Detailed Action
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments, filed 07/28/26 have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 13 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durand et al. (US PG pub. 2005/0019361 A1) in view of Anderson et al. (USP 5,229,126) and Zhang et al. (US PG pub.2012/0270944A1).
Durand discloses an attractant composition comprising two porous pouches that are packaged together in a dispenser unit. One pouch contains a gel produced from polyethylene glycol (600) diacrylate in aqueous medium and further containing lactic acid, the other pouch contains compressed ammonium hydrogen carbonate or a water-moist mixture of starch and ammonium hydrogen carbonate (see [0138]-[0139]): tables 4 and 5; claim 1). The composition comprising lactic acid and ammonium carbonate has a greater attractive action on Aedes albopictus than the components individually see (example 1).
Durand et al. does not disclose the claimed porous substrate having pore size between 2 microns and 50 microns.
Anderson et al. teach use of flying insect attractant composition, see title. The reference teaches that a variety of membranes can be used in the release means of the invention. Membranes are selected to ensure that the release means of the invention can dispense at least about 0.02 grams of the attractant per hour. Preferably, the membrane can release 0.03 to 0.2 grams of the attractant per hour. Typically, such membranes comprise sheet-like polymeric materials that can release the attractant at the desired rate. The membranes can be manufactured to inherently contain pores of sufficient size to release the liquid attractant materials at the effective release rates. Polymeric materials useful in forming such releasing membranes are known in the art and include polyethylene, polypropylene, nylon, polytetrafloroethylene, polychlorotrifloroethylene, polystyrene, polyester, polyvinyl chloride, etc., see column 5, lines 10-24.
Zhang et al. teaches stabilizers of insect semiochemicals, see title. Zhang et al. teaches [0096] The stick packs in accordance with the present invention provide a mechanism for very precisely controlling the release rate of semiochemicals contained in the stick pack. In exemplary uses, the stick packs may be used in insect traps to lure the target insect into the trap with an attractant, see [0096]. Many porous materials are known for a wide range of applications in many diverse fields. Various porous plastics (polyethylene, polypropylene, EVA, Teflon etc.) have been widely used as filters, and other industrial functions. Their high surface areas are certainly good for absorption and holding, however, some low density and high porosity porous plastics might have just enough surfaces for holding or retaining heavy insect pheromones or attractants, but have bigger exposure area to air for improving the release rates of some heavy and stable insect pheromone compounds. The shape and size of pores and porosity can be easily varied to achieve certain surface areas for absorption and desorption (release), such as sheets, membranes and blocks. Polyfibers, including materials such as felts or sheets made of natural or synthetic fibers (polyester) could also provide similar surface areas and properties as the porous plastics. Plastic (polymer) foams, including various types of plastic foams, have been used for sponges and like products for absorption and for insulation (buildings, car seats, bedding etc.), see [0099].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the inert matrix material such as polyethylene, polypropylene, polyester or polystyrene polymer as taught by Zhang et al. and Anderson et al. for luring the insects into the porous substrate loaded with active ingredient into the attractant composition comprising porous substrate of Durand et al. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Anderson et al. teaches that the membranes can be manufactured to inherently contain pores of sufficient size to release the liquid attractant materials at the effective release rates. Polymeric materials useful in forming such releasing membranes are known in the art and include polyethylene, polypropylene, nylon, polytetrafloroethylene, polychlorotrifloroethylene, polystyrene, polyester, polyvinyl chloride, etc., see column 5, lines 10-24. And Zhang et al. teaches that many porous materials are known for a wide range of applications in many diverse fields. Various porous plastics (polyethylene, polypropylene, EVA, Teflon etc.) have been widely used as filters, and other industrial functions. Their high surface areas are certainly good for absorption and holding, however, some low density and high porosity porous plastics might have just enough surfaces for holding or retaining heavy insect pheromones or attractants, but have bigger exposure area to air for improving the release rates of some heavy and stable insect pheromone compounds. The shape and size of pores and porosity can be easily varied to achieve certain surface areas for absorption and desorption (release), such as sheets, membranes and blocks. Polyfibers, including materials such as felts or sheets made of natural or synthetic fibers (polyester) could also provide similar surface areas and properties as the porous plastics. Plastic (polymer) foams, including various types of plastic foams, have been used for sponges and like products for absorption and for insulation (buildings, car seats, bedding etc.), see [0099]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have manipulated the pore size of the substrate to optimize the attractant composition based on the teachings of Zhang et al. and Anderson et al.
