DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed c, with a request for continued examination filed 09/02/2026.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 20-23, 26-28, 37, 40, 42, 45, 46, 68, 70, 71, 77, and 90 are pending.
Claims 1, 21, 26, 37, 40, and 90 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 09/02/2026 have been fully considered but the newly amended limitations have changed the scope of the claims. Applicant's amendment necessitated new citations to the amended limitations and a re-interpretation of the cited prior art based on the new scope, but a short response to Applicants arguments will be provided here to supplement the newly cited limitations that follow.
Applicant’s arguments are primarily focused on that the applied prior art does not teach “identifying a stimulus context pertinent to at least one target personnel that is presently at the interaction zone and/or that is projected to be in the interaction zone at a projected future time, wherein the stimulus context is a selected one of a plurality of stimulus contexts based at least in part on an identification of the at least one target personnel, and individual preference of the identified at least one target personnel; obtaining contextual data relating to the stimulus context, the contextual data being obtained from a contextual database after identifying the stimulus context;”
In support of said argument, Applicant states on pages 7 to 9 of the arguments that:
…
…
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that Cao teaches a ““Selection of a subset of advertising content” but does not specifically teach selecting a particular one of “indirect visual, audio, olfactory, palatal or tactile presentation of advertising content, much less based on identity.” However, as the claims have been amended, the selection is for a so-called “stimulus context” not for a so-called “stimulus type” based on of identity. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, a stimulus context can be interpreted as a specific content/context used in some form of intent for stimulation. For example, in the context of advertising or messaging, the information/data of a specific product or category provides a product context that has the aim of stimulating a person, for example to stimulate consideration of a specific category of information, a product, or a purchase. Viewed in this manner, Sjolund is concerned with determining specific target content in the context of specified retail products or categories, and presenting said content in a devices with some known types of presentation forms that can stimulate the senses and for the implicated purpose of stimulating the behaviors and thoughts previously mentioned (see p94-P95, P85-86, 94-96, 78-79, P92-94, Sjolund). Cao, also teaches targeted advertising, and further teaches identifying an individual so as to access or determine information that can include preferences. This information can be used to further tailor the advertising content, such as by selecting a specific product/category (i.e. stimulus context) over another, with the implication of stimulating a consideration or purchase from the individual. Cao provides at least one example of regarding subsets of advertising content being selected and a specific subset among many other advertising subsets, such as red pillow case product context being selected based on an identified individual and a determined preference of the individual (see p73-74, 76, p38, p59, p56-P57, p46,p44, 42, 46, 35, 32-33, 48, 59, Cao). Once a specified advertising context is determined by both Sjolund and Cao, the obvious next step is to access the actual content data in a database or data store for presentation in a device capable of presenting the content data in an intended form. Therefore, the desired retail advertising product/category context data is necessarily obtained after identifying what advertising stimulus context is to be used. As such, the combination of Sjolund and Cao meet the claim language, and claim limitations. It is also noted that Cao, in any case, also teaches further types of sensory presentation stimuli and can decide which advertising context is appropriate for use in a specific presentation stimulus and in consideration of identified individuals (see at least p43, Cao).
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 20-22, 26-28, 37, 40, 42, 45, 46, 77, and 90 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Publication No. 2016/0171547 to Sjolund et al., (hereinafter Sjolund), in view of US Patent Publication No. 2012/0265616 to Cao et al., (hereinafter Cao).
