DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 09/24/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Examiner points to Figs. 1, 2, and 3, with reference to Specification P.21, Reference signs list [0082], recites
“…435, 485 phase sensitive detectors”. And [0044]: “…Fig. 3… with phase sensitive detectors 435”.No element labeled with “435” is found in Fig. 1, 2 or 3.
“…86I, 86Q measurement analogue-to-digital converters” appear. No elements labeled with “86I or 86Q” appear in Fig. 1, 2, or 3.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
Examine points to Fig. 1, with element labeled “11-I DAC” in Box 1. The element label “11-I” does not appear in the specification.
Examiner points to Fig. 3 elements labeled “86 ADC” and “36 ADC”; these elements do not appear in specification. Examiner notes on Pg.21, Reference signs list, [0082]: “…361, 36Q receiver analogue-to-digital converters”, and “… 861, 86Q measurement analogue-to-digital converters” appear, but do not appear in Figs. 1,2,3, as noted below.
Specification
Examiner notes Abstract as amended exceeds 150 words, and refers Applicant to MPEP 1820 wherein guidance for abstracts in applications submitted under Patent Cooperation Treaty are found, “The abstract must be as concise as the disclosure permits (preferably 50 to 150 words if it is in English or when translated into English). National practice (see MPEP § 608.01(b)) also provides a maximum of 150 words for the abstract. See 37 CFR 1.72(b). The PCT range of 50 - 150 words is not absolute but publication problems could result when the PCT limit is increased beyond the 150 word limit. Maintaining the PCT upper limit is encouraged”.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Specification [0044] recites: “…Fig. 3…phase sensitive detectors 435, 485 of the receiver channel”. However, Fig. 3 does not have elements with these numbers. Examiner suggests, the number “485” should be “4585”, and the number “435” should be “4535” consistent with elements labeled “4585 DEM PSD”, and “4535 DEM PSD” in Fig. 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Paragraph 6 recites:
“processing the in-phase receiver signal components and the quadrature receiver signal components in least one signal processing path…”. Examiner suggests the word “at” is missing, such that the claim limitation should read as follows: “processing the in-phase receiver signal components and the quadrature receiver signal components in at least one signal processing path…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites: “execution of the procedure for handling critical conditions comprises at least one of;” followed by a list of six items detailing handling procedures. Examiner notes that last listed item is preceded by the word “and”, i.e, the list is of the form: item 1; item 2; item 3; item 4; item 5; and item 6. Use of the term “and” in the list precluded by “at least one of” is unclear. For evaluation purposes, Examiner interprets the claim limitation to mean that at least one of items 1-5 or item 6.
Similarly, Claim 12 recites: “detecting at least one of the following conditions:” followed by a list of three items detailing conditions. Examiner notes last item is preceded by the word “and”, i.e the list is of the form: item 1; item 2; and item 3. Use of the term “and” in the list precluded by “at least one of” is unclear. For evaluation purposes, Examiner interprets the claim limitation to mean that at least one of items 1-2 or item 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, and 11-17are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by HUNDERTMARK (DE 102017124407 A1). English translation used for examination is provided.
With respect to Claims 1, 16, and 17 HUNDERTMARK teaches:
A method for operating a metal detector (HUNDERTMARK is in same technical field, teaching metal detector operation, Abstract: “relates to a method and an evaluation unit for signal evaluation in a metal detector for detecting foreign bodies in a product or product stream”) comprising a balanced coil system (FIG.2, element 1, “coil arrangement”) with a transmitter coil (FIG. 2, element 13 “Transmitting coil”) that is connected to a transmitter unit and with a first and a second receiver coil that are connected to an input of a receiver unit (HUNDERTMARK teaches this connection scheme, FIG. 2 : element 2 (Frequency generator), element 12(Signal generator), element 30(Pulse sequence generator), elements 20/21(receiving coil), with receiver unit composed of FIG.2, elements 24(amplifier), 26(low-pass filter), 28/29(Multipliers), 32/33(additional low-pass filtering components), 35/36(Analog to Digital conversion(ADC) components); Examiner interprets “transmitter unit” to mean a component capable of communicating a signal, and “receiver unit” to mean a component capable of receiving signal, which would be understood by one of ordinary skill as requiring components such as taught in reference.) which is connected to a signal processing unit, (FIG. 2, element 3, “Digital Signal Processor”; Examiner interprets “signal processing unit” to be analogous to reference component for processing signals after ADC.) said method comprising:
providing a transmitter signal with at least one fixed or selectable operating frequency at a transmitter signal path of said transmitter unit (HUNDERTMARK teaches excitation frequency consideration of excitation signal, Abstract: “comprises a frequency mixture comprising a fundamental frequency and at least one harmonic”, and [0005]: “output voltage is initially a high-frequency signal, corresponding to the excitation frequency of the transmitting coil.” and [0039]: “frequency generator 2 generates a base or master clock for the circuit, from which a pulse train or pulse train is generated in a signal generator”; and teaches signal path of transmitter signal, FIG.2, starting at element 2 to 12, and 30, with transmitter signal “0°”) where said transmitter signal is applied to an input of a transmitter amplifier (FIG.2, element 11 “driver circuit”, in path as taught above connecting to amplifier 23/24) that forwards the amplified transmitter signal directly or via a transmitter matching unit to the transmitter coil (FIG. 2, element 13, “transmitter coil”, in path as taught above.)
