DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 3-8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 (VIVO, “Remaining issues on slice-based (re)-selection”, R2-2009689 found on IDS dated 2/12/2025) in view of Xu et al (2023/0362798) further in view of Jiang (2023/0056855) or Murray et al (2023/0156583).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15. D1 teaches an access node, a method for a wireless terminal, and a wireless terminal configured to communicate with an access node of a radio access network (RAN), the RAN being configured to support one or more network slices, each of the one or more network slices providing a designated service within a public land mobile network (PLMN), the wireless terminal comprising:
receiver circuitry configured to receive, from a serving cell served by the access node, one or more system information blocks (SIBs) comprising (page 3, solution 2: - Slice related call (re)selection info, the slice info of the serving cell and neighboring cells should be provided in the system information to the UE comprising receiver/transceiver circuitry, processor and memory. If network cells (e.g., access node comprising transceiver, memory, processor) broadcast their supported slices in system info, UE can choose intended (or adequate slice, if intended slice is not included in system info.) to camp on in Idle/inactive mode. Additionally, network can also provide cell reselection priority per slice for UE camping in the system info):
identifications of one or more neighboring cells (page 3, solution 2: - Slice related call (re)selection info, the slice info of the serving cell and neighboring cells should be provided in the system information. If network cells broadcast their supported slices in system info, UE can choose intended (or adequate slice, if intended slice is not included in system info.) to camp on in Idle/inactive mode. Additionally, network can also provide cell reselection priority per slice for UE camping in the system info), and;
prioritized neighboring cell network slice information(page 3, solution 2: - Slice related call (re)selection info, the slice info of the serving cell and neighboring cells should be provided in the system information. If network cells broadcast their supported slices in system info, UE can choose intended (or adequate slice, if intended slice is not included in system info.) to camp on in Idle/inactive mode. Additionally, network can also provide cell reselection priority per slice for UE camping in the system info):
one or more network slices supported by the (page 3, solution 2: - Slice related call (re)selection info, the slice info of the serving cell and neighboring cells should be provided in the system information. If network cells broadcast their supported slices in system info, UE can choose intended (or adequate slice, if intended slice is not included in system info.) to camp on in Idle/inactive mode. Additionally, network can also provide cell reselection priority per slice for UE camping in the system info), and;
priority information for the one or more network slices supported by one of the one or more neighboring cells (page 3, solution 2: - Slice related call (re)selection info, the slice info of the serving cell and neighboring cells should be provided in the system information. If network cells broadcast their supported slices in system info, UE can choose intended (or adequate slice, if intended slice is not included in system info.) to camp on in Idle/inactive mode. Additionally, network can also provide cell reselection priority per slice for UE camping in the system info);
processor circuitry configured to: select at least one network slice as an intended network slice; perform a cell reselection procedure while camping on the serving cell; wherein the cell reselection procedure is performed to determine whether or not to reselect one of the one or more neighboring cells, based on the intended slice and the (page 3, solution 2: - Slice related call (re)selection info, the slice info of the serving cell and neighboring cells should be provided in the system information. If network cells broadcast their supported slices in system info, UE can choose intended (or adequate slice, if intended slice is not included in system info.) to camp on in Idle/inactive mode. Additionally, network can also provide cell reselection priority per slice for UE camping in the system info).
(page 3, solution 3 – Cell reselection priority per slice should be provided in the system information or RRCRelease message. As highlight for solution 1 and solution 2, if network can provide cell reselection priority per slice for UE camping, UE can use these priorities for cell selection/reselection).
