DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the hot coolant" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outside" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim recites the limitation "the cold coolant" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the outlet” in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outside" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear what is the subject of “the outside.” The outside of what component? Additionally still, it is unclear what orientation is meant by “the outside.” No inner or outer surfaces have yet been recited, and so it is unclear if “outside” means radially external or something else.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the outside" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Additionally, it is unclear what is the subject of “the outside.” The outside of what component? Additionally still, it is unclear what orientation is meant by “the outside.” No inner or outer surfaces have yet been recited, and so it is unclear if “outside” means radially external or something else.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cold coolant flow" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least one channel of the hot chamber" in lines 17-18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear how this channel relates, if at all, to the “at least one channel of the hot chamber” recited in lines 12-13.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "at least one channel of the connecting pipe" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear how this channel relates, if at all, to the “at least one channel of the connecting pipe” recited in lines 16-17.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “ “…and forming” in line 16. It is unclear what is the subject of this verb. What is forming at least one channel?
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the said channels" in lines 19-20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the relationship between the “gap” in line 11 and the “channel” in line 13. It is unclear if the gap and the channel are the same feature or a different feature. If the former, the term used to describe them should be the same term. If the latter, then the Drawings must show and label the gap to differentiate it from the channel.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: the relationship between the “gap” in line 15 and the “channel” in line 17. It is unclear if the gap and the channel are the same feature or a different feature. If the former, the term used to describe them should be the same term. If the latter, then the Drawings must show and label the gap to differentiate it from the channel.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "at least one additional shell” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this shell is the same shell as the “at least one additional shell” recited in lines 11-12 of parent claim 1. If they are not the same, then claim 2 should use a different term to describe the shell of claim 2. If they are the same, then the claim should recite “in the at least one additional shell of the hot chamber.”
Claim 2 again recites the limitation "at least one additional shell” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this shell is the same shell as the “at least one additional shell” recited in lines 14-15 of parent claim 1. If they are not the same, then claim 2 should use a different term to describe the shell of claim 2. If they are the same, then the claim should recite “in the at least one additional shell of the connecting pipe.”
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the connecting pipe” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the additional shell of the hot chamber adjacent to it” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear if the additional shell refers to the additional shell recited in claim 1 at lines 11-12, claim 1 at lines 14-15, claim 2 in the first half of line 2, or claim 2 in the second half of claim 2. Additionally, it is unclear what “it” refers to in the phrase “adjacent to it.” Additionally, the use of the phrase “adjacent to it” has insufficient antecedent basis because no such adjacency has yet been recited, and so “adjacent to it” being preceded by two “the” articles is unclear.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the adjacent additional shell” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “high strength” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no consensus among ordinary skilled artisans as to what materials are clearly considered high strength versus medium strength or low strength.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "said sealing piston rings and/or plug”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. First, the piston rings were not introduced as “sealing piston rings” but instead as “at least one first sealing piston ring” and “at least one second sealing piston ring.” Secondly, the lack of article prior to plug is improper and unclear. Is the “the said” supposed to apply to “plug” as well as “piston rings”? Thirdly, “the said” is redundant.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the specified material.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites “gray cast iron with flake graphite alloyed with chromium and silicon.” The structural relationship among these listed materials is unclear. What is a “flake graphite”? Does this mean “graphite flakes”? Is “gray” really intended to specify the color, or is another parameter intended to be implied by this term? Is the iron alloyed with Cr and Si, or the graphite, or some combination?
Claims 6–10 recite “two-disc” elements. It is entirely unclear why this term is hyphenated. Examiner will assume that, as is done in the Specification, the term should not be hyphenated.
Any claim not specifically addressed in this section that depends from a rejected claim is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for its dependency upon an above–rejected claim and for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 1–2 and 6–7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deliege (US 3,384,549).
Regarding claim 1, Deliege discloses an integral type nuclear reactor with a liquid metal coolant (the material worked upon does not limit an apparatus claim, MPEP 2115), including: a reactor vessel (1) with a lower chamber (below 17), a core (8), a hot chamber (including 26), an upper chamber (above 27), and heat exchangers (10, 11), wherein the hot chamber is located above the core and includes: a hot chamber body of a substantially cylindrical shape with connecting pipes (24, unlabeled pipe radially external to label 11) for removing the hot coolant, supplied from the core to the heat exchangers, and a plug (27, 20), wherein: the connecting pipes (24, unlabeled pipe radially external to label 11) are washed from the outside by the cold coolant from the outlet of the heat exchangers (coolant is cool in 29); the hot chamber body includes an inner shell (26) of the hot chamber and at least one additional shell (23) of the hot chamber, installed with a gap on the outside and being concentric with the inner shell of the hot chamber and forming at least one channel (36) of the hot chamber; and each connecting pipe (24, unlabeled pipe radially external to label 11) includes an inner shell (24) of the connecting pipe and at least one additional shell (unlabeled pipe radially external to label 11) of the connecting pipe, installed with a gap on the outside and being concentric with the inner shell of the connecting pipe and forming at least one at least one channel (channel between 24 and the unlabeled pipe radially external to label 11) of the connecting pipe, and at least one channel of the hot chamber and at least one channel of the connecting pipe are in communication with the outlet of the heat exchangers to direct the cold coolant flow into the said channels (heated coolant rises from the core and loops back downwards through the heat exchangers where it is cooled, being output into line 29; this entire path is in fluid communication with the above-cited channels).
Regarding claim 2, Deliege discloses all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein through holes are made in at least one additional shell of the hot chamber and/or at least one additional shell of the connecting pipe (e.g., the other one of the unlabeled pipes radially external to label 11 is another shell of the connecting pipe, and it has through-holes at least at its top and bottom).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Deliege discloses all the elements of the parent claim and additionally discloses wherein the plug (27, 20) includes at least two-disc elements (27, 20 are disc-shaped).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For Applicant’s benefit, portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection, it is noted that the prior art must be considered in its entirety, including disclosures that teach away from the claims. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claims 3–5 and 8–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deliege in view of Serafini (DE 1911637 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Deliege discloses all the elements of the parent claim but does not explicitly teach the sealing piston rings.
Serafini does. Serafini is also in the art area of nuclear reactors and teaches (Fig. 1) wherein at least one first sealing piston ring (3) is located between an inner shell (2) of a hot chamber and a plug, at least one second sealing piston ring (3) is located between the inner shell of the hot chamber and the additional shell of the hot chamber adjacent to it (Fig. 1 shows three shells), and at least one third sealing piston ring (10) is located between the inner shell of the connecting pipe and the adjacent additional shell of the connecting pipe.
The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to utilize the sealing rings as taught by Serafini in order to provide a removable seal for the reactor coolant.
Regarding claim 4, modified Deliege teaches all the elements of the parent claim but does not specify the material for the rings/plug. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used a high-strength and corrosion-resistant material for the rings/plug, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice .
Regarding claim 5, modified Deliege teaches all the elements of the parent claim but does not specify the material for the rings/plug. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used gray cast iron with flake graphite alloyed with chromium and silicon for the rings/plug, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice .
Regarding claims 8–10, modified Deliege teaches all the elements of the parent claim, and Deliege additionally discloses wherein the plug (27, 20) includes at least two-disc elements (27, 20 are disc-shaped).
Conclusion
LILY CRABTREE GARNER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3646
/LILY C GARNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646