Detailed action
Claims 1, 3-6 and 18-22 are pending and being considered.
Claims 2 and 7 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 6, 11, 15 and 19 have been amended.
The new title submitted on 09/22/2025 have been accepted and objection on title is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 11, 15 and 19 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 recites reading first identification information from managed object and transmitting the first identification to the trail provision apparatus which compares the first identification information with second identification information stored in the trail provision apparatus. Since” the managed object” and “the trail provision apparatus” corresponds to same device and the steps performed by the trail provision apparatus are actually performed by managed object. In this case the claim can broad be interpreted as the first identification information obtained from the managed object is transmitted back to the managed object which then compares with second identification information stored in the managed object to generate a response. This interpretation makes the flow of the claim bit unclear because first, what is the purpose of comparing the first identification information obtained from the managed object with second identification information stored at the managed object. It appears that the first identification information and the second identification information are associated with the managed object. Second, what is the purpose of calling “the managed object “a “trail provision apparatus” when both corresponds to same device. Appropriate correction is required.
Similar remarks for claims 6, 11, 15 and 19.
Response to - 35 USC § 101
The 101 rejections on claims 1-22 is withdrawn based on amendments and further based on applicant’s arguments.
Response to - 35 USC § 102/103
Applicant’s arguments filled on 09/22/2025 have been fully considered and are partially persuasive. In response to applicant’s argument on page 18-19 of remarks that the cited prior art Willis fails to teach the limitation “wherein the trail provision apparatus is the managed object, or the trail provision apparatus is provided inside the managed object” the applicant argues that the configuration server (i.e., trail provision apparatus) is neither the claimed managed object nor inside the managed object. The examiner respectfully disagrees due to following reasons:
The applicant just seems to argue that the device previously known as trail provision apparatus which receives request and transmits a response when Identification information matches is also called a managed object. In other words, the applicant amendments merely defines that the trail provision apparatus is the managed object.
The examiner broadly interprets the “the managed object” or “the trail provision apparatus” as “device “capable of performing the steps of “receiving a request and transmitting a response when Identification information match” just like the claimed trail provision apparatus” OR “the managed object”. The claim simply recites when first identification is obtained from “a device”, the device is called “managed object” and when the first identification information is compared with the second identification number the device is called “a trail provision apparatus”
Rest of applicant’s arguments are moot in view new grounds of rejection. The arguments do not apply to the current art being used. For detail see the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willis et al (hereinafter Willis) (US 10477600) in view of ITO (WO2019186883).
Regarding claim 1 Willis teaches a trail collection system comprising a trail provision apparatus and a trail acquisition apparatus, wherein the trail acquisition apparatus includes: (Willis on [col 2 line 1-45] teaches a system for establishing connections between devices, the system comprising a mobile communication device .e., trail acquisition apparatus) comprising: a long range RF communication radio; an ID scanner; a processor for executing instructions; and a memory storing instructions; and a server (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) coupled to a communication network and comprising: a processor for executing instructions; and a memory storing instructions);
at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions to: (Willis on [col 2 line 1-45] teaches a system for establishing connections between devices, the system comprising a mobile communication device .e., trail acquisition apparatus) comprising: a long range RF communication radio; an ID scanner; a processor for executing instructions; and a memory storing instructions; and a server coupled to a communication network and comprising: a processor for executing instructions; and a memory storing instructions);
read, from a symbol attached to a managed object, first identification information represented by the symbol (Willis on [col 5 line 19-25 and col 6 line 35-40] teaches mobile device (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) that has an appropriate application running on it, to capture, by scanning of barcodes (i.e., symbol in instant case interpreted in view of [0018] of spec), the IDs (i.e., first identification information) of the new sensors and the hub. The IDs can be communicated from the mobile device to the pairing server. See on [col 9 line 10-25] teaches the mobile device 308 may first capture the ID of the desired hub by, for example scanning a barcode of the hub. See on [col 10 line 20-30] teaches The IDs may be captured using a scanner or camera of the configuration device to read a bar code or similar optical encoding or may use a NFC reader to read an NFC tag. The barcodes or NFC tags may be printed or formed on the devices, or the barcodes or tags may be placed in the vicinity of the devices. Once the device IDs are captured, the IDs, including the hub ID and sensor ID, are transmitted to a configuration server);
