DETAILED ACTION
This action is a non-final office action on the merits. Claims 1-10 are pending and rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: see below. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 “used for dimensionality reduction” – intended use.
Claim 9- so that a combination… includes a specific class that is that is one of the plurality of classes – intended use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is an apparatus, claim 9 is a method and claim 10 is a non-transitory medium. These are all statutory categories of invention, including dependent claims -2-8. (Step 1 yes)
The examiner is examining claim 1 as the representative claim.
The claims under their broadest reasonable interprations cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Int his case, a fundamental economic practice related to data analysis.
Here the abstract elements include
an acquisition … for acquiring acquire a plurality of data each classified into one of a plurality of classes; and a calculation … for calculating calculate a projection matrix used for dimensionality reduction of the plurality of data based on an objective function including a statistic of the plurality of data, wherein the objective function includes a first function including a first term indicating interclass dispersion of the plurality of data between a first class and a second class included in the plurality of classes and a second function including a second term indicating intraclass dispersion of the plurality of data in at least one of the first class and the second class, and wherein the calculation … performs calculation of the projection matrix is calculated by optimizing the objective function under a constraint in which the first class and the second class are selected so that a combination of the first class and the second class includes a specific class that is one of the plurality of classes.
Here the technical elements include “means” which are not specifically limited int eh spec. However, figure one depicts processor, memory, communication and output/input.
Here Step 2A prong 1) The steps recite an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The technical elements are not claimed at any more then a high level of generality. Or “apply” it type language.
Therefore claims 1-11 are directed to an abstract idea without more (Step 2A pong 2 No)
Step 2B prong 2, No, the claims do not include additional elements. Mere instructions to apply the exception using generic components. There are no additional elements in the claims but the specification may have additional inventive concept.
Dependent claims 2-8 do not improve the analysis of claims 1, 9 and 10. Thus claims 1-10 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication Fukuda, 20170243313.
As per claim 9 Fukuda discloses; An information processing method performed by a computer, comprising:
acquiring a plurality of data each classified into one of a plurality of classes; and
calculating a projection matrix
Fukuda(0013, projection matrix)
used for dimensionality reduction of the plurality of data based on an objective function including a statistic of the plurality of data,
Fukuda(0112, 0143)
wherein the objective function includes a first function including a first term indicating interclass dispersion (0065, according to the internet interclass dispersion is a concept that measures how far apart data points or feature representations are…. Pushing thigs apart for the purpose of discriminating categories, see claim 2 of the reference, maximize separability and 0052, Objective function(0066)
of the plurality of data between a first class and a second class included in the plurality of classes and a second function including a second term indicating intraclass dispersion of the plurality of data in at least one of the first class and the second class,
(0065-66 similar to the prior limitation)
and wherein the calculating the projection matrix includes performing calculation of the projection matrix by optimizing the objective function under a constraint in which the first class and the second class are selected so that a combination of the first class and the second class includes a specific class that is one of the plurality of classes. (0066, projection matrix, fig 3 s104, maximize the objective function)
claims 1, 10 are similar to claim 9.
[Claim 2] (Original) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the objective function includes a minimum value or a maximum value of a ratio of the first function to the second function over the plurality of classes.
(0066, projection matrix, fig 3 s104, maximize the objective function, minimum or maximum is a choice, only one is required due to the use of “or”)
[Claim 3] (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1 ,wherein the second function includes a weighted average of intraclass dispersion of the plurality of data in the first class and intraclass dispersion of the plurality of data in the second class.
Fukuda(0026)
[Claim 4] (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim wherein the first function further includes a third term indicating an average of interclass dispersion of the plurality of data over the plurality of classes, and wherein the second function further includes a fourth term indicating an average of intraclass dispersion of the plurality of data over the plurality of classes.
Fukuda(0052 interclass dispersion is for the purpose of maximizing separability 0052)
[Claim 5] (Currently Amended) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the optimization is a process of maximizing or minimizing the objective function.
Fukuda(0100, maximizing)
[Claim 8]) The information processing apparatus according to claim 1
wherein the plurality of classes corresponds to a plurality of terminals, respectively, the information processing apparatus further including a transmission means for transmitting the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to transmit the projection matrix to a terminal corresponding to the specific class among the plurality of terminals.
Fukuda(0052)
Claim(s) 6,7/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication Fukuda, 20170243313 in view of US Patent Publication 20200053558 to Hallock
As per claim 6, Fukuda does not explicitly disclose what Hallock teaches; The information processing apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the data are feature amount data extracted from biometric information.
Hallock(0016 biometrics based on features)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the neural network learning of Fukuda with the biometric matching of Hallock for the motivation of creating better security to avoid “bot mimicking a person” or the like (0099)
As per claim 7, Fukuda does not explicitly disclose what Hallock teaches; The information processing apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the specific class is a class in which feature amount data corresponding to a matching target person in a biometric matching using the biometric information are classified. Hallock (0016)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the neural network learning of Fukuda with the biometric matching of Hallock for the motivation of creating better security to avoid “bot mimicking a person” or the like (0099)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A Discriminant Subspace Learning Based Face Recognition Method, IEEE 2017
Small Stochastic Data Compactification Concept Justified in the Entropy Basis, PMC 2023
/BRUCE I EBERSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693