DETAILED ACTION
2. The Applicant's amendments filed on June 24, 2026, were received. Claims 1-2 have been amended. None of the Claims have been cancelled, withdrawn from consideration, or added as new. Therefore, Claims 1-13 are pending in this office action.
3. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office Action issued on March 26, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. The rejection of Claims 1 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son et al. (EP3703155A1), has been overcome based on the amendments to the Claims and the arguments presented on pages 5-7 of the Remarks dated June 24, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. The rejection of Claims 2-3, 8-11 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (EP3703155A1), as applied to Claims 1 and 12 above, and in further view of Ahn (US 2015/0037619 A1), has been overcome based on the amendments to the Claims and the arguments presented on pages 5-7 of the Remarks dated June 24, 2026.
6. Claims 1-3 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son et al. (EP3703155A1) in view of Ahn (US 2015/0037619 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Son et al. disclose sin Figures 2, a battery module, called a battery pack (200), comprising: a frame unit (210) having a rectangular structure defining first and second through openings, called battery accommodation portions (212), therein (paragraphs 0041, 0056); a first cover, called a packaging member (250), overlying and protecting an upper surface of the frame unit (210); a second cover, called a second packaging member (230), overlying and protecting a lower surface of the frame unit (210) (paragraph 0064-0065); two battery cells (100) respectively received in the first and second through openings (212) (paragraph 0055); and a BMU (270) electrically connected to the two battery cells (100) (paragraph 0070), wherein the frame unit (210) comprises: a frame body (210), composed of rectangular outermost edges (211), comprising a first frame (210) and a second frame (210) spaced apart from each other by a predetermined distance, each of the first frame (210) and the second frame (210) having a quadrangular shape extending around the first through opening (212) and the second through opening (212) (paragraphs 0055-0056), respectively; and a seating portion, called a control accommodation portion (215), located in a middle of the frame body (210), the BMU (270) disposed on the seating portion (215) and located between the two battery cells (100), an upper surface of the seating portion (215) being flat, the seating portion (215) having a predetermined height (paragraph 0072). Son et al. do not specifically disclose wherein the seating portion comprises a first seating portion and a second seating portion, the first seating portion is located adjacent to the first frame, the first seating portion comprising a 1-1 seating portion, a 1-2 seating portion, and a 1-3 seating portion, the second seating portion is located adjacent to the second frame, the second seating portion comprising a 2-1 seating portion, a 2-2 seating portion, and a 2-3 seating portion, the 1-1 seating portion, the 1-2 seating portion, the 2-1 seating portion, and the 2-2 seating portion have the a same upper surface area and a same height.
Ahn discloses in Figures 3-4 and the annotated figure below, a battery pack (100) including a battery unit (10), a frame (20) enclosing the battery cells (10), a protective circuit module (30), and a pair of cases (41, 42) (paragraph 0060). Ahn discloses wherein the frame (20) encloses two unit battery cells (10) and includes a circuit installation part (21) (considered a seating portion) provided between the two unit battery cells (10), and the protective circuit module (30) installed on the circuit installation part (21) (paragraphs 0075-0076). Ahn discloses wherein the circuit installation part (21) includes one or more through holes (211), position limit protrusions (212) (considered the 1-1, 1-2, 2-1, 2-2 seating portions), and circuit supporting protrusions (213) (considered 1-3 and 2-3 seating portions) (paragraph 0077). As seen in the annotated figure below, Ahn disclose the first seating portion comprising a 1-1 seating portion, a 1-2 seating portion, and a 1-3 seating portion, the second seating portion is located adjacent to the second frame, the second seating portion comprising a 2-1 seating portion, a 2-2 seating portion, and a 2-3 seating portion, the 1-1 seating portion, the 1-2 seating portion, the 2-1 seating portion, and the 2-2 seating portion have the a same upper surface area and a same height, and the 1-3 seating portion and the 2-3 seating portion have the same height as the 1-1 seating portion but have a smaller upper surface area than the same upper surface area. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery module of Son et al. to include the seating portion comprising a first seating portion and a second seating portion, the first seating portion is located adjacent to the first frame, the first seating portion comprising a 1-1 seating portion, a 1-2 seating portion, and a 1-3 seating portion, the second seating portion is located adjacent to the second frame, the second seating portion comprising a 2-1 seating portion, a 2-2 seating portion, and a 2-3 seating portion, the 1-1 seating portion, the 1-2 seating portion, the 2-1 seating portion, and the 2-2 seating portion have the a same upper surface area and a same height, because Ahn teach that this configuration allows for the protective circuit module to be stably installed to the circuit installation part and supported (paragraph 0080).
With regard to Claim 2, Ahn discloses in Figures 3-4 and the annotated figure below, circuit supporting protrusions (213) (considered 1-3 and 2-3 seating portions) (paragraph 0077). As seen in the annotated figure below, Ahn disclose the first seating portion comprising a 1-1 seating portion, a 1-2 seating portion, and a 1-3 seating portion, the second seating portion is located adjacent to the second frame, the second seating portion comprising a 2-1 seating portion, a 2-2 seating portion, and a 2-3 seating portion, the 1-1 seating portion, the 1-2 seating portion, the 2-1 seating portion, and the 2-2 seating portion have the a same upper surface area, and the 1-3 seating portion and the 2-3 seating portion have the same height as the 1-1 seating portion but have a smaller upper surface area than the same upper surface area (paragraph 0080).