D1 does not explicitly teach priority information for the one or more network slices, the priority information being specific to the one or more neighbor cells
Xu teaches neighboring cells slice system information, a per PLMN per slice cell reselection data, or an SIB4 message wherein the neighboring cells slices information includes PLMN ID, PLMN identity index, s-NSSAI information, cells that support a network slice, cell sub-list wherein each of the cell information includes a frequency and are ranked based upon priorities (figures 5 and 7, 0076-0077) which enables a UE that requires network slice 4 for PLMN 1 to be reconnected to a neighbor cell having the highest priority that supports slice 4 and PLMN1 thereby continuing the desired slice 4 when roaming (0037-0039) According to sone aspects, the one or more network slice may be PLMN specific and cell-specific (0038). The network slice information (e.g., PLMN specific and cell-specific) are RANKED at least based on priority (see last three lines of paragraph 0076).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include priority information relating to cells that support the UE desired network slice(s) in conjunction with PLMN ID as taught by Xu thereby enabling the UE to continue the desired network slice while roaming.
D1 in view of Xu do not teach the priority information indicates a same priority value for a plurality of network slices, among the one or more network slices, supported by one of the one or more neighbor cells.
Jiang teaches the inter-system inter-frequency cell and the intra-system intra-frequency cell are neighbor cells of the serving cell. Since these cells belong to the same system, the cells may have the same priority of the combination of a frequency point and a network slice supported by the frequency point information (0052). If the first priority information indicates the same priority, the target cell is determined based on the signal quality (0053). In some cases, for a reselection of an intra-system intra-frequency cell and an intra-system inter-frequency cell, for the cells with the same priority of frequency + network slice, the UE sorts the cells based on the signal quality and then performs the cell reselection. Here, the priority of frequency + network slice refers to the priority of the combination of the frequency and network slice supported by the frequency (0224).
Jiang further teaches at block S420, a network slice supported by a frequency point of a neighbor cell is determined based on slice information of the neighbor cell carried in the system information. Here, the first priority information at least indicates a priority of a combination of the frequency point of the neighbor cell AND the network slice supported by the frequency point of th neighbor cell (0077). The UE is configured to receive a first indication broadcast by the SERVING CELL, in which the first indication is configured to indicate whether the SIB by the SERVING CELL is capable of carrying the slice information, and the first PRIORITY at least incudes a priority of a COMBINATION of frequency point of the NEIGHBOR CELL and the network slice supported by the frequency point of the neighbor cell (0174, 0197).
Murray teaches the priority of a frequency is equal to the priority of the S-NSSAI (e.g., network slices) with the highest priority on that frequency. For scenarios where two frequencies have the same priority, the number of S-NSSAI (network slices) configured with that priority may also be considered when determining the priority of a frequency, e.g., a frequency configured with X S-NSSAIs (network slices) at priority P (e.g., network slices with the same priority P) would be considered a higher priority than a frequency configured with Y S-NSSAIs (network slices) at priority P (e.g., network slices with the same priority P), assuming X>Y. Alternatively, the priority of a frequency may correspond to the average of the priorities of the S-NASSAIs on that frequency. And another example, the priority of a frequency may correspond to a COUNT of the S-NSSAIs (e.g., network slices) on that frequency, e.g., a frequency where 1 S-SNNAI is configured would have a priority of 1, a frequency wherein 2 S-NASSIs (e.g., network slices) are configured would have a priority 2 (e.g, information indicates a same priority value for a plurality of network slices, among one or more network slices, supported by one or more neighbor cells), etc. (0170-0171, 0192).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 in view of Xu to include priority information for one or more network slices wherein the priority information is specific to one of the one or more neighboring cells carried in the system information as taught by Jian or Murray which enables the UE to obtain priority information regarding specific neighboring cells from the serving cell thereby enabling the UE to continue the desired network slice while roaming/reselecting a neighboring cell(s).
Regarding claims 3 and 10. D1 teaches wherein the each of the priority values represents a priority of the associated neighboring cell, the priority being used to evaluate the associated neighboring cell during the cell reselection procedure in a case that the subset includes a network slice corresponding to the intended network slice page 3, solution 2: - Slice related call (re)selection info, the slice info of the serving cell and neighboring cells should be provided in the system information. If network cells broadcast their supported slices in system info, UE can choose intended (or adequate slice, if intended slice is not included in system info.) to camp on in Idle/inactive mode. Additionally, network can also provide cell reselection priority per slice for UE camping in the system info).