transmit a request including the first identification information (Willis on [col 5 line 19-25] teaches mobile device (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) that has an appropriate application running on it, to capture, by scanning of barcodes (i.e., symbol in instant case interpreted in view of [0018] of spec), the IDs (i.e., first identification information) of the new sensors and the hub. The IDs can be communicated from the mobile device to the pairing server (i.e., request including first identification information). See on [col 9 line 36-50] teaches transmitting pairing request to server including IDs. See on [col 10 line 20-30] teaches The IDs may be captured using a scanner or camera of the configuration device to read a bar code or similar optical encoding or may use a NFC reader to read an NFC tag. The barcodes or NFC tags may be printed or formed on the devices, or the barcodes or tags may be placed in the vicinity of the devices. Once the device IDs are captured, the IDs, including the hub ID and sensor ID, are transmitted to a configuration server);
and receive a response (Willis on [col 10 line 39-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., response) back to configuration server 314. The configuration server may then communicate the configuration results back to the mobile device 308);
and wherein the trail provision apparatus includes: at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions stored in the trail provision apparatus to: (Willis on [col 2 line 1-45] teaches a system for establishing connections between devices, the system comprising a mobile communication device .e., trail acquisition apparatus) comprising: a long range RF communication radio; an ID scanner; a processor for executing instructions; and a memory storing instructions; and a server (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) coupled to a communication network and comprising: a processor for executing instructions; and a memory storing instructions);
receive the request (Willis on [col 5 line 19-25] teaches mobile device (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) that has an appropriate application running on it, to capture, by scanning of barcodes (i.e., symbol in instant case interpreted in view of [0018] of spec), the IDs (i.e., first identification information) of the new sensors and the hub. The IDs can be communicated from the mobile device to the pairing server (i.e., request including first identification information). See on [col 9 line 36-50] teaches transmitting pairing request to server (i.e., trail provision apparatus) including IDs. See on [col 10 line 20-30] teaches the IDs may be captured using a scanner or camera of the configuration device to read a bar code or similar optical encoding or may use a NFC reader to read an NFC tag. The barcodes or NFC tags may be printed or formed on the devices, or the barcodes or tags may be placed in the vicinity of the devices. Once the device IDs are captured, the IDs, including the hub ID and sensor ID, are transmitted to a configuration server (i.e., trail provision apparatus));
determine whether the first identification information included in the request matches second identification information stored in the trail provision apparatus (Willis on [col 7 line 35-42] teaches once the IDs are received the pairing server 126 may identify the hub ID, either based on received data associated with the ID such as a tag indicating that the ID is a hub ID (i.e., matching first identification information with second identification information), based on stored data associated with the ID, or based on the format of the ID matching an expected hub ID format. Once the hub ID is identified, it is used to determine communication details for communicating with the particular hub. See on [col 7 line 62-67 and col 8 line 1-5] teaches once the IDs are received the pairing server 126 may identify the hub ID, either based on received data associated with the ID such as a tag indicating that the ID is a hub ID, based on stored data associated with the ID, (i.e., matching first identification information with second identification information), or based on the format of the ID matching an expected hub ID format. Once the hub ID is identified, it is used to determine communication details for communicating with the particular hub);
and transmit, when the first identification information matches the second identification information, the response including trail information stored in the trail provision apparatus or the response including a hash value of the trail information (Willis on [col 10 line 38-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., trail information) back to configuration server. See on [col 10 line 39-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., response) back to configuration server 314. The configuration server may then communicate the configuration results back to the mobile device 308);
wherein the trail provision apparatus is the managed object, or the trail provision apparatus is provided inside the managed object (Willis on [col 11 line 46-50] teaches the hub 538 may have a barcode 540 or other object, such as an NFC tag, for encoding the unique ID of the hub and allow the ID to be captured by the mobile device 502).
Although Willis teaches communication using radio signal, but fails to explicitly teach measuring the intensity of radio signal, however ITO from analogous art teaches
determine an authenticity of the response based on a radio wave intensity associated with the response (ITO on [0058-0059] teaches when the first communication unit 420 receives a response radio wave including the same reader/writer identification information as the reader/writer identification information stored in the storage unit 410, the reception intensity comparison unit 430 starts comparison (S402 in FIG. 10). The reception intensity comparison unit 430 compares whether or not the reception intensity included in the response radio wave received by the first communication unit 420 is equal to or greater than the first detection threshold stored in the storage unit 410)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of ITO into the teaching of Willis by determining an authenticity of the response based on a radio wave intensity associated with the response. One would be motivated to do so in order to accurately detect movement/location of device within detection area based on detecting change in the intensity level of radio wave signal and to determine authenticity of response signal based on intensity level of signal (ITO [0002-0003]).
