DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and accompanying remarks filed March 31, 2026 are acknowledged.
Examiner acknowledges amended claim 1.
The rejection of claim 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagi, WO2020/285343 in view of Uchida et al., JP 2006-150759, as evidenced by Fionov, Lewis acid properties of alumina based catalysts: study by paramagnetic complexes of probe molecules, Surface Science, Volumes 507-510, June 2002, pages 74-81 is overcome by Applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al., JP 2011/031513, as evidenced by Bench Chem, Application Note: Dioctyltin Maleate (DOTM) as a High-Efficiency Cross-Linking Catalyst in Elastomer Synthesis Author: BenchChem Technical Support Team. Date: April 2026.
Regarding claims 1, 4 and 6, Kobayashi discloses a laminate in which chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin and a glass fiber layer are alternately laminated and integrated [0001 and 0013]. Paragraphs 0013 and 0019 discloses that the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin layer can include tin-based stabilizers [sintering promoter] [sintering layer]. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the tin-based stabilizer can include dioctyltin maleate. Bench Chem provides evidence that dioctyltin maleate is a Lewis acid catalyst [see Introduction and Mechanistic overview]. Kobayashi discloses that the layers are integrated. Therefore, the glass fiber layer will include chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin when integrated with the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride layers. Paragraph 0027 of Kobayashi discloses that the tin-based stabilizer is present in the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin in the amount 2.5-5.0 parts by mass.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kobayashi et al., JP 2011/031513, as evidenced by Bench Chem, Application Note: Dioctyltin Maleate (DOTM) as a High-Efficiency Cross-Linking Catalyst in Elastomer Synthesis Author: BenchChem Technical Support Team. Date: April 2026.
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi et al., JP 2011/031513, as evidenced by Bench Chem, Application Note: Dioctyltin Maleate (DOTM) as a High-Efficiency Cross-Linking Catalyst in Elastomer Synthesis Author: BenchChem Technical Support Team. Date: April 2026 teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach the laminate having a rate of change in bending modulus of 99.7% or less after being heated for three seconds with flame caused by ignition of a lithium-ion battery, the rate of change in bending modulus being represented by the following formula (3): (Rate of decrease in bending modulus) = [(Bending modulus before heating) - (Bending modulus after heating)]/(Bending modulus before heating) X 100. It is reasonable to presume that the laminate having a rate of change in bending modulus of 99.7% or less after being heated for three seconds with flame caused by ignition of a lithium-ion battery, the rate of change in bending modulus being represented by the following formula (3): (Rate of decrease in bending modulus) = [(Bending modulus before heating) - (Bending modulus after heating)]/(Bending modulus before heating) X 100 is inherent to Kobayashi et al., JP 2011/031513, as evidenced by Bench Chem, Application Note: Dioctyltin Maleate (DOTM) as a High-Efficiency Cross-Linking Catalyst in Elastomer Synthesis Author: BenchChem Technical Support Team. Date: April 2026. Said presumption is based on Kobayashi disclosing a laminate in which chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin and a glass fiber layer are alternately laminated and integrated [0001 and 0013]. Paragraphs 0013 and 0019 discloses that the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin layer can include tin-based stabilizers. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the tin-based stabilizer can include dioctyltin maleate. Bench Chem provides evidence that dioctyltin maleate is a Lewis acid catalyst [see Introduction and Mechanistic overview]. Kobayashi discloses that the layers are integrated. Therefore, the glass fiber layer will include chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin when integrated with the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride layers. Paragraph 0027 of Kobayashi discloses that the tin-based stabilizer is present in the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin in the amount 2.5-5.0 parts by mass. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise, Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi et al., JP 2011/031513, as evidenced by Bench Chem, Application Note: Dioctyltin Maleate (DOTM) as a High-Efficiency Cross-Linking Catalyst in Elastomer Synthesis Author: BenchChem Technical Support Team. Date: April 2026 teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the base layer has a bending modulus of 10 GPa or greater. It is reasonable to presume that the base layer has a bending modulus of 10 GPa or greater is inherent to Kobayashi et al., JP 2011/031513, as evidenced by Bench Chem, Application Note: Dioctyltin Maleate (DOTM) as a High-Efficiency Cross-Linking Catalyst in Elastomer Synthesis Author: BenchChem Technical Support Team. Date: April 2026. Said presumption is based on Kobayashi disclosing a laminate in which chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin and a glass fiber layer are alternately laminated and integrated [0001 and 0013]. Paragraphs 0013 and 0019 discloses that the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin layer can include tin-based stabilizers. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the tin-based stabilizer can include dioctyltin maleate. Bench Chem provides evidence that dioctyltin maleate is a Lewis acid catalyst [see Introduction and Mechanistic overview]. Kobayashi discloses that the layers are integrated. Therefore, the glass fiber layer will include chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin when integrated with the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride layers. Paragraph 0027 of Kobayashi discloses that the tin-based stabilizer is present in the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin in the amount 2.5-5.0 parts by mass. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise, Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi et al., JP 2011/031513, as evidenced by Bench Chem, Application Note: Dioctyltin Maleate (DOTM) as a High-Efficiency Cross-Linking Catalyst in Elastomer Synthesis Author: BenchChem Technical Support Team. Date: April 2026 teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the resin has a loss on heating at 400 ºC of 30 to 80% by mass. It is reasonable to presume that the resin has a loss on heating at 400 ºC of 30 to 80% by mass is inherent to Kobayashi et al., JP 2011/031513, as evidenced by Bench Chem, Application Note: Dioctyltin Maleate (DOTM) as a High-Efficiency Cross-Linking Catalyst in Elastomer Synthesis Author: BenchChem Technical Support Team. Date: April 2026. Said presumption is based on Kobayashi disclosing a laminate in which chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin and a glass fiber layer are alternately laminated and integrated [0001 and 0013]. Paragraphs 0013 and 0019 discloses that the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin layer can include tin-based stabilizers. Paragraph 0026 discloses that the tin-based stabilizer can include dioctyltin maleate. Bench Chem provides evidence that dioctyltin maleate is a Lewis acid catalyst [see Introduction and Mechanistic overview]. Kobayashi discloses that the layers are integrated. Therefore, the glass fiber layer will include chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin when integrated with the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride layers. Paragraph 0027 of Kobayashi discloses that the tin-based stabilizer is present in the chlorinated polyvinyl chloride resin in the amount 2.5-5.0 parts by mass. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise, Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the present claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786