DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed September 14, 2023. Currently, claims 15-34 are pending.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/110526 filed August 4, 2021.
Sequence Rules
This application contains sequence disclosures that are encompassed by the definitions for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences set forth in 37 CFR 1.821(a)(1) and (a)(2). However, this application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 through 1.825.
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the specification (see Table 1) are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specific deficiency – Nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences appearing in the drawings (see Figure 8, for example) are not identified by sequence identifiers in accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(d). Sequence identifiers for nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences must appear either in the drawings or in the Brief Description of the Drawings.
Required response – Applicant must provide:
Replacement and annotated drawings in accordance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) inserting the required sequence identifiers;
AND/OR
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3) and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers into the Brief Description of the Drawings, consisting of:
A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101- Products
Claims 15-16, 21-24, 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon an analysis with respect to the claim as a whole, the rejected claim(s) do not recite something significantly different than a judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Briefly, 15-16, 21-24, 27-29 are rejected because these claims are drawn to a nucleic acid molecule “shown in” SEQ ID NO: 1-3.
The claims are directed to nucleic acid fragments from the human genome, i.e. known naturally occurring nucleic acids. Such isolated nucleic acid molecules, that are identical to fragments of naturally occurring nucleic acid molecules are not patent eligible subject matter, i.e. they are judicial exceptions to patentable subject matter.
Claims 21-22, 27-28 are directed to the naturally occurring fragments ad particular concentrations. These concentrations do not change the eligibility of the naturally occurring nucleic acids.
Claim 23-24 are directed to the naturally occurring nucleic acids in a kit with buffers, dye and water. The claims do not require the dye is irreversibly attached to the nucleic acids. Instead, the claim merely requires the elements in separate vials. Given the broadest reasonable interpretation, these additional reagents are enzymes that are naturally occurring. The claimed primers and probe are identical to fragments of naturally occurring genes. This does not change the patent eligibility of the naturally occurring nucleic acids.
MPEP 2106.04(b)(II) discusses products of nature. The MPEP specifically discusses DNA, primers and probes. The isolated DNA of Myriad and the primers of Ambry Genetics were described as products of nature by the courts. Ass’n for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116-17, 106 USPQ2d 1972, 1979 (2013); University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 758-59, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1243 (Fed. Cir. 2014). The MPEP further states the “product of nature exceptions include both naturally occurring products and non-naturally occurring products that lack markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterpart. See, e.g., Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d at 760, 113 USPQ2d at 1244 ("Contrary to Myriad's argument, it makes no difference that the identified gene sequences are synthetically replicated. As the Supreme Court made clear, neither naturally occurring compositions of matter, nor synthetically created compositions that are structurally identical to the naturally occurring compositions, are patent eligible.").” The Federal Circuit in Ambry Genetics reviewed “[t]he Supreme Court held ineligible claims directed to segments as short as 15 nucleotides, the same length as the primer claims at issue here, suggesting that even short strands identical to those found in nature are not patent eligible. Compare ’492 patent col. 170 ll. 32–38, with ’282 patent col. 153 ll. 66–67.”
In the instant case, the claims, embrace probes and primers that are identical to naturally occurring gene fragments and clearly read on nature-based products that themselves do not exhibit markedly different characteristics from the naturally occurring gene. See e.g. Myriad in which one claim at issue was drawn to “[a]n isolated DNA having at least 15 nucleotides [an isolated DNA coding for a BRCA1 polypeptide having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 2] (Myriad at 2113). The Court recognized that this claim, if valid, would have given Myriad exclusive right to isolate any strand of 15 or more nucleotides of an individual’s BRCA1 gene (paragraph bridging 2113 and 2114). This is directly analogous to the instant situation wherein Applicant’s claims cover probe and primer molecules that are fragments of a naturally occurring human genome sequence. The Court held that “[a] naturally occurring DNA segment is a product of nature and not patent eligible merely because it has been isolated”, and that “Myriad’s claims are not saved by the fact that isolating DNA from the human genome severs the chemical bonds that bind gene molecules together” (page 2118). The Court found that while Myriad had located and sequenced an important gene, Myriad had not created anything, and that “separating that gene from its surrounding genetic material is not an act of invention” (page 2118). Consistent with the findings of the Court in Myriad, the Office finds that the primers and probe molecules embraced by the instant clams are not patent eligible compositions of matter regardless of whether or not they are isolated from the genome. The Guidelines indicate that a change in biological function or activity maybe a characteristic of an isolated product that can provide a marked difference sufficient to distinguish over a naturally occurring product. However, in this case, as in the Ambry case, the function of the nucleic acids is the same function as the relevant portion of the naturally occurring sequence. Just as in nature, primers and probes utilize the innate ability of DNA to bind to itself.