Regarding claim 1, Sjolund teaches a method of engaging at least one target personnel in a facility with a targeted stimulus (At least a target person (e.g. customer) engaged with targeted stimulus (e.g. stimulus as targeted information data through (interactive) interfaces such as visual displays, audio, etc.) in a facility such as a retail building, see Abs., 86, p79, P49, Sjolund), the method comprising:
providing device data to a device database that associates an interactive device disposed in the facility with an interaction zone and with a stimulus type of the interactive device the interactive device being configured to provide the stimulus type to the interaction zone (Data is provided in a database, where the database associates a specified advertisement/product/category data (stimulus context) to a specified zone (i.e. interaction zone) of the retail facility including signage device with stimulus type (i.e. interactive device with types of stimulus such signages with visual, audio, audiovisual, etc., types of stimulus) for conveying specified stimulus information (e.g. advertisement stimulus, etc.), see P95, P92-94, p42-p44, p2, 86, 88, p37, Sjolund);
identifying a stimulus context pertinent to at least one target personnel that is presently at the interaction zone and/or that is projected to be in the interaction zone at a projected future time (A context in which to provide a pertinent stimulus (e.g. a product advertisement) is identified for customers at a zone such as by a path, or that are determined to likely be (i.e. projected) at a zone at specified time, see P85-86, 94-96, 78-79, Sjolund), wherein the stimulus context is a selected one of a plurality of stimulus (An identified product/category stimulus context is selected from among a plurality of product/category context for the purpose of relating the context to a specified interaction zone with stimulus devices, see p94-p95, 86, p79, P88, 85, Sjolund);
obtaining contextual data relating to the stimulus context, the contextual data being obtained from a contextual database after identifying the stimulus context (Database with product/category advertising stimulus context data is obtained after a specified retail product/category context is identified for a zone, see p94-P95, P85-86, 94-96, 78-79, P92-94, Sjolund);
and using the stimulus type of the interactive device to disseminate the contextual data to the interaction zone (A signage device with specified stimulus type capability is used to disseminate the advertising context data in a specified zone so as to present the data content in a type of stimulus it has been produced for, such as visual video, audio, audiovisual, etc.,, see p2, P95, P85-86, 88, 94-96, 78-79, P92-94, Sjolund).
Sjolund does not explicitly teach wherein a selected stimulus context is one of a plurality of stimulus contexts based at least in part on an identification of an at least one target personnel, and individual preference of the identified at least one target personnel;
However, Cao, from the same or similar field of targeted and dynamic advertising, teaches wherein a selected stimulus context is one of a plurality of stimulus contexts based at least in part on an identification of an at least one target personnel, and individual preference of the identified at least one target personnel (Dynamically tailored advertisement content context stimulus (e.g. products, etc.) can be selected from among a plurality of information context based in part on an identified person and a preference related to the identified individual, and content data obtained from a data store for presentation, for example an user can be identified and preferences determined so as to select specific information content such as an advertising content with pillow case product of a selected, see p73-74, 76, p38, p59, p56-P57, p46,p44, 42, 46, 35, 32-33, 48, 59, Cao); Cao also teaches further types of stimulus (Dynamically tailored advertisement context stimulus can be provided/associated to disseminate by many known types of presentation stimuli to an individual, such as by video, audio, olfactory, tactile, etc., see P57, 42, 46, 35, 32-33, 48, 59, Cao)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the targeted stimulus and localization based service as described by Sjolund and incorporating selected context stimulus in part based on identifying a target person and a preference, and incorporating further types of stimulus , as taught by Cao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better present a desired context to that can stimulate a user, such as advertising for purchase stimulation, by better tailoring a selected context in ways that may better appeal and stimulate a target person by identifying the person and considering their preferences in selecting the tailored contest, and to further provide the context content messaging in a chosen stimulus form type among many known forms as desired by an advertiser that may effectively communicate their messaging to a consumer (see p73-74, 76, p38, p59, p56-P57, p46, p2, P57, 42, 46, 35, 32-33, 48, 59, Cao).