providing a reference transmitter signal and a reference quadrature signal from the transmitted unit to the receiver unit or to the signal processing unit; (HUNDERTMARK teaches use of reference signal, FIG. 2, element labeled “IR”, “reference signal” from element 34, “Analog-to-digital converter” to element 3 “Signal processor”; and see element labeled “Q”, “Imaginary part”, quadrature signal, on path labeled “90°” at element 30, “pulse sequence generator” and leading to element 34, “Analog-to-digital converter” to element 3 “Signal processor”; Examiner notes it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that in the context of signal processing and complex numbers, the term quadrature component (“Q”) is directly equivalent to the term “imaginary part” in reference to complex signal representation.)
receiving a receiver signal at a receiver signal path of a receiver unit from the balanced coil system, (HUNDERTMARK teaches receiver signal path from coil system to receiver unit, FIG. 2, starting at element 1 “coil arrangement” to 20a/21a “output terminals” through element 28/29 “multiplier” to 35/36 “Analog-to-digital converter” to element 3 “signal processor”) where the receiver signal is applied directly or via a receiver matching unit to a receiver amplifier, (HUNDERTMARK teaches direct application of receiver signal, as above, FIG. 2, but also teaches matching, FIG.1 with [0040]: “sum signal via the receiving coils 20 and 21, which can also be interpreted as a differential signal…is processed as described in relation to Fig. 1 described as tapped at the output terminals 20a , 21a and fed as a measurement signal to a multiplier 28 , 29. For impedance matching, an matching network, such as a transformer 22, can be interposed.”) which forwards the amplified receiver signal directly or indirectly to a receiver demodulator that is provided in the receiver unit or is implemented in the signal processing unit; ([0041]: “reference signal is tapped at the junction of the receiving coils 20, 21 and, optionally via an amplifier 23 and/or low-pass filter 25, fed to a multiplier…multipliers 27 , 28 and 29 can be implemented as analog multipliers, in particular as Gilbert cells, and thus form a Gilbert demodulator”)
providing, by the receiver demodulator, and based on the reference transmitter signal and the reference quadrature signal received from the transmitter unit, a demodulated complex receiver signal with in-phase receiver signal components and quadrature receiver signal components; (HUNDERTMARK teaches this in the paths as above, FIG.3, with elements 102 (multiples), 103 providing signals to element 100 for “evaluation of measurement signals”, with quadrature signals included; and [0033]: “Fig. 3 the detailed structure of the signal processing for obtaining the real and imaginary parts of the respective receiving frequencies in the DSP Fig. 2”; also [0041]: “reference signal is tapped at the junction of the receiving coils 20, 21…signal can be used in later processing as a reference signal for decomposing the measurement signal into real and imaginary parts”)
processing the in-phase receiver signal components and the quadrature receiver signal components in least one signal processing path provided in the signal processing unit, (HUNDERTMARK teaches signal path as above with in-phase and quadrature components to processing unit, FIG. 2 element labeled “IR” an “Q”, as above.) in which signal components of the complex receiver signal that relate to products or noise are suppressed and in which signal components originating from metal contaminants are further processed; (HUNDERTMARK teaches process for noise, [0036]: “disturbances would manifest themselves as noise in the signal tapped at output terminals 20a and 21a, and thus ultimately affect the detection performance…suitable filtering or signal processing steps can also be provided to reduce such interference.”; and metal contaminant detection, [0061]: “final evaluation of the measurement signals IF1, QF1 ...and detection of impurities in functional block 100 can be carried out according to a method known in principle to those skilled in the art…a joint evaluation of measurement signals of different excitation frequencies can be used for detection, thereby improving the overall detection performance.”)
