DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I and species of formula (4) in the reply filed on May 11, 2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the present invention is considered to be non-obvious (having a special technical feature) because there is no motivation for a person skilled in the art to extend the methine chain of ICG (indocyanine green). Applicant mentions that Feng et al. do not teach or suggest the maintenance or improvement of emission efficiency and that the present invention exhibits an unexpected effect that deviates from the “general tendency”. Applicant also mentions that the compounds recited in claim 4 have highly similar structures to one another and examining these compounds collectively would not substantially increase the examination burden.
This is not found persuasive. As discussed in the Office Action mailed March 12, 2026, Feng teaches that the spectral distribution of cyanine dyes is related to the conjugation degree of the methine chain, and increasing the length of the methine chain can result in a red-shift of the absorption and emission spectrum. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to extend the methine chain for use as a shortwave infrared (SWIR) fluorescent agent. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the length of the methine chain in a cyanine dye to tune absorption and emission wavelengths for specific purposes. Because Feng does not teach that increasing the length of the methine chain would negatively affect the emission efficiency (i.e., there is no teaching away), a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase the length for SWIR fluorescent agent. The “general tendency” stating that larger molecular structure with longer chain leads to reduced fluorescence emission efficiency cannot be applied as an absolute rule. Extending the chain-like structure can increase the π-conjugation length, which can enhance the molar extinction coefficient (the ability to absorb light). It is also possible that lengthening a molecule restricts molecular rotation and vibration. This restriction can suppress non-radiative decay and boosts fluorescence efficiency similar to the effects of structural rigidification or aggregation-induced emission effects. If the increase in intrinsic light-absorption and emission capability outweigh the energy lost, the efficiency will be maintained or improved. Therefore, framing the present invention as an unexpected effect that defied “general tendency” is an oversimplification. Regarding the species election, the claims are not drawn to a reasonable number of species, as the X of claim 1 encompasses any reactive crosslinking group with respect to a molecular recognition agent, rather than being limited to the specific examples in claim 4.
Drawings
FIG. 9 is objected to because there is no clearly identifiable, independent curve or line corresponding to the “Erbitux (1mg/mL)” label. The label points vaguely toward the bottom of the graph where multiple lines overlap, making it unclear where the curve for “Erbitux (1mg/mL)” starts or is located.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because the claim fails to end with a period as required. Additionally, the claim lacks punctuation (e.g., commas or semicolons) between the recited formulas, and the claim lacks an appropriate coordinating conjugation (e.g., “and” or “or”) before the last formula.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (张) et al. (CN 2019 10418685 (CN 110075322); cited on PTO-892; all citations from the machine translation) in view of and Feng et al. (Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry, 2020).
Regarding claims 1-4, Zhang discloses a near-infrared (NIR) fluorescent imaging probe comprising GnRH (gonadotropin-releasing hormone) polypeptide and a fluorescent dye ICG-NHS (N-hydroxysuccinimide) (claim 1). Zhang discloses the structure of ICG-NHS
(claim 1), which is substantially similar to that of the compound of formula (4) of instant claim 4 (elected species), differing only in the length of the methine chain (bridge) connecting the two heterocyclic compounds. The compound of formula (4) of instant claims has a longer methine chain (nonamethine/enneamethine cyanine, Cy9) than that of ICG-NHS of Zhang (heptamethine cyanine, Cy7). Regarding claims 5 and 6, Zhang discloses that the GnRH polypeptide (molecular recognition agent) can be bonded to the ICG-NHS via a residue of the reactive crosslinking group (NHS)
and the GnRHa-ICG complex targets a GnRH receptor which is highly expressed in tumor cells (abstract; claim 1).
Zhang does not disclose compounds having methine chains of the same length (Cy9) as the methine chain of the compound of formula (4) of instant claims.
Feng discloses that the spectral distribution of cyanine dyes is related to the conjugation degree of the methine chain and that increasing the length of the methine chain by a single conjugated C=C double bond results in a red-shift of the absorption and emission spectra by about 100 nm (page 9385, column 1, ¶ 2 – column 2, ¶ 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ICG-NHS of Zhang by extending the methine chain (Cy9 instead of Cy7) in order to shift the absorption and emission wavelengths into SWIR region. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Feng teaches that cyanine dyes with longer methine chains exhibit higher absorption and emission wavelengths. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the length of the methine chain in a cyanine dye in order to optimize the fluorescent agent for specific purposes as the length of methine chain affects dye characteristics such as absorption and emission wavelengths, efficiency, solubility, and stability.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Feng as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of Carr et al. (Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, 2018; cited on PTO-892).
Zhang and Feng are discussed above.
Neither Zhang nor Feng discloses a SWIR fluorescent agent.
Carr discloses that commercially available NIR dyes such as the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-approved contrast agent ICG exhibit optical properties suitable for in vivo SWIR fluorescence imaging (abstract). Carr discloses that the use of ICG for SWIR imaging opens the potential for rapid translation of SWIR fluorescence imaging to humans in clinical applications because no FDA-approved fluorophores with peak emission in the SWIR yet exist (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the compound of Zhang and Feng as a SWIR fluorescent agent, instead of a NIR fluorescent agent. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Carr teaches that ICG can be used for SWIR fluorescence imaging. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the compound of Zhang and Feng for SWIR imaging in order to expand the applications of the compound. As discussed above, increasing the length of the methine chain of ICG-NHS also makes the compound more suitable as a SWIR fluorescent agent.
Conclusion
/JONG HWAN BAEK/Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618