Regarding claim 6 Willis teaches a trail collection method executed by a trail provision apparatus and a trail acquisition apparatus, comprising: (Willis on [col 3 line 50-55] teaches a method of establishing connections between a hub device and one or more peripheral devices);
the trail acquisition apparatus reads, from a symbol attached to a managed object, first identification information represented by the symbol (Willis on [col 5 line 19-25 and col 6 line 35-40] teaches mobile device (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) that has an appropriate application running on it, to capture, by scanning of barcodes (i.e., symbol in instant case interpreted in view of [0018] of spec), the IDs (i.e., first identification information) of the new sensors and the hub. The IDs can be communicated from the mobile device to the pairing server. See on [col 9 line 10-25] teaches the mobile device 308 may first capture the ID of the desired hub by, for example scanning a barcode of the hub. See on [col 10 line 20-30] teaches The IDs may be captured using a scanner or camera of the configuration device to read a bar code or similar optical encoding or may use a NFC reader to read an NFC tag. The barcodes or NFC tags may be printed or formed on the devices, or the barcodes or tags may be placed in the vicinity of the devices. Once the device IDs are captured, the IDs, including the hub ID and sensor ID, are transmitted to a configuration server);
the trail acquisition apparatus transmits a request including the first identification information (Willis on [col 5 line 19-25] teaches mobile device (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) that has an appropriate application running on it, to capture, by scanning of barcodes (i.e., symbol in instant case interpreted in view of [0018] of spec), the IDs (i.e., first identification information) of the new sensors and the hub. The IDs can be communicated from the mobile device to the pairing server (i.e., request including first identification information). See on [col 9 line 36-50] teaches transmitting pairing request to server including IDs. See on [col 10 line 20-30] teaches The IDs may be captured using a scanner or camera of the configuration device to read a bar code or similar optical encoding or may use a NFC reader to read an NFC tag. The barcodes or NFC tags may be printed or formed on the devices, or the barcodes or tags may be placed in the vicinity of the devices. Once the device IDs are captured, the IDs, including the hub ID and sensor ID, are transmitted to a configuration server);
the trail provision apparatus receives the request (Willis on [col 5 line 19-25] teaches mobile device (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) that has an appropriate application running on it, to capture, by scanning of barcodes (i.e., symbol in instant case interpreted in view of [0018] of spec), the IDs (i.e., first identification information) of the new sensors and the hub. The IDs can be communicated from the mobile device to the pairing server (i.e., request including first identification information). See on [col 9 line 36-50] teaches transmitting pairing request to server including IDs. See on [col 10 line 20-30] teaches The IDs may be captured using a scanner or camera of the configuration device to read a bar code or similar optical encoding or may use a NFC reader to read an NFC tag. The barcodes or NFC tags may be printed or formed on the devices, or the barcodes or tags may be placed in the vicinity of the devices. Once the device IDs are captured, the IDs, including the hub ID and sensor ID, are transmitted to a configuration server);
the trail provision apparatus determines whether the first identification information included in the request matches second identification information stored in the trail provision apparatus (Willis on [col 7 line 35-42] teaches once the IDs are received the pairing server 126 may identify the hub ID, either based on received data associated with the ID such as a tag indicating that the ID is a hub ID (i.e., matching first identification information with second identification information), based on stored data associated with the ID, or based on the format of the ID matching an expected hub ID format. Once the hub ID is identified, it is used to determine communication details for communicating with the particular hub. See on [col 7 line 62-67 and col 8 line 1-5] teaches once the IDs are received the pairing server 126 may identify the hub ID, either based on received data associated with the ID such as a tag indicating that the ID is a hub ID, based on stored data associated with the ID, (i.e., matching first identification information with second identification information), or based on the format of the ID matching an expected hub ID format. Once the hub ID is identified, it is used to determine communication details for communicating with the particular hub);
the trail provision apparatus, transmits, when the first identification information matches the second identification information, a response including trail information stored in the trail provision apparatus or a response including a hash value of the trail information (Willis on [col 10 line 38-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., trail information) back to configuration server. See on [col 10 line 39-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., response) back to configuration server 314. The configuration server may then communicate the configuration results back to the mobile device 308);
and the trail acquisition apparatus receives the response (Willis on [col 10 line 39-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., response) back to configuration server 314. The configuration server may then communicate the configuration results back to the mobile device 308).
wherein the trail provision apparatus is the managed object, or the trail provision apparatus is provided inside the managed object (Willis on [col 11 line 46-50] teaches the hub 538 may have a barcode 540 or other object, such as an NFC tag, for encoding the unique ID of the hub and allow the ID to be captured by the mobile device 502).