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein the stimulus type comprises visual, auditory, olfactory, tactile, gustatory, electrical, or magnetic stimulus or a combination thereof (Digital signages at least display advertising stimulus, thus at least visual and electromagnetic stimuli, audio, see p2, 79, 86, P88, 85, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein the stimulus type comprises temperature, gas content of the atmosphere at least in in the interaction zone of the facility, gas flow, gas pressure, electromagnetic radiation, sound, or gas content of the atmosphere, or a combination thereof (Digital signages at least display advertising stimulus, thus at least electromagnetic radiation by virtual of a display either emanating or reflecting electromagnetic radiation (i.e. light received by a customer’s eyes in order to see the displayed content), see 79, 86, P88, 85, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein the stimulus type comprises is accessible and/or perceptible by one or more occupants of the interaction zone (Displayed advertising stimulus for customers, thus at least accessible and perceptible to customers occupying a zone where the signage is located, see 79, 86, P88, 85, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein the one or more occupants comprise the at least one target personnel (Customers are target personnel for advertising, see p85-86, 79, 86, P88, 85, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein the device data includes a designation of the interaction zone (Retail context for a specific context zone, as provided in a database, is an implication of a designated context zone where a specific advertisement will be interacted with by customers, see P95, P92-94, 85-86, 88, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein designation of the interaction zone comprises an identifier of the interactive device, a geographic location of the interactive device, an orientation of the interactive device, or a boundary description of a zone in which the stimulus type is perceptible to the target personnel (Retail context for a specific context zone is a physical designated context zone with boundaries where a specific signage for displaying advertisement stimuli will be interacted with by customers, see p49, 79, 85, Fig. 2, 71, P95, P92-94, 85-86, 88, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein the contextual data is disseminated using the stimulus type from the interactive device, and the stimulus type is recognizable by the at least one target personnel in the interaction zone (Retail context advertising is disseminated using a specified display signage device, where advertising and visual display is recognized by target customers in a zoned designated for displaying the stimuli, see p85-86, p49, 79, 85, Fig. 2, P95, P92-94, 85-86, 88, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein (i) identification of the stimulus context, (ii) obtaining the contextual data, or (iii) identification of the stimulus context and obtaining of the contextual data, is provided by: one or more of a third party, a media outlet, a commercial outlet, a security outlet, a health outlet, an owner, lessor, manager, or messenger of the facility, or a combination thereof (System for targeted stimulus that includes context data identification, obtaining context data, or identification and obtaining context data, can be provided by a commercial facility, owner, third-party, etc., see Fig. 4, p86, p91, p98, abs., 122, 100, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein a location of the target personnel at a projected future time is determined based at least in part on a path projection, on an electronically stored schedule and/or calendar of one or more activities taking place in the facility, on an electronically stored schedule and/or calendar of the at least one target personnel, or a combination thereof (Customer targeted for stimulus at projected times can be determined at least with path projected for customers, a schedule, etc., see abs., p85-86, Sjolund ).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein a location of the at least one target personnel is determined using geolocation data (Customers can be located via data such as triangulation, which can geolocate a customer within a facility by tracking a user device, see p58,62, abs., 57, 52, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein the interactive device disseminates the contextual data as one or more of displayed and/or projected media, projected sound, a projected temperature wherein the stimulus type is thermal, a projected gas, or a combination thereof (A signage disseminates a desired context as a projected visual audio advertisement, see p2, P85-86, 95, 94-96, 78-79, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein: the projected media comprises a message; and the message comprises a commercial message, a health related message, a security related message, an informative message regarding the facility, or an informative message regarding activities in the facility (A signage disseminates a desired context as a projected visual audio advertisement information promo message, see p95, P85-86, 95, 94-96, 78-79, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein the facility comprises an airport, a bank, a hospital, a sport arena, a hotel, a club, a restaurant, a country club, a resort, a mall, a shop, a theater, a transportation terminal, a