DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1–20 are pending.
Claims 1–18 are being treated on their merits.
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from consideration.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0088358 A1.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
FIGS. 1–8, 14, and 15 use shading that reduces legibility or solid black shading that is not used to represent bar graphs or color. The use of shading in views is encouraged if it aids in understanding the invention and if it does not reduce legibility. Solid black shading areas are not permitted, except when used to represent bar graphs or color. See 37 CFR 1.84 (m).
The numbers, letters, and/or reference characters of FIGS. 10–12 are not at least 0.32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least 0.32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. See 37 CFR 1.84 (p)(3).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 701 (e.g., FIG. 7) and 1410 (e.g., FIG. 14). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTRODE INCLUDING ACTIVE MATERIAL ENCAPSULATED WITH CARBONIZED POLYMERIC BINDER HAVING NANOPORES, AND METHOD OF MANUFACTURING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0082] describes the polymer "Styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene." Chemical names are not proper nouns and should not be capitalized.
Reference character 10 is referred to as a polymeric binder in paragraph [0187]. Reference character 10 is used to designate an active material; and reference character 110 is used to designate a polymeric binder. Reference character 110 should be used to designate a polymeric binder in paragraph [0187].
Paragraph [0202] describes the polymer "Styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene." Chemical names are not proper nouns and should not be capitalized.
Reference character 130 is referred to as carbon-based active materials in paragraph [0222]. Reference character 130 is used to designate carbon-based additives. Reference character 130 should be referred to as carbon-based additives in paragraph [0222].
Reference character 120 is referred to as polymeric bonders in paragraph [0252]. Reference character 120 is used to designate polymeric binders. Reference character 120 should be referred to as polymeric binders in paragraph [0252].
Reference character 1415 is referred to as pre-lithiated active materials in paragraph [0253]. Reference character 115 is used to designate pre-lithiated active materials; and reference character 1415 is used to designate a lithiated compound. Reference character 115 should be used to designate pre-lithiated active materials in paragraph [0253].
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 recites the limitation "poly(methyl methacrylate; PMMA)." The parentheses enclosing the monomer for "poly(methyl methacrylate)" is not closed; and the parentheses enclosing the acronym PMMA is not opened. The Office recommends the limitation "poly(methyl methacrylate); (PMMA)."
Claim 4 recites the limitation "Styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene." Chemical names are not proper nouns and should not be capitalized.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "carbonizing part of the polymeric binders and generating nanopores in the polymeric binders via energy application to the polymeric binders." It is unclear if the phrase "via energy application to the polymeric binders" is further limiting only the immediately adjacent phrase "generating nanopores in the polymeric binders" or both preceding phrases "carbonizing part of the polymeric binders and generating nanopores in the polymeric binders."
Claim 2 recites the limitation "an outer hard shell." The term "hard" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hard" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "an outer hard shell" is indefinite.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "an inner soft shell." The term "soft" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "soft" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "an inner soft shell" is indefinite.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the polymeric binder." Claim 1, which claim 2 is directly dependent, recites the limitations "the polymeric binders" and "part of the polymeric binders." It is unclear if the limitation "the polymeric binder" recited in claim 2 is further limiting "the polymeric binders" and "part of the polymeric binders" recited in claim 1, respectively.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "LixSi-Li2O core-shell nanoparticles." The variable "x" is undefined in the claim and renders the chemical formula indefinite because the metes and bounds of LixSi-Li2O are unknown.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "a low boiling point." The term "low" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "low" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "a low boiling point" is indefinite.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the polymeric binder." Claim 1, which claim 4 is directly dependent, recites the limitations "the polymeric binders" and "part of the polymeric binders." It is unclear if the limitation "the polymeric binder" recited in claim 4 is further limiting "the polymeric binders" and "part of the polymeric binders" recited in claim 1, respectively.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "nanopores." Claim 1, which claim 5 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "nanopores." It is unclear if "nanopores" recited in claim 5 is further limiting or referencing "nanopores" recited in claim 1 because claim 5 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the limitation is referring to the previously recited "nanopores."