Having established that the claims include a naturally occurring product that is a judicial exception, it must now be determined whether or not the claims recite an element or combination of elements that amount to significantly more than that exception, and whether those additional elements also amount to significantly more for the other claimed exception(s), which ensures that the claim does not have a preemptive effect with respect to any of the recited exceptions. To determine whether a claim that includes a nature-based product limitation recites a “product of nature” exception, an analysis is performed in which it is first determined if a claim includes a nature-based product that has markedly different characteristics from the corresponding naturally occurring product, and if it does not, then it is determined whether or not other elements of the claim are sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the exception itself (see the Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility published 12/16/2014 in the Federal Register at pages 74618-74633). In order to be markedly different the claimed product must possess at least one characteristic that is different from that of the counterpart.
In the instant case, any additional element, i.e. buffers, reaction tubes, containers, vials do not overcome the naturally occurring product exception. None of these limitations provides any significant addition to the judicial exceptions already claimed that would prevent the claims from having a pre-emptive effect on the use of the judicial exception. The presence of a “tube" in a composition comprising a nucleic acid is entirely conventional and does not represent a modification that amounts to something significantly more than the judicial exception.
The fact that these natural products are organized into a kit with an intended use adds nothing to the judicial exceptions that would distinguish them from the naturally occurring material. Therefore, the claims are properly rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to patent-ineligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101- Methods
Claims 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
35 U.S.C. § 101 requires that to be patent-eligible, an invention (1) must be directed to one of the four statutory categories, and (2) must not be wholly directed to subject matter encompassing a judicially recognized exception. M.P.E.P. § 2106. Regarding judicial exceptions, “[p]henomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.” Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972); see also M.P.E.P. § 2106, part II.
Based upon consideration of the claims as a whole, as well as consideration of elements/steps recited in addition to the judicial exception, the present claims fail to meet the elements required for patent eligibility.
Question 1
The claimed invention is directed to a process that involves a natural principle and a judicial exception.
Question 2A Prong I
The claims are taken to be directed to an abstract idea, a mathematical relationship and mathematical calculation.
Claims 30-34 are directed to “a method for detecting an expression level of HRH4” using a standard curve constructed by a standard. Claim 34 provides the standard cure is a simple mathematical calculation using multiplication and addition.
The standard curve is an arithmetic calculation to generate a expression level and so fals into the “mathematical concepts” grouping of abstract ideas.
Question 2A Prong II
The exception is not integrated into a practical application of the exception. The claims do not recite any additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. While the claim recites preparing RNA extracted from a sample and performing real-time PCR, this is not an integration of the exception into a practical application. Instead, these elements are data gathering required to perform the method. Thus, the claim is “directed to” the exception.
Question 2B
The second step of Alice involves determining whether the remaining elements, either in isolation or combination with the other non patent ineligible elements, are sufficient to “’transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent eligible application” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1297).
The claims are not sufficiently defined to provide a method which is significantly more from a statement of a natural principle for at least these reasons:
The claims do not include applying the judicial exception, or by use of, a particular machine. The claims do not tie the steps to a “particular machine" and therefore do not meet the machine or transformation test on these grounds. The use of machines generally does not impose a meaningful limit on claim scope.
The claims also do not add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field. The measuring expression using RT-PCR is mere data gathering step that amounts to extra solution activity to the judicial exception. It merely tells the users of the method to determine expression levels of HRH4 of a sample without further specification as to how the sample should be analyzed. The claim does not recite a new, innovative method for such determination. The determining step essentially tells users to determine the markers through whatever known processes they wish to use.
Further it is noted that the courts have recognized the following laboratory techniques as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the life science arts when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
Analyzing DNA to provide sequence information or detect allelic variants, Genetic Techs., 818 F.3d at 1377; 118 USPQ2d at 1546;
Amplifying and sequencing nucleic acid sequences, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics, 774 F.3d 755, 764, 113 USPQ2d 1241, 1247 (Fed. Cir. 2014)
For these reasons the claims are rejected under section 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112- Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The claims are directed to “a nucleotide sequence shown in” SEQ ID NO: 1-3. It is unclear what the transition “a nucleotide sequence shown in” encompasses. It is unclear whether the claim requires a nucleic acid comprising SEQ ID NO: 1-3 or whether the claim encompasses any nucleic acid within SEQ ID NO: 1-3, such that the claim encompasses any fragments. Clarification is required.