Durand does not disclose the claimed order of the process for producing an attractant composition in which a porous carrier material is loaded with a buffer system and an attractant is then introduced into the carrier material thus laden. However, loading of buffer or attractant onto the porous material would be obvious to one of ordinary skill and the order could be any order absent unexpected results due to the claimed order. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.), see MPEP 21411.04. Additionally, the instant claims do not define the ratio or arrangement in which the components mentioned in the claim have to be present in order to distinguish it from the prior art to a surprising level as the art teaches an attractant composition for mosquitos wherein loading onto the porous material of an attractant and buffer is described.
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 13 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bedaukion et al. (EP1695 623 A1 of record) in view of Anderson et al. (USP 5,229,126) and Zhang et al. (US PG pub.2012/0270944A1).
Bedaukion et al. discloses an attractant composition for mosquitos. Herein, ammonium hydrogen carbonate is present in a polymeric matrix which enables controlled delivery. The laden matrix is located in an insect trap with R)-(-)-1-octen-3-ol. The combination of the two active ingredients has a far greater attractive action than the two components individually (see example 3). Thus, the reference teaches an (a) attractant composition, (b) for attracting blood-sucking arthropods, (c) a porous carrier material is present ("controlled release polymer matrix"), (4) ammonium hydrogen carbonate is a buffer, and R)-(-)-1-octen-3-ol is an attractant. The inhibiting compound can be formulated in a porous or polymeric medium or vehicle suitable for releasing effective amounts of the attractant compound. As an example of such porous or polymeric medium or vehicle is a polyester membrane material having micropores encasing a block of inhibiting compound-saturated fibrous material that gradually releases the inhibiting compound so that the inhibiting compound permeates the microporous membrane and is released to the environment, see pages 3-4.
Bedaukion et al. does not disclose the claimed porous substrate having pore size between 2 microns and 50 microns.
Anderson et al. teach use of flying insect attractant composition, see title. The reference teaches that a variety of membranes can be used in the release means of the invention. Membranes are selected to ensure that the release means of the invention can dispense at least about 0.02 grams of the attractant per hour. Preferably, the membrane can release 0.03 to 0.2 grams of the attractant per hour. Typically, such membranes comprise sheet-like polymeric materials that can release the attractant at the desired rate. The membranes can be manufactured to inherently contain pores of sufficient size to release the liquid attractant materials at the effective release rates. Polymeric materials useful in forming such releasing membranes are known in the art and include polyethylene, polypropylene, nylon, polytetrafloroethylene, polychlorotrifloroethylene, polystyrene, polyester, polyvinyl chloride, etc., see column 5, lines 10-24.
