DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6-11, 13 and 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/29/26.
Applicant's election with traverse of specie 1 in the reply filed on 1/29/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims are directed to a single inventive concept which is novel over the cited prior art to DE 102004046580. This is not found persuasive because the claims are not patentable as detailed in the rejection below and therefore are not directed to a single inventive concept.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/13/23 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The NPL and foreign documents are not in English.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5, 12, 14-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 3-4 recites, “…a raw side to a clean side of the fluid filter during operation of the fluid filter”. It is unclear if the fluid filter is being positively recited as part of the claimed invention. Claim 1 is directed to a filter cartridge for insertion in a filter housing of a fluid filter. Therefore, the fluid filter appears to be an intended use of the claimed filter cartridge. However, claim 1 appears to positively recite a raw and clean side of the fluid filter. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “a raw side to a clean side of the filter material”. Lines 7 and 20 are also assumed to recite “the filter material” instead of the fluid filter.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the radio housing-side module". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes the claim is assumed to recite, “the housing-side radio module”.
Claim 5 depends from canceled claim 4 and therefore, the dependency of the claim is unclear. For examination purposes claim 5 is assumed to depend from claim 1.
Claim 12 recites, “a buoyant radio module”. The recited buoyant radio module is directed to a separate, nonelected specie. Therefore, it is unclear how a buoyant radio module would be incorporated into the claimed invention which expressly recites a filter cartridge side radio module.
The additional claims are rejected as depending from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 12, 14-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. US 2017/0340996 in view of Kissner et al. DE 10 2004 046 580.
Claim 1, Jo teaches a filter cartridge comprising: a filter material (120) configured to filter a fluid flowing therethrough from a raw side to a clean side of the filter material, a filter cartridge side probe tip (134) configured to: move, during operation of the fluid filter, as a function of the pressure difference between the raw side and the clean side of the filter material, the pressure difference depending on a degree of contamination of the filter material; and communicate, to ascertain the degree of contamination of the filter material, with a housing side module (210) of a fluid filter, a distance to the housing side probe tip from the filter cartridge side probe tip varying upon movement of the filter cartridge side probe tip, and a bypass valve (131), wherein the filter cartridge side probe tip is arranged on the bypass valve, the bypass valve has a movable closure body (131) configured to move relative to a contact body, bearing a valve seat, of the bypass valve, as a function of the pressure difference between the raw side and the clean side of the filter material, the filter cartridge side probe tip being arranged on the closure body of the bypass valve, the closure body is configured to block a bypass line between the raw side and the clean side until the pressure difference between the raw side and the clean side reaches a differential pressure limit valve, and when the differential pressure limit value is reaches, the closure body then releases the bypass line so that at least a portion of the fluid to be filtered can pass from the raw side to the clean side without flowing through the filter material and the closure body is configured to move with increasing differential pressure below the differential pressure limit value without the bypass line being opened (fig. 1-5). Jo does not teach a filter cartridge side radio module but rather a probe tip.
Kissner teaches a filter cartridge comprising a filter material (2) with a clean and raw side, a filter cartridge side radio module (12) arranged on a bypass valve (7), the bypass valve movable is response to a pressure difference between the raw and clean side (fig. 1). Jo teaches the probe tip being used to measure a distance the bypass valve has moved based on a magnetic interaction with the probe tip (par 52). Kissner teaches the filter cartridge side radio module also being used to measure a distance the bypass valve has moved and that such modules are well-known in the art (pg. 2, par 4). The prior art clearly teaches the use of a radio module is a known option well within the technical grasp of one of ordinary skill in the art. The claim would have been obvious because "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 2, Kissner further teaches the filter cartridge side radio module is configured to transmit a radio signal (telemetry) by means of which a distance to the filter cartridge side module from a housing side radio module is determined (pg. 2, par 4).
Claim 5, Jo further teaches the closure body is arranged in a guide sleeve (132) configured to guide the closure body during a movement caused by differential pressure (fig. 1-5).
Claim 12, Kissner teaches a radio module but does not specifically teach a transponder or an RFID transponder. Transponders, such as RFID transponders, are well known telemetric devices and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 14, Jo further teaches a filter housing (110) having a housing side sensor (210) and the filter cartridge as recited in claim 1 inserted into the housing, the filter cartridge side probe tip and the housing side sensor are configured to communicate with each other (fig. 1-5). Jo does not teach radio modules. As stated above, with respect to claim 1, Kissner teaches radio modules as known in the art and thus the use of a radio module in place of the probe tip and sensor of Jo would have been obvious for the same reasons stated above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 15, Kissner further teaches the housing side radio module is configured to receive a radio signal from the filter cartridge side radio module by which a distance between the two modules can be determined (pg. 2, par 4).
Claim 18, Jo further teaches a filter system comprising a fluid filter, and an electronic data processing device (220), the fluid filter is configured according to claim 14, and the electronic data processing device is configured to determine a distance between the filter cartridge side probe tip and the housing side sensor (fig. 1-14).
Claims 19-20, Jo further teaches the electronic data processing device is configured to determine the distance between the probe tip and the sensor on the basis of a signal (fig. 1-14); and the electronic data processing device is configured to determine the contamination state of the filter material on the basis of the distance between the probe tip and the sensor (par 14).
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779