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the polymeric binder." Claim 1, which claim 6 is directly dependent, recites the limitations "the polymeric binders" and "part of the polymeric binders." It is unclear if the limitation "the polymeric binder" recited in claim 4 is further limiting "the polymeric binders" and "part of the polymeric binders" recited in claim 1, respectively.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "wherein the double network hydrogels are selected from carboxylmethyl cellulose (CMC), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), and polyacrylic acid (PAA), polyacrylic acid (PAA) and polyethylene glycol (PEG), polyacrylic acid (PAA) and polyethylenimine (PEI), polyacrylic acid (PAA) and chitosan, a styrene/butadiene copolymer (SBR), polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) and a combination thereof." It is unclear if the limitation "polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), and polyacrylic acid (PAA)" is a group of two polymers or two separate polymers in the list. The limitations "polyacrylic acid (PAA) and polyethylene glycol (PEG), polyacrylic acid (PAA) and polyethylenimine (PEI), polyacrylic acid (PAA) and chitosan" appear to be three groups of two polymers because a comma does not precede "and." However, a comma precedes "and" in the limitation "polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), and polyacrylic acid (PAA)" and the limitation is not the final polymers in the list.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "polymers with elements of active materials." Claim 1, which claim 8 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "active materials." It is unclear if "active materials" recited in claim 8 is further limiting or referencing "active materials" recited in claim 1 because claim 8 includes neither "the" or "said" indicating "active materials" is referring to the previously recited "active materials" nor "second" or "another" indicating "active materials" is not referring to the previously recited "active materials".
Claim 9 recites the limitation "wherein the polymers with elements of active materials comprise organosilicon selected from polysiloxane, polysilsesquioxane, polycarbosiloxane, polyborosiloxane and polysilicarbodiimide and sulfur-containing polymers selected from polysulfoxide and poly(sulfur nitride)." It is unclear if "the polymers with elements of active materials" includes both a organosilicon and a sulfur-containing polymer or only one of a organosilicon and a sulfur-containing polymer.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "some of the polymers with elements of active materials." The term "some" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "some" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "some of the polymers with elements of active materials" is indefinite.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "energy application." Claim 1, which claim 8 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "energy application." It is unclear if "energy application" recited in claim 8 is further limiting or referencing "energy application" recited in claim 1 because claim 8 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the limitation is referring to the previously recited "energy application."
Claim 10 recites the limitation "wherein the polymeric binders can comprise piezoelectric polymers." It is unclear if the polymeric binders are required to include piezoelectric polymers because the term "can" appears to indicate that the ensuing limitation is optional.
Claim 11 is directly dependent from claim 10, is indirectly dependent from claim 1, and includes all the limitations of claims 1 and 10. Therefore, claim 11 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "thin-walled carbon nanotubes." The term "thin" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "thin" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "thin-walled carbon nanotubes" is indefinite.
Claim 13 is directly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 13 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "preparing a slurry mixture comprising active materials, polymeric binders, carbon-based additives and solvents." Claim 1, which claim 14 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "active materials." It is unclear if "active materials" recited in claim 14 is further limiting or referencing "active materials" recited in claim 1 because claim 14 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the limitation is referring to the previously recited "active materials."
Claim 14 recites the limitation "preparing a slurry mixture comprising active materials, polymeric binders, carbon-based additives and solvents." Claim 1, which claim 14 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "polymeric binders." It is unclear if "polymeric binders" recited in claim 14 is further limiting or referencing "polymeric binders" recited in claim 1 because claim 14 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the limitation is referring to the previously recited "polymeric binders."
Claim 14 recites the limitation "preparing a slurry mixture comprising active materials, polymeric binders, carbon-based additives and solvents." Claim 1, which claim 14 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "carbon-based additives." It is unclear if "carbon-based additives" recited in claim 14 is further limiting or referencing "carbon-based additives" recited in claim 1 because claim 14 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the limitation is referring to the previously recited "carbon-based additives."