Although Willis teaches communication using radio signal, but fails to explicitly teach measuring the intensity of radio signal, however ITO from analogous art teaches
the train acquisition apparatus determines an authenticity of the response based on a radio wave intensity associated with the response (ITO on [0058-0059] teaches when the first communication unit 420 receives a response radio wave including the same reader/writer identification information as the reader/writer identification information stored in the storage unit 410, the reception intensity comparison unit 430 starts comparison (S402 in FIG. 10). The reception intensity comparison unit 430 compares whether or not the reception intensity included in the response radio wave received by the first communication unit 420 is equal to or greater than the first detection threshold stored in the storage unit 410).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of ITO into the teaching of Willis by determining an authenticity of the response based on a radio wave intensity associated with the response. One would be motivated to do so in order to accurately detect movement/location of device within detection area based on detecting change in the intensity level of radio wave signal and to determine authenticity of response signal based on intensity level of signal (ITO [0002-0003]).
Regarding claim 11 Willis teaches a trail provision apparatus comprising: at least one memory that is configured to store instructions; (Willis on [col 2 line 1-45] teaches a system for establishing connections between devices, the system comprising a server (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) coupled to a communication network and comprising: a processor for executing instructions; and a memory storing instructions);
and at least one processor that is configured to execute the instructions to: (Willis on [col 2 line 1-45] teaches a system for establishing connections between devices, the system comprising a server (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) coupled to a communication network and comprising: a processor for executing instructions; and a memory storing instructions);
receive a request including first identification information that is read from a symbol attached to a managed object (Willis on [col 5 line 19-25 and col 6 line 35-40] teaches mobile device (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) that has an appropriate application running on it, to capture, by scanning of barcodes (i.e., symbol in instant case interpreted in view of [0018] of spec), the IDs (i.e., first identification information) of the new sensors and the hub. The IDs can be communicated from the mobile device to the pairing server. See on [col 9 line 10-25] teaches the mobile device 308 may first capture the ID of the desired hub by, for example scanning a barcode of the hub. See on [col 10 line 20-30] teaches The IDs may be captured using a scanner or camera of the configuration device to read a bar code or similar optical encoding or may use a NFC reader to read an NFC tag. The barcodes or NFC tags may be printed or formed on the devices, or the barcodes or tags may be placed in the vicinity of the devices. Once the device IDs are captured, the IDs, including the hub ID and sensor ID, are transmitted to a configuration server);
determine whether the first identification information included in the request matches second identification information stored in the trail provision apparatus (Willis on [col 7 line 35-42] teaches once the IDs are received the pairing server 126 may identify the hub ID, either based on received data associated with the ID such as a tag indicating that the ID is a hub ID (i.e., matching first identification information with second identification information), based on stored data associated with the ID, or based on the format of the ID matching an expected hub ID format. Once the hub ID is identified, it is used to determine communication details for communicating with the particular hub. See on [col 7 line 62-67 and col 8 line 1-5] teaches once the IDs are received the pairing server 126 may identify the hub ID, either based on received data associated with the ID such as a tag indicating that the ID is a hub ID, based on stored data associated with the ID, (i.e., matching first identification information with second identification information), or based on the format of the ID matching an expected hub ID format. Once the hub ID is identified, it is used to determine communication details for communicating with the particular hub);
and transmit, when the first identification information matches the second identification information, a response including trail information stored in the trail provision apparatus or a response including a hash value of the trail information (Willis on [col 10 line 38-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., trail information) back to configuration server. See on [col 10 line 39-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., response) back to configuration server 314. The configuration server may then communicate the configuration results back to the mobile device 308).
wherein the trail provision apparatus is the managed object, or the trail provision apparatus is provided inside the managed object (Willis on [col 11 line 46-50] teaches the hub 538 may have a barcode 540 or other object, such as an NFC tag, for encoding the unique ID of the hub and allow the ID to be captured by the mobile device 502).
