DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to applicant’s argument that none of the prior art references in combination disclose or suggest the amended features of claim 1, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant states that the secondary reference Reinhardt does teach a profiled hose nipple provided on a valve housing, which Examiner notes the secondary reference is not used to teach nor is it required to teach a hose nipple on a valve housing, since the primary reference Fangmeier already discloses a valve housing having a second region that is screwed onto the hose connection of a flexible hose line in paragraph 39. The secondary reference Reinhardt is teaching a hose connection and is used to modify the hose connection of the primary reference Fangmeier. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Applicant’s amendment has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground of rejection is applied to the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the housing interior” has insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, and it is unclear if applicant is referring to the previously introduced “valve housing” or not.
Regarding claim 3, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “a line coupling”, and the claim also recites “designed as a hose coupling” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 4, the limitations “a hose end region” and “a flexible hose line” were previously introduced in independent claim 1 and it is unclear if applicant is referring to the same limitations or another; and the limitation “a hose sleeve nut” was previously introduced in claim 3 and it is unclear if applicant is referring to the same limitation or another.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “the annular zone” has insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase “the pressure-reducing valve is connected upstream of at least one line section” is unclear what the applicant is referring to since applicant previously limited the second end region of the valve to have a profiled hose nipple for a flexible hose line, hence it is unclear if the “at least one line section” is referring to the previously introduced flexible hose line or a different line; and the limitation “the clear line cross section” has insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and it is unclear what the applicant is referring to.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “a first hose end” is unclear if applicant is referring to the previously introduced “hose end region” or a different limitation; and the limitation “a flexible hose line” was previously introduced and it is unclear if applicant is referring to the same hose line or another.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase “the pressure-reducing valve is connected to a sanitary installation which directly follows the pressure -reducing valve” is unclear what the applicant is referring to since applicant previously limited the second end region of the valve to have a profiled hose nipple for a flexible hose line, hence it is unclear how a sanitary installation can directly follow the valve; and the limitation “the clear line cross section” has insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and it is unclear what the applicant is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 15-17 as far as they are definite is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fangmeier (Pub. No. US 2016/0357198) in view of Reinhardt (Pub. No. US 2018/0187807).
Regarding claim 1, Fangmeier discloses a sanitary unit (Figs. 1-8) comprising a pressure-reducing valve (1) which has a valve housing (2), having a first end face region (top region at 31) and a second end face region (lower region at 26) arranged opposite the first end face region (Fig. 1), in the housing interior of which a valve support (4) which has at least one throughflow channel (5) is provided, said valve housing comprising a cup-shaped valve body (3) which is guided displaceably from an open position (Fig. 1) counter to a restoring force (13) into a closed position (Fig. 3), in said closed position the valve body (3) lies with a circumferential edge (6) of its cup shape on a valve seat (7), which is provided on the valve support (4), in such a manner that the valve body (3) closes at least one channel opening (8) of the at least one throughflow channel (5), wherein the valve housing (2) has an external or internal thread (31) for a screw connection to a coupling counterpart (paragraph 39), and wherein a hose connection (paragraph 39) is provided on the second end face region (lower region at 26) of the valve housing (2), but lacks disclosure wherein the hose connection has a profiled hose nipple for pushing-on of a hose end region of a flexible hose line.
Reinhardt teaches a hose connection (Figs. 1-7) comprising a housing (2) that is configured as a hose sleeve nut that has a hose nipple (18) for pushing-on a hose (5) that is provided on an end face region (Fig. 1) of the housing (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hose connection of Fangmeier with a hose connection as taught by Reinhardt, since they are considered art recognized equivalents in the art of hose connections that provide the same function of enabling a fluid connection between a housing and hose.