school, a museum, an office, a gym, a warehouse, a distribution center, or a factory (A premise can be an intended use facility such as a commercial retail facility (e. g. a shop, mall, etc.,), see p2, abs., 48, P85-86, 95, 94-96, 78-79, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 77, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein the stimulus type is a first stimulus type, wherein the method further comprises engaging the at least one target personnel in the interaction zone of the facility with at least one stimulus type different than the first stimulus type (Customers can be presented with different types of stimulus, such as different advertisements, or advertisements, promotions, services, information, etc., see P95-96, p84-85, p3, 79, 39, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 90, Sjolund teaches a method for managing delivery of targeted stimulus from contextual data sources to one or more interactive devices in a facility (Specified contextual advertisement (i.e. targeted stimulus) data/information from data sources is managed for delivery in a specified zone of a retail facility that includes a delivery signage device (i.e. interactive device), is managed for display, see P95, P92-94, 86, 88, Sjolund), comprising: deploying an interactive device in the facility, the interactive device being configured to provide a stimulus type to a plurality of target personnel (A plurality of target people (e.g. customers) engaged with targeted stimulus through types of stimulus such as signages with visual, audio, audiovisual, etc., types of stimulus for conveying specified stimulus information (e.g. advertisement etc., presented with visual display with targeted information) in a facility such as a retail building through a digital signage, thus interactive device is deployed, see Abs., p2, p79, 85-6, P49, P95, P92-94, p42-p44, p2, 86, 88, p37Sjolund); mapping an interaction zone in the facility where the stimulus type is perceptible by the target personnel (A retail interaction zone (interaction zone) with a signage device for displaying information to target customers is within the retail establishment, thus the zone is mapped, see Figs. 2-3, P95, P92-94, 86, 88, Abs., p79, 86, P49, Sjolund); discovering device data that enables remote engagement with at least one interaction capability of the interactive device (Advertising data is determined for an signage device, thus constitutes device data, and can be remote of the signage and uses the visual engagement capabilities of a digital signage, see Fig. 4, p86, 95, 91-95, Sjolund); publishing the device data and a representation of the interaction zone in a database available to a content manager (Data is provided (published) in a database, where the database associates a specified advertisement (stimulus type) to a retail context of a specified zone (i.e. representation of an interaction zone) of the retail facility that includes a signage device (i.e. interactive device) for displaying the specified advertisement, where data is available to a system manager, such as in fig. 4, see 87, P95, P92-94, 86, 88, Fig. 4, Sjolund); and using the database and a stimulus context pertinent to the at least one target personnel that is presently at and/or that is projected to be in the interaction zone at a future time (A context in which to provide a pertinent stimulus (e.g. an advertisement) is identified for customers at a zone such as by a path, or that are determined to likely be (i.e. projected) at a zone at specified time, see P85-86, 94-96, 78-79, Sjolund), to disseminate contextual data to the interaction zone using the interactive device (A specified stimulus type (e.g. specific advertisement) is used for display to disseminate the promotion in a specified retail context zone, thus a signage device with specified stimulus type capability is used to disseminate the advertising context data in a specified zone so as to present the data content in a type of stimulus it has been produced for, such as visual video, audio, audiovisual, etc.,, see p2, P95, P85-86, 88, 94-96, 78-79, P92-94, see P95, P85-86, 88, 94-96, 78-79, P92-94, Sjolund), the contextual data being contextual data obtained from a contextual database (Database with context and advertising stimulus data obtained for presentation, such as audio, visual, etc., see P95,p2, P85-86, 94-96, 78-79, P92-94, Sjolund), wherein the stimulus context is a selected one of a plurality of stimulus contexts (An identified retail product/category stimulus context is selected from among a plurality of product/category context for the purpose of relating the context to a specified interaction zone with stimulus devices, see p94-p95, 86, p79, P88, 85, Sjolund), wherein the contextual data is obtained after the stimulus context is selected(Database with product/category advertising stimulus context data is obtained after a specified retail product/category context is identified for a zone, see p94-P95, P85-86, 94-96, 78-79, P92-94, Sjolund).
Sjolund does not explicitly teach wherein a stimulus context is a selected one of a plurality of stimulus contexts selected based at least in part on an identification of an at least one target personnel, and individual preference of the identified at least one target personnel.