providing at least one measurement signal taken from the receiver signal path to a measurement channel; (HUNDERTMARK teaches receiver signal path, as discussed above, with a measurement signal taken to measurement channel, FIG. 2 and [0041]: “reference signal is tapped at the junction of the receiving coils 20, 21…signal can be used in later processing as a reference signal for decomposing the measurement signal into real and imaginary parts”; where real part is shown as element “IR” in FIG. 2)
analyzing the measurement signal in an evaluation module or in a receiver control module to provide related measurement information, and, based on the obtained measurement information; (HUNDERTMARK teaches evaluation of phase information with demodulation, [0016]: “amplitude information and the phase information are preserved”, FIG. 2 element 27 “multiplier” with [0018]: “conversion of the measurement signal to an intermediate frequency level can be achieved in particular by means of an analog multiplier, preferably a Gilbert demodulator”), and, based on obtained measurement information;(As above, HUNDERTMARK teaches measurement information, [0061], using FIG. 2, element 100 “Evaluation of measurement signals”, with element labeled “IR”)
determining in the receiver control module that a critical condition, in which signal processing in the receiver signal path is possibly impaired, is present; (HUNDERTMARK teaches an iterative process for signal evaluation, FIGs. 6, 7, translation provided, [0082]: “If in step S665 or If S765 detects that the generated signal does not yet have the desired properties, the system returns to step S620. S720 branches, with step S670 respectively. S770 adjusts the amplitude of the sine wave with the greatest deviation accordingly…S720 to 770 may be performed multiple times until the generated signal exhibits the desired properties within the required tolerance or a predetermined maximum number of iterations has taken place.”)
and providing a procedure for handling critical conditions in the metal detector that is executed after the critical condition is determined to be present. (As above, FIGs. 6, 7 with steps as described in [0082], and further [0084]: “S665 or when step S765 determines that the generated signal matches the desired properties or that the maximum number of iterations has been determined, the signal is passed to step S680”)
With respect to Claim 2 , HUNDERTMARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
evaluating the measurement information in the receiver control module to classify the measurement information and assign the measurement information to at least one class of critical conditions and providing the procedure for handling critical conditions in the metal detector with instructions for each class of critical conditions. (HUNDERTMARK teaches classification scheme for evaluation of measurement information, [0032]: “detection unit which is designed to detect foreign objects based on the signal components provided by the evaluation unit…recognition can be based on various processing and/or classification methods known to a person skilled in the art, as described above.” And [0049]: “real and imaginary parts I, Q of the measurement signal as well as a reference signal IR at an intermediate frequency level and, if necessary, filtered accordingly, are available in digital form and can be subjected to further processing and classification steps”)
With respect to Claim 4 , HUNDERTMARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
wherein the execution of the procedure for handling critical conditions comprises at least one of:
providing and applying control information or a control signal to at least one functional module provided in the receiver signal path for resetting the receiver unit or for returning the receiver unit or parts thereof to normal operating condition or for holding the receiver unit or parts thereof in a stable condition;
providing and applying control information to at least one functional module in the signal processing path for resetting the signal processing unit or for returning the signal processing unit or parts thereof to a normal operating condition or for holding the signal processing unit or parts thereof in a stable condition;
providing information to a control program implemented in the control unit which control program initiates an acoustical or optical alarm signal to be issued by the metal detector;
providing information to the control program implemented in the control unit which control program processes measurement data according to a protocol provided for the occurrence of the critical conditions;
using a balance control loop for eliminating imbalances occurring in the receiver signal path, and providing and applying control information to at least one functional module provided in the balance control loop, for resetting the balance control loop or for returning the balance control loop to an operative condition in which an imbalance can at least coarsely be corrected or held at a stable value; and
using a balance control loop for eliminating imbalances occurring in the receiver signal path, which balance control loop derives an imbalance signal either from the receiver signal or, after the critical condition is determined to be present, from the measurement signal.