Claim 14 recites the limitation "preparing a slurry mixture comprising active materials, polymeric binders, carbon-based additives and solvents." Claim 1, which claim 14 is indirectly dependent, recites the limitation "a solvent." It is unclear if "solvents" recited in claim 14 is further limiting or referencing "a solvent" recited in claim 1 because claim 14 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the limitation is referring to the previously recited "solvent."
Claim 15 is directly dependent from claim 1 and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "intense pulsed light." The term "intense" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "intense" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "intense pulsed light" is indefinite.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "wherein a carbon precursor material … is additionally mixed to form a composite of carbon and silicon, silicon oxide or silicon carbide." It is unclear if the limitations are three separate composites (i.e., carbon and silicon or silicon oxide or silicon carbide) or the limitation indicates "a composite of carbon" and one of silicon, silicon oxide or silicon carbide (i.e., carbon and silicon or carbon and silicon oxide or carbon and silicon carbide).
Claim 18 recites the limitation "pre-lithiating active materials." Claim 1, which claim 18 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "active materials." It is unclear if "active materials" recited in claim 18 is further limiting or referencing "active materials" recited in claim 1 because claim 18 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the limitation is referring to the previously recited "active materials."
Claim 18 recites the limitation "encapsulation." Claim 1, which claim 18 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "encapsulating." It is unclear if "encapsulation" recited in claim 18 is further limiting or referencing "encapsulating" recited in claim 1 because claim 18 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the limitation is referring to the previously recited "encapsulating."
Claim 18 recites the limitation "carbonization." Claim 1, which claim 18 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "carbonizing." It is unclear if "carbonization" recited in claim 18 is further limiting or referencing "carbonizing" recited in claim 1 because claim 18 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the limitation is referring to the previously recited "carbonizing."
Claim 18 recites the limitation "electrode manufacturing." Claim 1, which claim 18 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "method of manufacturing an electrode." It is unclear if "electrode manufacturing" recited in claim 18 is further limiting or referencing "method of manufacturing an electrode" recited in claim 1 because claim 18 does not include "the" or "said" indicating the limitation is referring to the previously recited "method of manufacturing an electrode."
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3–7, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN 113644231 A, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a method of manufacturing an electrode for a lithium secondary battery, comprising:
mixing active materials (see graphite, [0099]), polymeric binders (see CMC and SBR, [0099]), carbon-based additives (see carbon black, [0099]) and a solvent (see slurry, [0099]);
encapsulating the active materials by the polymeric binders (FIG. 1, [0100]); and
carbonizing part of the polymeric binders (see laser ablation, [0101]) and
generating nanopores in the polymeric binders via energy application to the polymeric binders (FIG. 1, [0101]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the active materials comprise one or more of silicon, silicon oxide, silicon carbide, magnesium silicide, a silicon-iron-manganese alloy, manganese silicate, a silicon alloy, aluminum, tin, LixSi-Li2O core-shell nanoparticles, or sulfur (see silica, [0100]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the polymeric binder comprises a first polymer having a low boiling point (see CMC and SBR, [0099]), and
a second or third polymer having a boiling point higher than that of the first polymer (see CMC and SBR, [0099]),
wherein the polymeric binder include two or more of polyacrylonitrile (PAN), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), poly(methyl methacrylate); (PMMA), poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) polystyrene sulfonate (PEDOT:PSS), polydiacetylenes (PDA), polypropylene (PP), polystyrene (PS), polyurethane (PU), polyethylene oxide (PEO), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene (SEBS), glycerol, asphaltene, meso-phase pitch, sucrose, cellulose, and lignin (see CMC and SBR, [0099]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the first polymer evaporates via the energy application (see laser ablation, [0101]), and
nanopores are formed via the evaporation (FIG. 1, [0101]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the polymeric binder comprises double network hydrogels (see CMC and SBR, [0099]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the double network hydrogels are selected from carboxylmethyl cellulose (CMC), polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), and polyacrylic acid (PAA), polyacrylic acid (PAA) and polyethylene glycol (PEG), polyacrylic acid (PAA) and polyethylenimine (PEI), polyacrylic acid (PAA) and chitosan, a styrene/butadiene copolymer (SBR), polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA) and a combination thereof (see CMC and SBR, [0099]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the solvent comprises water, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP), dimethylformamide (DMF), dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), or a combination thereof (see solvent, [0079]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the energy application is performed in a power state, in an electro-spun fiber state or in a state of being applied to an electrode collector (see laser ablation, [0101]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein in the energy application, one or more of intense pulsed light, a laser, microwaves and Joule's heat are used (see laser ablation, [0101]).