However, Cao, from the same or similar field of targeted and dynamic advertising, teaches wherein a stimulus context is a selected one of a plurality of stimulus contexts selected based at least in part on an identification of an at least one target personnel, and individual preference of the identified at least one target personnel (Dynamically tailored advertisement content context stimulus (e.g. products, etc.) can be selected from among a plurality of information context based in part on an identified person and a preference related to the identified individual, and content data obtained from a data store for presentation, for example an user can be identified and preferences determined so as to select specific information content such as an advertising content with pillow case product of a selected, see p73-74, 76, p38, p59, p56-P57, p46,p44, 42, 46, 35, 32-33, 48, 59, p2, Cao); Cao also teaches further types of stimulus (Dynamically tailored advertisement context stimulus can be provided/associated to disseminate by many known types of presentation stimuli to an individual, such as by video, audio, olfactory, tactile, etc., see P57, 42, 46, 35, 32-33, 48, 59, Cao)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the targeted stimulus and localization based service as described by Sjolund and incorporating selected context stimulus in part based on identifying a target person and a preference, and incorporating further types of stimulus , as taught by Cao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better present a desired context to that can stimulate a user, such as advertising for purchase stimulation, by better tailoring a selected context in ways that may better appeal and stimulate a target person by identifying the person and considering their preferences in selecting the tailored contest, and to further provide the context content messaging in a chosen stimulus form type among many known forms as desired by an advertiser that may effectively communicate their messaging to a consumer (see p73-74, 76, p38, p59, p56-P57, p46, p2, P57, 42, 46, 35, 32-33, 48, 59, Cao).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjolund, in view of Cao, and in further view of US Patent Publication No. 2011/0276266 to Ballew et al., (hereinafter Ballew).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund does not explicitly teach wherein a designation comprises determining and/or using an isovist corresponding to a stimulus type of an interactive device.
However, Ballew from the same or similar field of localization based services, teaches wherein a designation comprises determining and/or using an isovist corresponding to a stimulus type of an interactive device (A designation of an area such as a finding a way zone path, can be based on using isovist related to visual stimulus such as object seen by an individual, see p38-43, 68, Figs. 2-4, 57, 100, Ballew).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the targeted stimulus and localization based service as described by the combination that includes Sjolund and incorporating consideration of isovist use, as taught by Ballew.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide a localization technique that can be used in way finding that can complement and provide effective, simpler, and indoor localization than other techniques (see p2-3, 57, Ballew).
Claims 68, 70, and 71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sjolund, in view of Cao, in view of US Patent Publication No. 2018/0061285 to Gilbert, (hereinafter Gilbert).
Regarding claim 68, the combination of Sjolund and Cao teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein a method is carried out at least in part by a local network that comprises cables configured to transmit communication data (System can employ wired local area network, see p87, Sjolund).
Sjolund does not explicitly teach communication data and power on one cable.
However, Gilbert from the same or similar field of advertisement and information presentation devices, teaches communication data and power on one cable (Network can be implemented with power-over-ethernet, which is known to provide network communications and power on the same ethernet cable, see p12, p11-12, 46, Gilbert).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the targeted stimulus and localization based service as described by the combination that includes Sjolund and incorporating communications and power on one cable, as taught by Gilbert.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide needed power to a device receiving data without requiring a separate power cable routing (see p12, p11-12, 46, Gilbert).
Regarding claim 70, the combination of Sjolund and Gilbert teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein the communication data comprises control data configured to control (i) one or more devices of the facility other than the interactive device and/or (ii) an environment of at least a portion of the facility other than the interaction zone (Other signage devices, different from a specific zone, can also be used by control of changing their advertised content, see Figs. 2-4, P95, P92-94, 86, 88, Sjolund).
Regarding claim 71, the combination of Sjolund and Gilbert teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Sjolund further teaches wherein a communication data comprises cellular communication conforming to at least third, fourth, or fifth generation cellular communication, phone communication, media streaming that comprises television, movie, stills, gaming, video conferencing, data sheets, media utilized by an industry sector or by a governmental sector, media utilized in entertainment, health, construction, aviation, security, technology, biotechnology, legal, banking, monetary, automotive, agricultural, communication, education, food, computer, military, oil and gas, sports, manufacturing, or in waste management industry, or a combination thereof (Communication data can include at least two, three or 4 generation cellular communications data, see p87, Sjolund).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng et al., US. Patent Publication No. 2018/0063684 teaches providing location based messages to individuals, and where information provided to each user may vary according to a user’s particular preferences.
Shipman et al., US. Patent No. 11,341,531 teaches contextual advertising provided to a user based on user configurable preferences.
Conclusion
/EMILIO J SAAVEDRA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117