DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 7/31/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that 37 CFR 1.475 requires the Examiner to
deem Groups I-III to have unity of invention, as 37 CFR 1.475(b) provides that claims drawn to a
product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said
product will be considered to have unity of invention. Said argument is noted but is not persuasive as 37 CFR 1.475(a) teaches that “Where a group of inventions is claimed in an application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features.” As established in the restriction requirement, the groups of claims lack a special technical feature, as demonstrated by US 2022/0396024. Additionally, Applicant disagrees with the examiner’s determination, arguing claim 1 recites an A/B/A structure in which the A-layer polymer is an amorphous polyamide, the B-layer polymer is TPU, EVA, or copolyester, and the B-layer polymer is located between two A-layer polymer layers. In contrast, applicant argues US 2022/0396024 describes a different structure: a hard polymer layer disposed between two soft polymer layers. The hard inner layer may include, among many alternatives, "a polyester," "a co-polyester," or "a polyamide," while the soft outer layers may include, among many alternatives, "a thermoplastic polyurethane elastomer" or other elastomeric materials. Thus, applicant argues the reference teaches the reverse of the Examiner's mapping. The examiner respectfully disagrees, noting the reference teaches the soft layers may be “polyamide elastomers” (0136; three lines from the end of the paragraph) and inner layer may be a thermoplastic polyurethane (0136; the sentence starting “The hard polymer layer can include….thermoplastic polyurethane…”) Thirdly, the Applicant also respectfully traverses the restriction because there would not be a serious search and/or examination burden if all of the groups were examined together. The examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons set forth in the original restriction requirement of 6/3/2026.
Thus, applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive because of the reasons noted above. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/31/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 10/13/2023 (2), and 12/06/2024 have been fully considered. Initialed copies of said IDSs are enclosed herein.
Drawings
The drawings filed 9/14/2023 are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart et al (US 2020/0130333) in view of EP 2957598 (herein referred to as EP).
Stewart teaches a multilayer polymer sheet, comprising an A-layer polymer and a B-layer
polymer, wherein the B-layer polymer may comprise a polyurethane elastomer (herein understood to read on the claimed “thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU)) or a polyester elastomer (herein understood to read on the claimed copolyester) (0007). Herein layers A and C of Stewart are understood to read on the claimed layer. Thus, Stewart teaches the B-layer polymer is located between two layers of the A-layer polymer (see Figures).
With regards to claim 2, Stewart teaches layers A and C should have a modulus of 1,000-2,500MPa (see abstract) which equates to a Shore D hardness of 75-85D.
With regards to claim 7, Stewart teaches the multilayer polymer sheet has a total thickness of 400 µm to 1,500 µm (claim 2) and a tensile modulus of greater than 800 MPa (0094).
With regards to claim 8, Stewart teaches the TPU may be a polyester based polyurethane (PU) (0007) and the TPU has a Shore hardness range of 40 D to 85 D (0064; 0086).
Stewart is relied upon as above, but does not teach layers A and C should comprise an amorphous polyamide (PA). However, EP teaches an amorphous polyamide composition which exhibit high thermal resistance, heat resistance, low water absorption and no crystallization shrinkage, while simultaneously showing consistent or improved mechanical properties (0009). Said amorphous polyamides are obtained through a polymerization of the following substances: (1) 4,4-
methylenebis(2-methylcyolohexylamine) (0011), (2) an aromatic dicarboxylic acid, which is 1,3 benzenedicarboxylic acid (IPA) (i.e., isophthalic) and/or benzenedicarboxylic acid (TPA) (i.e.terephthalic) (0011); and (3) an alicyclic or aliphatic amino acid or lactam (0016). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the amorphous polyamides disclosed in EP as the A and C layers of Stweart. The motivation for doing so would have been said layers exhibit high thermal resistance, heat resistance, low water absorption and no crystallization shrinkage, while simultaneously showing consistent or improved mechanical properties (0009).
With regards to claim 5, EP teaches thee aromatic dicarboxylic acid may be either the IPA and the TPA, but does not teach a mixture of said aromatic dicarboxylic acids wherein the amount of the TPA is 50% or less of a total amount of the aromatic dicarboxylic acid. However, the courts have held that it "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the dicarboxylic acids together and in any relative amounts as the prior art recognizes said dicarboxylic acids are equivalents.
With regards 3, the amorphous polyamides disclosed in EP are understood to read on the claimed structures when said polyamides comprise lactams.
With regards to claim 6, EP teaches the amorphous polyamides have a relative viscosity of greater than 1.45, and the relative viscosity is tested in a 0.5%m-cresol solution at 20°C according to an ISO 307 standard (0021).
Conclusion
KEVIN R. KRUER
Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/KEVIN R KRUER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787