(HUNDERTMARK teaches at least one of the above, including iterative evaluation for signal control, as above, FIGs. 6, 7, and [0082], signal control along signal processing path, FIG. 3, with iterative process of [0082])
With respect to Claim 5 , HUNDERTMARK teaches the limitations of Claim 1, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
applying the measurement signal to a measurement demodulator provided in the measurement channel or implemented in the signal processing unit, (HUNDERTMARK teaches use of demodulator, FIG. 3)
which measurement demodulator provides a demodulated complex measurement signal with in-phase measurement signal components and quadrature measurement signal components, (HUNDERTMARK teaches, as above, process of demodulation, with separation into in-phase and quadrature components, FIG. 2 and FIG. 4, and [0045]: “Gilbert cells 28, 29 are provided, to which the measurement signal is supplied, wherein the square wave or the pulse sequence is fed to the multiplier 28 unchanged and to the multiplier 29 with a 90° phase shift…generates a complex signal consisting of a real part I and an imaginary part Q, which can be preferably used for subsequent processing, for example by evaluating the phase information.”)
which in-phase measurement signal components and quadrature measurement signal components are analysed in the signal processing unit or in the receiver control module to provide related measurement information. (HUNDERTMARK teaches such analysis path, FIG. 2, as above)
With respect to Claim 6 , HUNDERTMARK teaches limitations of Claim 1, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
providing the receiver demodulator or the measurement demodulator or the receiver demodulator and the measurement demodulator as a phase sensitive detector, which compares the applied receiver signal or measurement signal with the reference transmitter signal and a related reference quadrature signal, to provide the demodulated complex receiver signal or the demodulated complex measurement signal. (HUNDERTMARK teaches demodulation with phase sensitive analysis, FIG. 2, elements 27, 28, 39, “Multiplier”; and [0027]: “converter can be an analog multiplier, in particular a Gilbert demodulator…used to separate the components of the fundamental and harmonics”, and [0041]: “multipliers 27, 28, and 29 can be implemented as analog multipliers, in particular as Gilbert cells, and thus form a Gilbert demodulator”)
With respect to Claim 7 , HUNDERTMARK teaches limitations of Claim 1, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
providing at least one measurement reference signal or measurement reference value and comparing the measurement signal or a measurement value derived from the measurement signal with the at least one measurement reference signal or measurement reference value to determine the presence of the critical condition. (HUNDERTMARK teaches use of reference signal, FIG. 2, element labeled “IR”, and element 30, with signals marked 0° and 90° reference signals sent to Gilbert-cell elements 27, 28, 29 for demodulation; and [0041]: “reference signal is tapped at the junction of the receiving coils 20, 21 and optionally via an amplifier 23 and/or low-pass filter 25, fed to a multiplier 27…signal can be used in later processing as a reference signal for decomposing the measurement signal into real and imaginary parts”)
With respect to Claim 8 , HUNDERTMARK teaches limitations of Claim 1, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
providing an attenuator for attenuating the measurement signal taken from the receiver signal path or providing a measurement phase sensitive detector, which has a larger range than the receiver phase sensitive detectors or;
providing an attenuator for attenuating the measurement signal taken from the receiver channel and providing a measurement phase sensitive detector, which has a larger range than the receiver phase sensitive detector. (HUNDERTMARK teaches attenuation and phase sensitive measurements, FIG.2 with [0044]: “subsequent attenuation corresponding to high-pass filtering is again required to prevent otherwise possible different gains in the sidebands of the lower frequencies”, and [0045]: “Gilbert cells 28, 29 are provided, to which the measurement signal is supplied…pulse sequence is fed to the multiplier 28 unchanged and to the multiplier 29 with a 90° phase shift…which can be preferably used for subsequent processing, for example by evaluating the phase information.”)
