DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Claims 1-20 are currently pending of which claim 1 has been amended. Claims 3-20 are newly added.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites cBN however the acronym has not been set forth within the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “in the direction parallel to a surface of the CBN sintered compact,” there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the direction” in the claim.
Claims 2-15 are rejected as being dependent upon indefinite claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2017/0266733) in view of Tsukihara et al. (US 2019/0232386) and Ogami et al. (US 2018/0326501).
Regarding claims 1, 3-6, 9-11, and 15, Sato discloses a surface-coating cutting tool comprising a sintered cubic boron nitride (cBN) body and coating layers A and B (Fig. 1, 0027). The cBN body made of 40 to 70 vol% CBN particles having an average grain size of 0.5 to 4.0 µm (0032 and 0035), overlapping the claimed amount of 40 vol% or more and 70 vol% or less in claim 1 and 45 vol% or more and 65 vol% or less in claim 9, and mean grain size of 2.5 µm or more and 6.0 µm or less in claim 1 and 2.5 µm or more and 4.0 µm or less in claim 3. Layer A coating the surface of the tool body and having a compositional formula (Al1-xTix)N where 0.35≤x≤0.6 (0016-0017) and a thickness t-A ranging from 0.2-1.0 µm (Table 4 and 5), overlapping the claimed thickness of 0.1 µm or more and 1.0 µm or less in claim 1 and 0.2 µm to 0.7 µm in claim 10. Layer B coating the surface of layer A and having a compositional formula (Al1-y-zTiySiz)N where 0.35≤y≤0.6 and 0.01≤z≤0.1 (0016-0017) and a thickness tB ranging from 1.0-3.2 µm (Table 4 and 5), overlapping the claimed thickness of 0.2 µm or more and 2.0 µm or less in claim 1 and 0.5 µm to 1.5 µm in claim 11. A ratio of tB/tA of 2 to 5 (0018), overlapping the claimed ratio being 2.0 or more and 6.0 or less in claim 1 and 3.0 or more and 5.0 or less in claim 4.
Sato does not teach the substrate having a surface roughness R of 0.1 µm or more and 5.0 µm or less measured as claimed, and the coating further containing a layer C having an average composition represented by formula (Al1-a-b-cCraSibCuc)N where 0.15≤a≤0.4, 0.05≤b≤0.2, and 0.005≤c≤0.05 and average thickness tc of 0.1 µm or more and 2.0 µm or less, where R≤tc.
Regarding the substrate roughness, Tsukihara, in the analogous field of cutting tools (0001) teaches a cutting tool comprising a sintered body containing cBN substrate and a coating (0007). Tsukihara teaches the substrate having a surface roughness R of 0.1 to 0.4 µm (0032).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the substrate of Sato to have a surface roughness of 0.1 to 0.4 µm, as taught by Tsukihara, to improve the anchor effect to the coating (0032).
Tsukihara does not reach the surface roughness R measured as claimed however, however, an overlapping range would be expected as patentability is not based upon method of measurement but whether or not the property would have been obvious in view of the prior art.
Regarding layer C, Ogami, in the analogous field of cutting tools (0003), teaches a surface-coated cutting tool comprising an upper layer made of coating composition expressed by formula (Al1-a-b-cCraSibCuc)N where 0.15≤a≤0.4, 0.05≤b≤0.2, and 0.005≤c≤0.05 (0019). The coating having a thickness of 0.05 to 5.0 µm (0019), overlapping the claimed thickness of 0.01 µm or more and 2.0 µm or less.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the coating of Sato to include an upper layer coating composition of (Al1-a-b-cCraSibCuc)N having a thickness of 0.05 to 5.0 µm, as taught by Ogami, to improve the wear resistance and toughness of the coating (0015).
The coating layer of Sato in view of Ogami will have an average thickness of 1.55 to 9 µm (sum of total layer thickness A and B from Satao:0018 and upper layer thickness from Ogami: 0019). Overlapping the claimed thickness of 1.0 µm or more and 5.0 µm or less in claim 1 and total thickness 2.6 µm to 4.1 µm in claim 15.
Further given the range for roughness disclosed in Tsukihara and the layer thickness of the upper coating in Ogami, there is an overlapping range where R≤tc.
Regarding the ranges discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, Tsukihara teaches a surface layer for the cutting tool comprising TiN (0077).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art for the layer C of modified Sato to include a surface layer of TiN as taught by Tsukihara, to identify the state of use of the tool based on the color of the surface (0077).
Regarding claim 7, Ogami teaches the coating composition expressed by formula (Al1-a-b-cCraSibCuc)N where 0.15≤a≤0.4, 0.05≤b≤0.2, and 0.005≤c≤0.05 (0019) MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 8, Tsukihara teaches a coating thickness of less than or equal to 0.5 µm (0077), overlapping the average thickness of 0.1 to 1.0 µm MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 12, Ogami teaches the coating having a thickness of 0.05 to 5.0 µm (0019), overlapping the claimed thickness of 0.5 µm to 1.5 µm MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Sato discloses the body comprising a bonded phase of nitride, carbide, carbonitride, boride of Ti and nitride and oxide of Al (0014).
Claims 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2017/0266733) in view of Kanada et al. (US 6,612,786) and Ogami et al. (US 2018/0326501).