With regard to Claim 3, Ahn discloses in Figures 3-4 and the annotated figure above, wherein the 1-1 seating portion and the 2-3 seating portion are located facing each other, the 1-2 seating portion and the 2-2 seating portion are located facing each other, and the 1-3 seating portion and the 2-1 seating portion are located facing each other (paragraphs 0077-0080; see annotated figure).
With regard to Claim 8, Ahn discloses in Figures 3-4 and the annotated figure above, wherein the two battery cells (10) comprise a first battery cell (10) received in the first frame (20), the first battery cell comprising a 1-1 lead (16) and a 1-2 lead (17), and a second battery cell (10) received in the second frame (20), the second battery cell (10) comprising a 2-1 lead (16) and a 2-2 lead (17), and the 1-1 lead (16) is located overlying the 1-1 seating portion (212), the 1-2 (17) lead is located overlying the 1-2 seating portion (212), the 2-1 lead (16) is located on overlying the 2-1 seating portion (212), and the 2-2 lead (17) is located overlying the 2-2 seating portion (212) (paragraph 0077; see annotated figure).
With regard to Claim 9, Ahn discloses wherein the 1-1 lead and the 2-1 lead are positive electrode leads (16) and each of the 1-2 lead and the 2-2 lead are negative electrode leads (17) (paragraph 0077). Ahn does not specifically disclose wherein each of the 1-1 lead and the 2-1 lead is a negative electrode lead, and each of the 1-2 lead and the 2-2 lead is a positive electrode lead. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form each of the 1-1 lead and the 2-1 lead to be negative electrode leads, and each of the 1-2 lead and the 2-2 lead to be positive electrode leads, since it has been held in the art that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI).
With regard to Claim 10, Ahn discloses in Figure 3, wherein the electrode leads (16, 17) are disclosed below the protective circuit module (30) (paragraphs 0077-0079). Ahn does not specifically disclose wherein the 1-1 lead (16), the 2-1 lead (16), the 1-2 lead (17), and the 2-2 lead (17) are located each disposed on an upper surface of the BMU. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to form the 1-1 lead, the 2-1 lead, the 1-2 lead, and the 2-2 lead on an upper surface of the BMU, since it has been held in the art that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI).
With regard to Claim 11, Son et al. further disclose in Figure 4, a protective cover, called an anti-noise member (260), disposed on the upper surface of the BMU (270), the protective cover overlying and being configured to protect the 1-1 lead (16), the 2-1 lead (16), the 1-2 lead (17), and the 2-2 lead (17) (paragraph 0074).
With regard to Claim 12, Son et al. further disclose in Figures 2 and 9, a bar shaped auxiliary plate, called a barrier (213), disposed within the first through opening (212) and/or the second through opening (212), the auxiliary plate (213) supporting one or more of the two battery cells (100) (paragraphs 0104-0108).
With regard to Claim 13, Son et al. further disclose in Figures 2 and 9, a first bar shaped auxiliary plate, called barrier (213), extending into the first through opening (212) from the first frame (210) by a predetermined length, one side of the first bar shaped auxiliary plate (213) fixed to the first frame (210) at rectangular edge (211); and a second bar-shaped auxiliary plate, called a barrier (213), extending into the second through opening (212) from the second frame (210) by a predetermined length, one side of the second bar shaped auxiliary plate (213) fixed thereto to the second frame (210) at rectangular edge (211) (paragraphs 0104-0108).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art, Son et al. (EP3703155A1) in view of Ahn (US 2015/0037619 A1), do not teach or fairly suggest the battery module further comprising a rib assembly adjacent to the first seating portion and the second seating portion, the rib supporting the BMU; wherein the rib assembly comprises a first rib connecting the 1-1 seating portion and the 2-3 seating portion to each other, a second rib connecting the 1-2 seating portion and the 2-2 seating portion to each other, and a third rib connecting the 1-3 seating portion and the 2-1 seating portion to each other, and the first rib, the second rib, and the third rib have the same height as the 1-1 seating portion; wherein the rib assembly further comprises a pair of fourth ribs located between the first frame and the second frame, the fourth ribs facing each other; and, wherein each of the fourth ribs has the same height as the first rib.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed June 24, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, “The Office Action states that Ahn discloses the first seating portions being located adjacent to the first frame 20 and the second seating portions being located adjacent to the second frame 20, the first and second seating portions having a same height, but Applicant respectfully disagrees. It appears that the seating portions 212 analogized in the Office Action (having a same height) are not adjacent to the frames 20, but rather, they are spaced apart from the first and second frames, as shown in figure 3 of Ahn. In contrast, in the claimed invention, it can be seen in figure 7 that the first and second seating portions 141, 142, 161, 162 are located adjacent to the first and second support walls/frames 130, 150 of the frame unit 100, as recited in claim 1.”
Ahn discloses the first seating portions 212 being located adjacent to the first frame 20 and the second seating portions 212 being located adjacent to the second frame 20, the first and second seating portions having a same height. While Applicant believes that the seating portions 212 are not adjacent to the frames because they are spaced apparat from the frames, the definition of adjacent encompasses being next to or very near to. There is nothing between the seating portions 212 and the frame 20 which would obstruct or keep the seating portions 212 from being next to or very near to the frame 20. Also, there is no language recited in the claims that states that the seating portion must be directly next to or touching the frame. Therefore, the rejection under Son et al. (EP3703155A1) in view of Ahn (US 2015/0037619 A1) is deemed proper and Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725