With respect to Claim 11 , HUNDERTMARK teaches limitations of Claim 1, as above.
capturing or recording the status of the metal detector and the measurement process and providing related status information such as current status information or historical status information to the receiver control module which classifies the measurement information under consideration of the status information relating to the measurement information. (HUNDERTMARK teaches computational method, where method is carried out on an external computer, implicitly suggesting storage, [0085]: “can be carried out on the metal detector itself or on an external computer. After generation, the pulse sequence or The rectangular waveform can be stored in order to be used multiple times”)
With respect to Claim 12 , HUNDERTMARK teaches limitations of Claim 1, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
detecting at least one of the following conditions: the presence of a product in the balanced coil system; the presence of vibrations; and the presence of external electromagnetic interferences in the metal detector; (HUNDERTMARK teaches at least one of these limitations, specifically teaches presence of a product, Abstract: “evaluation unit for signal evaluation in a metal detector for detecting foreign bodies in a product or product stream” ; Examiner interprets “product” as analogous to reference term “foreign bodies”)
and providing related status information to the receiver control module, which evaluates the measurement information on the consideration of the obtained status information. (HUNDERTMARK, teaches, as above, evaluation of measurement information, for example FIGs. 6,7.)
With respect to Claim 13 , HUNDERTMARK teaches limitations of Claim 1, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
providing an operation value and a reset value of an operation parameter,
comprising a gain parameter, for at least one controllable active module,
comprising an amplifier stage, installed in the receiver signal path and resetting the at least one controllable active module after a critical condition is determined to be present by setting the operation parameter to the reset value and continuously changing the operation parameter from the reset value to the operation value within a gain reset period; and/or providing an operation value and a reset value of a filter parameter for at least one controllable filter stage installed in the receiver signal path; (HUNDERTMARK teaches value setting and resetting for operational parameters, FIGs 2, showing receiving path, elements 23, 24 amplifier, and adjusting/resetting, FIGs. 6, 7; use of adjustable gains/gain control, [0044]: “alternative to such an increase in the amplitude of the harmonics by frequency modulation, an increase by high-pass filtering can also be provided”)
and resetting the at least one filter stage after the critical condition determined to be present by setting the filter parameter to the reset value and changing the filter parameter from the reset value to the operation value within a filter reset period.(As above, HUNDERTMARK teaches use of filters and resetting values, [0044], part of an iterative evaluation process, FIGs . 6,7.)
With respect to Claim 14 , HUNDERTMARK teaches limitations of Claim 1, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
controlling or resetting the receiver unit by discharging or exchanging at least one capacitor in the electronic circuit of the receiver unit, or following a determination that the critical condition present is caused by a contaminant, holding the receiver unit in its current condition. (HUNDERTMARK teaches adjustments of receiving process based on pre-determined tolerance, FIGs 6,7, and [0009]: “to make the different frequencies usable for detection, the respective signal components must be separated in the receiving circuit. This can be done in a manner known to those skilled in the art, using appropriately adjusted bandpass filters.”; and [0080]: “S660 or S760 of Fig. 6 or Fig. 7…result of the conversion is verified by performing an FFT…checked whether the generated signal matches the input in steps S610 or S610,S710 meets the specified properties.”)
With respect to Claim 15 , HUNDERTMARK teaches limitations of Claim 1, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
providing for each operating frequency; a dedicated receiver signal path; and
a dedicated signal processing path; and where signal processing in the measurement channel is dependent on the operating frequency, a dedicated measurement channel. (HUNDERTMARK FIG.3, [0058]: “reference signal is filtered in parallel by a series of bandpass filters 101 n01 tuned to the intermediate frequencies corresponding to the original fundamental frequency”; and FIG. 1, FIG. 13, with [0053]: “Figure 1 shows the frequency range fed to the analog-to-digital converters …Fig. 13 clarifies why there must be a difference between the fundamental frequency fg and the sampling frequency of the analog-to-digital converters…If there is no difference, all intermediate frequencies fZF would overlap and be at 0 Hz.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over HUNDERTMARK (DE 102017124407 A1) in view of MCADAM (US 20150276964 A1).