Regarding claims 16 and 18-20, Sato discloses a surface-coating cutting tool comprising a sintered cubic boron nitride (cBN) body and coating layers A and B (Fig. 1, 0027). The cBN body made of 40 to 70 vol% CBN particles having an average grain size of 0.5 to 4.0 µm (0032 and 0035), overlapping the claimed amount of 40 vol% or more and 70 vol% or less, and mean grain size of 2.5 µm or more and 6.0 µm or less. Layer A coating the surface of the tool body and having a compositional formula (Al1-xTix)N where 0.35≤x≤0.6 (0016-0017) and a thickness t-A ranging from 0.2-1.0 µm (Table 4 and 5), overlapping the claimed thickness of 0.1 µm or more and 1.0 µm or less. Layer B coating the surface of layer A and having a compositional formula (Al1-y-zTiySiz)N where 0.35≤y≤0.6 and 0.01≤z≤0.1 (0016-0017) and a thickness tB ranging from 1.0-3.2 µm (Table 4 and 5), overlapping the claimed thickness of 0.2 µm or more and 2.0 µm or less. A ratio of tB/tA of 2 to 5 (0018), overlapping the claimed ratio being 2.0 or more and 6.0 or less.
Sato does not teach the substrate having a surface roughness R of 0.5 µm or more and 1.5 µm or less, and the coating further containing a layer C having an average composition represented by formula (Al1-a-b-cCraSibCuc)N where 0.15≤a≤0.4, 0.05≤b≤0.2, and 0.005≤c≤0.05 and average thickness tc of 0.1 µm or more and 2.0 µm or less, where R≤tc.
Regarding the substrate roughness, Kanada, in the analogous field of cutting tools (column 1, lines 5-10) teaches a cutting tool comprising a sintered body containing cBN substrate a surface of the substrate having an average surface roughness Rz of 0.1 µm or more to 1.0 µm or less (column 2, lines 10-20).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the substrate of Sato to have a surface roughness of 0.1 to 1.0 µm, as taught by Kanada, to machine a work piece surface with high precision.
Kanad does not reach the surface roughness R measured as claimed however, however, an overlapping range would be expected as patentability is not based upon method of measurement but whether or not the property would have been obvious in view of the prior art.
Regarding layer C, Ogami, in the analogous field of cutting tools (0003), teaches a surface-coated cutting tool comprising an upper layer made of coating composition expressed by formula (Al1-a-b-cCraSibCuc)N where 0.15≤a≤0.4, 0.05≤b≤0.2, and 0.005≤c≤0.05 (0019). The coating having a thickness of 0.05 to 5.0 µm (0019), overlapping the claimed thickness of 0.01 µm or more and 2.0 µm or less.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious for the coating of Sato to include an upper layer coating composition of (Al1-a-b-cCraSibCuc)N having a thickness of 0.05 to 5.0 µm, as taught by Ogami, to improve the wear resistance and toughness of the coating (0015).
The coating layer of Sato in view of Ogami will have an average thickness of 1.55 to 9 µm (sum of total layer thickness A and B from Satao:0018 and upper layer thickness from Ogami: 0019). Overlapping the claimed thickness of 1.0 µm or more and 5.0 µm or less in claim 1 and total thickness 2.6 µm to 4.1 µm in claim 15.
Further given the range for roughness disclosed in Kanada and the layer thickness of the upper coating in Ogami, there is an overlapping range where R≤tc.
Regarding the ranges discussed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379. MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato in view of Kanada and Ogami as applied to claim 17 above and further in view of Tsukihara et al. (US 2019/0232386).
Regarding claim 17, modified Sato discloses the limitations of claim 16 as discussed above. Modified Sato does not disclose the surface further comprising a TiN layer of the C layer.
Tsukihara, in the analogous field of cutting tools (0001), teaches a surface layer for the cutting tool comprising TiN (0077).,
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art for the layer C of modified Sato to include a surface layer of TiN as taught by Tsukihara, to identify the state of use of the tool based on the color of the surface (0077).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/01/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Tsukihara does not teach the surface roughness measured in the same way as applicant, thus, Tsukihara does not teach an overlapping range for surface roughness values.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Just because a property is measured in a different way does not mean that the structure is not present. There is still a reasonable expectation that an overlapping range would be present as patentability is not based upon method of measurement but whether or not the property would have been obvious in view of the prior art.
Applicant argues that the R values of Tsukihara will be less then claimed and any overlap would be completely coincidental.
Applicant has not provided any quantifiable values to show that the range disclosed by Tsukihara would be different from what the prior art discloses as the ranges. Furthermore, whether or not the overlapped range is coincidental does not matter for patentability because a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Applicant argues that because Tsukihara does not teach the surface roughness measured as claimed the relationship of R≤tc will not be present as claimed.
The examiner disagrees as noted above. As the prior art teaches values overlapping both the surface roughness and layer C thickness there is necessarily overlap such that R≤tc is satisfied.
Applicant argues that R≤tc is critical for preventing crack propagation during high-load cutting applications.
Whether the unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the "objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support." In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. In re Clemens, 622 F.2d 1029, 1036, 206 USPQ 289, 296. In the current case, the claimed invention and the evidence as provided in e.g., Table 5/6 are not commensurate and scope and a trend cannot be established form the proffered data. Furthermore, the evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALICIA J WEYDEMEYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781