Although Willis teaches communication using radio signal, but fails to explicitly teach measuring the intensity of radio signal, however ITO from analogous art teaches
determine an authenticity of the response based on a radio wave intensity associated with the response (ITO on [0058-0059] teaches when the first communication unit 420 receives a response radio wave including the same reader/writer identification information as the reader/writer identification information stored in the storage unit 410, the reception intensity comparison unit 430 starts comparison (S402 in FIG. 10). The reception intensity comparison unit 430 compares whether or not the reception intensity included in the response radio wave received by the first communication unit 420 is equal to or greater than the first detection threshold stored in the storage unit 410)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of ITO into the teaching of Willis by determining an authenticity of the response based on a radio wave intensity associated with the response. One would be motivated to do so in order to accurately detect movement/location of device within detection area based on detecting change in the intensity level of radio wave signal and to determine authenticity of response signal based on intensity level of signal (ITO [0002-0003]).
Regarding claim 15 Willis teaches a trail provision method executed by a computer, comprising: (Willis on [col 3 line 50-55] teaches a method of establishing connections between a hub device and one or more peripheral devices);
receiving a request including first identification information that is read from a symbol attached to a managed object (Willis on [col 5 line 19-25 and col 6 line 35-40] teaches mobile device (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) that has an appropriate application running on it, to capture, by scanning of barcodes (i.e., symbol in instant case interpreted in view of [0018] of spec), the IDs (i.e., first identification information) of the new sensors and the hub. The IDs can be communicated from the mobile device to the pairing server. See on [col 9 line 10-25] teaches the mobile device 308 may first capture the ID of the desired hub by, for example scanning a barcode of the hub. See on [col 10 line 20-30] teaches The IDs may be captured using a scanner or camera of the configuration device to read a bar code or similar optical encoding or may use a NFC reader to read an NFC tag. The barcodes or NFC tags may be printed or formed on the devices, or the barcodes or tags may be placed in the vicinity of the devices. Once the device IDs are captured, the IDs, including the hub ID and sensor ID, are transmitted to a configuration server);
determining whether the first identification information included in the request matches second identification information stored in the computer (Willis on [col 7 line 35-42] teaches once the IDs are received the pairing server 126 may identify the hub ID, either based on received data associated with the ID such as a tag indicating that the ID is a hub ID (i.e., matching first identification information with second identification information), based on stored data associated with the ID, or based on the format of the ID matching an expected hub ID format. Once the hub ID is identified, it is used to determine communication details for communicating with the particular hub. See on [col 7 line 62-67 and col 8 line 1-5] teaches once the IDs are received the pairing server 126 may identify the hub ID, either based on received data associated with the ID such as a tag indicating that the ID is a hub ID, based on stored data associated with the ID, (i.e., matching first identification information with second identification information), or based on the format of the ID matching an expected hub ID format. Once the hub ID is identified, it is used to determine communication details for communicating with the particular hub);
and a transmitting, when the first identification information matches the second identification information, a response including trail information stored in the computer or a response including a hash value of the trail information (Willis on [col 10 line 38-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., trail information) back to configuration server. See on [col 10 line 39-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., response) back to configuration server 314. The configuration server may then communicate the configuration results back to the mobile device 308);
wherein the trail provision apparatus is the managed object, or the trail provision apparatus is provided inside the managed object (Willis on [col 11 line 46-50] teaches the hub 538 may have a barcode 540 or other object, such as an NFC tag, for encoding the unique ID of the hub and allow the ID to be captured by the mobile device 502).
Although Willis teaches communication using radio signal, but fails to explicitly teach measuring the intensity of radio signal, however ITO from analogous art teaches
determine an authenticity of the response based on a radio wave intensity associated with the response (ITO on [0058-0059] teaches when the first communication unit 420 receives a response radio wave including the same reader/writer identification information as the reader/writer identification information stored in the storage unit 410, the reception intensity comparison unit 430 starts comparison (S402 in FIG. 10). The reception intensity comparison unit 430 compares whether or not the reception intensity included in the response radio wave received by the first communication unit 420 is equal to or greater than the first detection threshold stored in the storage unit 410)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of ITO into the teaching of Willis by determining an authenticity of the response based on a radio wave intensity associated with the response. One would be motivated to do so in order to accurately detect movement/location of device within detection area based on detecting change in the intensity level of radio wave signal and to determine authenticity of response signal based on intensity level of signal (ITO [0002-0003]).