With respect to Claim 3 , HUNDERTMARK teaches the limitations of Claim 2, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
assigning the critical condition according to the measurement information to
a first class relating to critical conditions caused by a product or contaminant;
(HUNDERTMARK teaches process for determination of metal contaminant detection, [0032]: “detection unit which is designed to detect foreign objects based on the signal components provided by the evaluation unit” and [0061]: “final evaluation of the measurement signals IF1, QF1 ...and detection of impurities in functional block 100 can be carried out according to a method known in principle to those skilled in the art…a joint evaluation of measurement signals of different excitation frequencies can be used for detection, thereby improving the overall detection performance.”)
a second class relating to critical conditions caused by an external influence, (HUNDERTMARK teaches handling signal disturbed by external influence, [0036]: “disturbances would manifest themselves as noise in the signal tapped at output terminals 20a and 21a, and thus ultimately affect the detection performance…suitable filtering or signal processing steps can also be provided to reduce such interference.”
HUNDERTMARK does not teach:
class relating to critical conditions of an external influence comprising a vibration;
a third class relating to critical conditions caused by an irregular state of the metal detector, comprising fault of the electronics;
a fourth class relating to critical conditions caused by a drift occurred in the metal detector.
MCADAM teaches:
class relating to critical conditions of an external influence comprising a vibration; (MCADAM is in same technical field, [0002]: “relates to a method for monitoring the operation of a multiple frequency metal detection apparatus”: MCADAM teaches analysis of signal to discern disturbances, explicitly, vibrations: . [0023]: “can be checked whether other disturbances, such as influences from the installation site, e.g. vibrations or magnetic fields, have a negative impact on the measurement process.” [0047]: “output signals of the analogue to digital converter 37 are forwarded to a signal processing unit 4, such as a digital signal processor, which compares the demodulated and processed monitoring signals sM1 and sM2 obtained for each operating frequency fTX1, fTX2 with reference values… In the event that the demodulated monitoring signals sM1 and sM2 differ from a given reference by more than a pre-set threshold then an alarm is raised”)
a third class relating to critical conditions caused by an irregular state of the metal detector, comprising fault of the electronics; (MCADAM teaches detection of system malfunction, [0013]: “method that allows detecting malfunctions that would prevent the metal detection system from correctly detecting product contaminations for all system configurations and operating modes”, and consequences of deviation from threshold, as above, [0021], and [0023]: “inventive method allows measuring the performance of the metal detection system for each operating frequency of a pair of selected operating frequencies and verifying, if the measured performance lies within the specifications…checked whether the transmitter part and the receiver part of the system operate correctly”)
a fourth class relating to critical conditions caused by a drift occurred in the metal detector. (MCADAM teaches analysis based on external and internal factors, as above, [0047]), Examiner interprets “drift” to mean instability or baseline variation in a sensor or detector reading based on external or internal factors.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine HUNDERTMARK to include steps in the method for a metal detector of class relating to critical conditions of an external influence comprising a vibration; a third class relating to critical conditions caused by an irregular state of the metal detector, comprising fault of the electronics; a fourth class relating to critical conditions caused by a drift occurred in the metal detector. such as that of MCADAM because these steps would be advantageous in producing a more accurate and specific detection of a metallic particle to achieve the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill would be understand that the control classification method of MCADAM would improve the method and system of HUNDERTMARK with additional analysis steps without incurring additional expense or detection time.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over HUNDERTMARK (DE 102017124407 A1) in view of MOORE (US 20150234075 A1).
With respect to Claim 9 , HUNDERTMARK teaches limitations of Claim 1, as above.
HUNDERTMARK further teaches:
analyzing the receiver signal in the metal detector (HUNDERTMARK teaches phase sensitive analysis, as above, FIG. 2, elements 27, 28, 39, “Multiplier”; and [0027])
HUNDERTMARK does not teach:
analyzing the receiver signal for determining imbalance signal components
relating to imbalances occurring in the metal detector
and providing a compensation signal that corresponds to the determined imbalance signal components and applying the compensation signal to a compensation unit provided in the receiver signal path to compensate the detected imbalance signal following detection of the critical condition
analyzing the measurement signal for determining imbalance signal components
relating to imbalances occurring in the metal detector
providing a compensation signal that corresponds to the determined imbalance signal components and applying the compensation signal to the compensation unit provided in the receiver signal path to compensate the determined imbalance signal components.
