DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-16 and 18-20 are pending. Claims 7-16 and 18-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 and 3-6, drawn to compounds and compositions in the reply filed on March 23rd, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-16 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 23rd, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PubChem SID 440792516 deposited on March 16th, 2021 (cited in the IDS filed 09/13/2023).
PubChem SID 440792516 is drawn to 2-chloro-N-(2,2-dimethylpropyl)-N-[(3R)-1,1-dioxo-1lambda~6~-thiolan-3-yl]acetamide, which has the following structure:
.
The compound is a mixture of the isomers of PIN1-3 P1 and PIN1-3 P2 of instant claim 1.
Claims 1, 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CAS Registry No. 2451481-08-4, which entered Registry on July 30th, 2020.
CAS Registry No. 2451481-08-4 is drawn to 2-Chloro-N-(2,2-dimethylpropyl)-N-(tetrahydro-1,1-dioxido-3-thienyl)acetamide, which has the following structure:
.
The compound is a mixture of the isomers of PIN1-3 P1 and PIN1-3 P2 of instant claim 1.
Regarding instant claim(s) 3 and 6, which are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, the CAS Registry entry includes predicted properties including mass and molar solubilities at varying pH values. MPEP 2131.02 states:
A reference disclosure can anticipate a claim when the reference describes the limitations but "'d[oes] not expressly spell out' the limitations as arranged or combined as in the claim, if a person of skill in the art, reading the reference, would ‘at once envisage’ the claimed arrangement or combination.” Kennametal, Inc. v. Ingersoll Cutting Tool Co., 780 F.3d 1376, 1381, 114 USPQ2d 1250, 1254 (Fed. Cir. 2015)
In this situation, a person having ordinary skill in the art in viewing the properties of the Registry entry would envisage a liquid composition with the compound and water, which is a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2020/144695 A1 filed January 9th, 2020 (cited in the IDS filed 09/13/2023).
The applied reference has a common joint inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding instant claim 1, the prior art discloses the following compound which is a mixture of the isomers of PIN1-3 P1 and PIN1-3 P2 (page 81):
.
Regarding instant claims 3-6, the prior art discloses pharmaceutical compositions comprising the prior art compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier in formulations including tablets, capsules and liquid forms (page 46, lines 16-19).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 8-11, 13-14, 20, 26-28, 33-34, 36-37, 43 and 45-46 of copending Application No. 18694557 in view of Trucillo, P. (2021). Drug Carriers: Classification, Administration, Release Profiles, and Industrial Approach. Processes, 9(3), 470.
Copending claim 33 discloses a pharmaceutical composition in the form of a liquid or solid comprising a Pin1 inhibitor such as sulfopin which is identical to the following compound disclosed by London et al. (page 81 of WO):
.
The claim does not require a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier however Trucillo describes considerations for selecting drug carriers for pharmaceuticals. Trucillo teaches that drug carriers can be classified according to their properties such as shape, application, and drug delivery and reports that oral delivery is the most used method for drugs (page 2). The prior art further teaches that drugs delivered orally may be in solid or liquid form and discusses various types of carriers such as hydrogel nanoparticles, nanocapsules, liposomes, etc. (pages 2 and 4). A person of ordinary skill seeking to prepare the copending pharmaceutical compositions would have been motivated to explore known carriers in order to prepare the tablet, capsule or liquid of the copending claims and optimize drug delivery (copending claims 34 and 36).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 and 3-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 7, 9, 17-21, 24-25, and 28-35 of copending Application No. 18572972 in view of Trucillo, P. (2021). Drug Carriers: Classification, Administration, Release Profiles, and Industrial Approach. Processes, 9(3), 470.
Copending claim 25 discloses a pharmaceutical composition in the form of a liquid or solid comprising a Pin1 inhibitor such as sulfopin (Pin1i-2) which is identical to the following compound disclosed by London et al. (page 81 of WO):
.
The claim does not require a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier however Trucillo describes considerations for selecting drug carriers for pharmaceuticals. Trucillo teaches that drug carriers can be classified according to their properties such as shape, application, and drug delivery and reports that oral delivery is the most used method for drugs (page 2). The prior art further teaches that drugs delivered orally may be in solid or liquid form and discusses various types of carriers such as hydrogel nanoparticles, nanocapsules, liposomes, etc. (pages 2 and 4). A person of ordinary skill seeking to prepare the copending pharmaceutical compositions would have been motivated to explore known carriers in order to prepare the tablet, capsule or liquid of the copending claims and optimize drug delivery (copending claim 28).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/A.A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/MATTHEW P COUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626