiconductor layer [21 p-type layer in pn junction] (Para. [0179]) having the second conductivity type [21 p-type layer in pn junction] (Para. [0179]) a fourth semiconductor layer [21 n-type layer in pn junction] (Para. [0179]) having the first conductivity type [n-type] (Para. [0179]), and a fifth semiconductor layer [13] having the second conductivity type (Para. [0178]), and
the first semiconductor layer [10], the third semiconductor layer [21 p-type layer in pn junction] (Para. [0179]), the fourth semiconductor layer [21 n-type layer in pn junction] (Para. [0179]), and the fifth semiconductor layer [13] are sequentially stacked on top of one another in the emission direction of the light [Z-direction Fig. 25] (Para. [0172]).
Examiner notes the interpretation of the cladding layer [13] of Hirose as both the second semiconductor layer and the fifth semiconductor layer as shown with the interpretation of layer [22] of claimed application as both the second semiconductor layer and the fifth semiconductor layer.
Hirose fails to disclose,
the first semiconductor layer, the third semiconductor layer, the fourth semiconductor layer, and the fifth semiconductor layer are sequentially stacked on top of one another in the emission direction of the light to form a thyristor.
Mihashi discloses in Fig. 1,
a four layer n-p-n-p thyristor structure (Col. 2, line 65- Col. 3, line 12)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the thyristor structure of Mihashi in the device of Hirose for the purpose of suppressing leakage of current flow. (Mihashi (Col. 2, line 65- Col. 3, line 12)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin) (US 6674778 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Hirose discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 1 above but fails to disclose,
wherein the current blocking region includes a seventh semiconductor layer, and
the seventh semiconductor layer is adjacent to the active layer in the in-plane direction and has a bandgap greater than an energy of the light.
Lin discloses in Fig. 3A,
A semiconductor layer [157] (Col. 4, lines 28-35) adjacent to an active layer [156] (Col. 4, lines 28-35) in an in-plane direction and has a bandgap greater than an energy of a light (Col. 4, lines 28-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the apertured active layer structure shown in Lin in the structure of Hirose for the purpose of preventing absorption of light in the active layer. (Lin Col. 4, lines 28-35)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Kitatani et al. (hereinafter Kitatani) (JP 2007207804 A).
Examiner notes an attached machine translation will be used for the claim mapping of Kitatani, see PTO-892 form.
Regarding claim 8, Hirose discloses the device outlined in the rejection of claim 7 above and further discloses in Fig. 25,
further comprising:
a first electrode [23] (Para. [0174]) disposed on an upper surface of the eighth semiconductor layer [14] (Para. [0174]) and in the light emitting region (Para. [0174]); and
a second electrode [22] (Para. [0174]) disposed on a surface of a substrate [10] (Para. [0174]), the surface being located on a side opposite to a side on which the first semiconductor layer is disposed [bottom surface of 10 Fig. 25] (Para. [0174]),
Examiner notes the interpretation of element [10] in Hirose as both the first semiconductor layer and the substrate as shown with reference number [10] of the claimed application. (see Para. [0071] of the specification of the claimed application)
Examiner notes the interpretation of “the surface being located on a side opposite to a side on which the first semiconductor layer is disposed” will be understood to be the bottom surface of the substrate (first semiconductor layer) [10] of Hirose.
Hirose fails to disclose,
wherein the first electrode has a ring-like shape in the in-plane direction, and
the eighth semiconductor layer is exposed at a portion of the light emitting region, the portion being surrounded by the first electrode.
Kitatani discloses in Fig. 3A,
An electrode [310] (Para. [0021]) with a ring-like shape (Para. [0021]) surrounding a contact layer [311] (Para. [0021]) in a light emitting region [space between 310]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the ring shape electrode surrounding an exposed contact layer as shown in Kitatani in the device of Hirose for the purpose of allowing emission of light without interfering with the electrode.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose in view of Yoshimoto et al. (hereinafter Yoshimoto) (US 20090047751A1)
Regarding claim 9, Hirose discloses in Fig. 25,
wherein the first semiconductor layer [10], the photonic crystal layer [15], the active layer [12], and the second semiconductor layer are sequentially stacked on top of one another [Fig. 25] (Para. (Para. [0172]),
the photonic crystal layer [15] has the first conductivity type [n-type] (Para. [0178]),
the second regions [15b] of the photonic crystal layer [15] are air holes (Para. [0134]), and
Hirose fails to disclose,
the photonic crystal surface-emitting laser includes a ninth semiconductor layer provided between the photonic crystal layer and the active layer and having the first conductivity type,
an end portion of each of the air holes on the active layer side is covered with the ninth semiconductor layer.
Yoshimoto discloses in Fig. 2(c),
an n-type semiconductor layer [23] (Para. [0031]) between a photonic crystal layer [17a] (Para. [0032]) and an active layer [27] (Para. [0033]),
where an end portion of air holes [25] (Para. [0031]) on an active layer [27] side is covered with the n-type semiconductor layer [23]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an n-type semiconductor layer covering the air holes of the photonic crystal structure of Hirose as shown in Yoshimoto for the purpose of closing the air openings to form voids. (Yoshimoto Para. [0031])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner notes (US 20110134941 A1) which discloses a photonic crystal surface emitting laser with a current confinement region above and active layer and photonic crystal structure. See PTO-892 form.
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828