DETAILED ACTION
Y The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Status of Claims
This office action is made in response to Applicant’s remarks filed on 12/8/2025. Claims 1-6 have been amended. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments regarding Examiner's rejections under 35 USC 112 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph have been entered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Examiner's rejections under 35 USC 102 have been considered but are not persuasive. Therefore, these rejections are maintained.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant asserts that the cited prior art does not teach that language of the claim, because Ueno does not disclose that “the functioning state … displayed by the working machine display section includes display of a working machine state related to a state of an opening and closing part comprised in the working machine” (Remarks at pg. 8). Examiner, however, respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s language is considerably broad, reciting in particular “display of a working machine state related to a state of an opening and closing part comprised in the working machine.” Furthermore, Ueno clearly teaches this limitation regarding the stored/unstored state of a work implement by displaying a warning message (see e.g. at least ¶ 67, reciting “by displaying the warning message 96, the operator can realize that they have forgotten to store the work implement 3”; see also e.g. ¶ 87, reciting “the control device 50 displays information regarding the switching of the work implement 3 from the used state to the stored state on the sub-display 37. This makes it possible to remind the operator that they have forgotten to store the work implement 3”, see also e.g. at least ¶ 46, 57, Fig. 5, and related text, describing the working implement 3 configured to be open and closable for operation in an operating state or stored in a stored state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites: “The display device according to claim 1, wherein the opening and closing part of the working machine includes multiple opening and closing parts, and the plurality of screen display sections further comprise:
a selectable working machine operation display section in an upper, lower, left or right region of the screen, the working machine operation display section including at least one of:
a user selectable on-screen locked state operation element to select and set a locked state or a released state of opening and closing of the opening and closing part,
a user selectable on-screen opening and closing part selection and operation element to select an opening and closing part to be opened or closed among the multiple opening and closing parts, and
a user selectable on-screen opening and closing operation element to open and close the selected opening and closing part.”
This language is vague and indefinite for at least the following reasons:
Intended Use: The claim contains the following language that is vague and indefinite as it is unclear whether the scope of this language is intended to affirmatively require specific performance or whether this language is deliberately articulated as an expression of intended use:
“a user selectable on-screen locked state operation element to select and set a locked state or a released state of opening and closing of the opening and closing part,”
“a user selectable on-screen opening and closing part selection and operation element to select an opening and closing part to be opened or closed among the multiple opening and closing parts,”
“a user selectable on-screen opening and closing operation element to open and close the selected opening and closing part”
Accordingly, this language does not serve to patentably distinguish the claimed structure over that of the reference. See In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641; In re Yanush, 177 USPQ 705; In re Finsterwalder, 168 USPQ 530; In re Casey, 512 USPQ 235; In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458; Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2nd 1647.
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
“The display device according to claim 1, wherein the opening and closing part of the working machine includes multiple opening and closing parts, and the plurality of screen display sections further comprise:
a selectable working machine operation display section in an upper, lower, left or right region of the screen, the working machine operation display section including at least one of:
a user selectable on-screen locked state operation element [intended to select and set a locked state or a released state of opening and closing of the opening and closing part],
a user selectable on-screen opening and closing part selection and operation element [intended to select an opening and closing part [intended to be opened or closed among the multiple opening and closing parts]], and
a user selectable on-screen opening and closing operation element [intended to open and close the selected opening and closing part].”
Claim 6 recites: “A display device, comprising:
a screen that displays various kinds of information related to a working machine with an opening and closing part and a pressed part, wherein the working machine is coupled to a tractor;
a plurality of non-overlapping display sections, the plurality of non-overlapping display regions comprising:
a working machine display section that displays a functioning state of the working machine in a first region comprising a central portion of the screen;
a depth display section that displays a working depth of the working machine in a second region on a left or a right of the working machine display section;
a work type display section that displays a type of a work done by the working machine in a third region on the right or the left of the working machine display section, the third region being distinct from the second region;
a tilt display section that displays a tilt of the working machine in a fourth region above or below the working machine display section;
a working machine operation unit that operates the working machine in fifth region below or above the working machine display section the fifth region being distinct from the fourth region;
a pressed state display section that displays a pressed state of pressed part of the working machine in a sixth distinct region obliquely below or above the working machine display section; and
a controller that controls each of the display sections.”