Claim 21 is indefinite over the recitation “the GAPDH-F, the GAPDH-R and the G-Probe”. Claim 21 depends on Claim 15. Claim 15 does not recite any GAPDH primers or probes. Therefore, the claims lack proper antecedent basis.
Claim 29 is indefinite because it is unclear what an RNA standard encompasses in a kit. A standard is not a “thing” therefore it is unclear how it can be included in a kit. A standard, as defined by the specification, appears to be an equation for a calculation. It is unclear how this may be included in a kit.
Claim 30 is indefinite over the recitation “based on the reagent” because it is unclear whether the claim requires using the reagent of Claim 15 or whether the claim merely requires a method with some relationship to the reagent. It is unclear what this would encompass. Claim 30 further requires “preparing a same reaction system” but it is unclear what a same reaction system encompasses. There are no parameters for how to prepare a same reaction system.
Claim 31 is directed to a process for constructing a standard curve comprises the limitations of the claim, however the claim is not clear whether this method is required to construct the standard.
Claim 32 is indefinite over the recitation “the nuclease-free water”, “The PCR reaction solution” etc. Claim 30 does not refer to water or PCR solution. Thus, these limitations lack proper antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NEB catalog (1998/1999), pp. 121, 284.
The claims are directed to a reagent comprising two primers and probe “shown in” SEQ ID NO: 1, 2, and 3. The claim contains additional language that set for the intended use of the kit. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
The NEB catalog offered for sale a random primer mix of 12mer and 24mer nucleotide primers. As the calculation below shows, about 3.2 x 108 molecules of every 12-mer and about 9 molecules of every single 24 mer are present in each tube of the 24 nucleotide mixtures.
a. Molecular weight of 12-mer:
12 x 325 daltons/nucleotide = 3,900 daltons = 3,900 g/mol
b. Total number of possible 12-mers:
412 = 1.6 x 107 molecules
c. How many molecules of 12-mer in a vial sold by NEB:
1 A260 unit = 33 µg = 3.3 x 10-5 g
3.3 x 10-5 g / 3,900 g/mol = 8.4 x 10-9 mol
(8.4 x 10-9 mol) x (6.02 x 1023 molecules/mol) = 5 x 1015 molecules
d. How many molecules of each 12-mer in a single vial:
5 x1015 molecules / 1.6 x 107 molecules = 3.2 x 108 molecules of each 12-mer per vial
e. Molecular weight of 24-mer:
24 x 325 daltons/nucleotide = 7,800 daltons = 7,800 g/mol
f. Total number of possible 24-mers:
424 = 2.8 x 1014 molecules
g. How many molecules of 24-mer in a vial sold by NEB:
1 A260 unit = 33 µg = 3.3 x 10-5 g
3.3 x 10-5 g / 7,800 g/mol = 4.2 x 10-9 mol
(4.2 x 10-9 mol) x (6.02 x 1023 molecules/mol) = 2.5 x 1015 molecules
h. How many molecules of each 24-mer in a single vial:
2.5 x1015 molecules / 2.8 x 1014 molecules = 9 molecules/vial
The claims encompass a large genus of possible nucleic acid primers with no particular base composition or length. The NEB catalog kits will inherently and necessarily contain 12 and 24 nucleotides primers encompassed by the claimed recitation.
Claim 15 requires a primer “shown in” SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2 and a probe “shown in” SEQ ID NO: 3. Here, the 12mer NEB primer kit inherently comprises fragments of SEQ ID NO: 1-3. Shown in encompasses fragments of SEQ ID NO: 1-3.
In the event the claims are amended to require primers and probe comprising SEQ ID NO: 1-3, the 24-mer primers meet these limitations. SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2 are 22 nucleotides in length and SEQ ID NO: 3 is 24 nucleotides. Therefore, the 24-mers comprise SEQ ID NO: 1-2 and consists of SEQ ID NO: 3.
Thus, the prior art inherently teaches each and every structural limitation of the instant claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-16, 30-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang et al. (BMC Cancer, Vol. 11, No. 195, 2011) in view of Gallagher et al. (US 7,164,003, January 16, 2007) and Untergasser et al. (Primer3Plus, an enhanced web interface to Primer3, Nucleic Acids Research, 2007, Vol. 35, 2007).