Regarding claim 2, Fangmeier discloses the sanitary unit (Figs. 1-8) wherein the valve housing (2) is configured as a sleeve-shaped receiving adapter (Fig. 1) of a line coupling (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 3, Fangmeier discloses the sanitary unit (Figs. 1-8) wherein the valve housing (2) is configured as a hose sleeve nut (Fig. 1) of a line coupling designed as a hose coupling (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 4, Reinhardt (modified above) teaches wherein the profiled hose nipple (18) for pushing-on of a hose end region (Fig. 7) of a flexible hose line (5) is provided on the second end face region (Fig. 1) of the valve housing (modified above) configured as a hose sleeve nut (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 5, Reinhardt (modified above) teaches wherein the housing (2) and the hose nipple (18) are connected integrally to each other (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Reinhardt (modified above) teaches wherein the housing (2) and the hose nipple (18) are connected rotatably and liquid-tightly to each other (paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 7, Reinhardt (modified above) teaches wherein the housing (2) has, at its second end face region, a through-passage opening (Fig. 1) into which the hose nipple (18) is insertable up to an annular shoulder or annular flange (6) protruding on the hose nipple (18) lies on a housing edge (12 or 14, paragraph 30) of the housing (2) surrounding the through-passage opening (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, Reinhardt (modified above) teaches wherein the annular zone between the hose nipple (18) and the housing edge (12) surrounding the through-passage opening (Fig. 1) is sealed by means of at least one annular seal (9).
Regarding claim 9, Reinhardt (modified above) teaches wherein the hose nipple (18) circumferentially has a receiving groove (10) protruding into the through-passage opening (Fig. 1), in which receiving groove (10) the at least one annular seal (9) is held.
Regarding claim 10, Reinhardt (modified above) teaches wherein the hose end region (4) pushed onto the hose nipple (18) is held on the hose nipple (18) by means (paragraph 35) of a pinch or crimp sleeve (19).
Regarding claim 15, Fangmeier discloses the sanitary unit (Figs. 1-8) wherein the valve support (4) of the pressure-reducing valve (1) is configured as an insert cartridge (Fig. 1) which is insertable into a sleeve opening (Fig. 1) arranged on the first end face region (top region) of the valve housing (2).
Regarding claim 16, Fangmeier discloses the sanitary unit (Figs. 1-8) wherein the valve support (4) has a valve support section (16), said valve support section (16) lies securely on an inner circumference (27) of the valve housing (2).
Regarding claim 17, Fangmeier discloses the sanitary unit (Figs. 1-8) wherein the valve support section (16) of the valve support (6) is plate-like (Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 11-14 and 18 as far as they are definite is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fangmeier (Pub. No. US 2016/0357198) in view of Reinhardt (Pub. No. US 2018/0187807), and further in view of Huang et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,680,653).
Regarding claim 11, Fangmeier discloses the sanitary unit (Figs. 1-8) wherein the pressure-reducing valve (1) is connected upstream of at least one line section (paragraph 39) in the throughflow direction, but lacks disclosure which line section has at least one control and/or shut-off valve or at least one cross-sectional constriction in the clear line cross section.
Huang et al. teach a sanitary unit (Figs. 1-7) having a pressure reducing valve (7) that is connected upstream of a line section (6) that has at least one control and/or shut off valve (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the sanitary unit of Fangmeier with a sanitary unit as taught by Huang et al. since they are considered art recognized equivalents in the art of pressure reducing valves that perform the same function of reducing fluid pressure for a fluid stream being outputted to a sanitary device.
Regarding claim 12, Huang et al. (modified above) teach wherein the line section (6) connected downstream (Fig. 4) of the pressure-reducing valve (7) is connected to at least one of: at least one sanitary installation (4) or to at least one water outlet.
Regarding claim 13, Huang et al. (modified above) teach wherein the at least one sanitary installation (4) or the at least one sanitary water outlet has a cross-sectional constriction or at least one of: a control or a shut-off valve (51).
Regarding claim 14, Huang et al. (modified above) teach wherein the pressure-reducing valve (7) is connected upstream of a first hose end (Fig. 4) of the line section (6) configured as a flexible hose line (6), said hose line (6) is connected at a second hose end (Fig. 4) thereof to a hygiene shower (5) head, said shower head (5) comprising at least one of the control or shut-off valve (51).
Regarding claim 18, Huang et al. (modified above) teach a sanitary unit (Figs. 1-7) comprising a pressure-reducing valve (7), wherein the pressure-reducing valve (7) is connected to a sanitary installation (4) which directly follows the pressure-reducing valve (7) in at least one of: a flow direction (Fig. 4) or to at least one water outlet (Fig. 4), said sanitary installation (4) or said at least one sanitary water outlet has at least one cross-sectional constriction in the clear line cross section, or at least one of: a control or shut-off valve (51).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753