Detailed Action
Amendment
1. This office action is in response to applicant’s amendments dated 3-2-26 and this office action is a non-final rejection.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 9, applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed diffusing element and as seen in applicant’s originally filed disclosure the diffusing element is detailed as For example, diffusing element 36 may be a translucent layer of white paint on the bottom outer diameter of ring-shaped body 34 of which the bottom 3 mm of handle 12 has a blocking layer of primer of the paint removed to allow light to pass through to the outside of housing 22. In other embodiments, material selected for diffusing element 36 can be a clear material, transparent material, translucent material, or combinations thereof, which transmits light to the outside of the housing. Some examples of suitable materials for a diffusing element include glass, polymethyl methacrylate, polycarbonate, copolyesters, polypropylene, polyethyleneteraphthalate, silicone, combinations thereof, for example polyester and polycarbonate, or the like as detailed in paragraphs [0061]-[0062] of applicant’s originally filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant has invoked 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means plus function analysis with respect to the claimed diffusing element as detailed in paragraph 2 of this office action and the phrases “for example”, “some examples” and “or the like” in paragraphs [0061]-[0062] of applicant’s originally filed specification renders the claim indefinite in that it is unclear as to whether other types of diffusing elements than those disclosed are being contemplated by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO No. 2019/137831 to Vugts et al.
Referring to claims 1 and 15, Vugts et al. discloses an oral care device and a method for illuminating a portion of an outer surface of a housing of an oral care device comprising, a housing – at 230, and a light guide member – at 110,122,122a,122b,124,124a,124b,130,312,314, comprising a ring-shaped body – at 110,122,124, adapted to be disposed within the housing – at 230 – see figures 3-7b, and having an outer surface contoured to complement an inner surface of the housing – at 230 – see at 110,230 in figures 5-7b, a light receiving surface – at 122,124, a light emitting surface – at 312,314, and a light coupling portion – at 122a,124a, adapted to accommodate a light source – at 50a,50b, - see figures 5a-7b, and configured to direct light emitted by the light source – at 50a,50b, to the light receiving surface – at 122,122b,124,124b, and/or 130, wherein light received by the light receiving surface propagates through the ring- shaped body – at 110, via internal reflection to the light emitting surface – at 314 – see figures 3-7b and page 2 line 23 to page 3 line 26 and page 14 line 24 to page 15 line 15, where the light is directed out of the light guide member and uniformly illuminates a portion of an outer surface of the housing – at 230, of the device – see figures 5a-7b and page 2 line 23 to page 3 line 26 and page 11 line 20 to page 15 line 15. Specific to claim 15, Vugts et al. discloses the light source – at 50a,50b, is configured to emit light in response to a parameter that is being monitored by the device during a working session of the device – see for example page 1 line 30 to page 3 line 36, providing visual feedback to the user about the parameter monitored during a working session of the device – see figures 3-7b and see for example page 1 line 30 to page 3 line 36.
Referring to claim 4, Vugts et al. further discloses the light receiving surface – at 122,122b,124,124b, is located on a compliant arm – at 122,124, of the ring-shaped body – at 110 – see figures 3-7b.
Referring to claim 5, Vugts et al. further discloses the light receiving surface – at 122,122b,124,124b,130, is located on a compliant part – at 110,122,124, of the ring-shaped body – at 110 – see figures 3-7b.
Referring to claim 6, Vugts et al. further discloses the light coupling portion includes an extension arm – at 122a,124a, that curves inward towards a center of the ring- shaped body – at 110,122,124, to facilitate coupling of the light-source – at 50a,50b, to the light receiving surface – at 122,124 – see figures 3-7b.
Referring to claim 7, Vugts et al. further discloses the illuminated portion of the outer surface of the housing – at 230, includes an outer circumference of the housing – see figures 5a-7b.
Referring to claim 8, Vugts et al. further discloses the light emitting surface – at 312,314, provides uniform illumination at a proximal end of the device – see figures 3-7b and page 14 line 24 to page 15 line 15.
Referring to claim 9, Vugts et al. further discloses the light guide member further comprises a diffusing element – at 130, coupled to the light emitting surface – at 312,314 – see figures 3-7b, and adapted for diffusing light at the outer surface of the housing – at 230 – see figures 3-7b, page 12 line 20 to page 13 line 29 and page 14 line 24 to page 15 line 15. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) analysis with respect to the claimed diffusing element item 130 of Vugts et al. is at least a functional equivalent to applicant’s disclosed diffusing element in that item 130 of Vugts et al. provides similar function of diffusing light at/to the outer surface of the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vugts et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,253,212 to Fujita.