Fang teaches expression of HRH4 in colorectal carcinomas. Fang teaches RT-PCR and real-time quantitative PCR. Total RNA was reverse transcribed real-time PCR and TR-PCR with gene specific primers was performed. The real-time PCR was performed with Real-time PCR Master Mix containing SYBR GREEN I and hot-start Taq DNA polymerase. GAPDH was amplified as a control.
Fang does not specifically teach the primers and probes of SEQ ID NO: 1-6 for HRH4 and GAPDH.
However, Gallagher teaches histamine receptor H4 polynucleotides. SEQ ID NO: 1 of Gallagher comprises SEQ ID NO: 1, 2, and 3 of the instant application.
A skilled artisan at the time of filing would have designed primers and probes to known sequences (such as the sequences disclosed in the above references) with a high expectation of success. To design such primers constituted routine and conventional optimization at the time of filing. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, at 456 (CCAP 1955) (“where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”). Numerous references describe how to design and optimize primers and probes for PCR applications. For example, Untergasser teaches how to design primers and probes from known sequences using known online primer/probe design programs for use in PCR assays. Untergasser teaches how to use Primer3Plus online program to design primers and probes to known sequences (Untergasser at pgs. W71-74). In other words, Untergasser provides specific guidance and parameters to optimize primer, probe and PCR assay design to yield optimal results; thus, designing PCR assays for particular applications constitutes well-known routine optimization. Selection of specific oligonucleotides for specific Tm represents routine optimization with regard to sequence, length and composition of the oligonucleotide. Such optimization parameters are explicitly recognized in Untergasser. As noted in In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 at 235, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Routine optimization is not considered inventive and no evidence has been presented that the primer selection performed was other than routine, that the products resulting from the optimization have any unexpected properties, or that the results should be considered unexpected in any way as compared to the closest prior art.
Thus, the instant sequences are clearly a functional homologues of the above similar primers based on the known HRH4 sequence. This is supported by In Re Deuel, 34 USPQ 2d 1210 (Fed. Cir. 1995), in which the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit stated that (emphasis added),
Normally, a prima facie case of obviousness is based upon structural similarity, i.e., an established structural relationship between a prior art compound and the claimed compound. Structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compounds. The claimed sequences were structural homologs of the sequences disclosed in the prior art, and concerning which a biochemist of ordinary skill would attempt to obtain alternate compounds with improved properties. Therefore, the claimed sequences are prima facie obvious over the cited references in the absence of secondary considerations.
The ordinary artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success that such primers generated using known sequences as taught by Fang and Gallagher to detect the same HRH4 because the claimed probes are functional equivalents of the sequences. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to generate a number of said primers to the same HRH4 sequence to provide flexibility and optimize experimentation (see Untergasser). Selection of specific oligonucleotides for specific Tm represents routine optimization with regard to sequence, length and composition of the oligonucleotide. Such optimization parameters are explicitly recognized in Untergasser. As noted in In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 at 235, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. Routine optimization is not considered inventive and no evidence has been presented that the primer selection performed was other than routine, that the products resulting from the optimization have any unexpected properties, or that the results should be considered unexpected in any way as compared to the closest prior art.
In sum, the claimed primers are prima facie obvious because there was clear motivation to design PCR primers to detect the same HRH4 sequence; and designing and optimizing such primers constitutes a well-known, routine and conventional technique which would yield the claimed primers with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicants should submit secondary evidence of non-obviousness in line with MPEP §§ 716.01-716.02 (e.g. unexpected results evidence).
With regard to claim 34, the references do not give precise standard curve equation. However, it has long been settled to be no more than routine experimentation for one of ordinary skill in the art to discover an optimum value of a result effective variable. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum of workable ranges by routine experimentation." Application of Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235-236 (C.C.P.A. 1955). "No invention is involved in discovering optimum ranges of a process by routine experimentation." Id. at 458, 105 USPQ at 236-237. The "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." Application of Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 218-219 (C.C.P.A. 1980). One skilled in the art would have known to use standards to establish standards for determining the expression level of a gene. Thus, the recited standard of the claims would be arrived at by routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in this art.
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nguyen et al. (Molecular Pharmacology, Vol. 59, No. 3, pages 427-433, 2001) teaches characterization of the H4 receptors. Figure 1 provides an alignment of the histamine receptors H1-H4. Nguyen teaches amplifying three overlapping fragments (A, B, and C) and provides the primers.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
January 7, 2026