Xu teaches neighboring cells slice system information, a per PLMN per slice cell reselection data, or an SIB4 message wherein the neighboring cells slices information includes PLMN ID, PLMN identity index, s-NSSAI information, cells that support a network slice, cell sub-list wherein each of the cell information includes a frequency and are ranked based upon priorities (figures 5 and 7, 0076-0077) which enables a UE that requires network slice 4 for PLMN 1 to be reconnected to a neighbor cell having the highest priority that supports slice 4 and PLMN1 thereby continuing the desired slice 4 when roaming (0037-0039).
Regarding claims 4 and 11. D1 teaches wherein the priority information for the one or more network slices supported by the associated neighboring cell comprises one or more priority values, each of the priority values being associated with a subset or all of the one or more network slices supported by the associated neighboring cell (page 3, solution 3 – Cell reselection priority per slice should be provided in the system information or RRCRelease message. As highlight for solution 1 and solution 2, if network can provide cell reselection priority per slice for UE camping, UE can use these priorities for cell selection/reselection.
Xu teaches cell Sub-list in conjunction with priority (figure 7, 0076-0077 – wherein cell Sub-list comprises cell information relating to frequency which indicates cells that operating on F3 support the network slice 2 for the PLMN 1 and ranked based upon priorities).
Regarding claims 5 and 12. D1 does not teach wherein the one or more SIBs are received separately from minimum system information (SI), the minimum SI being required for acquiring the one or more SIBs and performing an initial access.
Xu teaches wherein the first message is a system information block type 1 (SIB 1) message and the second message is a system information block type 4 (SIB 4) (0012, figure 7, 0076 – system information or an SIB4 message).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include priority information relating to cells that support the UE desired network slice(s) in conjunction with PLMN ID in system information or an SIB4 message as taught by Xu thereby enabling the UE to continue the desired network slice while roaming.
Regarding claims 6 and 13. D1 does not teach wherein the priority information is not included in the minimum SI.
Xu teaches the priority information is not provided in SIB1 (e.g., minimum SI) (0041) but instead included in SIB4 (0064, 0069, 0069, 0071, 0076).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include priority information relating to cells that support the UE desired network slice(s) in conjunction with PLMN ID in an SIB4 message as taught by Xu thereby enabling the UE to continue the desired network slice while roaming.
Regarding claims 7 and 14. D1 does not teach wherein the one or more SIBs further comprise one or more values of radio frequencies/bands, each of the one or more values being associated with one of the one or more neighboring cells.
Xu teaches neighboring cells slice system information, a per PLMN per slice cell reselection data, or an SIB4 message wherein the neighboring cells slices information includes PLMN ID, PLMN identity index, s-NSSAI information, cells that support a network slice, cell sub-list wherein each of the cell information includes a frequency and are ranked based upon priorities (figures 5 and 7, 0076-0077) which enables a UE that requires network slice 4 for PLMN 1 to be reconnected to a neighbor cell having the highest priority that supports slice 4 and PLMN1 thereby continuing the desired slice 4 when roaming (0037-0039).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify D1 to include priority information relating to cells that support the UE desired network slice(s) in conjunction with PLMN ID as taught by Xu thereby enabling the UE to continue the desired network slice while roaming.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-8, and 10-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
---(2023/0209426) Fu et al teaches for the frequency points with the same priority, the cell reselection may be performed according to the R criterion for the intra-frequency cell reselection (0074). Optionally, for different network slices, at least one of the corresponding frequency point information, cell information, priority information, and weight information may be different OR the same or may be partially the same (e.g., design choice) (0105, 0312-0313, 0320-0321).
---(2022/0303884) Chen et al teaches priority information for one or more network slices, the priority information being specific to one of the one or more neighboring cells (0049-0050).
/BARRY W TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646