Regarding claim 19 Willis teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a program causing a computer to execute: (Willis on [col 12 line 45-55] teaches a machine-readable medium e.g., a non-transitory computer readable medium, including machine executable instructions executed by processor);
receiving a request including first identification information that is read from a symbol attached to a managed object (Willis on [col 5 line 19-25 and col 6 line 35-40] teaches mobile device (i.e., trail acquisition apparatus) that has an appropriate application running on it, to capture, by scanning of barcodes (i.e., symbol in instant case interpreted in view of [0018] of spec), the IDs (i.e., first identification information) of the new sensors and the hub. The IDs can be communicated from the mobile device to the pairing server. See on [col 9 line 10-25] teaches the mobile device 308 may first capture the ID of the desired hub by, for example scanning a barcode of the hub. See on [col 10 line 20-30] teaches The IDs may be captured using a scanner or camera of the configuration device to read a bar code or similar optical encoding or may use a NFC reader to read an NFC tag. The barcodes or NFC tags may be printed or formed on the devices, or the barcodes or tags may be placed in the vicinity of the devices. Once the device IDs are captured, the IDs, including the hub ID and sensor ID, are transmitted to a configuration server);
determining whether the first identification information included in the request matches second identification information stored in the computer (Willis on [col 7 line 35-42] teaches once the IDs are received the pairing server 126 may identify the hub ID, either based on received data associated with the ID such as a tag indicating that the ID is a hub ID (i.e., matching first identification information with second identification information), based on stored data associated with the ID, or based on the format of the ID matching an expected hub ID format. Once the hub ID is identified, it is used to determine communication details for communicating with the particular hub. See on [col 7 line 62-67 and col 8 line 1-5] teaches once the IDs are received the pairing server 126 may identify the hub ID, either based on received data associated with the ID such as a tag indicating that the ID is a hub ID, based on stored data associated with the ID, (i.e., matching first identification information with second identification information), or based on the format of the ID matching an expected hub ID format. Once the hub ID is identified, it is used to determine communication details for communicating with the particular hub);
and transmitting, when the first identification information matches the second identification information, a response including trail information stored in the computer or a response including a hash value of the trail information (Willis on [col 10 line 38-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., trail information) back to configuration server. See on [col 10 line 39-45] teaches once the pairing process is complete the hub may communicate the configuration results (i.e., response) back to configuration server 314. The configuration server may then communicate the configuration results back to the mobile device 308).
wherein the trail provision apparatus is the managed object, or the trail provision apparatus is provided inside the managed object (Willis on [col 11 line 46-50] teaches the hub 538 may have a barcode 540 or other object, such as an NFC tag, for encoding the unique ID of the hub and allow the ID to be captured by the mobile device 502).
Although Willis teaches communication using radio signal, but fails to explicitly teach measuring the intensity of radio signal, however ITO from analogous art teaches
determine an authenticity of the response based on a radio wave intensity associated with the response (ITO on [0058-0059] teaches when the first communication unit 420 receives a response radio wave including the same reader/writer identification information as the reader/writer identification information stored in the storage unit 410, the reception intensity comparison unit 430 starts comparison (S402 in FIG. 10). The reception intensity comparison unit 430 compares whether or not the reception intensity included in the response radio wave received by the first communication unit 420 is equal to or greater than the first detection threshold stored in the storage unit 410)
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of ITO into the teaching of Willis by determining an authenticity of the response based on a radio wave intensity associated with the response. One would be motivated to do so in order to accurately detect movement/location of device within detection area based on detecting change in the intensity level of radio wave signal and to determine authenticity of response signal based on intensity level of signal (ITO [0002-0003]).
Claims 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 18, 16, 18, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willis et al (hereinafter Willis) (US 10477600) in view of ITO (WO2019186883) and further in view of Androulaki et al (hereinafter Androulaki) (US 20220150073).
