DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on Jume 11 has been entered and made of record. Currently, claims 1-12 and 14-16 are pending.
Applicant’s response filed on June 11, 2026 overcome the rejection of claims 1-12 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) (see Remarks on page 6) and thus such rejection has been withdrawn herein.
Applicant’s response filed on June 11, 2026 overcome the rejection of claim 14 under 35 U.S.C. 101 (see Remark om page 6).
Applicant’s response filed on June 11, 2026 with regard to the rejection of claims 1, 12 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is not persuasive (see Remarks on pages 6-8). The modified rejection set forth below is incorporated hereinafter. It is also noted that the amended claim limitations to claims do not improve object scanning as pointed out in the rejection below.
In response to Applicant’s arguments with regard to rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11, 12 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), the modified rejection set forth below is incorporated hereinafter.
In response to Applicant’s arguments with regard Office Notice taken in the rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103, a prior art (Gray (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2009/0041186 A1)) is provided as set forth in the rejection below in supporting such Office Notice taken.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1 as a presentative claim, the 101 analysis is presented below.
Step 1: It is noted that claim 1 recites a method which is a process. Thus, claim 1 is directed to one of statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A Prong 1: Limitations “evaluating the first two-dimensional inspection strip…alarm object”, “outputting an inspection…first inspection strip”, “evaluating the second two-dimensional inspection strip…alarm object”, and “outputting an inspection…second inspection strip” are interpreted as mental steps that can be practically performed in the human mind. Thus, these limitations also fall into the “mental process” grouping of abstract idea. Therefore, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2: It is noted that claim does include additional elements (i.e., “scanning a first two-dimensional inspection strip…luggage” and “scanning at least a second two-dimensional inspection strip…luggage”. These elements are nothing more than data gathering and thus insignificantly pre-solution activity. The additional elements of “electromagnetic radiation device” and “during transport…conveyor belt” are already available technology with basic available functions to use as a tool. These addition elements do not lead to any improvement themselves. These elements do not amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application. Therefore, claim is directed at an abstract idea.
Step 2B: It is noted that claim does include any additional elements as pointed out in Step 2A Prong 2 above. These additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Also, the additional element, taken individually and in combination, do not contribute to an inventive concept. Therefore, claim is not a patent eligible.
Claim 12 recites an apparatus and claim 14 recites a manufacture so each of these claims falls within one of the statutory categories of invention. It is noted that each of these claims recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 1. Thus, the advanced statements as applied to claim 1 above are incorporated herein. It is also noted that claim 12 does not recite any addition elements that would make it statutory. Claim 14 recites additional element “computer”. The additional element “computer” is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a conventional computer. The claims do not point to a specific improvement in computer itself. The additional element, taken individually and in combination, do not contribute to an inventive concept. Therefore, claims 12 and 14 are also directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-12 and 14-16 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as being anticipated by Simanovsky et al. (WO 2014/003782 A1, art of record IDS filed on 9/14/2023 and referred as Simanovsky hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1 as a representative claim, Simanovsky teaches a method for detecting alarm objects (AO) in items of luggage (L) in a detection device based on strip-by-strip inspection of the item of luggage (L) using inspection strips (IS 1, IS2, IS3) having a respective inspection width (IW) extending between lateral margins (LM) and having a length transverse to the inspection with (IW) (see para. [0037], figures 1 and 3), the method comprising:
during transport of the item of luggage (L) in a scanning direction (SD) through the detection device on a conveyor belt (see figure 1 and para. [0023]; figure 3):
scanning, using an electromagnetic radiation device, a first portion of the item of luggage (see, i.e., figures 1 and 3, and paras. [0020] (radiation imaging modality such as CT scanner), [0021] – [0022] (computed tomography CT system generates images representative of an object));
generating a first two-dimensional inspection strip (IS1) representative of the first portion of the item of luggage (L) (see, i.e., figures 1 and 3; paras. [0020] (scanner), [0021] – [0022] (computed tomography CT system generates images representative of an object; object 102 comprises a baggage; identifying a potential threat containing objects inside baggage; 2D images, wherein one of the 2D views is referred to the so-called 2D inspection strip), [0002] ( CT system is used to provide 2D views of objects to viewer, wherein one of the 2D views is referred to the so-called 2D inspection strip), and [0028] (2D images)),
evaluating the first two-dimensional inspection strip (IS1) for presence of partial sections (PS) of alarm objects (AO) (see, i.e., paras. [0021] – [0022] (computed tomography CT system; object 102 comprises a baggage; identifying a potential threat containing objects inside baggage), [0029] (determining an orientation of the object 102 relative to a direction of the object 102 traveled during the examination via the support article 112), [0038] (examining images representing the interior of the baggage for potential threat item); also see fig. 6),
outputting an inspection result (IR) based on the evaluation of the first inspection strip (IS1) (see, i.e., fig. 1 (output of orientation component 126); , paras. [0030] (threat determiner 128; confirming the presence of an occlusion region, wherein the occlusion region comprises potential threat items as described in para. [0001]), [0031] (threat determiner 128 outputs information indicative of potential threat item) and [0033]); also see fig. 6),
scanning, using the electromagnetic radiation device, at least a second portion of the item of luggage (see, i.e., figures 1 and 3, and paras. [0020] (radiation imaging modality such as CT scanner), [0021] – [0022] (computed tomography CT system generates images representative of an object; such images include a second portion of the item of the luggage); para. [0064] (second image representative of the object));
generating at least a second two-dimensional inspection strip (IS2, IS3) respectively representative of the at least the second portion of the item of luggage (L) (see figures 1 and 3, and paras. [0020] (radiation imaging modality such as CT scanner), and [0021] – [0022] (computed tomography CT system generates images representative of an object; such images include a second portion of the item of the luggage; fig. 6 and paras. [0064] (second image representative of the object)),
evaluating the second two-dimensional inspection strip (IS2) for the presence of partial sections (PS) of alarm objects (AO) (see paras. [0064] - [0067] (identifying occlusion region from second image representative of the object)), and
outputting an inspection result (IR) based on the evaluation of the second inspection strip (IS2) (see para. [0067] (occlusion region is identified)).