Zhang et al. teaches stabilizers of insect semiochemicals, see title. Zhang et al. teaches [0096] The stick packs in accordance with the present invention provide a mechanism for very precisely controlling the release rate of semiochemicals contained in the stick pack. In exemplary uses, the stick packs may be used in insect traps to lure the target insect into the trap with an attractant, see [0096]. Many porous materials are known for a wide range of applications in many diverse fields. Various porous plastics (polyethylene, polypropylene, EVA, Teflon etc.) have been widely used as filters, and other industrial functions. Their high surface areas are certainly good for absorption and holding, however, some low density and high porosity porous plastics might have just enough surfaces for holding or retaining heavy insect pheromones or attractants, but have bigger exposure area to air for improving the release rates of some heavy and stable insect pheromone compounds. The shape and size of pores and porosity can be easily varied to achieve certain surface areas for absorption and desorption (release), such as sheets, membranes and blocks. Polyfibers, including materials such as felts or sheets made of natural or synthetic fibers (polyester) could also provide similar surface areas and properties as the porous plastics. Plastic (polymer) foams, including various types of plastic foams, have been used for sponges and like products for absorption and for insulation (buildings, car seats, bedding etc.), see [0099].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the inert matrix material such as polyethylene, polypropylene, polyester or polystyrene polymer as taught by Anderson et al. and Zhang et al. for luring the insects into the porous substrate loaded with active ingredient into the attractant composition comprising porous substrate of Bedaukion et al. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Anderson et al. teaches that the membranes can be manufactured to inherently contain pores of sufficient size to release the liquid attractant materials at the effective release rates. Polymeric materials useful in forming such releasing membranes are known in the art and include polyethylene, polypropylene, nylon, polytetrafloroethylene, polychlorotrifloroethylene, polystyrene, polyester, polyvinyl chloride, etc., see column 5, lines 10-24. And Zhang et al. teaches that many porous materials are known for a wide range of applications in many diverse fields. Various porous plastics (polyethylene, polypropylene, EVA, Teflon etc.) have been widely used as filters, and other industrial functions. Their high surface areas are certainly good for absorption and holding, however, some low density and high porosity porous plastics might have just enough surfaces for holding or retaining heavy insect pheromones or attractants, but have bigger exposure area to air for improving the release rates of some heavy and stable insect pheromone compounds. The shape and size of pores and porosity can be easily varied to achieve certain surface areas for absorption and desorption (release), such as sheets, membranes and blocks. Polyfibers, including materials such as felts or sheets made of natural or synthetic fibers (polyester) could also provide similar surface areas and properties as the porous plastics. Plastic (polymer) foams, including various types of plastic foams, have been used for sponges and like products for absorption and for insulation (buildings, car seats, bedding etc.), see [0099]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have manipulated the pore size of the substrate to optimize the attractant composition based on the teachings of Zhang et al. and Anderson et al.
Bedaukion et al. does not disclose the claimed order of the process for producing an attractant composition in which a porous carrier material is loaded with a buffer system and an attractant is then introduced into the carrier material thus laden. However, loading of buffer or attractant onto the porous material would be obvious to one of ordinary skill and the order could be any order absent unexpected results due to the claimed order. In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.), see MPEP 21411.04. Additionally, the instant claims do not define the ratio or arrangement in which the components mentioned in the claim have to be present in order to distinguish it from the prior art to a surprising level as the art teaches an attractant composition for mosquitos wherein loading onto the porous material of an attractant and buffer is described.
Applicant argues that the cited references all teach the simultaneous application or incorporation of the attractant. Such simultaneous application leads to excess application of the liquid mixture (to ensure that sufficient attractant is present in the final product). However, not all of the liquid is absorbed, leaving the carrier wet such that the excess liquid must be removed. And this removal of excess liquid inevitably removes and wastes attractant. Which in turn reduces the cost effectiveness of the composition and method of the cited references…… completely preventing waste or loss of the attractant. Additionally, treating the carrier with the buffer system first allows for high manufacturing flexibility, as various compatible attractants can be loaded onto the same pre-prepared carrier.
These arguments are not persuasive because no experimental evidence has been presented by Applicant’s to substantiate their results by comparing with the closest prior art. The rationale for the obviousness of the pore size and the steps have been discussed above and as indicated earlier the instant claims do not define the ratio or arrangement in which the components mentioned in the claim have to be present in order to distinguish it from the prior art to a surprising level as the art teaches an attractant composition for mosquitos wherein loading onto the porous material of an attractant and buffer is described.
Action is final
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/SNIGDHA MAEWALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612