Claims 1–3, 5, 12, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (CN 110034291 A, hereinafter Zheng).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng discloses a method of manufacturing an electrode for a lithium secondary battery, comprising:
mixing active materials (see silica, [0051]), polymeric binders (see chitosan, [0053]), carbon-based additives (see graphene oxide, [0051]) and a solvent (see slurry, [0099]);
encapsulating the active materials by the polymeric binders (see chitosan-graphene-silica composite material, [0055]); and
carbonizing part of the polymeric binders (see organic carbon-graphene-silicon composite material, [0056]) and
generating nanopores in the polymeric binders via energy application to the polymeric binders (FIG. 1, [0044]).
Regarding claim 2, Zheng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein an outer hard shell and an inner soft shell are formed from the polymeric binder via the carbonization (see organic carbon-graphene-silicon composite material, [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the active materials comprise one or more of silicon, silicon oxide, silicon carbide, magnesium silicide, a silicon-iron-manganese alloy, manganese silicate, a silicon alloy, aluminum, tin, LixSi-Li2O core-shell nanoparticles, or sulfur (see silica, [0051]).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the first polymer evaporates via the energy application (see sintering, [0062]), and
nanopores are formed via the evaporation (see space, [0062]).
Regarding claim 12, Zheng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the carbon-based additives comprise one or more of single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNTs), multi-walled carbon nanotubes (MWCNTs), thin-walled carbon nanotubes (TWCNTs), carbon fibers, graphene, graphene oxides, and carbon dots (see graphene oxide, [0051]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the solvent comprises water, N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP), dimethylformamide (DMF), dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), or a combination thereof (see water; [0051], [0053]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the energy application is performed in a power state, in an electro-spun fiber state or in a state of being applied to an electrode collector (see calcined, [0056]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein in the energy application, one or more of intense pulsed light, a laser, microwaves and Joule's heat are used (see calcined, [0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN 110034291 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (US 2021/0057752 A1, hereinafter Jiang).
Regarding claims 8–11, Zheng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a method:
wherein the polymeric binders comprise polymers with elements of active materials;
wherein the polymers with elements of active materials comprise organosilicon selected from polysiloxane, polysilsesquioxane, polycarbosiloxane, polyborosiloxane and polysilicarbodiimide and sulfur-containing polymers selected from polysulfoxide and poly(sulfur nitride), and
some of the polymers with elements of active materials are converted into one or more of SiOC, SiC, SiBCN, SiCN, SC, or SCN via energy application; and
wherein the polymeric binders can comprise piezoelectric polymers;
wherein the piezoelectric polymers comprise one or more of polyvinylidene fluoride, polyvinylidene fluoride trifluoroethylene, and parylene-C.