This language is vague and indefinite for at least the following reasons:
Antecedent Basis: The following term(s) lack(s) proper antecedent basis:
“the plurality of non-overlapping display regions”
Generally Unclear: The expression “a working machine operation unit that operates the working machine in fifth region below or above the working machine display section the fifth region being distinct from the fourth region” as used in the claim is vague and indefinite and leaves the reader in doubt as to the meaning of the technical features to which it refers, thereby rendering the definition and scope of the subject-matter of said claim unclear. Namely, it is unclear what is intended by the Applicant by the introduction of “the working machine operation unit” and what the intended purpose of this unit is directed to. In other words, it is unclear if the working machine operation unit is a processor that is intended to control the working machine, or if this term is intended to be directed to an area of a display, and if so, what this area of the display is intended to be characterized by.
Grammatically Unclear: The language of the claim is grammatically unclear as the language is missing articles. Namely, the claim recites:
“a working machine operation unit that operates the working machine in fifth region below or above the working machine display section the fifth region being distinct from the fourth region;
a pressed state display section that displays a pressed state of pressed part of the working machine in a sixth distinct region obliquely below or above the working machine display section”
Although the following language does not necessarily cure the issues discussed above, for purposes of examination under 35 USC 102 and 103, Examiner will interpret this language as reading:
“A display device, comprising:
a screen that displays various kinds of information related to a working machine with an opening and closing part and a pressed part, wherein the working machine is coupled to a tractor;
a plurality of non-overlapping display sections, the plurality of non-overlapping display sections comprising:
a working machine display section that displays a functioning state of the working machine in a first region comprising a central portion of the screen;
a depth display section that displays a working depth of the working machine in a second region on a left or a right of the working machine display section;
a work type display section that displays a type of a work done by the working machine in a third region on the right or the left of the working machine display section, the third region being distinct from the second region;
a tilt display section that displays a tilt of the working machine in a fourth region above or below the working machine display section;
a working machine operation section [that is intended to be used to operate ] in a fifth region below or above the working machine display section the fifth region being distinct from the fourth region;
a pressed state display section that displays a pressed state of a pressed part of the working machine in a sixth distinct region obliquely below or above the working machine display section; and
a controller that controls each of the display sections.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueno (JP 2020-0156389 A. For purposes of this examination, Examiner will refer to the English language translation of this reference provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Ueno discloses a display device (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 1, 6, and related text) comprising:
a screen that displays various kinds of information related to a working machine coupled to a tractor on a plurality of screen display sections (e.g. at least display 37, 91, see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 57-64, Fig. 1, 6, and related text), the plurality of screen display sections comprising:
a working machine display section that displays a functioning state of the working machine on the screen (id.);
a depth display section that displays a working depth of the working machine in a region on left or right of the working machine display section (e.g. at least depth meter 94, id.);
a tilt display section that displays a tilt of the working machine in a region above or below the working machine display section (e.g. at least inclination meter 92, id.); and
a controller that controls each of the plurality of display sections (e.g. at least control device 50, id.);
wherein, the functioning state of the working machine displayed in the working machine display section includes display of a working machine state related to a state of an opening and closing part comprised in the working machine (see e.g. at least ¶ 67, reciting “by displaying the warning message 96, the operator can realize that they have forgotten to store the work implement 3”; see also e.g. ¶ 87, reciting “the control device 50 displays information regarding the switching of the work implement 3 from the used state to the stored state on the sub-display 37. This makes it possible to remind the operator that they have forgotten to store the work implement 3”, see also e.g. at least ¶ 46, 57, Fig. 5, and related text, describing the working implement 3 configured to be open and closable for operation in an operating state or stored in a stored state)
Regarding claim 2, Ueno discloses that the display of the working machine state related to the state of the opening and closing part includes display of at least one of: a working machine opened state where the opening and closing part is opened, a working machine partially opened or closed state when the opening and closing part is in a process of being opened or closed, and a working machine closed state where the opening and closing part is closed (see e.g. at least ¶ 46, 57, 67, 87, Fig. 5, and related text).