MOORE teaches:
analyzing the receiver signal for determining imbalance signal components
relating to imbalances occurring in the metal detector (MOORE is in same technical field, [0001]: “relates to an apparatus for detecting contaminants…for detecting metal in foodstuffs.”, using balanced-coil circuitry, [0004]: “receiver coils are connected in opposition such that in absence of any object their induced voltages oppose one another…resulting in a zero output signal…condition when the coil system is in a perfectly balanced state.”; MOORE teaches evaluation of imbalance conditions, FIG.3, with [0011]: “under certain circumstances an out of balance in the detection coils can have a profound effect on the operation of the detection circuitry”, and [0019]-[0020]: “system is thus required that:…automatically balances the detector coil system throughout a range of operational frequencies irrespective of the shape of the signal, …so as to account for any imbalance in the detector coil system without the need to mechanically adjust the coils”)
and providing a compensation signal that corresponds to the determined imbalance signal components and applying the compensation signal to a compensation unit provided in the receiver signal path to compensate the detected imbalance signal following detection of the critical condition (MOORE teaches compensation for imbalance, [0019]: “system is thus required that”, [0021]: “ automatically compensates for any delays or noise as a result of external influences in measuring the output signal without any or minimal manual intervention; or [0025]: “c. adjusting the adjustable balance signal so as to provide a compensated signal”)
analyzing the measurement signal for determining imbalance signal components
relating to imbalances occurring in the metal detector (MOORE teaches, as above, evaluation for imbalance, [0011], [0019])
providing a compensation signal that corresponds to the determined imbalance signal components and applying the compensation signal to the compensation unit provided in the receiver signal path to compensate the determined imbalance signal components. (MOORE teaches providing and applying compensation for imbalance, as above, [0025] step c, and further in [0027]: “compensated signal is measured and if the compensated signal is above a predetermined threshold value, repeat step (c) above so that when combined with the output signal of the detector, the compensated signal is below a predetermined threshold value”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HUNDERTMARK to include analyzing
receiver signal for determining imbalance signal components relating to imbalances occurring in the metal detector and providing a compensation signal that corresponds to the determined imbalance signal components and applying the compensation signal to a compensation unit provided in the receiver signal path to compensate the detected imbalance signal following detection of the critical condition; analyzing the measurement signal for determining imbalance signal components relating to imbalances occurring in the metal detector and providing a compensation signal that corresponds to the determined imbalance signal components and applying the compensation signal to the compensation unit provided in the receiver signal path to compensate the determined imbalance signal components, such as that of MOORE because it would a way to improve detection sensitivity, preventing false signals, and also a way to correct a saturated condition. One of ordinary skill would also see the advantage of identifying imbalance and developing compensation in preventing false alarms and allowing for efficient, real-time error correction while measuring.
With respect to Claim 10 , HUNDERTMARK teaches limitations of Claim 1, as above.
comparing the measurement signal or measurement value with the at least one reference signal or reference value in the receiver signal path. (HUNDERTMARK teaches comparative analysis using reference signal, as above, FIG. 2, element labeled “IR”, “reference signal” along path as described above)
HUNDERMARK does not teach
determine a saturation condition in receiver signal path
MOORE teaches:
determine a saturation condition in receiver signal path (MOORE teaches handling of saturation condition, [0011]: “saturation of the detection circuitry may result in the detector not recognising a component of the output signal associated with a particular metal contaminant”, and [0045]: “CPU monitors to see whether the detection coils are saturated or a metal contaminant is successfully discriminated”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HUNDERTMARK to include consideration of a saturation condition in a receiver signal path, such as that of MOORE because it would well-known as an improvement in detection sensitivity, preventing false signals, and also a way to protect from electronic overdrive. One of ordinary skill would see the advantage of combining the saturation consideration taught explicitly by MOORE with the metal detection method/apparatus of HUNDERTMARK to make sure small signals are distinguishable from background noise, which is not prohibited when receiver coil or amplifier is saturated condition.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MCADAM (US 20120098667 A1) – teaches metal detector of Claim 1, with additional technical features of Claims 2,3,12; closely aligns with technical features of Claims 9, 10, 14, and 15.
ZHAO (EP 3726257 A 1) – teaches metal detector of Claim 1, with most technical features of dependent claims, specifically compensation methods for imbalance conditions;
KTISTIS (US 20200333499 A1) – teaches most components in Claim 1, and additional elements of 2-14; metal detection method/system with imbalance compensation, acoustic alarm for fault alert, controller as in instant application, with computer based control.
/TONI D SAUNCY/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2863