DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 19 June 2026. Claims 1-6 are now pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 4, 5 and newly added claim 6. The examiner also notes that claims 1 and 4 do not possess the correct status identifiers and should read –(currently amended)— in place of the status identifier of “(original)”.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
-Claim 4 recites “control valve with a degree of opening, wherein” in line 3. Examiner recommends amending to –control valve with a degree of opening, and wherein—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 5 recites “a control device” which is a generic placeholder. There is no sufficient structure for this limitation provided in the claims. The function of this limitation is to control the degree of opening of the control valve. According to the specification the control device includes the refrigerator control circuit [0025] and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherbeck (U.S. 20160238265) in view of Frangineas (U.S. 20210146150).
Regarding Claim 1, Sherbeck teaches a magnetic field generating apparatus [0044]—generates an electromagnetic field when energized, comprising: a compressor [Fig. 1, element 110], a condenser [Fig. 1, element 120], an expansion valve [Fig. 1, element 160], and an evaporator [Fig. 1, element 130], which are connected in such a manner as to circulate a cooling fluid therethrough [0021], wherein the evaporator includes a coil formed by being wound into a solenoid [0021], the coil having a plurality of through-holes where the cooling fluid flows [Fig. 1, element 155] and [0025]—TES and evaporator coil forming a thermosyphon,
and the coil and the capacitor are cooled with the cooling fluid [0062]—reference to Farad capacitor used for frequency of actuation and actuation force.
Sherbeck is silent on the coil is electrically connected to a resonant circuit including a capacitor that causes the coil to resonate, the coil receives an alternating current from the resonant circuit to generate a magnetic field. Frangineas teaches the coil is electrically connected to a resonant circuit including a capacitor that causes the coil to resonate [0060], the coil receives an alternating current from the resonant circuit to generate a magnetic field [0059-0060] and [0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to electrically connect the resonant circuit using an alternating current as taught by Frangineas to generate a magnetic field as suggested by Sherbeck as Sherbeck discusses coils creating magnetic fields [0046] with Frangineas because Frangineas teaches generation of a continuous time varying magnetic field [0089].
Regarding Claim 3, Sherbeck further teaches comprising a circulation circuit configured to be capable of passing the cooling fluid through cooling parts of the coil and the capacitor in parallel [0026]—describes the thermosyphon configuration with circulation of the refrigerant without a mechanical pump and [0062]—describes the coils powered by a transformer with a capacitor.
Regarding Claim 4, Sherbeck further teaches wherein a path for passing the cooling fluid through the capacitor is provided with a control valve with a degree of opening [0062], wherein the degree of opening is controlled [0062], independently of the expansion valve [0027]—reference to a throttle valve that is used to control the rate of circulation of refrigerant.
Regarding Claim 6, Sherbeck is silent on further comprising a power supply circuit electrically connected to the resonant circuit and configured to supply power to the resonant circuit. Frangineas teaches further comprising a power supply circuit electrically connected to the resonant circuit and configured to supply power to the resonant circuit [0057] and [0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a power supply and circuit as taught by Frangineas to power the electronic circuits as suggested by Sherbeck as Sherbeck discusses retrofitting and scalability considerations [0003] with Frangineas because Frangineas teaches the power supply being separate and independent [0057].
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherbeck (U.S. 20160238265) in view of Frangineas (U.S. 20210146150) and in even further view of Marchitto (U.S. 20110077451).
Regarding Claim 2, Sherbeck and Frangineas are silent on wherein a hydrofluorocarbon-based refrigerant, a hydrofluoroolefin-based refrigerant, a single refrigerant of carbon dioxide, or a mixed refrigerant thereof is used as the cooling fluid. Marchitto teaches wherein a hydrofluorocarbon-based refrigerant, a hydrofluoroolefin-based refrigerant, a single refrigerant of carbon dioxide [0059]—reference to the use of gas such as carbon dioxide used for the purpose of cooling, or a mixed refrigerant thereof is used as the cooling fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use carbon dioxide as a means of cooling fluid as taught by Marchitto to cool the magnetic field generating device as suggested by Sherbeck and Frangineas, as Sherbeck discusses the need to develop a cooling system that is easily added, cost effective and scalable [0003] and Frangineas which discloses the use of a coolant [0054] with Marchitto because Marchitto teaches the need for the fluid to maintain an ambient temperature [0059].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherbeck (U.S. 20160238265) in view of Frangineas (U.S. 20210146150) and in further view of Garside (U.S. 20150196221).
Regarding Claim 5, Sherbeck and Frangineas are silent on comprising a control device configured to control the degree of opening of the control valve in such a manner that the capacitor is at a predetermined temperature. Garside teaches comprising a control device configured to control the degree of opening of the control valve in such a manner that the capacitor is at a predetermined temperature [0122]—describes a rotary valve being controlled by the system controller also shown in Fig. 3 step 202.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a valve to control the temperature via a valve mechanism and controller as taught by Garside to control the temperature of the refrigerant as suggested by Sherbeck and Frangineas, as Sherbeck discusses the decreases and increases of the refrigerant in the cooling coil [0023] and Frangineas which discloses the use of a radiator to control temperature of the coolant [0058] with Garside because Garside teaches the use of thermal links to cool the apparatus when necessary [0159].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 June 2026 with respect to the drawing, specification and abstract objections have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 19 June 2026 with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 19 June 2026 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed 21 September 2025 with respect to the rejection of
claims 1, 3, and 4 under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive, however, new rejections are presented above in light of the amendments for claims 1, 3, and 4. Regarding claim 1, applicant contends that Sherbeck does not teach the amended limitations of “electrically connected to a resonant circuit including a capacitor that causes the coil to resonate, the coil receives an alternating current from the resonant circuit to generate a magnetic field,”. Examiner agrees with this assertion and presents the new grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing Sherbeck in view of Frangineas. Applicant also contends that Sherbeck does not teach the evaporator includes a coil. Examiner notes that the relied upon reference of paragraph [0021] makes reference to an evaporator coil which is interpreted as the evaporator including a coil. For clarification, the references to paragraphs [0044] and [0062] include teachings regarding generation of electromagnetic fields and capacitors, respectively. In view of the foregoing, the rejection of this limitation citing Sherbeck is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.N.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791