Regarding claim 2, Simanovsky further teaches wherein, when the presence of partial sections (PS) of alarm objects (AO) is detected in at least one inspection strip, the method further comprises recording a relative position in relation to lateral margins (LM) of the respective at least one inspection strip (IS 1, IS2, IS3) (see paras. [0054] and [0056] – [0057] (defining the boundary (margin), use it as feature extraction parameters in the feature extraction for segmenting the potential occlusion region; these parameters are dynamically adjusted/modified; thus, position of the occlusion region in relation to the boundary is inherently recorded so it could be adjusted/modified)).
Regarding claim 4, Simanovsky further teaches wherein outputting the inspection result comprises generating optical marking (OM) of the present partial section (PS) of the alarm object (AO) (see paras. [0054] and [0056] – [0057] (defining the boundary; this interpretation is consistent with the instant specification that defines that OM is a boundary (figure 3 and page 11 lines 2-6)) and/or the present complete alarm object (AO) is in the respective inspection result (IR) (see para. [0050] (threat item is identified)).
Regarding claim 5, Simanovsky further teaches wherein in the case of an alarm object (AO) which extends over at least two inspection sections (IS 1, IS2) (see para. [0064] (potential occlusion is included in both first and second images)), the optical marking (OM) is generated as the smallest possible boundary having a specified geometric shape (see para. [0063] (pixels outside the region of interest are discarded, thus the boundary of the region of interest is smaller)).
Regarding claim 6, Simanovsky further teaches wherein the inspection strips (IS 1, IS2) overlap with each other with respect to the scanning direction (SD) (see para. [0064] (potential occlusion is included in both first and second images; first and second images are top-down views; top-down view and side view)).
Regarding claim 7, Simanovsky further teaches wherein the scanned inspection strips (ISl, IS2) have identical or substantially identical inspection widths (IW) (see para. [0051] (both first and second images are the same image; both first and second images represent the same object)).
Regarding claim 8, Simanovsky further teaches wherein an inspection width (IW) is variable for at least one inspection strip (IS 1, IS2) which is to be scanned (see paras. [0051] (both first and second images are different images and thus different width is included inherently) and [0064] (both first and second images are different; each of the first and second images represents different view; top-down view and side view; thus different width is inherently included)).
Regarding claim 9, Simanovsky further teaches the output of the inspection result (IR) takes place continuously after each evaluation of an individual inspection strip (IS1, IS2) (see paras. [0033] – [0034] ) (result is presented to user so reexamination is activated by user).
Regarding claim 11, Simanovsky further teaches wherein the inspection strips are directly or substantially directly adjacent to each other (see paras. [0051], [0062, and [0064] (first and second image represent the same object in different views such as top-down view and side view)).
Regarding claim 12, it is noted that this claim recites similar claim limitations called for in the counterpart claim 1 and thus the advanced statements as applied to claim 1 above are incorporated hereinafter. Simanovsky further teaches an evaluation device (see paras. [0007] and [0009] (an apparatus for occlusion detection to identify a potential occlusion region); figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 14, the advanced statements as applied to claim 1 above are incorporated hereinafter. Simanovsky further teaches a computer program product comprising commands which, when the program is run by a computer, cause it to carry out the steps of a method having the features of claim 1 (see paras. [0009] (medium; instructions; processing unit) and [0033] (computer)).
Regarding claim 15, Simanovsky further teaches wherein outputting the inspection result (IR) based on the evaluation of the first inspection strip (ISl) further comprises displaying the first inspection strip (IS 1) on a display device (see para. [0033]).
Regarding claim 16, Simanovsky further teaches wherein the outputting the inspection result (IR) based on the evaluation of the first inspection strip (IS 1) is performed before the item of luggage (L) is fully scanned by the electromagnetic radiation device (see paras. [0033] –[0034] (user inspects image to identify areas of interest within the object and then instructs the system to rotates the object to obtain more images for more inspection)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simanovsky.
The advanced statements with regard to Simanovsky as applied to claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-12 and 14 are incorporated hereinafter.
Regarding claim 10, Simanovsky does not specifically teaches claim limitations “wherein the evaluation of the inspection strips (ISl, IS2) is carried out by means of a neural network (NN), in particular for all inspection strips (IS1, IS2) with an identical neural network (NN)”.
However, such claim limitations are well known in the art (Official Notice).
The motion for doing so is to speed up and improve detection accuracy.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate such claim limitations in combination with Simanovsky for that reasons.
Gray (U.S. Pat. App. Pub. No. 2009/0041186 A1) is provided herein to support Office Notice taken by examiner (for example, see paras. [0071] – [0072] (neural network is used to evaluate the data for threat level)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the cited prior art does not teach or suggest claim limitations “wherein, where a recorded relative position of the present partial section (PS) is in direct contact with a lateral margin (LM), the method further comprises combining the at least one inspection strip (IS1, IS2) with an adjacent inspection strip that is adjacent to this lateral margin (LM), during the outputting of the respective inspection result (IR)”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DMD
8/2026
/DUY M DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2662