CTNF 18/282,118 CTNF 87747 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Response to Amendment Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment filed on 09/14/2023 in which claims 1, 6-7, and 16 were amended and claim 5 canceled. No other claims were added, therefore claims 1-4 and 6-16 are pending for examination below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With respect to claim 7, “the predetermined angle” lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner cannot determine the metes and bounds of the claim and what specific angle needs to meet the claimed requirement until the claim is corrected/clarified. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson et al. [US 2021/0238007] . With respect to claims 1 and 16 , Wilson discloses a charging device [ Fig. 1 ] with a cable [ 114 ] comprising: a cable wheel [ 100 ] connected to one end of the cable by a connecting portion [ 130 ]; a driver configured to rotate the cable wheel such that at least a portion of the cable winds around the cable wheel and prevent entanglement of the cable caused by the rotation [ par. 0027 ]; and a damper configured to control from a first angle to a second angle of the driver, wherein the damper is fixed inside the charging device [ par. 118, par. 0044-0047, i.e. driving direction based on predetermined position ]. With respect to claim 2 , Wilson further discloses wherein the driver is configured to rotate the cable wheel such that the cable winds around the cable wheel by less than 360 degrees [ i.e. the wheel can move at any given amount of degrees based on the predetermined position and the available amount of cable left, for instance that could be 1 degree or 720 degrees for example ]. With respect to claim 3 , Wilson further discloses an opening through which the cable passes and a cable guide configured to guide movement of the cable through the opening [ see 112, where the spool includes a U shaped opening ]. With respect to claim 4 , Wilson further discloses wherein the cable guide comprises a wheel configured to guide the cable in at least a portion of the opening [ spool 112 is in the shape of a wheel ]. With respect to claim 6 , Wilson further discloses the damper is provided at a position separated by a predetermined distance from a point through which a circumference of the cable wheel passes and wherein the predetermined distance is less than a thickness of the connecting portion [ see Fig. 12, 118 inserts through a circumference of the fixed side 120 ]. With respect to claims 8-10 and 12 , Wilson further discloses wherein the cable comprises a cable contact portion on another end, wherein the charging device further comprises: a processor; and a sensor configured to detect a position of the cable contact portion, and wherein the processor is configured to control the driver and the sensor [ par. 0028, 0046-0047; i.e. rotating in each direction based on predetermined position ]. With respect to claim 13 , Wilson further discloses wherein the driver is provided on a same plane as the cable wheel, and wherein the driver is in contact with at least a portion of the cable wheel and configured to rotate in an opposite direction to the cable wheel [ see fig. 12 and motor 150, also compared to stationary side ]. With respect to claim 14 , Wilson further discloses wherein the cable comprises a first cable and a second cable, wherein the cable wheel comprises a first cable wheel connected to one end of the first cable and a second cable wheel connected to one end of the second cable, and wherein the first cable and the second cable are provided at upper and lower portions of the charging device, respectively [ Figs 2 and 8; i.e. cable on stationary side is a second cable wheel, the spool 112 being at a higher position than the stationary spool 120 and connected through a breakaway piece 114 ] . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. [US 2021/0238007] as applied above, and further in view of Hager [US 2023/0216328] . With respect to claim 15 , Wilson fails to disclose a waterproof cover, however such a feature is well-known in the art. For example, Hager discloses a cover for a cable wheel and also discloses utilizing a waterproof feature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify Wilson to additional ensure the cable cover is waterproof for the benefit of preventing dirt and water from building up on the cable as suggested by Hager. Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 Claims 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if canceled and incorporated into independent claim 1 including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. With respect to claim 11 , the prior art of record does not suggest or disclose the claimed combination of elements or steps as recited, most particularly the claimed, “wherein the sensor comprises an image sensor and a distance sensor, and wherein based on that the sensor detects that the cable contact portion is outside the charging device, the processor is configured to: obtain an image of a charging target from the image sensor; calculate a distance to the charging target based on the distance sensor; and control the driver to unwind the cable from the cable wheel based on the calculated distance.” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NATHANIEL R PELTON whose telephone number is (571)270-1761. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9am to 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian Huffman can be reached at 571-272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NATHANIEL R PELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/282,118 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/282,118 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/282,118 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/282,118 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/282,118 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/282,118 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859