Jiang discloses an electrode (200) comprising active materials (232), polymeric binders (238, 242), carbon-based additives (128, [0069]; 244, [0084]) wherein the polymeric binders (238, 242) comprise polymers with elements of active materials (238, [0070]); wherein the polymers with elements of active materials comprise organosilicon selected from polysiloxane, polysilsesquioxane, polycarbosiloxane, polyborosiloxane and polysilicarbodiimide and sulfur-containing polymers selected from polysulfoxide and poly(sulfur nitride) (238, [0069]), and some of the polymers with elements of active materials are converted into one or more of SiOC, SiC, SiBCN, SiCN, SC, or SCN via energy application (238, [0070]); and wherein the polymeric binders (238, 242) can comprise piezoelectric polymers (242, [0085]); wherein the piezoelectric polymers comprise one or more of polyvinylidene fluoride, polyvinylidene fluoride trifluoroethylene, and parylene-C (242, [0085]) to minimize fracturing of the plurality of negative electroactive material particles during lithium ion cycling (see multilayer coating, [0021]). Zheng and Jiang are analogous because they are directed to composite silicon electrodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the binders of Zheng with the polymers with elements of active materials and the piezoelectric polymers of Jiang in order to minimize fracturing of the plurality of negative electroactive material particles during lithium ion cycling.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN 110034291 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Luhrs et al. (US 2009/0317637 A1, hereinafter Luhrs).
Regarding claim 14, Zheng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a method:
wherein the encapsulation of active materials comprises preparing a slurry mixture comprising active materials, polymeric binders, carbon-based additives and solvents,
generating droplets via nebulisation, and
drying the droplets in an air-suspended chamber by using a heater while circulating the droplets in air.
Luhrs disclose a method of manufacturing an electrode for a lithium secondary battery, comprising encapsulating of active materials by preparing a slurry mixture comprising active materials, polymeric binders, carbon-based additives and solvents, generating droplets via nebulisation, and drying the droplets in an air-suspended chamber by using a heater while circulating the droplets in air (see aerosol, [0024]) to improve the cycling capacity of the electrode (see cycling capacity, [0020]). Zheng and Luhrs are analogous because they are directed to composite silicon electrodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to encapsulate the active material of Zheng via nebulization or Luhrs in order to improve the cycling capacity of the electrode.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN 110034291 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2021/0167369 A1, hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 17, Zheng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a method:
wherein a carbon precursor material selected from pitch, mesophase pitch, isotropic pitch, and asphaltene is additionally mixed to form a composite of carbon and silicon, silicon oxide or silicon carbide.
Park discloses a method of manufacturing an electrode for a lithium secondary battery, comprising mixing a carbon precursor material selected from pitch, mesophase pitch, isotropic pitch, and asphaltene to form a composite of carbon and silicon, silicon oxide or silicon carbide (see coating, [0047]) to improve the lifespan characteristics of the lithium secondary battery (see coating layer, [0017]). Zheng and Park are analogous because they are directed to composite silicon electrodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the active material of Zheng with the carbon precursor material of Park in order to improve the lifespan characteristics of the lithium secondary battery.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng (CN 110034291 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Koposov et al. (WO 2020/260332 A1, hereinafter Koposov).
Regarding claim 18, Zheng discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a method, further comprising, one or more pre-lithiation procedures selected from the following steps:
pre-lithiating active materials in a powder form before encapsulation and carbonization processes;
pre-lithiating active materials in a powder form after encapsulation and carbonization processes;
pre-lithiating electrodes after electrode manufacturing and carbonization processes;
pre-lithiating electrodes by direct contact with lithium metal on the electrodes; and
pre-lithiating active materials in a powder form through reduction of lithium by applying energy treatment to lithium salts.
Koposov discloses a method of manufacturing an electrode for a lithium secondary battery, comprising a pre-lithiation procedure selected from the following steps pre-lithiation procedures selected from the following steps pre-lithiating active materials in a powder form before encapsulation and carbonization processes; pre-lithiating active materials in a powder form after encapsulation and carbonization processes; pre-lithiating electrodes after electrode manufacturing and carbonization processes; pre-lithiating electrodes by direct contact with lithium metal on the electrodes; and pre-lithiating active materials in a powder form through reduction of lithium by applying energy treatment to lithium salts to reduce irreversible lithium consumption during initial battery cycles (see pre-lithiating particles, P17/L33–P18/L4). Zheng and Koposov are analogous because they are directed to composite silicon electrodes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the electrode of Zheng with the prelithiation procedure of Koposov in order to reduce irreversible lithium consumption during initial battery cycles.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725