DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 15-16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2021/0199963 A1) in view of Bucklay (US 2009/0207466 A1).
Re claims 11, 15 and 16, Li discloses a device comprising: a light source (4, 5) that emits parallel light; a spatial light modulator (1) that includes a modulation part that modulates a phase of the parallel light emitted from the light source; and a controller configured to set a plurality of modulation regions (11, 12) in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator set a phase image relevant to projection light emitting in a plurality of projection directions to each of the plurality of modulation regions, and control the light source such that the parallel light is emitted toward each of the plurality of modulation regions in which the phase image relevant to the projection light is set paragraphs 0033, 0036, 0047). Li also disclose the device wherein control means is configured to execute the instructions to set a composite image obtained by combining the phase image relevant to an image displayed by the projection light and a virtual lens image for condensing light at a desired focal length to each of a plurality of modulation regions set in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator, wherein the control means is configured to set the composite image combined using the virtual lens image having a different focal length to each of the plurality of modulation regions set in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (paragraphs 0037-0038; Fig. 2). Li does not disclose the device wherein the controller includes a memory storing instructions, and a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instruction to set a plurality of modulation regions in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator.
Bucklay discloses a device comprising a controller (100) including a memory storing instructions, and a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instruction to set a plurality of modulation regions in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (paragraphs 0034, 0039-0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the controller includes a memory storing instructions, and a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instruction to set a plurality of modulation regions in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator since one would be motivated to provide a desired image for the display (paragraph 0024).
Re claim 20, Li discloses a method comprising setting a plurality of modulation regions (11, 12) in a modulation part of a spatial light modulator (1), the modulation part modulating a phase of parallel light emitting from a light source (4, 5) that emits parallel light; setting a phase image relevant to projection light projected in a plurality of projection directions to each of a plurality of modulation regions; and controlling the light source to emit the parallel light toward each of the plurality of modulation regions in which the phase image relevant to the projection light is set, and projection the projection light modulated in each of the plurality of modulation regions (0033, 0036, 0047).
Claim(s) 11-13 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giles (US 2008/0056723 A1) in view of Bucklay.
Re claim 11, Giles discloses a device comprising: a light source (80) that emits parallel light; a spatial light modulator (40) that includes a modulation part that modulates a phase of the parallel light emitted from the light source; and a controller configured to set a plurality of modulation regions in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (paragraph 0022), set a phase image relevant to projection light emitting in a plurality of projection directions to each of the plurality of modulation regions, and control the light source such that the parallel light is emitted toward each of the plurality of modulation regions in which the phase image relevant to the projection light is set (paragraphs 0022-0026). Giles does not disclose the device wherein the controller includes a memory storing instructions, and a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instruction to set a plurality of modulation regions in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator.
Bucklay discloses a device comprising a controller (100) including a memory storing instructions, and a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instruction to set a plurality of modulation regions in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (paragraphs 0034, 0039-0040).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device wherein the controller includes a memory storing instructions, and a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instruction to set a plurality of modulation regions in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator since one would be motivated to provide a desired image for the display (paragraph 0024).
Re claim 12, Giles et al. discloses a device further comprising a reflecting mirror (70) that includes a plurality of reflecting regions associated with each of a plurality of modulating regions set in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator (SLM), wherein the reflecting mirror is reflected toward a plurality of modulation regions in a plurality of reflecting regions associated with each of the plurality of modulation region (Fig. 1).
Re claim 13, Giles et al. discloses the device comprising a comprising a plurality of light sources (80) associated with each of the plurality of modulation regions set in the modulation part of the spatial light modulator, wherein each of the plurality of light sources is disposed such that the parallel light is emitted toward the associated modulation region (Fig. 1, paragraph 0026)
Re claim 18, Giles discloses a device comprising a light receiver that includes a light receiving element that receives light coming from a projection direction of the projection light (paragraph 0026).
Re claim 19, Giles does not disclose the device comprising a plurality of projector including at least one of the light sources and the spatial light modulator, wherein a plurality of the projector are disposed such that the projection directions are directed in mutually different direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to employ the device comprising a plurality of projector including at least one of the light sources and the spatial light modulator, wherein a plurality of the projector are disposed such that the projection directions are directed in mutually different direction since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. Sr. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Furthermore, it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987). The projection directions of a plurality of projector relates to the intended use of the device.
Re claim 20, Li discloses a method comprising setting a plurality of modulation regions in a modulation part of a spatial light modulator (40), the modulation part modulating a phase of parallel light emitting from a light source (80) that emits parallel light; setting a phase image relevant to projection light projected in a plurality of projection directions to each of a plurality of modulation regions; and controlling the light source to emit the parallel light toward each of the plurality of modulation regions in which the phase image relevant to the projection light is set, and projection the projection light modulated in each of the plurality of modulation regions (paragraphs 0022-0026).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14 and 17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot due to new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD H KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871