Referring to claim 2, Vugts et al. does not disclose the light coupling portion includes a cutout portion adapted to couple the light receiving surface to the light source. Fujita does disclose the light coupling portion – at 4, includes a cutout portion – at open space receiving item 14, adapted to couple the light receiving surface – surface of 4 contacting 14, to the light source – at 14 – see figure 2. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Vugts et al. and add the cutout portion to the light coupling portion as disclosed by Fujita, so as to yield the predictable result of durably securing the light source to the light coupling portion.
Referring to claim 3, Vugts et al. as modified by Fujita further discloses the light guide member further comprises a reflector – see reflectors/reflecting material detailed in page 2 line 23 to page 3 line 26 and page 14 line 24 to page 15 line 15 of Vugts et al., configured to reflect light from the cut-out portion – cutout of Fujita dispose in 122a,124a of Vugts et al., that travels between the light source – at 50a,50b, and the light receiving surface – at 122b,124b,130 – see figures 3-7b of Vugts et al. Vugts et al. as modified by Fujita does not disclose the reflector is at the cut-out portion and between the light source and the light receiving surface. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Vugts et al. as modified by Fujita and have the reflector in any desired location including between the light source and light receiving surface as claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of providing the desired light characteristics/intensity for the device as desired.
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vugts et al. in view of Fujita.
Referring to claim 10, Vugts et al. discloses an oral care device comprising, a housing – at 230, and a light guide member – at 110,122,122a,122b,124,124a,124b,130,312,314, comprising a ring-shaped body – at 110,122,124, adapted to be disposed within the housing – at 230 – see figures 3-7b, and having an outer surface contoured to complement an inner surface of the housing – at 230 – see at 110,230 in figures 5-7b, a light receiving surface – at 122,124, a light emitting surface – at 312,314, and a light coupling portion – at 122a,124a, adapted to accommodate a light source – at 50a,50b, - see figures 5a-7b, and configured to direct light emitted by the light source – at 50a,50b, to the light receiving surface – at 122,122b,124,124b, and/or 130, wherein light received by the light receiving surface propagates through the ring- shaped body – at 110, via internal reflection to the light emitting surface – at 314 – see figures 3-7b and page 2 line 23 to page 3 line 26 and page 14 line 24 to page 15 line 15, where the light is directed out of the light guide member and uniformly illuminates a portion of an outer surface of the housing – at 230, of the device – see figures 5a-7b and page 2 line 23 to page 3 line 26 and page 11 line 20 to page 15 line 15. Vugts et al. further discloses the housing – at 230, is configured to be held in a hand of a user – see figures 3-7b, the light coupling portion – at 122a,124a, is adapted to optically couple the light source – at 50a,50b to the light receiving surface – at 122,124 – see figures 3-7b, the light source – at 50a,50b, is configured to emit light in response to a parameter that is being monitored by the device during a working session of the device – see for example page 1 line 30 to page 3 line 36, providing visual feedback to the user about the parameter monitored during a working session of the device – see figures 3-7b and see for example page 1 line 30 to page 3 line 36. Vugts et al. does not disclose the light coupling portion is adapted to house the light source. Fujita does disclose the light coupling portion – at 4, is adapted to house the light source – at 14 – see figure 2. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Vugts et al. and add the light coupling portion housing the light source as disclosed by Fujita, so as to yield the predictable result of durably securing the light source to the light coupling portion.
Referring to claim 11, Vugts et al. as modified by Fujita further discloses the light coupling portion – at 4, includes a cutout portion – at open space receiving item 14, adapted to couple the light receiving surface – surface of 4 contacting 14, to the light source – at 14 – see figure 2 of Fujita. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Vugts et al. as modified by Fujita and add the cutout portion to the light coupling portion as disclosed by Fujita, so as to yield the predictable result of durably securing the light source to the light coupling portion.
Referring to claim 12, Vugts et al. as modified by Fujita further discloses the light receiving surface – at 122,122b,124,124b, is located on a compliant arm – at 122,124, of the ring-shaped body – at 110 – see figures 3-7b of Vugts et al.
Referring to claim 13, Vugts et al. as modified by Fujita further discloses the light receiving surface – at 122,122b,124,124b,130, is located on a compliant part – at 110,122,124, of the ring-shaped body – at 110 – see figures 3-7b of Vugts et al.
Referring to claim 14, Vugts et al. as modified by Fujita further discloses the light coupling portion includes an extension arm – at 122a,124a, that curves inward towards a center of the ring- shaped body – at 110,122,124, to facilitate coupling of the light-source – at 50a,50b, to the light receiving surface – at 122,124 – see figures 3-7b of Vugts et al.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s amended abstract dated 3-2-26 obviates the objections detailed in the last office action dated 10-28-25.
Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks/arguments dated 3-2-26 obviates the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 6 and 14 detailed in the last office action dated 10-28-25.
Applicant’s remarks/arguments date 3-2-26 obviates the prior art rejections of claims 1-15 detailed in the last office action dated 10-28-25.
Conclusion
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643