Regarding claim 3, 8, 12, 16 and 20 the combination of Willis and ITO teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 6, 11, 15 and 19 respectively, Willis further teaches wherein the at least one processor of the trail acquisition apparatus is configured further to: function as an access point of a wireless local area network (LAN) (Willis on [col 2 line 20-25] teaches and a mobile communication device comprising: a long range RF communication radio);
and transmit connection information to be used for connection to the access point, wherein the at least one processor of the trail provision apparatus is configured further to receive the connection information and connects to the access point by using the connection information, and wherein the request and the response are transmitted via the wireless LAN (Willis on [col 5 line 20-25] teaches mobile device that has an appropriate application running on it, to capture, by scanning of barcodes, the IDs of the new sensors and the hub. The IDs can be communicated from the mobile device to the pairing server, which can then communicate the sensor IDs to the appropriate hub, causing the hub to establish connections with each of the sensors).
Willis teaches establishing connection using cellular network but fails to explicitly teach establishing connection via local area network (LAN), however Androulaki from analogous art teaches establishing connection via local area network (LAN) (Androulaki on [0159] teaches communication can occur via I/O interfaces 924. Still yet, computer system/server 902 can communicate with one or more networks such as a local area network (LAN)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Androulaki into the combined teaching of Willis and ITO by establishing connection between access point and provisioning apparatus using Local Area Network (LAN). One would be motivated to do so in order to establish direct communication between two devices bypassing the need of internet thus enables secure and efficient transfer of data between device (Androulaki [0159]).
Regarding claim 5, 10, 14, 18 and 22 the combination of Willis and ITO teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 6, 11, 15 and 19 respectively, Willis fails to teach generate an electronic signature from the trail information or a hash value of the trail information by using a private key of the trail provision apparatus, and transmit the electronic signature by including the electronic signature in the request, and wherein the at least one processor of the trail acquisition apparatus is configured further to: decrypt the electronic signature included in the request with a public key associated with the first identification information; and determine whether data acquired by the decryption match the trail information or the hash value of the trail information included in the response, however Androulaki from analogous art teaches
wherein the at least one processor of the trail provision apparatus is configured further to: generate an electronic signature from the trail information or a hash value of the trail information by using a private key of the trail provision apparatus (Androulaki on [0052] teaches when an issuer generates a certificate which is encoded and given to a user, the issuer may sign the content of the certificate with their private key. The digital signature may create a hash over the content. See on [0054] teaches the digital signature added to the certificate may be a hash of the certificate content that is subsequently encrypted with the issuer's private key. To verify the digital signature, the verifier 140 may decrypt the digital signature using the retrieved public key to obtain the original hash content created by the issuer);
and transmit the electronic signature by including the electronic signature in the request, and wherein the at least one processor of the trail acquisition apparatus is configured further to: decrypt the electronic signature included in the request with a public key associated with the first identification information; and determine whether data acquired by the decryption match the trail information or the hash value of the trail information included in the response (Androulaki on [0084-0087] teaches the verifier 432 transmits a request for a public key to the blockchain application 404. Here, the request may include the issuer identifier obtained from the scanned QR code. In 443, the blockchain application 404 may retrieve the public key of the issuer from the blockchain ledger 408 based on the issuer identifier received from the blockchain application 404. In 444, the blockchain application 404 may forward the public key to the verifier 432. In 445, the verifier 432 verifies the digital signature of the issuer (created with the issuer's private key) with the public key retrieved from the blockchain ledger 408).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Androulaki into the combined teaching of Willis and ITO by signing the data with private key and validating the signature using public key. One would be motivated to do so in order to validate authenticity of data based on signature validation using public key (Androulaki [0002-0003]).
Claims 4, 9, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Willis et al (hereinafter Willis) (US 10477600) in view of ITO (WO2019186883) and further in view of Rhoads et al (hereinafter Rhoads) (US 20040153649).
Regarding claim 4, 9, 17 and 21 the combination of Willis and ITO teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 6, 11, 15 and 19 respectively, the combination fails to explicitly teach encrypt the request with a public key associated with the first identification information, and wherein the at least one processor of the trail provision apparatus is configured further to decrypt the request with a private key of the trail provision apparatus, however Rhoads from analogous art teaches wherein the at least one processor of the trail acquisition apparatus is configured further to encrypt the request with a public key associated with the first identification information, and wherein the at least one processor of the trail provision apparatus is configured further to decrypt the request with a private key of the trail provision apparatus (Rhoads on [0280-0282] teaches encrypting the request data using public key and decrypting the request data using the private key).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the teaching of Rhoads into the combined teaching of Willis and ITO by encrypting data using public key and decrypting it using private key. One would be motivated to do so in order to secure sensitive data in the request by encrypting the data using public key (Androulaki [0280-0282]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436