Regarding claim 3, Ueno discloses a work type display section that displays a type of a work done by the working machine in another region on a left side or a right side of the depth display section (see e.g. at least ¶ 23, 51-55, 67, Fig. 1, 3, and related text).
Regarding claim 4, Ueno discloses a display device (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 1, 6, and related text) comprising:
a screen that displays various kinds of information related to a working machine coupled to a tractor on a plurality of screen display sections (e.g. at least display 37, 91, see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 57-64, Fig. 1, 6, and related text), the plurality of screen display sections comprising:
a working machine display section that displays a functioning state of the working machine on the screen (id.);
a depth display section that displays a working depth of the working machine in a region on left or right of the working machine display section (e.g. at least depth meter 94, id.);
a tilt display section that displays a tilt of the working machine in a region above or below the working machine display section (e.g. at least inclination meter 92, id.); and
a controller that controls each of the plurality of display sections (e.g. at least control device 50, id.);
wherein, the functioning state of the working machine displayed on the working machine display section includes a pressed state display section that displays a pressed state reflecting a state of a pressed portion comprised in the working machine, when a selectable element of the working machine display section corresponding to the pressed portion is selected (see e.g. at least ¶ 23, 42, 46, 51-55, 67, Fig. 1, 3, and related text).
Regarding claim 5, Ueno discloses that the opening and closing part of the working machine includes multiple opening and closing parts (see e.g. at least ¶ 46, 50, 57-64, Fig. 3, 6, and related text), and the plurality of screen display sections further comprise:
a selectable working machine operation display section in an upper, lower, left or right region of the screen (id., see also e.g. at least ¶ 23, 51-55, 67), the working machine operation display section including at least one of:
a user selectable on-screen locked state operation element [intended to select and set a locked state or a released state of opening and closing of the opening and closing part] (id.),
a user selectable on-screen opening and closing part selection and operation element [intended to select an opening and closing part [intended to be opened or closed among the multiple opening and closing parts]] (id.), and
a user selectable on-screen opening and closing operation element [intended to open and close the selected opening and closing part] (id.).
Regarding claim 6, Ueno discloses a display device (see e.g. at least Abstract, Fig. 1, 6, and related text) comprising:
a screen that displays various kinds of information related to a working machine with an opening and closing part and a pressed part, wherein the working machine is coupled to a tractor (e.g. at least display 37, 91, see e.g. at least Abstract, ¶ 23, 42, 46, 51-55, 67, Fig. 1, 3, 6, and related text);
a plurality of non-overlapping display sections (see e.g. at least Fig. 6, and related text), the plurality of non-overlapping display sections comprising:
a working machine display section that displays a functioning state of the working machine in a first region comprising a central portion of the screen (see e.g. at least ¶ 57-64, Fig. 1, 6, and related text);
a depth display section that displays a working depth of the working machine in a second region on a left or a right of the working machine display section (e.g. at least depth meter 94, id.);
a work type display section that displays a type of a work done by the working machine in a third region on the right or the left of the working machine display section, the third region being distinct from the second region (see e.g. at least ¶ 23, 51-55, 67, Fig. 1, 3, and related text);
a tilt display section that displays a tilt of the working machine in a fourth region above or below the working machine display section (e.g. at least inclination meter 92, see e.g. at least ¶ 57-64, Fig. 1, 6, and related text);
a working machine operation section [that is intended to be used to operate the working machine] in a fifth region below or above the working machine display section the fifth region being distinct from the fourth region (see e.g. at least Fig. 6, and related text);
a pressed state display section that displays a pressed state of a pressed part of the working machine in a sixth distinct region obliquely below or above the working machine display section (see e.g. at least ¶ 23, 42, 46, 51-55, 67, Fig. 1, 3, and related text); and
a controller that controls each of the display sections (e.g. at least control device 50, see e.g. at least ¶ 57-64, Fig. 1, 6, and related text).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES J HAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662