DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lloyd (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0246329).
Concerning claim 1, Lloyd discloses an ultraviolet light irradiation system comprising:
An ultraviolet light source unit (20/98) that produces ultraviolet light (paragraphs 97-102);
An N irradiation unit (94) that irradiates a desired region with the ultraviolet light, where N is a natural number (paragraphs 97-102);
A sensor unit (30/40) that detects whether or not an object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region (paragraph 60); and
A blocking unit that stops (numeral 50 and/or shutters), in a case where the object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region, irradiation of the ultraviolet light from the irradiation unit to the desired region (paragraphs 80, 84, 101 and 151-183).
Regarding claim 8, Lloyd also discloses an ultraviolet light irradiation method for an N irradiation unit (94) to irradiate a desired region with ultraviolet light produced by an ultraviolet light source unit (20/98), where N is a natural number (paragraphs 97-102), the ultraviolet light irradiation method comprising:
Detecting whether or not an object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region (paragraph 60); and
Stopping, in a case where the object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region, irradiation of the ultraviolet light from the irradiation unit to the desired region (paragraphs 80, 84, 101 and 151-183).
With respect to claim 2, Lloyd continues to disclose that the blocking unit is an optical shutter that is disposed in an optical transmission line from the ultraviolet light source unit to the irradiation unit, is operable to close the optical transmission line in a case where the object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region, and is operable to open the optical transmission line in a case where the object that should avoid exposure is not present in the desired region (paragraphs 80, 84 and 101).
Concerning claim 3, Lloyd further discloses that the blocking unit is a light source control unit (50) that causes the ultraviolet light source unit to stop outputting the ultraviolet light in a case where the object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region, and causes the ultraviolet light source unit to output the ultraviolet light in a case where the object that should avoid exposure is not present in the desired region (paragraphs 60 and 64).
Regarding claim 4, the reference discloses that information from the sensor unit (30/40) is notified to the light source control unit (50) via a path different from an optical transmission line from the ultraviolet light source unit to the irradiation unit (paragraphs 156, 159 and 160).
With respect to claim 5, Lloyd continues to disclose that information from the sensor unit (30/40) is notified to the light source control unit (50) at a wavelength different from a wavelength of the ultraviolet light via an optical transmission line from the ultraviolet light source unit (20/98) to the irradiation unit (paragraphs 156, 159 and 160).
Concerning claim 6, Lloyd further discloses that, in a case where N ≥ 2 is satisfied, identification information is given to each of the sensor units (30/40 in Figures 1-4), the ultraviolet light source unit (20/98) includes one or more light sources (98) for supplying the ultraviolet light to each of the irradiation units (94), and the light source control unit (50) controls, based on the identification information, to output or stop outputting the ultraviolet light supplied by the light source (paragraphs 64 and 172-176).
Regarding claim 7, Lloyd also discloses that on the ultraviolet light source unit side, a sensor information light source unit that supplies carrier light having a wavelength different from the wavelength of the ultraviolet light to the sensor unit side, and on the sensor unit side, a light modulation unit that modulates the carrier light to generate information from the sensor unit and transmits the information to the light source control unit (paragraphs 127, 128, 135 and 151-160).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18/562,769 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 1-8 are met by claims 1-6 of the reference application. More specifically, both the instant invention and the reference application claim an ultraviolet light irradiation system comprising that includes an ultraviolet light source unit that produces ultraviolet light, an N irradiation unit (wherein N is a natural number) that irradiates a desired region with the ultraviolet light, and a sensor unit that detects whether or not an object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region. Each further claim a blocking unit that stops, in a case where the object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region, irradiation of the ultraviolet light from the irradiation unit to the desired region. As such, the obviousness type double patenting rejection exists.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/018,035 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 1-8 are met by claims 1-8 of the reference application. More specifically, both the instant invention and the reference application claim an ultraviolet light irradiation system comprising that includes an ultraviolet light source unit that produces ultraviolet light, an N irradiation unit (wherein N is a natural number including 1) that irradiates a desired region with the ultraviolet light, and a sensor unit that detects whether or not an object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region. Each further claim a blocking unit that stops, in a case where the object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region, irradiation of the ultraviolet light from the irradiation unit to the desired region. As such, the obviousness type double patenting rejection exists.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/018,038 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations of claims 1-8 are met by claims 1-7 of the reference application. More specifically, both the instant invention and the reference application claim an ultraviolet light irradiation system comprising that includes an ultraviolet light source unit that produces ultraviolet light, an N irradiation unit (wherein N is a natural number including 1) that irradiates a desired region with the ultraviolet light, and a sensor unit that detects whether or not an object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region. Each further claim a blocking unit that stops, in a case where the object that should avoid exposure is present in the desired region, irradiation of the ultraviolet light from the irradiation unit to the desired region. As such, the obviousness type double patenting rejection exists.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799